Fr Ted creator/writer Graham Linehan Arrested over posts on Transgender issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

No I'm not saying that at all, and you're kind of doing the very thing I talked about in my post. You're making it out that the point here is just "making jokes" about trans people in a general sense. That isn't what I referred to. I referred to the specific part where the post involves saying that you should punch trans people in the balls in the women's bathroom. And what I am saying to you is that it's foolish and insincere to pretend that writing something like that might not attract accusations that the so-called joke was a dog whistle or an outright incitement. Does it cross the threshold into an arrestable office requiring court action? On balance, it seems an overreach yes, but pretending that it's completely and utterly unreasonable for anyone to say it could be incitement — and Linehan certainly makes out that it is unreasonable — is insincere. And let's apply context here, he takes this topic very seriously. When you're in that position, you know your words hold more weight.

I'm not saying that there is any equivalence between trans people and black South Africans during apartheid (well, in liberal countries anyway — there certainly would be close approximations in many other parts of the world), I'm merely pointing out that publicly posting text that sounds like it's encouraging people to single out a particular group and punching them is the kind of thing that a reasonable person understands may be contentious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,050 ✭✭✭plodder

I'm talking about people on this thread and elsewhere who "have this need to diminish his artistic achievements".

Whether you can (or can't) 'separate the art from the artist' is a big deal in cancel culture. The consensus is often that you can't. Maybe in cases like this, where it's too ingrained in the national psyche, they prefer to cut the artist adrift. Though I'd accept some posters were acknowledging his role in Fr Ted specifically.

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

That's fairly silly in all honesty. There are other posts on X saying how "problematic" it is to be using Fr Ted, with its association with Linehan as an anti-Israel (or eurovision) gesture (which is what it looks like in fairness). It's the same point being made from the other perspective. All very silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

Emma Watson could have easily disagreed with JK Rowling in relation to gender ideology, while condemning the vile threats made against Rowling.

Instead she cosied up to the movement who were issuing the threats while sending private notes.

"he who speaks with forked tongue" as a native Indian said.

The refusal to denounce threats of rape, torture and violence by Watson and the usual suspects in this thread is disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,922 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Who's refusing to denounce threats of rape, torture and violence in this thread that's disgusting you so much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭McFly85

I don’t think separating the art from the artist is even necessary with Father Ted. Not only was it co-written by him with Arthur Matthews, he was a demonstrably different person when he wrote it.

And his faux outrage tweet shows what he’s all about, any excuse for some social media exposure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

All very fine to think trans activists might be a bit upset by the jokes but so what? Everyone can be offended by jokes or at least claim to be, nothing unusual in that. I could find a joke in bad taste but I'm not going to my local cop shop to report it.

It's ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,152 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

They're putting on an episode of a comedy that was a parody of the Eurovision... I'm seeing absolutely nothing wrong with that. You also weren't raising these objections until that tweet occurred...

I probably wasn't clear. I was saying Linehan's post was silly, not yours.

There's nothing wrong with parodying the Eurovision. It fully deserves it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

Yeah, but on the presumption that you are not a trans person, you are not the subject of the "joke". It's not going to land with you the same way. If you are a trans person, or the parent / sibling etc of a trans person, some guy saying that trans people should get punched in the balls in the bathroom might understandably not be taken as merely bad taste, but something more than that. All the more so when it's not some Frankie Boyle-like comedian, but a guy who is very open and very serious about his beliefs regarding the discussion on trans people and identity.

Like I grew up in the north, in a mostly loyalist area where your identity was a bone of contention and you couldn't really even so much as wear your local GAA club jersey in certain places. I worked in a shop where we would take the piss a wee bit with the Protestant lads and vice versa, sectarian humour that was taken in good nature. But context matters, there are certain contexts where you know it's reasonable to expect that making the same joke leads to very different reactions.

This is common sense after all, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭.Donegal.

