Fr Ted creator/writer Graham Linehan Arrested over posts on Transgender issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,337 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

The likes of Linehan and the hateful cult he is imbedding himself with is what that poem was warning about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,445 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Exactly. I think the meaning and context are lost on some people. Martin Niemoller went to and survived a concentration camp for standing up to the Nazis. Graham Linehan has unilaterally ruined his life and his career along with discarding his family for his hatred. The two are not remotely comparable.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,019 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

Nice dodge of the direct question I asked.

And yes, I do think it's appropriate. We should speak out about unfairness/partiality of judicial and policing procedures regardless of who the target is or their political leanings. If you don't then the unfair system may just turn on you someday.

“Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,114 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

Well he didn't really though. He advised women confronting predatory men in women's toilets to "make a scene... and if all else fails punch her in the balls." The "punchline" was based on a joke that proved his point, because women don't have balls, rather than a genuine call to violence.

But how many women could tackle a man anyway? That's exactly the problem. So it wasn't a serious call for women to attack men physically and no sensible person could think it was.

Very different from, say, Charlotte Hayes who literally called for conservatives to be murdered and yet Kent Police decided that no crime had been committed here: “Why is anyone condemning that. Kill them all. Kill them all.”

And then there's Lucy Connolly of course, jailed for a tweet where she said she "wouldn't care" if violence was committed. So it's not even about actually calling for violence, it's for having the wrong opinions about who violence is committed against. Tell people to kill the "right" people, and you're grand. Let's at least be honest about that.

"If a woman cannot stand in a public space and say, without fear of consequences, that men cannot be women, then women have no rights at all." Helen Joyce

I'm not interested in whataboutery.

You've not pointed out the alleged unfairness though. The man was arrested and released without charge. Not remotely comparable with enduring the holocaust. Ironically, Linehan is fully on board with genocide when it suits him.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Well the poem was about not just the holocaust but the political climate in Germany before the holocaust began, were opponents and designated enemies of the Nazi regime were targeted by the machinery of the state. So entirely appropriate about the roads we can go down as a society if we ignore things happening to people just because we don't agree with their opinions or politics.

“Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”

image.png

Never heard of her, but I assume this is the tweet you are hilariously down playing?

In other words, you're invoking Nazi Germany and the Holocaust because a horrible man called for people to be assaulted.

Honestly, that's quite disgraceful. Linehan is not a victim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,152 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

And that political climate you're referencing included targeting the LGBT community...

No, I'm comparing a tweet from a grieving woman whose own daughter had died, written in the heat of the moment after learning that three little girls had been murdered - a tweet she deleted an hour later and apologised for - and comparing that to any number of cases where people have called for violence against women, or against political opponents, and asking why that one deserved months in prison, or why Linehan's joke required him to be arrested by armed police, and not the others which were blatantly calling to actually kill people.

There's a double standard on display here, and more importantly, two-tier policing in the UK.

"If a woman cannot stand in a public space and say, without fear of consequences, that men cannot be women, then women have no rights at all." Helen Joyce

If that's what you think, didn't Charlotte Hayes do the same? Or is it ok if it's only conservatives that are to be killed? And posted after Charlie Kirl's murder, so the exact opposite context to Lucy Connolly, who was posting in horror at the murder of children, rather than in celebration of the expected first of many murders.

Well you will have ask her. She admitted it. Linehan was clever enough not to I suppose.

In his sentencing remarks, Judge Melbourne Inman said Connolly's offence was "category A" - meaning "high culpability" - and that both the prosecution and her own barrister agreed she "intended to incite serious violence".

For Reader, this showed "they weren't arguing this was a silly tweet and she should be let off - her own counsel agreed this was a serious issue".

At her appeal, Connolly claimed that while she accepted she intended to stir up racial hatred, she always denied trying to incite violence.

But Lord Justice Holroyde said in a judgement this week the evidence "clearly shows that she was well aware of what she was admitting".

Yeah that was the excuse for why she was jailed (even though she was held without access to a lawyer and was advised by the police that the only way she'd be back with her children quickly was to plead guilty and get a suspended sentence rather than risking a court case). She was basically tricked by the police into making statements which her lawyer then failed to show were false/quoted out of context so they were used against her in court.

But that explanation is insufficient when you compare it to Moussa Kadr, who attacked the Quran-burner Hamit Coskun in London in 2025. Kadri threatened to kill him and slashed him with a knife. He then pled guilty to assault and possessing a blade and he got a 20-week suspended sentence, while Coskun was fined for a religiously-aggravated offence.

So you can actually attack someone with a knife, plead guilty, and still get a suspended sentence. But not put up a nasty tweet for an hour. Well, not unless the tweet is about people who deserve to die. Like conservatives.

