Munster Team Talk Thread - Beirne After Reading

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,717 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

A loss could be a sliding doors moment for the club. I can't see any Challenge Cup games being played in Pairc Ui Chaoimh next season and from what's reported the finances for next season are based on the assumption of being in the Champions Cup. So not getting there will be bad news.

It's usually not the mandarins who get made redundant in the first round, usually other people who's loss won't be noticed straight away but over time. Then if they either fire or lose McMillan there won't be a long list of coaches looking for the head coach job too.

On the positive side the Lions have only won 2 away games all season and both of them were to SA teams. They lost both their games in Italy so they are beatable. I did think going into Saturday night's game that Connacht were the favourites, Munster will be the favourites here.

I think McMillan will very much be cracking heads this week but bringing in 10 academy lads would be a recipe for disaster imo.

Post edited by CatFromHue on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

That’s a massive stretch to say they don’t trust him, he has featured a bit this season and his time has increased over the season into starts against the Dragons and Glasgow.

When he came on against Edinburgh early in the season he did very well and helped turn around a losing game into a win.

Him or Tom wood are no worse that JJ, and last season leaving sitting behind Billy burns was a worse decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭50HX

Over the past 3 seasons nearly half of his minutes have come against the 2 sides that usually finish in the bottom 2.....Dragons & Zebre.

Outside of those 2 games most of his appearances have been usually less than 20 minute cameos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭CONSI

Back row next week needs to be sean edogbo, kendellan and gleeson, hodnet and coombes can bench for impact…second row ahern and wycherly, o'connell can bench, coombes as emergency 2nd row (assuming edogbo snr will be out along with Beirne and Klyne, front row and hookers, it is what it is but anyone other than Alalatoa please. 9 will be casey…10, you'd hope for crowley but if not then play Wood, JJ can bench…centres Nank and Kelly, wingers Daly (if not injured), Smith and full back ben o'connor (not on the injury list but only seems to play champions cup for some reason). Mix of youth, who we should be pushing to the fore next season, and a few others who should be helping to lead. See if these youngsters want champions cup next year…

So is a decision going to be made to ditch him when he hasn’t had any run of games to show his worth?

I don’t care what anyone says, he’s no worse than JJ or billy Burns and should have been given more time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,087 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

It's hard to see how he could be much worse than JJ tbh and he's a full ten years younger, but McMillan seems to have very little interest in him. Like, repeatedly going with a 6-2 split with no-one who can even theoretically cover out-half is a very clear signal about where Butler stands.

And since JJ is contracted for next season, it might not get better for him in the short term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,785 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

We could save a lot of money if we're not paying Ian Flanagan's wages.

3 different coaching set ups clearly dont trust Butler

3 different coaching setups whose combined abilities created the performance we saw on Saturday. Butler gave a MOTM performance against a string Argentina side back in October. Did JJ ever give a MOTM performance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

It's hard to see how he could be much worse than JJ tbh

Did you see Butler's last 2 appearances?

Some people are forgetting the sequence of events here. JJ picked up an injury in the warm-up for the Dragon's game, that's the reason Butler was in for that game and the Glasgow game.

And I'd go as far as saying they are the 2 worst performances from a 10 I've seen all season. The Glasgow game in particular, he was awful to the point he was hooked after 46 mins for a rookie, debutant, year-1 academy 10. His head was gone. And Wood proceded to do well in his 30 odd minutes on the pitch.

I'm no great fan of JJ, he's just not good enough, but he's still been better than Butler this season (which tells you everything about Butler's performances unfortunately).

Tbh, when Crowley got withdrawn for the Ulster game, I was hoping there'd be a re-shuffled on the bench so Wood could get another 30 minutes off the bench (tho not certain if it's possible at that late juncture?).

But it'd be way too much pressure on him to start him this weekend. Lets hope Crowley is back.

More than enough staff in there according to my sources.

I won't cry if a few if them have to find another job.

I only care how the team play, and last night was fcuking embarrassing.

I disagree with this tbh. There are good people working there, further down the org structure, who are now at risk of losing their jobs because of mismanagement from on high.

Flanagan leaving is the most important thing that has to happen in the coming off-season. He has to go, I don't see how his role is tenable any more. We need to draw a line under this sh*tshow of a season and start building for next season.

Butler gave a MOTM performance against a string Argentina side back in October.

Paddy Patterson got MOTM against South Africa a couple of years ago but he was never really good enough. Go back even further and Ian Nagle was MOTM vs Australia leading to some serious hype which was never backed up. They don't mean a whole lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭almostover

I watched Butler play a few games in Jan/Feb time and he was awful. Worse than JJ is now almost.

Both him and JJ are not good enough to be back up to Crowley if we want to get back being competitive at European level. Tom Wood needs to be next up to see if he's good enough. And we probably need a signing in the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭jimbob955

It is embarrassing how far we have fallen, from high kings in 2008 to hoping to scrap a QF, top 8 in the URC.

Munster have got so much wrong over the last 20 years, we believed the hype. We wasted money and invested in the wrong places, too many NIQ pointless signings, not enough investment into grassroots, not enough to ID new A schools.

This is what you get for inept management, bad decisions, bad governance, bad use of money, weak foundations = **** Show that is Munster

100% agree with this. As poor as JJ has been, I think people are forgetting some of Butler's performances this season, and his most recent ones in particular.

And as much as we're in need of more quality at 10, the problem is JJ has another year to run on his contract for next season, so I don't think a signing will happen. But Wood needs to start seeing more gametime next season.

Last game of the season with your Champions Cup place on the line probably isn't the place for it tho.

I don’t disageee with that BUT

Very few played well in that Glasgow game.

he is young and has had very limited opportunity and also at times like the Edinburgh game in Cork he came on and was instrumental in winning it.

