General gaming discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,000 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

After a couple of months of completely bouncing off games, old and new, Hitman 3 / World of Assassination has me completely hooked between the story missions of 3 and the chaos of Freelancer, it's scratching a very itchy part of my gamer brain.

Really looking forward to 007 in 2 weeks time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Jaysus that's a lot of posts about nothing since yesterday evening..

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 55,025 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I mean. Is it?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 55,025 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Ah, gotcha.

I didn't realise the mixtape was published by same people who published what remains of Edith Finch. Both are games with minimal gameplay but a story that sticks with you.

I don't get why people are angry at it (mixtape) as a game, it doesn't claim to be something it's not.

My recommendation would be if you have 3-4 hours and pay for gamepass, definitely play it. If you don't have gamepass, you should know yourself if it's the type of game you'd play or not.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,435 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Digital now represents 85% of sales on the PS systems. Would anyone be really shocked if the PS6 was without a disk drive at this point? Even the possibility of adding one afterwards might not be there this time.

In news that's probably related, MS are looking into some form of Disk-To-Digital process, presumably similar to the Xbox One era ideas. Be hilarious if MS burned all that 360 goodwill with gamers, only to end up with essentially the same set up a decade and a half later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,177 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

BS is a niche platform that's hostile to right wing views in general. Twitter at least allows far left/right and centre. You get a balance. BS wasn't the big takeover they hoped for and I've noticed a lot more left wing comments the last while on Twitter, probably from people moving back. Comment sections under the likes of RTE are not always dominated by the right these days. I noticed that under a recent Graham lenihan post. Good to see it though, echo chamber's like BS are boring.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,287 ✭✭✭✭The Iron Giant

Would anyone know what the best versions of Metal Slug are if I'm looking to play on the PlayStation 5 (or Switch). I know there's the Metal Slug Collection but believe they may have tricky input lag. Also know there's the ACA Neo Geo versions but not sure if they're better.

The metal slug collection is complete shite especially if you buy it in Europe. It's the PS2 collection so the emulation is dodgy like all the PS2 games. And if you buy it in Europe you get the slowed down PAL versions. It's the only game I refunded on PlayStation.

The Hamster arcade archives versions are much better with excellent emulation. But more expensive but it's way better than the awful anthology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,573 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

I think they will use the PS5 detachable disk drive. There's no new tech needed it's purely to write from disk to drive and do a license check so nothing is a bottle neck.

But certainly it will be a digital first ecosystem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,095 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I'd presume if that court case re: Sonys monopoly (think i used it right this time) on the store bears fruit and digital PS games will be available on 3rd party sites as a result, then i imagine it'll be a near given they'd go digital only for PS6. Obviously, I'd prefer a disc option, and willing to pay more for it, but if they lose out because of that, they'll want to recoup it somehow and I can see physical being dropped.

I'm part of the 15% that mainly buys disc, especially for full priced new releases, because the trade in is worth too much. But that second hand physical copy is worth nothing to Sony, so a % of a cheaper digital copy from a 3rd party site is better than nothing. Hopefully with MS looking to keep physical, Sony will be feel compelled to keep it too.

Im in that awkward place where I buy disks but don't want to get up to change them so curse buying the disk 🤣.

These are the use cases where a 30 day online licence check is perfect. Buy the game on disk, pop it in, get a 30 day digital licence. But you need to have the disk in to renew it in 30 days.

That way you can play a few games without swapping disks and still selling it on once done. Even swap it for a few weeks with a friend.

And when the servers go down you lose the game forever.

No thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,287 ✭✭✭✭The Iron Giant

Thank you kindly 🙌🏼 I figured you might be in the know. I'll pick those up.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,435 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Ah, I'd read that Positron plan not as "MS want to keep a disk drive", but rather as "MS want to get rid of the disk drive, but want a way for people with loads of physical games to have a way to get a digital license". Not as snappy at all, is it?

