Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Willie Power

It's a terribly condescending attitude towards an outsider giving an opinion. And what's really clear is he won't take it from someone from a county like Laois.

We're proud in Laois, a small county divided between football and hurling. You won't have much success as the odds are against you. Yet men like Mick Dempsey helped Kilkenny hurling.

Old timers with superiority complexes would do well to remember the adage 'a wise man will learn from a fool, but a fool won't learn from a wise man'.

Thanks Marrooned, I've followed this thread for years and know who's who, 90% of you are A1.

"He might be an eejit, but he's our eejit"
    Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Taught we left it behind in normal time, only point up at HT after doing most of the hurling with the wind wides killed us, Galway turned the screw 3rd quarter getting 7 points in a row and introducing Rabbite and Cullen Kileen, we were outstanding the last quarter coming from 4 down against the wind and getting our noses infront, Rabbite was the decisive factor in ET, himself and Niland are the real deal. Taught the ref was harsh on us at times but cognaisant I'm not looking with impartial eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Village87

Ya we might never see Lawlor or Billy Ryan again in a KK Jersey. Both will be 31 when returning. Would they have the drive to come back to a team in Transition ?

It's a tough one. Some lads seem to do it seamlessly. I'm thinking of the Dublin footballer Jack McCaffrey who did it a few times.

I suppose Michael Murphy. Lads that keep themselves very fit when away.

Joe Cooney came back around 2000 at 35 and was decent for the year and then retired. Fitness levels so different then.

Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Marrooned

Willie as far as I’m concerned you are very welcome on board this forum. Over the years we had great supporters from Laois,Carlow and Kildare of which there is striving KK supporters club in Kildare. I had cousins in around rathdowney, Galmoy area who followed the KK hurling scene from club to intercounty.

Thanks Marrooned.

It's so obvious he was triggered by my posts. He tried to use the guise of a hurling related post but the thinly veiled sardonic barbs stood out. That post said a lot about him and I won't be replying to that condescending, school teacher type posting.

An attempt to establish his intellectual, sporting and life experience superiority over a poster. He'd never achieve that with me. He doesn't know me.

Manners and respect are no load, the older you get the more you should realise this.

Willie Power

I agree with you on that gut feeling of maybe it's better your team was beaten.

It doesn't stem from negativity or wishing ill on your own. It's the opposite, it feels like the only way your team will progress in the long term. It comes from frustration at seeing the team and county you love stuck in a rut trundling along from one year to the next.

Sometimes you have to hit rock bottom before you're ready to accept change. Dublin footballers lost to Louth, who weren't a great team at the time, in the 1973 football championship. What followed was a total revolution in training methods and the Dubs appeared in 6 All Ireland finals in a row, 1974-1979, winning 3.

Now there's nothing wrong with the opposite viewpoint of wanting to win each game regardless of management and how your team has been performing.

Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭ttowncat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Glenomra

Some posters are getting very sensitive!. No contribution from outside counties allowed, be it Laois or in my case the Mighty Banner! Kilkenny have an amazing history of success, producing so many outstanding players and teams. However, Kilkenny are now back in the pack with us lesser mortals and that's too harsh a reality for some posters. Kilkenny need to, and I'm sure will, undertake a major review of their hurling set-up to get back to winning all Irelands. That will cost serious money. Our near neighbours are spending 20 million on their centre of excellence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

IMO all posters who are respectful are welcome. It's all about opinions.

Some posters here think you cant criticise a player or coaching staff member because they are giving up their time and giving 100%. IMO you can. If you put your hand up for a jersey or a coaching job in any county you are putting yourself in line for scrutiny. Now that criticism should be respectful.

As for Marrooned saying we are better off being beaten early in a way he is right. There are a lot of problems in KK hurling and they have been there for years. It's not one individuals fault but a collective. Winning Leinster and losing then in the semi will only paper over it. Of course we will all naturally be cheering in the team but losing might not be the worst scenario if it helps solve some of the route causes. I belive we lack a real personality/leader at CB level. Someone who has a vision and can implement it. On the playing side I believe we have the players but I think from a coaching POV we lack good coaches at all levels. This is not a go at people as they give 100% but we just lack good quality coaches. Are the coaches there. Probably are but for some reason can't give their time up.

