Donald Trump the Megathread part II - Mod Warning updated in OP 12/2/26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭scuba8

The Republican Pedophile Protectors are as depraved as ever,

IMG_0967.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

If I was sending an invoice to someone and I noticed it was going to someone called Trump, I would add a zero to the invoice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,076 ✭✭✭✭briany

Trump has more money than he ever had, I think, because of an utterly shameless milking of his power in a way that makes Obama or Clinton doing after dinner speeches look like selling scout cookies door to door. Personal bankruptcy is not in his future.

And having been through several bankruptcies already, he knows well how to compartmentalise wealth. At worst, a business venture of his might end up with more debts than it can pay, but his personal fortune will remain in tact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,065 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

I counter that with his utter incompetence at everything he does or says he will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭somenergy

The doge caper, mass capitulation by big business and media all ran scared of an old dementia riden tug with a family engaged in all the scams

Conservatives wanted power at any cost giving trump a pass on any corruption

If being a two-time president of the United States, who has crafted a rigid cult of personality for himself with near total control over his party still qualifies him as 'incompetent', then what does that make everyone else who've failed to stop him at every turn? Geniuses?

I think people constantly mix up his selfishness, ignorance and narcissism with incompetence. Maybe if he'd been a flash in the pan for one campaign cycle, we could say he's incompetent, but he's stuck around for ten years now like a bad smell, and the only thing that looks like it will remove him from the picture entirely is death itself. No, I think there's quite a bit more going on.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,864 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

The Virginia Supreme Court has no authority over what Texas does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,311 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Big business didn't capitulate. This whole thing is for big business and has been since the 1970s. It's just that the imbecile they got to be President is incapable of any kind of long term thought whatsoever.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭midlander12

They'd want to be putting a check on the tyranny of the minority first, as this is all about the GOP attempting to wheedle a House majority even if they're lose by up to 7-8% nationally (and it's also news to me that Republican jurists concern themselves with the rights of minorities, in view of the recent SCOTUS decision on the Voting Rights Act and the recent spate of further redistrictings in Louisiana, Alabama and Florida).

As you know the California and Virginia redistrictings, both approved in referendums, were done in response to earlier GOP efforts in Texas and elsewhere, which were never put to referendums.

Post edited by midlander12 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭eoinbn

Are Americans finally waking up to the fact that they voted to end their democracy in 2024? I don't see this admin allowing themselves be voted out of power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,652 ✭✭✭✭looksee

The 25 group is what is going on. It suits them to manipulate and cover for him while allowing him to be the face of the administration. He does not have to be competent, he can just do what he wants and they make things happen (or not) in the background.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭nachouser

I'm sure the point has probably been expressed before, and more eloquently, but if any current President of a country was acting in the same manner as Trump, then the U.S. would be the first ones in to make sure a regime change happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Resplendent Moose

You've already answered the question yourself - it's a personality cult. You shouldn't go looking for, nor expect to find rational explanations where A logically follows from B in there. What you will find is a sufficient number of horrible people latching onto him and supporting him because he's given them an opportunity to be openly horrible in public, but that's as close as it gets to answering what you've asked.

A personal invitation to dance, as Nero plays for the last time
    Tonight you will mix with the prophets without honour...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭bog master

Trump, 79, Eyes New Country to Become 51st U.S. State

https://www.thedailybeast.com/president-donald-trump-79-declares-bonkers-new-plan-for-venezuela-to-join-the-united-states/

Will the new people be granted citizenship? The Magas will love that, 18-19 million new voters!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,640 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Said tryanny historically being an opposition to relentless labour exploitation, slavery and a lack of say in politics. The courts have long existed to protect power, and have served to stymie social progress at every turn. I'm hoping the Govenor and State Assembly choose to meet this latest Conservative effort to suppress the will of voters with equal force.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,198 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Get a golden cover for your phone and troll them. "they're only giving them to real republicans"

edit

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,065 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

A really good con-man, he has failed upwards and moved to bigger cons.

And being more facetious about it, he has captured the zeitgeist of people being able to behave like an assh*le and think they won't face consequences from it. Winning an election is not a sign of competence as every electorate should really know by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,951 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

1000041732.png

I think I hate the people who stand around and laugh at his cruelty, almost as much as I hate him...

Post edited by everlast75 on

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,145 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

He could easily be talking about himself. How he dishes out comments about peoples looks when he looks like a bag of melted candle wax is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,187 ✭✭✭relax carry on

So is there any chance of the famous checks and balances arriving soon to save what's left of the US from the decrepit Manago Mussolini? Is it too late at this stage? Can to US ever build itself back up to functional democracy with actual checks and balances that work? I honestly don't think so. Trump was only a symptom of an empire in decline. Even if he keels over in the morning or is somehow held accountable for his lifetime of crimes, I don't see the US somehow magically transforming itself into something resembling a functional democracy after the Trump administration.

Post edited by relax carry on on

@looksee

The 25 group is what is going on. It suits them to manipulate and cover for him while allowing him to be the face of the administration. He does not have to be competent, he can just do what he wants and they make things happen (or not) in the background.

