RTE LiveLine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭De Bhál

Palestine

where did that come from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

Ah, there we go. Maybe less time on activism and get in some overtime or a second job?

Not diminishing the clear mega difficulties in housing BUT sometimes we can't have our ideal lives. We have to live to our means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,304 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Caller, there is a by-election next week, go run!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Sinead wants us all living in a commune is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭hamburgham

can someone stop her. drivel.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

If that lady has time to be an activist and call Liveline, it’s not a good sign fur her own company.

They hung up on Sinéad! the cheek!

Emails and calls to politicians don't work, so what is next? Yep, call the Lahvlahn

Caller is calling from "here in south africa"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭Dublin Calling

Another advertising feature for The George?

Listenership figures tomorrow will plummet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,783 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

I'm going to wish everyone on this thread a happy weekend, because Ireland has a better chance of qualifying for the World Cup then me tuning in tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,395 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

They've botched it really. Louise Duffy worked quite well in that 12-1 slot, I barely listen now that she's gone to 3-4 and I don't care what anyone says: having the main drive time current affairs show to start when most people are still working and to be over by six is absolutely stupid - and the quality of content in it is increasingly stupid too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,783 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

I used to really enjoy Louise Duffy but now also rarely listen in. It feels like it's at the wrong time of day. And then replacing drivetime with sport just seems ludicrous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭Dublin Calling

Drive time is ridiculous. It is finishing off when I finish off working. I have no interest at in sports and even less in listening to gaa talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

They're going to miss plenty breaking news stories finishing at that time ,seems drivetime is run with the comfort of the presenters in mind not the quality of the output

Ray sneaked back in, that's what happened https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-41845191.html

r/TheSimpsons - TECHNICAL DIFFICULTIES PLEASE STAND BY TECHNICAL DIFFICULTIES PLEASE STAND BY TECHNICAL DIFFICULTIES PLEASE STAND BY TECHNICAL DIFFICULTIES PLEASE STAND BY

"We have been told they dont know what has caused it yet, but everything is down".

Lads, Have you tried turning it off and in again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,762 ✭✭✭Jeff2

Is tomorrow's show some sort of funny Friday.?

It is a private business availing of public broadcaster free airtime for 1h15m, plus promotional stings during the week.

A better used of the Licence Fee would be for Kieran and crew to walk 100m down the road and talk to the 25 people who are losing their jobs.

https://www.thejournal.ie/silk-road-cafe-dublin-castle-closure-7037559-May2026/

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Owner is on Claire Byrne now, its absolutely shocking carry on, the poor man :(

Unfortunately it reflects how the country is run.

Kieran, here is a map from The George to the Silk Road Cafe. I hope you can follow it.

1000035548.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭littlevillage

As always with Liveline stories, we get don't get all the background to the story....only the gorey stuff and the pain!!!

What happened to Austin was terrible and the courts agreed and handed down hefty sentences to the thugs who beat him up.

A few things about the story however...

Austin was in the pub and then went off to the casino and was chatting up some rough bird. Good man Austin who has two kids with another lady 👍

Some ex of yer wan didn't like this and whacked Austin accross the head with a bottle. (I go to Casino's a lot and noticed in recent years at least they don't have glass bottles just plastic ones or maybe small glasses) but lets assume it was a glass beer bottle.

This didn't do much on Austin who we we're told was a big strapping lad and "well able to look after himself", he proceeded to give yer man a few slaps.

Where were the security/bouncers from the Casino when this was going on?

Why weren't the Gardai called after what was clearly an assault?

The bad boy seemingly left the Casino and rang up his mates who went in search of Austin who it seems was walking around the streets alone at this stage.

Why didn't he get the Gardai to bring him home or at least a taxi. How did the thugs find him? Did they per chance know where he would likely be (the wans house) or were they waiting outside the Casino?

Then a mysterious woman found Austin at 4am and stayed with him until the Ambulance arrived.... and was never heard from again. She clearly had some connection to the story, she might even have been the female from the Casino and maybe left the Casino with Austin and might have witnessed the whole thing.

It was more than embarrassing that Kieran was calling out for the good Samaritan woman to come forward on air 🤭

She hadn't come forward in 4 years, there was obviously some reasons why not.

Alas we shall never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,860 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

As a few others have already stated, I too will be giving today's show a big MISS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Expunge

Maybe Leo Varadkar might be a guest, to talk about some of the legendary nights he had there over the years.

New lad,

• Live in The George.
    • Sconing, a word for a Shift in The George.
    • Talking about Sconing in The George.
    • 40 years of changes and decriminalisation.
    • You memories and your own journey in 2026.
    • We are having great fun in The George.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Expunge

Tommy Fleming might be on as well… who knows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

RTE boycotting the Eurovision but talking about it nonstop, and sent some of the talent over too ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Will Derek Mooney be on from the George.... explaining how he has been sconing RTE for years