As for your Sheik Neighbour and their 20m facility. It's well for some and I have a question regarding their great team. Do you think that Limerick team would have achieved what they did if they had the same budget as the Cody team that won 4 in a row and also came back and reclaimed the AI with a 2 in a row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭ttowncat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭therealdonster

Is there not a Clare forum on Boards somewhere?

well the Clare is is right about something that we will have to consider our position and invest heavily in the next few years to stop the rot.and this man can see what a lot of locals can’t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,062 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

We are not all like that .. .. thankfully 😬

247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Village87

Fair play Willie for coming in and talking a bit of sense. Sometimes you have to hit rock bottom to improve and there is a clique in Kilkenny hurling trying to pull the wool over everyone's eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Glenomra

They would not have won what Cody's teams won on the budget Kilkenny had. That's my point. Cork, Limerick, Tipperary, Clare to an extent, realise that success in the modern era demands spending huge sums of money. Tradition, skill and determination is no longer enough, unfortunately. We are in a different age. If Huw Lawlor, an incomparable full back, was a Limerick player, the 'inducement' to remain hurling with his county would have insured he postponed his travel plans!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Nedflanders02

On the U20's I think you've, and others have said it too made a good point about us imroving with every game, I think a similar thing can be said about the minors. Obviously we all want to win AI's at underage and are desperate for success but I think it's way more important that players are coming into these set ups and leaving in a better position, something that hasn't been happening especially at U20 for a while. Would we rather win an U20 this year and have very few players make the step up like we did in 2022 or not win an AI but have 5/6 lads ready to step up to play senior? Obviously in an ideal world you'd get both but at underage I think it is far more important that we improve players and have them ready to step up to play senior and I think in this sense Henry and Gordan Byrne at minor have improved the players at their disposal and, in the case of the minors especially, are getting the very best of these teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Firstsub

Galway are likely to wrap up their Leinster Final place this weekend so should have a full squad available for the U20 final next week. We will see what Kilkenny U20 are made of then. Hopefully we will have a few players who will graduate to the senior team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Niland was missing with a knock for u20s so interesting to see if he'll play tomorrow or Wednesday.

I thought someone said here that Nolan’s was out for a fortnight?

I would put Kilkenny at a similar strength to Wexford. If Galway have Niland and Rabitte playing, they would be strong favourites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Takeyourpoints

In an ideal world, I'd love to see an u20 sprung into the senior team out of nowhere. I know we often talk about patience with players and letting them find their feet but I think there's also a place to throw an u20 in who isn't confined to the system that the seniors are playing. Lacey might not be fully developed yet but he could add something different and unexpected to the team, similar to when we brought in Wally in 2012. If it doesn't work out the excuse is already made for him that he's too young and not ready. We've played it safe enough the last few years and maybe Lyng needs to just go all-in and take a few gambles.

At the moment I just feel a staleness to the team and it needs a shake up. We've seen Galway and Tipp bring in these young lads in the last two years and basically said it's sink or swim time and that's something we should consider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Harry Shine dropped straight into the starting 15 and Mullen on the bench

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭Conversations 3

23750.png 23751.png

Hopefully he'll get a good run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭JohnCougar

Great to see Harry Shine back in and he could be what we need. He would be way ahead of Lacey at the moment. Lacey has huge potential and the pace we badly require but he needs to be braver going in for 50/50 balls. He pulled out of a few of them on Wednesday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

Great to see Harry Shine back and its an excellent oppurtunity to give him 50 mins. Mullen hopefully will get a 20mins from the bench and gently ease him back in. Such a pity about Molloy getting injured as we are now getting our best players just back in time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 black and amber rock

Are Padraic Moylan, Eoin Lyng and Marty Murphy all out injured or just not making the matchday panel?

Good to see Harry back in action tomorrow, I wonder how far away Tommy walsh is from returning to the panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Harry is not the tallest or the fastest so needs the right ball played into him or pick up the pieces from TJ. Once he get the ball in hand, he is very good off both sides and has good vision. Playing high ball into him is a waste