Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Oh. That's a risk alright, plenty of motivation for Wexford but I'd say ye will still have enough somehow. Looked a very good team in Portloaise, plenty hurlers even without the big guns.

Still a strange choice given ye are qualified at senior but I see Rabbitte and Killeen are on bench. Are Niland and Sean Murphy injured?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Marrooned

I think Wexford will be stronger than the last time they met Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

To be fair these teams picked you can sometimes take with a pinch of salt. Thought Killeen dragged us back into the game against ye after your fast start so unless he's picked up something (he's only back from injury) I reckon he'd start. Rabbitte more likely used if needed.

Niland was rumoured to have picked up something prior to Offaly. Played that but not seen since. May just be minding him. Murphy came off injured against Kildare first day out. Depending on progress a bit to go yet.

Not sure Wexford ceiling but from what I've seen so far Galway have more to offer. Full forward line with a fast ball and a hard ground should give any full back line massive problems.

I think we maybe made Wexford look a better side than they are. Thought we underperformed but were still 6/7 points the better team on the day.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Killeen definitely turned the tide for Galway against Kilkenny when it looked like we were in control. And Wexford we’re very poor the night Galway hammered them in Portlaoise, and I would agree when Chaz says we made them look better than they are.

ye Chaz but Wexford were missing about four players for that Galway match including thr centre forward.maybe Billy Ocean can confirm this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

I presume Niland is injured as he wasn't in the 26 for the Seniors vs Kildare, we've 2 changes from the 1st game v Galway, Charlie Mooney and Ryan Doran are in, don't know what to expect tomorrow, I actually taught we competed well 1st day v Galway but we hit some awful wides and we couldn't handle Niland, since then I taught we deserved the draw vs yourselves and put 2 poor sides in Laois and Kildare to the sword. Bit of size and physicality in the team which is a welcome change.

thanks for that Billy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭hogans heroes

Anyone Know if you can pay in tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭neverbet

Minors showed how its done Saturday with a never say die display we are getting used to from this group. Plenty of good ones there with Jack Bolger more impressive each time I see him. Henry and management have gone with an experienced and physically strong team tonight which is what's required in Parnell Park. Recent years minor results would suggest we should be winning this one but Dublin 19s showed us in the park that they are more than capable. A real test for our boys and what a morale boost it would be to get the win. Best of luck to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭JohnCougar

I would back you up there Marrooned and your are right in a lot of what you say. If lads want a woke group then they should set one up and say everything is perfect and rosy in the garden and we have no issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 TryMyBest

Yeah, that Wexford-Galway game wasn’t as one-sided as the scoreline suggested, Wexford created the same number of scoring chances as Galway but hit some a terrible number of wides and then Niland pretty much beat Wexford by himself, wasn’t as if Galway were that dominant that day outside of him

I think they are all ticket now, no cash at stiles. Link on Kilkenny or Dubs GAA social media.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭JohnCougar

I think its great for Kilkenny, Dublin and Wexford and will give them all a lift with a chance of winning Leinster if Niland is out for the next 2 weeks. Hopefully we can perform tonight and we get a good crowd to travel also. Looking forward to it. We need a lift.

I’m on the Leinster GAA season ticket and I think I’m still eligible to gain entry tonight, but otherwise no cash at stiles anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Willie Power

Just my tuppence worth on Kilkenny hurling. I'm a Laois man on the border. I've admired Kilkenny hurling since a child in the early 80s. The way you go about things as a county and behaviour in victory and defeat.

Derek Lyng inherited a team that looked like it was heading towards its peak in 2022. You had the Cork loss in 2021 followed by a 2 point loss to peak Limerick in the All Ireland of 2022.

The team should have pushed on, and there should have been All Irelands up for grabs in 2024 and 2025 when Limerick were out and Cork unsure of themselves in finals.

However the trajectory has been:

2pt AI loss 2022

10pt AI loss 2023

Semi loss 2024

Semi loss 2025

It has been a stagnant to backwards trend. Nicky Brennan and Kevin Fennelly were given short shrift in the 90s. I can't see how Lyng was given the reins again for 2026. I know the backroom has been changed significantly. But the buck stops with the boss.

There's plenty of talent in Kilkenny. While underage aren't winning as much they were, they are always competitive. The 2025 minors lost to Waterford, eventual winners, by 2 or 3 points. The 2024 minor loss to Tipp with 13 was a bizarre one where tactically KK were poor. If Tipp had 15 the result may have been different. The 2024 U20s came as close to Offaly as any team in the competition.