Anyway, whether that's a detachable drive that you own, or some kind of trade in system (i.e. send MS a disk of a game and they'll add a digital copy to your account), no one knows yet. Their old Xbox One proposal was to have a kiosk in Gamestop and other retail stores so that you could do this, and then that store could resell the physical copy. Still can't believe that Gamestop et all decided to campaign against this, everyone could see that digital was going to eat their second hand lunch, but apparently the senior management thought that the gravy train would not just continue, but get bigger and bigger.

Funny how MS coming up with this plan is one of the biggest mistakes in gaming history, I'd have Gamestop campaigning against it as a close second. I find it hilarious that we've essentially ended up at a worse version of the MS plan, and more than 85% of people are basically ok with it, judging from the digital sales percentage.

Put in the disk if you are offline.

The licence is always on the disk. What I'm suggesting is that when you put in the disk it syncs to your online account and then you get an additional 30 day digital licence.

You would only need to pop the disk in once a month. Rather than swapping them every time you want to play.

Don't forget at the same time people were saying the Xbox was spying 🤣. The thing was voice activated how else could it work if you couldn't hear you.

I remember getting in loads of arguements at the time. I thought the Xbox approach was great. The problem they had was they were thinking ten years in the future, gamers were 5 years in the past.

Now look at us, pretty much a digital world with voice activated everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,000 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Speaking of digital, email leaks from best buy say you can pre-order physical copies of GTA 6 from 18th May and game will release in November.

Just a reminder to pre-order your digital copy before they run out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,848 ✭✭✭✭Penn

I still remember queuing in XtraVision for the midnight release of GTAV. I'm actually kind of surprised I remember it considering it was THIRTEEN F*CKING YEARS AGO!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 31,616 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

While pre-ordering a game digitally six months in advance is very silly, everyone downloading GTA VI will be a good test of whether the internet can actually run out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭holly_johnson

Started a new playthrough of Satisfactory yesterday and already 8hrs in. It's like a black hole of addiction. Even dreamt of it last night. Why did I do this to myself when there are so many good games releasing at the moment?

I love it, I've not been back to it for a long time. Only playing it on the Steam Deck. Maybe once my Steam Controller arrives, I'll boot it back up.

I played straight through to the second last phase, over 100 hours. I realised I needed some serious optimisation for that phase, took a break and haven't been back to it since, mainly out of fear of the workload ahead of me. Cracking game though. Probably the best automation game I've played out of the 1st person ones. Except for those spider things. Jump scare feckers!

Has your Steam Controller shipped yet? Mine has been at "packaged" but not picked up for a good week now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭holly_johnson

Grumpypants12:43 pm

I love it, I've not been back to it for a long time. Only playing it on the Steam Deck. Maybe once my Steam Controller arrives, I'll boot it back up.

When I finished my marathon yesterday and "went to bed" I booted it up on my deck (hopeless addiction) but tbh I found the text a bit small for me. Would use it again if needed, but much preferred it on the big screen.

Yes the end phases can be a bit overwhelming alright! In my last playthrough I used a few blueprints I downloaded that I found helped a lot to get my head around what was needed and then rebuilt them myself. As for the spiders, arachnophobia mode is my friend. Little mewing cats is SO much nicer than those no-head-many-legs feckers!

Forza Horizon 6 reviews coming out. I see a 5 star review from Eurogamer already.

9/10 Metro gamecentral.

They're more of a nuisance than anything. Like, I just want to build a gigafactory where you live, we can co-exist!

Did look into the blueprints, but even looking at them can be a lot to take it. I also have unlimited resource nodes because managing that on top is a bit much for me. The game remains there in my XMB, waiting patiently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,848 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Might actually get it when it releases on PS5. Haven't actually played a racing game in years and never played a Forza game.

Yeah it was handed over to GLS on the 6th. It's been on a European tour so far. Starting in Holland, then into Denmark and onto France. It left France on the 12th and I've had no update since. But GLS are like that, it goes quite until it lands in Ireland, then the next morning it is delivered. I'd like to have it for the weekend.