The Tennis Thread 2026

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,625 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Gauff takes the second set 6-2. Some brilliant tennis from both players.

A repeat of a the second set. Gauff leads 4-1 but Andreeva had break points to make it 3-2. Can't see Gauff losing from here

Well would you believe it Andreeva saves match points and the score is now 5-4 to Andreeva to serve.

The tension in this game. Going on 10 minutes now. Andreeva saving 4 match points. Gauff getting everything back

Gauff takes it. Andreeva played brilliant during the match. Wasn't much in it a point here or there for Andreeva and it could have been a different result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,612 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Watched the second half of the Gauff Andreeva game this morning, Gauff v impressive looking, sometimes you fear she'll never get a forehand in but it looked rock solid in that game. And no histrionics was a refreshing change from Andreeva!

Swiatek is demolishing all before her, watching her making mince meat of Pegula here. Haven't seen her play this well in a very long time. Will be an interesting final if she runs up against Gauff in that kind of form!

Svitolina vs Rybakina should be a good one this evening. I would expect Rybakina to win that one and set up a mouth watering semi final against Swaitek.

I think as much as Gauff was impressive in her match against Andreeva especially her defence, everything was coming back, I don't think she would get away with it playing against Swaitek or Rybakina. I think if Andreeva had of been able to take more of the breakpoints she had against Gauff especially in that third set she would have won. I think at times Gauff was hanging in and trying not to win the point but hope for errors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,612 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Agreed about this evening's game - unfortunately I'll be out (playing tennis!) and heading off to Portugal in the morning (to play tennis!) so I think I've seen the last of this Italian open.

If there's any humdinger matches, please report them here and I might try to catch up on them when I get back!

Jaysus, having seen the first set, I was NOT expecting that result from this evening's match 😳

Some turnaround!!!

Complete clusterfuck now with the Jodar/Darderi match - fireworks at the football match next door have resulted in peasoup fog in the court!

Hawkeye has packed up, you can't see the length of the court, it's nearly midnight.....

And resumed, after 20 mins timeout, and serious doubt if hawkeye was back working (it is).

Now choppers sounding like they're invading the court.

Fair play to the two lads, playing away in a tie break for the first set!

Well, I was asking for humdinger matches to be flagged - and tonight's is one for sure!

I have to head for the bed now as they head into a 3rd set, as I've a flight to catch in the morning - but I've pressed record, and even though I'll know the result, I'll be catching up on the rest of it when I get back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,769 ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Came in half way through 2nd set. Brilliant tennis from both. Nice to see Svitolina bag a big title. She has done really well since she started with her Diadem racquet. I wonder will it have a similar effect on Bublik?😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,817 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Alcaraz out of Wimbledon now 😱

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

That's a big worry. Really hope this isn't going to be a long term thing for Alcaraz, and he'll be able to return playing at the highest level.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Serena is coming back. Playing doubles at Queens with Mboko

The worst kept secret in tennis. Unless she's totally shambolic in doubles then I imagine she'll request - and get - a Wimbledon wildcard. Will be interesting to see what her level is like, particuarly as she's lost so much weight too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,769 ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

So reigning Queen's champion Tatjana Maria has to qualify while they give out all the wildcard's to Brits? What are they thinking?

Raducanu on now at Queens. Proper tennis coverage after the TNT rubbish.

Raducanu won the first 6-0 and was 2-0 up, now its 3-2 with Raducanu just having been broken.

Raducanu wins 6-0, 6-3. Bit of a wobble in the middle of the second. Alot of double faults

I've just turned on the tennis - the green just looks all wrong!!

Boulter in trouble by the looks of it, she was going great guns for a while last year, I wonder what happened? Or was that the aberration?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,711 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

That is a very decent win (and good comeback) for Katie Boulter against Leylah Fernandez.

5 mins/1 game in, and I already don't think i can take any more of the fawning over Serena 🙄

I see Kyrgios has won a singles match in Stuttgart! It's been a while! Decent win against Moutet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 770 ✭✭✭tiegan

He played well too, great serve. He was also very humourous and left the tantrums to Moutet for a change!!

I subscribed, keep boards alive!!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Anyone get tickets for the Challenger 75 in Elm Park next week?

I see Grigor Dimitrov is supposed to be en route for it. I'm guessing he'll be the biggest name by a distance?

I've got a ticket for Mon and Wed - looking forward to it, and the weather looks half decent as well! 🤞

Further wins for Boulter and Raducanu at Queen's wonders will never cease!

Boulter a set up against Rybakina....she did extremely well to hang on to her in the first set defended a lot of break points...

Boulter serving for the match in third set....she can't can she?

She can...she battled so hard! No joke beating Rybakina! What a win.