Treat the two impostors of defeat and victory just the same, the truth is always in the middle. However since the reemergence of Limerick in 2018, where they probably measure the weight of each stool they pass, you need A1 management to compete. That's a compliment to Limerick. Every detail is dealt with meticulously by Kiely, Kinnerk and team.

"He might be an eejit, but he's our eejit"
    Willie Power

There's probably a bit of an identity crisis in Kilkenny senior hurling over the past 4 years especially.

The Cork\Newtownshandrum short passing game was countered in 2006 with some Mick Dempsey football defensive thinking of the time. It wasn't a huge adjustment.

Now Kilkenny need a game plan, implemented at underage and by clubs too, that suits their DNA. High fielding, excellence at the basics, defensive ability in hooking and blocking, going for the jugular with goals, never being beaten, intensity yet cool thinking under pressure are what I associate with Kilkenny hurling. First time pick ups, touch really crisp. And anyone who thinks they can't merge a bit of short play think back to the heads up equalising score v Wexford in the drawn Leinster Final of 1993. Kilkenny hurling tradition is a bit like the All Blacks in always doing the basics right.

The confidence has gone under Lyng.. and in anything you won't achieve unless you believe in yourself and in what you're doing. I never remember a Kilkenny team with so many top players out of form, you'll always have a few. Even 1996-98, there weren't as many so below par.

Kerry football are a great example of a county that has weathered and come to terms with every challenge since Armagh and Tyrone changed that game in 2002\03.

Post edited by Willie Power on

Willie Power

fairly blustery here in Parnell. You would think it’s February.

well Willie, welcome to the forum. Spot on with a lot you have said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Zenga

Offaly perspective:

I attended last weekend in hope rather than expectation, like the majority of offaly supporters. All the history books pointed to a loss the question was how much

Kilkenny are definitely not the team you were thats clear, but 16 wides vs. 6 for offaly? 2 very good goal chances missed...on 9 out 10 days Kilkenny would have won by 5-6 points at least and i think that would have been fair.

Im delighted to say offaly are no longer the push overs we have been, this team has a grit that sticks as seen thoughout the league they will stay plugging no matter the scoreboard, a trait thats hard not to like.

Now to the hard part, I cant lie i was a bit shocked at the Kilkenny supporters and their reactions towards the end. Was the last call contraversial yes, but i personally think he actually got it right based on the footage albeit hard to call either way. In the same respect the last free given to Kilkenny was incredibly soft and like all games both teams could argue the toss over this & that decision all day. I dont understand the reaction being that the referee was at fault for Kilkenny retreating from Tullamore with a point because he quite simply wasnt.

Kilkenny kept Offaly in it, and buoyed by the home crowd they took their chance.

I have always admired Kilkenny for their leave it on the field attitude, from the great battles of the 90s to the doldrums we found ourselves in during the last 20 years, there was always respect and good natured banter or discussion.

What i experienced on saturday was miles away from that, and having been on the end of many a beating from the black & amber & taking it in good nature it was slightly hard to take when its not reciprocated when finally after 30 years the dark clouds are beginning to lift over the faithful county.

Rory Garrett is a fine hurler lads, having a great game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭me89

Really good performance, did really well in the first half against the wind the 2 Eds won a lot of high balls. Lacey was really good but Garrett was exceptional at fullback

Good win for the 20s … never an easy place to get a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭kksaints

Very good win for the U20s. Played controlled against the wind in the first half and hit some very nice scores with it in the second half. Was slightly surprised to see Kelly be subbed, he looked very useful in the 1st half.

Galway v Wexford going to extra time.

Kilkenny 20s improving all the time.

Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,584 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Very good performance although Dublin were poor in the second half, totally flat in the first ten minutes or so of it and couldn't really make any inroads then, partly because our backs were very solid. Was the best kk performance I've seen in a while so that was nice. Garrett looked very assured all day, great head on his shoulders, not saying he needs to be dropped into full back for the seniors right away but long term he'll have to be an option there

Agree on Garrett… big future ahead of him and looks ready to step up right now to be honest. I thought he was very good throughout the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Firstsub

Great to have a positive result after recent disappointments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭hogans heroes

Good Performance and plenty to work on.Did feel more like february.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭mooz

Definitely has all the hallmarks of a future Kilkenny fullback, I think as he grows in confidence at senior level, he'll end up there in the future. Class tonight