And then people wonder why Reform are doing well in the polls. 😯

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Arseboxing

Because they are a small and powerless group who are the target of a concerted campaign of hate by the international far right, which includes the governments of the USA, Russia, Israel for starters, most US and UK mainstream media, the owners of all the major social media websites, masses of headbangers with major public platforms, as well as millions of anonymous rage farmers like you.

Trans people are now the target of a mass propaganda hate campaign which is indeed reminscent of that faced by Jews in Europe in the 1930s and sick people like you are only too happy to be part of it.

And yet I'm accussed of whataboutery.

Sophia said this regarding Parker Posie having soup thrown on them, someone says “Thank god it wasn’t acid” and Sophia said “really wish it was though".

That's a reference to assault on a known person, not a generalised statement like Linehan said.

I think the tweets from both of them are odious and to be condemned. I don't think it rises to the level of criminal harassment however.

If it did for Graham though surely it should for Sophia also, yet you refuse to condemn (or even really acknowledge the substance of what Sophia said or did, including infiltrating gender critical groups).

That's partiality to do with beliefs/alignment not behaviour and it is not something anyone who wishes to live in a fair, democratic society should support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,092 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

But shouldn't we all be like this?

Like, I would class myself as left-leaning on social issues and right-leaning on economic issues, because I don't think my thoughts on trans rights, abortion rights or whatever else should have any impact on my views on taxation or welfare spending. They're completely and utterly unconnected issues.

And this is what fascinates me about Linehan. He started with the trans issue and has moved onto climate change denial, vaccine conspiracy, shilling for Israel and celebrator of ICE murdering unarmed people protesting illegal deportations. Someone will have to explain to me why these apparently unconnected issues have to be lumped together.

Because that's what it is. Whatever transphobe psychodrama you wish to bring up is of no interest to me.

So can I just ask a direct question.

Do you think the police and judicial system should apply the law equally to all, regardless of belief system or political alignment?

What proof do you have that it wasn't, in Linehan's case?

That was a very simple question and you won't even say yes.

You tell on yourself more and more everytime you post.

So this person who admitted to being a racist and inciting violence, which was backed up by her own words in written form and admitted to in court was tricked?

🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Arseboxing

What connects attacking trans people to being anti-choice on abortion, climate change denial, vaccine conspiracism, shilling for Israel and celebrating ICE murdering unarmed civilians etc. etc. etc. is cruelty.

I'm sure you could write books about the psychological thought processes at play in the connection between all these things, and indeed people have done, but at the same time you can basically reduce it to one word and that is cruelty.

People with a public platform who go down the brain rot route pretty much always go for the full menu brain rot. Belief in cruelty is all encompassing. Linehan is a cog in a mass industrial fascist bullshit machine. He relies on all the other cogs in the mass industrial bullshit machine to give him support, to drown out normal people. All the cogs in this mass industrial fascist bullshit machone rely on each other. The mass industrial fascist bullshit machine demands conformity on all topics. It's a mass assult on reason and on civilisation.

This stuff is so feckin obvious.

Exactly evidence by the fact we have now moved on to defending the behaviour of a self confessed racist and inciter of grotesque violence.

Is there a women's rights issue that sometimes directly conflicts with trans rights or not? Things like having male criminals declare themselves to be women, sometimes after being arrested for abuse of women or children? Or a trans ID male taking a job conselling rape victims, one that is reserved for women because some rape victims are not comfortable talking openly to males?

If you agree that there is, doesn't that make it entirely different to any comparisons with Jews in Nazi Germany?

If you think there isn't, could you explain why you don't think so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭maik3n

Just on the whole Police overreach thing, its important to clarify that the OP, is actually in relation to Glinner promoting violence against trans people on twitter, rather than the whole drama/court case with him and the trans activist, their phone.

Coming back to Glinner generally, when even Queen Terf Rowling doesn't support you, I think something might be amiss!!

She did FINALLY acknowledge him last year on Twitter, unsurprisingly to support more of Glinners highly questionable behaviour/posts.

Graham Linehan is by no means anti choice. He put himself out there to argue for abortion rights in Ireland in a way that few people on here ever did. Probably none.

You're obviously projecting a whole set of beliefs onto anyone you disagree with, but in Linehan's case it's genuinely sad to see the old "eaten bread is soon forgotten" axiom being so clearly demonstrated.

He's long been desperate for her approval. It's rather pathetic, honestly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 428 ✭✭Mother Shaboobu

I never said we shouldn't all be like this, but if you mean not slavishly tied to one political "wing", I wholeheartedly agree.

Cranks will always end up eating themselves.

You just have to look at the MAGA cult for a glaring example of this.