Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 12.02.26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭ericzeking

It's not about upsetting an interim manager and you surely know this, it is about sending a message to players both current and incoming and the wider United community, 'this is our guy'….not 'we tried a load of other guys, and they wouldn't come so this is what we're left with'….. the difference in talent between 99% of players at the top level is minute, the big differences come in mentality and psychology and environment, that's why this stuff is so important.

Plus, I'm not sure they ever committed to this process you are talking about in your other post, wasn't it noted that Carricks official title never explicitly said 'interim', his contract was short term alright, but in the appointment statement they talked about him as if it was just a standard 'head coach' appointment.

All that being said, I would be shocked if the likes of Enrique or Ancellotti were not sounded out on the very, very QT, guys of the stature and character that wouldn't leak it to The Sun or Football 365. They are basically the only managers that are an obvious immediate upgrade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Hodors Appletart

I mean, yes. If Amorim got better results he'd still be in a job.

Same for any manager, if results are correct, tactics and play style don't matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭ericzeking

Ole finished second and third. Recent seasons have us in the likes of 8th and 15th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,513 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Tactics and style can differ, but imo performances will eventually catch up with results.

I don't like Carricks tactics, and I think we've played generally rubbish under him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

Well I hope performances will catch up with results. That'd be great :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,381 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I said when Amorim was fired and then conveniently no new midfielder was signed in January that Fletcher had his work cut out as aside from relying on his sons the depth behind Case and Mainoo was feckin Ugarte or out of position Mount/Bruno/Martinez. Carrick inherited the exact same problem when he replaced Fletch.

I dont think any manager could have done better than Carrick with the tools at his disposal. And whether Carrick or not the next manager not only inherits the same paper thin midfield but ALSO starts with an even more dramatically weaker hand as Case will be gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,781 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

He has only had 1 game a week most of the time, Casemiro, Mainoo and Fernandes is hardly a shite midfield.

I do think there are certainly issues with it, especially if Martinez, Maguire and Shaw are also in the team (as they have been) as the overall lack of pace between them all causes a cascade of problems.

And that can be a reason for our press being as poor/passive as it is - but a passive press was how 'boro played so I think it silly to assume replacing some of those players will trigger a signififcant tactical shift.

I do think it is hard to judge carrick on what he is showing, cause the team has clear issues.
    But I also think that makes it hard to put faith in him at the same time - I don't see anything in how we play that gives me faith. How much of that is on him vs the players, thats the key question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,629 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

It's a hard one to call.

For the while, Amorim looked like he was implementing a style which may have had a higher ceiling if he was given the players for that system.

Carrick doesn't seem to have any standout system or identity other than being a bit conservative, but he's getting results, something which Amorim wasn't doing well enough.

A lot like a player making it or not, luck comes into it more than we probably acknowledge. Amorim was unlucky to a certain degree with AFCON and injuries. Carrick seems to have had a full hand to play with most of his games... When he didn't (vs Sunderland), it wasn't encouraging. How would Carrick have coped over November to early Jan...

While I haven't been too impressed with Carrick's tactics or style, he has gotten results and that's what we needed/need short term. I can't see him having the tactical smarts to be a top class manager but I've no real issue with him getting another year if a top class manager isn't available.

No guarantee a top class manager will be top class at United either.

I'm less concerned about the manager than I am about the owners / squad. A huge improvement in the squad is needed this summer.

The Players / Squad available is about 70% - 80% of how the manager will ultimately be viewed imo.

My big issue is the availability thing.

I'd have less of an issue with us going for Carrick, if i believed we had made a proper attempt at better managers such as Enrique, Nagelsman, Alonso.

Chelsea in discussions with Alonso - we've been clear we have not spoken to anyone and won't til the summer.
    Nagelsmann managing a team at the WC - so clearly he won't be talking to any club in the summer.
    Enrique has been in active discussions on a new contract - and given we have been clear we have not spoken to anyone and won't til the summer, we have made no attempt to convince him coming here should be his decision.