The Project 2025 people are the ones with something of a grand strategy, but they'd be going nowhere without Trump fronting the whole thing. They couldn't have plucked anyone off the street or even from the rest of America's political class to do the same job. Trump has a fairly singular effectiveness in creating the cult they can build their plans upon. This is his primary competency and all those who stand opposed to Trump still seem at a loss as to how to really neutralise him.

@Resplendent Moose

You've already answered the question yourself - it's a personality cult. You shouldn't go looking for, nor expect to find rational explanations where A logically follows from B in there. What you will find is a sufficient number of horrible people latching onto him and supporting him because he's given them an opportunity to be openly horrible in public, but that's as close as it gets to answering what you've asked.

And it's a personality cult Trump has ably created. Not necessarily an easy thing to do, or you can bet a lot more politicians would follow suit. I think the problem is that people are judging competence by the criteria of statecraft and generally working in the interest of the American people. This is not Trump's interest at all. Trump's whole thing is amassing personal wealth, getting attention and being adored. Well, by that measure, he's richer than he's ever been, is never out of the news cycle and has several million people who consider him a pseudo messiah. Not a bad day's work by his measure.

@astrofool

A really good con-man, he has failed upwards and moved to bigger cons.

And being more facetious about it, he has captured the zeitgeist of people being able to behave like an assh*le and think they won't face consequences from it. Winning an election is not a sign of competence as every electorate should really know by now.

He isn't even that good of a conman. He doesn't really make an effort to hide the fact that he's lying in most cases, but it doesn't matter when he has MAGA hanging on his every word, because that's really the audience he's speaking to and they don't scrutinise his words. He has, as you say, captured the zeitgeist. He stepped up to head the toxic counterculture that formed after the last recession and the creation of the Tea Party. As Obama said, you could tell those folks the sky was blue and they'd say it was yellow. Trump knew they were primed for his lies and bellicose ignorance.

As for winning an election not being a sign of competence, I agree if you're judging competence by an ability to subsequently lead and be an effective statesman, but again this has never been Trump's interest. His interest is wealth, adoration, fame and to add another one, I suppose, power and let's see - he has taken over the Republican party, nullified Congress, installed cronies around the Executive, stacked the Supreme Court and rules by edict. For his ends, yes he has been competent. In terms of America's future and the general good of the people? That's a different story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,932 ✭✭✭amacca

And if it was his money ...that would be immaterial as I can assure you it wouldn't get paid anyway

Now if it was Govt money ..... you wouldn't be too different from the way a lot of businesses try to treat a lot of govts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,932 ✭✭✭amacca

You are correct he is not incompetent in a way, he is in essence stunningly competent at being a total miserable cnut that should never have been let near the levers of power ... he is competent when it comes to being bitter destabilising power grabbing and consolidating gangster grifter with less charm/charisma/class than a blobfish or a mole rat and less functionality/utility to any humans except the small numbers his own kind that are esentially parasites to their own species..... the blowfish does something and at least recycles nutrients....Trump appears to accumulate things that don't belong to him fraudulently and long tetm impoverish the lives of the citizens of the country he is supposed to be working for.....

When it comes to leading a country in the interests of the majority of its citizens and making sensible/boring decisions that are more likely to result in longbterm stability etc then he is wildly incompetent....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,652 ✭✭✭✭looksee

@ Briony

The Project 2025 people are the ones with something of a grand strategy, but they'd be going nowhere without Trump fronting the whole thing. They couldn't have plucked anyone off the street or even from the rest of America's political class to do the same job. Trump has a fairly singular effectiveness in creating the cult they can build their plans upon. This is his primary competency and all those who stand opposed to Trump still seem at a loss as to how to really neutralise him.

I agree with this, but at the same time I don't see it is in any way contradicts what I said. Trump has the narcissistic, ego driven lack of self-awareness that allows him to convince his cult followers to approve whatever mad, irrational nonsense he feeds them. He is the big distraction from whatever 25 plots in the background, and puts in front of him to sign.

The courts in the US are following their lords and masters,

IMG_0970.jpeg

It's Trump's competence in amassing popular/fanatical support which allows the Project 2025 folks to do anything at all. You have to have something about you to not only hang around the top echelon of American politics for a solid decade (this is leaving aside that Trump had been a prominent agitator for several years before this), and yoke a whole party. This is the way Trump can be considered competent and effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,640 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Like Roberts, Alito and Thomas needed a reason to gut the Voting Rights Act. Roberts has literally spent his entire career looking to erase it. He is one of the US's greatest historical racists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,704 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

I've argued the point before, but seeing as you've raised it again : Trump won one term as President, then he lost. The End.

Except that in that first term, he revealed himself to be the Most Useful Idiot that various shadowy groups had always dreamt of having in the Oval Office, and between them all - Project 25, Russia, Israel, the tech bros and goodness knows who or what else - they nourished the MAGA-Trump cult to get him back into the Oval Office for their own purposes.

This is the real danger with attributing all of the current shyte to Trump's "competence" and/or corruption and/or narcissism. He's little more than a ventriloquist's dummy. Pull the puppeteer's hand out of his ar5e and he will collapse ; but for those same shadowy groups (maybe not Russia so much any more) there's still an awful lot of the Brave New World to be plundered and manipulated.

It suits them to keep their performing monkey in front of the crowd, and if they decide he needs to stay on for a third term, well …