So RTE showing father ted is now antisemitic according to that insufferable fanny and he wants kevin bakhurst cancelled for it. Another freedom of speech warrior is shown to be complete and utter triggered little snowflake itch. Sick of these constant crying hypocritical *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

No I'm not trans. A friend of mine had a niece who claimed to be a 'trans male' for a while but then changed her mind and another child member of my extended family claimed something similar for a short period. It's fashionable and apparently a hot topic on unsocial media.

But the fact I'm not doesn't mean I'm not in 'a vulnerable category' that could be picked on by comics or just some random gobshite in the street.

I was once assaulted while riding my bicycle in Wicklow by a guy leaning out of a car window who thought it hilarious to slap me. I reported the reg number and incident to the Gardai. That's different to someone saying nasty things or making jokes about cyclists either here or on Twitter/X or somewhere else on unsocial media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,152 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Ah yes, the tribulations of being a cyclist. Totally similar to being LGBT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 428 ✭✭Mother Shaboobu

ACD. Not that anyone should have to. The general consensus is that of course these are bad things, but according to ACD, if you're someone he doesn't like and you don't express condemnation of same, you don't give a **** about the victims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 428 ✭✭Mother Shaboobu

Oh he's definitely just being an edgy prick now, but his original concerns about women/girls/puberty blockers are genuine. A few keep trying to discredit him at the time.

Very few here are praising the person he is now. And why keep saying "anti trans"? It's lazy and dishonest.

Ah that tweet by Linehan is just… ffs. He's behaving exactly like what he complains about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,019 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

I provided evidence of one occassion by citing the 'witches' incident.

Basically your side stepping my point that rather than harassing Emma Watson JK Rowling had a singular tweet that factually described Emma Watson as ignorant to the realities of allowing people who identify as men into same sex spaces, as she is someone who has been cushioned from wealth at an early age.

Care to provide your evidence that JK Rowling harassed Emma Watson and Nicola Sturgeon which was your initial claim.

“Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,445 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I don't think so. Some people are just horrible and covid did a number of a lot of people. I expect to hear a lot more about the effects on people's mental health over the coming decades.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,337 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

No idea what you are talking TBH, I never mentioned paparazzi.

The point is simple, Rowling who is on a crusade for women's safety apparently has no problem using her bully pulpit to put large targets on the backs of women she doesn't agree with.

Here is Nicola Sturgeon explaining what effects it had on her.

https://www.facebook.com/BBCSounds/videos/it-seemed-to-me-quite-incendiary-nicola-sturgeon-discusses-the-impact-of-jk-rowl/1061879465928228/

I provided evidence of one occassion by citing the 'witches' incident.

That was nothing to do with Rowling, as already linked to and discussed.

Rowling used a GB News false interpretation of it to bully Watson.

Care to provide your evidence that JK Rowling harassed Emma Watson and Nicola Sturgeon which was your initial claim.

Already have.

I tend not to make a claim without the ability to back it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,445 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

Man who constantly screams he has been cancelled calls for man to be cancelled for airing his own parody show.

Is this another "joke"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

She did accuse Emma Watson of enthusiastically trashing women's rights and questions the rights of both Watson and Radcliff to critique her. It's telling that Radcliffe is only mentioned once in her post and its primarily criticizing Watson.

I dont really care if the three of them every mend their relationship but would probably go the Radcliffe route of not engaging with Rowling at all.

I did notice that alright, Radcliff was more forthright in his comments.

Watson said absolutely nothing and was only gracious when she was directly asked about Rowling. But she was targeted. Very telling. She also labelled anyone who has a differing opinion to her as "despicable", a word she chose quite purposefully.

• describes behavior that is extremely unpleasant, evil, or contemptible, deserving intense scorn or moral indignation

Women's safety apparently. 🤷‍♂️

Someone who is actually a transwoman doesn't have testicles.

The refusal to denounce threats of rape, torture and violence by Watson and the usual suspects in this thread is disgusting.

Do those pearls not stretch to the women Rowling victimised?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,019 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

Care to provide a non Facebook source? I don't use that website.

“Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”