People are saying Carrick if we can't get a better manager… my issue is there is nothing to back up a view that we have tried to get a better manager. If we hired Carrick tomorrow it would be because of the results, a feeling inside the club - and in a vaccum of zero conversations with any other manager on how they would look at the job.

Carrick can be the best available pick, but I've no faith we have put the effort in to find that out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,893 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

People adding 2 + 2 and getting 5. We have no way of knowing what the powers that be have been doing in relation to the managerial position but I would opine that its naive in the extreme to think that they have been sitting on their hands and are waiting to see how the season finishes before they start thinking about it. Like in no way, shape or form does that make any sense unless you believe that the current executive are utter, utter buffoons. And I dont believe that for a second. Yes, INEOS have made some missteps but in the main, imo, they have thus far proven to be much more attuned than anyone / anything thats come since Fergie and Gill headed off into the sunset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,781 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Yeh I'll give him props having to deal with a poor defence but in no way can we say hes struggled with a mid of Casemiro/Mainoo/Bruno with 1 game a week.

The club have said there has been zero talks with any manager about the job.
    The club have been clear there will not be any talks until the season has finished.
    There are no reports of there being any talks with any manager about the job.

So why assume we have spoken to managers in depth about the job, when everything points in the opposite direction.

I'm adding 2 (club says they have spoken to no one) and 2 (reports sayign we have spoken to no one) to come up with 4. Imo it is you who is coming up with 5.

We didn't keep it quiet when we were interviewing managers around ETH.
    We didn't keep it quiet who were were interested in (and then going for) after he was sacked.
    We didn't keep it quiet who we were chatting to for the interim job.

But absolutely no one has any clue we held meetings with Enrique, Alonso, Nagelsman, Iraola (maybe Glassner, Silva etc).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭johnnyryan89

We didn't keep it quiet when we were interviewing managers around ETH.

And look how that circus turned out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,280 ✭✭✭✭Sand

I don't think the process being discrete is proof it doesn't exist. INEOS carried out a very public process in the spring/summer of 2024 and I don't want a repeat of that media frenzy. So if they've learned a bit about not having everything leak to the media then that is not a bad thing.

The process might not involve interviewing every possible candidate either. The last five PL and CL titles have been won by Guardiola, Ancelotti, Slot, Tuchel and Enrique. Of that list, Guardiola is not moving. Enrique is not moving. Slot would not be wanted. Tuchel has ruled himself out by signing a contract extension. Ancelotti is the only one of that group who might seem gettable, but even if he was interested and willing to talk in advance of the WC, it might be August before he is ready to start work.

Past that top group you're going down into the bracket of managers who have done good jobs with low expectations at small clubs. A year or two ago names like Thomas Frank, Eddie Howe or Graham Potter would still be getting mentioned as one of this group. Then you've got another bracket of managers who have done good jobs and won things in smaller leagues. Again, guys like Amorim and ETH came to United as proven winners. It was still a huge step up. Amorim clearly struggled with the media pressure for example whereas Carrick has managed them calmly.

It might not take a public saga reported daily in the media for the club to evaluate who is really available vs. the job Carrick is actually doing. Wilcox and Berrada have no incentive to go with a "vibes" choice. They called it wrong on ETH and Amorim. I don't think Ratcliffe is going to be incredibly patient if they make the wrong call three times in a row, and Carrick is a risky choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭johnnyryan89

I thought Ancelotti had renewed his contract with Brazil but seems nothing official has been announced after reports last month from Brazil said he's verbally agreed a new deal. CBF president said last week though that he's certain Ancelotti will renew his contract.

Yeah, Ancelotti would be mad not to stick with Brazil. The man is 66. The lighter workload of international management in sunny Brazil is probably far more attractive than club management in rainy, cold northern England. He probably saw enough already with Everton.

Its not proof no.
    But they have been clear they have spoken to no one. That not just silence (but could be lies)
    And maybe Ineos can keep their side quiet - but agents aren't going to use our interest for their benefit for talks with PSG, or Chelsea etc?
    Wilcox and Berrada have no incentive to go with a vibes choice, really? Of course they do. People aren't just seeing it as hiring a new manager, it is being spoken about as if we are sacking Carrick to do it. Carrick is absolutely the easier call to make - they will get way less criticism if Carrick fails next season than if they sack him and whomever they pick fails. You have people saying Carrick is a good pick to keep us stable while we build a squad - so immediately the expecations for the team under Carrick are less than they are under any other pick. Thats the incentive. Its easier.

