Cycling Ireland 2026 road racing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,393 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Knowing some of the lads locally & district I’ll be expecting some good competive racing over the weekend. The lads who’ve come off Kanturk will be in good shape with 3 or especially worth keeping an eye on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭mamax

And I'm sure a lot of them will be watching you 😂

Here's one free month of Starlink service! Starlink high-speed internet is great for streaming, video calls, and gaming in even the most remote locations on Earth. https://www.starlink.com/residential?referral=RC-DF-6579889-13980-71&app_source=share

I’ve a love hate affair with that loop, I’ll either go well or be dropped!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭this.lad

Sorry for late reply, it will be handicapped.

As of 1pm we have 66 registered for The Cotter Cup, there are 4 places left and once gone that's it.

Here's one free month of Starlink service! Starlink high-speed internet is great for streaming, video calls, and gaming in even the most remote locations on Earth. https://www.starlink.com/residential?referral=RC-DF-6579889-13980-71&app_source=share

Any chance of posting an entry list once it’s filled?

Yep once reg is closed we'll start working on lists for chip timing, CI, Comms etc we'll post full rider list on socials hopefully including TT start list as well, this list will be emailed to every rider during the day tomorrow as well.

Just looked at Sundays forecast…sorry i did now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭daragh_

Update on the Wicklow Classic

As we posted on Social Media a few days ago, current entries for the Wicklow Classic are well below where they need to be to make the event viable. We've seen a small bump in numbers over the last few days but we aren't near a full race by any means

Due to the nature of the course and to facilitate the Guards (who have been extremely helpful in planning the race) and all our volunteers, entry must close on Friday, May 22nd.

St. Tiernan’s is a small club. We don’t have any sponsors—we are just a group of volunteers who really want to give something back to the domestic racing scene.

However, we simply cannot run this race at a significant loss. To ensure the flag drops on May 31st, we need a commitment from racers this week.

Please don’t wait until the 22nd. If you are planning to race, sign up today, spread the word in your club WhatsApp groups, and help us make this happen.

Links on our Website and on the CI Events page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭wav1

Entrys closing on 22nd probably not a good idea.This is not criticism just a friendly tip.guys just won't enter that early and you'll have a paltry entry at that stage and you'll probably say ah feck it .Normally if you look at the Entrys 3 days before the race double it and that will be roughly your numbers. Also worth noting majority of C1s will be riding the ras and a race a week later will be the last thing on their mind on 22nd.Just may tuppence worth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭Paddigol

How many people racing have put effort into hosting a race? There seems to be a massive disconnect between the racing scene and the club scene. Its all well and good saying I won't enter that early (a week???), but when clubs stop bothering to host races because of the absolute ball ache it must be (costs, CI, Gardai, ambulances, marshals, insurance, leaving aside all the admin and logistics) just to see people unable to give a bit of commitment back, who do they think are going to organise races for them?

What about everyone who commits well in advance to marshal at these events and whose plans are f**ked up with races cancelled last minute?

From the outside looking in, and listening to the same complaints year after year of numbers down and races falling by the wayside, maybe some of the racing crowd need to get a grip and stop seeing themselves as top class athletes who need pandering to?

Well done to West Clare CC for getting both a road race for C1/2 plus a two day stage race for C3 off the ground last weekend. Yes the event had it's challenges but in the end both circuits made for good hard racing especially Sundays road race.

Here's hoping i can come back next year for it with a little more vintage on my side as an M50.

For anyone who hasn't raced a bike in the west of Ireland you should as you'll either get sun or crosswinds from hell which i prefer!

Wicklow Classic entry extended for a Week. Closing on Friday 29th May.

Numbers good in C3. Hopefully we will see a bump in C1 and C2 next week after the Rás.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Christie Mc Manus / Ronnie Coates is cancelled and won't be rescheduled is what I hear through the grapevine.

That’s disappointing as it’s always a good race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭joey100

@daragh_ does it look like the race will happen or still dependant on numbers?

We spent the day putting up Advance Notice signs so we are definitely going ahead. 👍️

Sean Lynch Memorial

Saturday week 6th

2 x races 10am start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Raymzor

A standalone Women's race is unlikely right now as the numbers are low. There will still be a QOH Prize and Prizes for the first 3 Women if we run a combined C3/Women's Race

Came down here last year in a silly crash so heading back to try get a win before the fun ends with a C2 upgrade in June

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭joey100

@daragh_ well done on a great race, well organised from start to finish. Brilliant route, roads in good condition too, great marshalling and a great finish point as well. If only you could move it a little closer to the HQ, was a tough cycle back after racing that course! 😂 Fair play to you and the club for organising, I'll be telling people to do it next year, great to have a different style race like that on the calender.

Thanks for the feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed it (although 'enjoy' might be the wrong word).

We were very happy with how it went and are looking forward to building on it for next year. STCC were proud of the Laragh Classic and it's great to be able to continue it's legacy with the Wicklow Classic and put something back into Road Racing. We had really great support from the Guards, Cycling Ireland, Cycling Leinster and some of the most experienced Race Promoters in the country (you know who you are) - so kudos to them.

All feedback in any form is great and we will use it to plan for next year. We are a very small club and the success on the day is down to one key factor - the enthusiasm of all our volunteers. 50+ Club Members giving up a Bank Holiday Sunday to Marshal is fantastic to see - massive thanks to all of them for the time and effort.

Enjoy the recovery, and we’ll see you for the next edition of the Wicklow Classic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,464 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

When did ye decide to combine the C1/C2

We left it as late as possible hoping for a bump on Friday night. We had 13 C1s signed up in the end which didn’t make a separate race feasible. Not ideal obviously and we totally understand why a few people were unhappy but we have to work around the Guards availability along with allocating a limited amount of lead and follow cars and Moto Marshals. Similar story with combining the C3 and Women’s Race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭JimmiesRustled

I don't think people were annoyed with you lads. I know for myself after getting a hiding everyday at the Rás last week I was looking forward to being part of the race. Instead, you had Cyrus Monk turning up and the race was over 10km in with himself, feeley and a few others up the road. Now, I had a case of the post Rás virus so couldn't make it.

From my perspective, I'm not frustrated with you guys. You're the reason we get to race at all at the weekends but I think people were just frustrated that the race was essentially over so quickly for all intents and purposes.

I don't really know why C1 participation is as low as it is. I know Tour of the mournes and maybe the ivca races over the bank holiday drew a few more from the pool of riders that might've done the Wicklow classic. I don't know. Just my ¢.02.

I do hope it becomes a staple on the calendar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,464 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

I would have dropped the C1 race. Plenty of races for them and they were just after doing the Ras. Not giving out, just my opinion.

This coming weekend there's another combined C1/C2 race on Saturday which means most C2s will not race

definitely something to consider when we are planning next year