Eurovision Song Contest 2026

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,204 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

That was certainly better than semi-final one.

So when ESC is being held in Australia next year, does this mean it’ll be on 8am Sunday morning?

😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭tradfan1

Guessed Czechia would win the final place alright. Thought the Swiss staging looked too complicated but really like the song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,491 ✭✭✭Dazler97

All 10 of the bookies odds got through, it's just over for me now , roll on Saturday night and a takeaway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,585 ✭✭✭✭The Cush

If Australia win the song contest it will be held in Europe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,404 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Have ye people no shame? Watching this with Isresl in it when they should have been excluded and banned. I could not do it. I heard it has been much quiter which is good. Hopefully the viewing figures will show that too.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

First ever time getting 10/10! Granted I was helped by the field being so small, but I'll take the win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Have you nothing better to do?

On the contest itself I think Finland are quite good.

I have a suspicion that vote rigging may be occurring and Israeli do better than expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Non what so ever, why do you think I'm wearing Kylie inspired gold hotpants while I watch the Eurovision?

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,404 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Lots. I did not know of this being on the BBC on Tuesday till it was over but even if I had if noticed I was not going to watch it anyway abd could hace recorded tonights but I did not and am happy that I did not. After everything that evil Natanyahoo and Isreal have done to Gaza and Iran and still being allowed in this competiton even though Isreal is not even in Europe ffs. No way was I watching it. I will not watch it next year either if Isreal are in it or any year they are in it for now on.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,585 ✭✭✭✭The Cush

Not only on the BBC but also available without commentary on YouTube.

Spoilt for choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭LordBasil

Agree with a lot of the comments that the hosts are atrocious.

Part of me is enjoying watching without us being there as usually we NQ most years and I'm left feeling deflated. I just know if we had of taken part this year we would have been drawn in tonight's SF as we usually were always drawn in the tougher SF, so unless we had something spectacular e.g Doomsday Blue level, we would not have had a hope in hell of qualifying.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Running order!

1000100265.jpg

Denmark sank! Didn't have then opening the show. Germany with the graveyard spot. Israel not a lot better, but it'll likely win the televote either way.

17th is perfect for Finland. Surprised they put Australia as early as 8th.

Post edited by yerwanthere123 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Willie Power

I'll youtube the winning song to see what it's like.

Each to their own but I don't want to add to the contest viewing figures on youtube.

I've probably never missed a contest since Nicole won in 1982. I feel a kind of anger at Israel that they have driven a lot of true Europeans to this. The hypocrisy of Russia being banned straight away also.

To all watching, enjoy😊

"He might be an eejit, but he's our eejit"
    Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,361 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I thought I read before Australia are a kind of associate member who are not entitled to host it if they won. It's given to a European country but I don't know what the criteria is for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Migdal_Or

I really enjoyed that last night, with the exception of the Luxembourg entry, which was horrendous. I've had my eye on Delta for a while, and after seeing that performance last night, I think she's the one to beat. The bookies still have Finland as the favourites, but if she puts in another performance like that tomorrow night, it's hers to lose. I think Israel, Greece, and Denmark will make up the rest of the top five.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,746 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

RTE, who is now dealing with a fresh financial scandal, sent a correspondent to cover to the Eurovision.

If Australia win, they are under no obligation to host it, so the contest would most likely still be held in Europe. It would be interesting to see who would be willing to host it. It's a very expensive competition to stage nowadays. I can't see Finland, Israel, Greece, or Denmark taking it on. It would probably be one of the bigger nations, the UK perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,785 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

It would likely be whichever nation finishes 2nd would be given the opportunity to host the competition. This is what happened when Ukraine won it in 2022. They might also allow Australia to designate the UK or Ireland to host as we have such strong historical ties with Australia

A similar issue would arise if Israel won it, the war going on in that part of the world would make for a huge security concern

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭supereurope

I don't even know what any of these songs sound like like (apart from Greece and the UK), everything I know about them has come from either here or Reddit…but even I think that running order is strange.

A lot of people said Denmark was gaining momentum these last few days, that's obviously crashed to a halt now. Germany, with its Fuego from Temu surely would have been a better opener. Israel early as usual. It's funny how the EBU are desperate to have Israel compete, but are also desperate for them not to win.

Greece was always going to struggle with the juries, but I suspect his televote will hurt now too. That said, Estonia last year finished 2nd in the televote from early in the r/o, and the lines opening at the start of the show should help a bit too. I don't Australia will be too harmed by going eighth - the jury was always where Delta was going to rack up the points, and they're less influenced by running order (Austria in 2018 and North Macedonia in 2019 both won the jury vote with early r/o appearances.)

I don't think it's a great slot for the UK. Moldova and Finland back-to-back surprised me as well…Moldova will likely take a lot of televote points, and Finland might suffer as a result. It's also early for a frontrunner, but as many online have pointed out, 17th is statistically the most successful running order position, with seven winners. Among them, Lordi from Finland in 2006.

Sweden on late, as usual. Good spot for Sal from Italy. Surprised to see Norway and Romania, two more rocky entries, back-to-back.

Austria chose its position though a random draw, so nothing could be done there. Fourth time in contest history that the host entry will be the last song of the night, after 1991, 2001 and 2023.

Listening back to BBC Radio 2’s commentary from last night - Monroe’s performance was stunning. Doubtful she will scoop the trophy, but I hope she does well.

A bit sad that Luxembourg didn’t get through. ‘Mother Nature’ is a sweet little song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,037 ✭✭✭✭walshb

give over this absolute nonsense trying to shame people for watching a song contest. It doesn’t at all make you virtuous!!!

I liked the song, but I thought the vocals were really poor, or was that just me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,782 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Romania is the dark horse with an excellent draw being second last.

France or Luxembourg?

Obviously, Delta’s voice was incredible - I’m all for an Australian win…especially if AC/DC are the interval act!

😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭tradfan1

Bulgaria was the big surprise for me, really excellent last night. Think the Australia performance is great but the song sounds really dated to me, a bit like a UK X Factor winner - there was one called 'A moment like this' (I think!) that it reminds me of. Would really like Finland to win at this stage.

Hope Romania do well too - fantastic song and performance.

There does seem to be some sort of competition this year to see who can hold the highest and/or longest note - Ukraine winning so far!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,965 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

It’s just occurred to me how much of an influence Harry Stiles is having style-wise on the male competitors (and presenters) this year.

Ostrowski’s spangly suits with the big lapels, Jonas Lovv’s high waisted trousers, Aidan’s cowboy look.

Unless Benson Boone had a car boot sale.

HIYO!

Luxembourg, I meant. Delta was unreal last night. If she performs like that tomorrow night, she'll be hard to beat.