It isn't easier to explain appointing Carrick to Ratcliffe to save your job if Carrick fails next season. If you are Berrada and Wilcox, you are already on thin ice with an owner who has a track record of sacking staff like Ashworth. How do you explain picking Carrick over say Ancelotti? Even if Ancelotti fails you can point to his decades of experience and success to justify hiring him, even if he is a complete failure in the job. Wilcox and Berrada can survive hiring a manager like Ancelotti even if he never wins a game.

But with Carrick there isn't decades of experience and success to hide behind. If Carrick is picked and turns out to be a complete failure, Wilcox and Berrada will be very, very lucky not to be sacked with him. If I was Wilcox or Berrada I would be extremely reluctant to hire Carrick, no matter what the "vibes" are in the fanbase and no matter how good a job he does this season because the risk of getting sacked for that choice would be far higher than a more conventional pick.

And you are definitely getting sacked if you have to admit to Ratcliffe there was no process or evaluation carried out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,381 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Say he might fancy tryna fix Italy before he packs it in. If anyone can its him.

and this might be why we haven't hired him - with reports recently that Ratcliffe wants a bigger name.

If Ancellotti fails it far more points at you failing to support him, rather than you doing a good job and the manager failing you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

But how would you know who United have or haven't had informal discussions with? In the past you have believed lots of transfer rubbish that you have seen reported. Now you are believing what is not being reported regarding managerial approaches, be it formal or informal. Whoever gets the gig I am delighted there has been no news in the media about it. It makes a welcome change if I'm honest. If Carrick gets the job next season I don't think it will be because the United hierarchy just decided that he was their man and neglected to check on the appetite of other managers to take the job.

I wouldn't know.

What I do know is no one is reporting we have spoken to anyone. Even with reports of Chelsea speaking to Alonso, there is zero indication we have had any conversations with him.

I also know that United want the world to believe they have spoken to no one and will speak to no one until the summer.

So ok, i will take the view the club are pushing, the reports that are coming out, and then speak to that.

I'm not going to say INEOS are great and putting in all the efforts to convince Enrique just because I want it to be true, regardless of everything that is being said, by everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

Maybe they have no interest in Alonso? Maybe they have and they have spoken to him without it being reported. Who knows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭kyleman

in

Maybe. Let's just say it is to make ourselves feel better about the people in charge.

Maybe they do just rate Carrick higher than alonso, and that's not worrying at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,527 ✭✭✭NITRO95

@mitch realistically, what managers do you think the club should be sounding out for the job?

Enrique - has show previous interst, hasn't signed the new deal at PSG. You 100% have to make a push for him.
    Nagelsman, though in fairness I think that should have been done in March - now it is too late.
    Pochetino - not a massive fan but check it out, but neeeded to be done in March as well, imo.
    Alonso - fantastic at Leverkusen - Madrid was a basket case. Should be sounded at at minimum.

After that there are good managers that I do think prior to the interim stint would be easy picks over Carrick, but the interim stint does make it harder to switch to them from Carrick cause they aren't big enough. Pochetino might be in this list too, not cause of a lack of 'name' but heading off to manager the US puts me off him!

Iraolo I'd talk to as well, would need to impress to make a change to be fair.
    McKenna - has done FANTASTIC with Ipswich. Again, would need to impress but if Carrick is a valid target than McKenna should be - he's totally outshone what Carrick did with Boro, with ease, twice.
    Should probably have Inzaghi on the list too, but Saudi money might be keeping him happy.

And I don't believe we have spoken to any of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Hodors Appletart

Nobody has to be "sounded out" - a quick conversation with Alonso's agent and the United people would be told "no, he's a pool legend and sees himself managing there some day, United on his CV would likely rule that out, thanks but no thanks"

End of.

The thought that Enrique might leave Paris to manage "potential" at United is absolutely laughable too.