He has a lot of the necessary skills to be good enough but needs time and exposure to show them.

You win nothing with JJ, you might win nothing with butler or wood, but at least you have someone who can improve.

And all those aforementioned players were given opportunities to play and improve. You can argue that they didn't, but they were at least given a chance

You could say the same thing about a lot of teams, Racing92, Toulon and Saracens were the teams to beat for a long time

I'd agree with that in the main, I just don't think the end of the season, with Champions Cup qualification on the line, is the time to do it.

(Bearing in mind that in 22/23, I was on here arguing for Crowley to be promoted to the 10 jersey ahead of Carbery for the run-in that season, so I'm not overtly against backing the younger player over the under-performing experienced player. I just don't think this is quite the scenario to do it in, with the players in question).

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 45,403 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

He's 5 years as a Munster senior player.

If he's had "limited opportunities" in those 5 years I'm afraid the mirror should be his first port of call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭50HX

Thats giving a certain amount of a free pass on the players as well though.

If it was across tne board that other younger players were not been giving game time to see what they can do then i could make some case for him.

Butler is not getting it & imo that's not just down to the coaches.

I put v little stock in the Arg game tbh, if he can't instill confidence in his coaches in mainly cameo appearances post that then says more about him than those above him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,806 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Lions are beatable, as evidenced by a mid-strength Leinster starting team beating them at the weekend. But they will be hard to beat despite their away record being so poor. Things could have been quite different in the Leinster game - a pretty marginal call overturned Lions 7 points, which would have brought them level. The Leinster bench made a massive impact.

the way we have been ditching outhalves over the last few years we will be having the same Butler / Burns / JJ conversation about Tom wood in 5 years time.

If the coaches can't get the basics right then how do we expect our players to get it right? Yes, the players have been playing very badly this season, perhaps some of them need to go just to get dead weight out of the team, I don't disagree

It depends on us and if we show up. If we put in the same performance as we did on Saturday there's not a team in the world that would be able to lose to us

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,630 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Abrahams to the Bulls confirmed by Munster.

I have to say I still have no idea why we signed him in the first place. It was the one area of the squad where there were already plenty of bodies.

Even losing to the Lions won't be enough to miss out on the play-offs, barring a fantastic series of results on Friday night. On the flip side, a home QF is out of reach barring a win for Benetton in Pretoria…

So there's very little pressure for a result, maybe that will help and we might see a better performance. The Lions are decent but ultimately Munster should be able to see them off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,988 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Exactly. And if the likes of Butler / JJ / Wood had Lancaster coaching them for 5 years I would say they would all be the better for it.

You've reminded me as to who brought JJ back from Northampton.

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/jj-hanrahan-returning-home-to-munster-after-northampton-stint-1.2949411 -Jan 24th 2017

I’ve always indicated our intention to recruit Irish-qualified players where and when possible so to secure the young trio of Farrell, Hanrahan and Hart is great for the province and Irish rugby in general,” said Munster director of rugby Rassie Erasmus.

“I’ve talked about maximising our potential, time and time again,” added Erasmus. “Retaining players such as Killer [Dave Kilcoyne], Niall, Rory, Tyler, Duncan and Sweets [Darren Sweetnam] is key to our long-term plans and they have all played an integral role in our success so far this season.

Developing homegrown players is at the core of everything we do and it’s rewarding to see five players who have advanced from the Munster pathway commit their future to the club…"

We all know how that played out.

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/pro12/rassie-erasmus-dismisses-suggestion-he-might-leave-munster-1.2965680 - Feb 7th 2017

Connacht game encapsulated whats going on in both of the provinces.

Total lack of direction and joined up thinking in the Munster game.

Fault really shouldn't be put at the door of the back-up outhalf!!

Connacht played with a confidence and a purpose. Clear style of play in attack and defence. Whereas Munster looked clueless and unorganised.

Can you fault the players? Maybe, but really its a result of a mishmash Munster that has been going on for years.

Turmoil almost a constant at a coaching level at the province since Erasmus left them high and dry in 2017.

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/rassie-erasmus-stays-focused-on-the-here-and-now-1.3026854 -Mar 28th 2017

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/european-cup/director-of-rugby-rassie-erasmus-staying-at-munster-1.3058136

“There’s been a lot speculation but he clarified to us a few weeks ago,” said Scannell. “And I’ll be honest with you, at the time it was reassuring to hear because himself, Jacques [Nienaber], Felix [Jones] and Fla [Jerry Flannery] are a top quality coaching ticket and they’ve done so much for us. Obviously Axel [Anthony Foley] had a big hand in that, but if you just look at the turnaround we’ve had in nine, 10 months.”

Erasmus had previously refused to rule out a return home, thereby breaking his three year contract after just one season.

“I can’t speak highly enough for what a good coach Rassie is. It’s brilliant that he’s staying around. It’s brilliant for our club and it’s brilliant for Irish rugby.

The confidence its given us, it’s something I haven’t had from a coach before. He comes into the changing room afterwards saying: ‘Look, they’re further along their curve and they were the better team today. You trust him and you believe that we will evolve and we will get there and that’s hugely reassuring that he’s staying around.”

-April 22nd 2017

https://www.irishrugby.ie/2017/06/30/erasmus-and-nienaber-to-leave-munster/ -June 2017

Ever since, If its not the head coaches that are suddenly leaving, its the assistant coaches.

Connacht is not the perfect example, but its a really good example of what can be achieved with joined up thinking at board level (Ruane) and getting the right man, at the right time as head coach (Lancaster).

McMillan might be the right man, but is 'now' the right time? As he said himself he wants "changes".

https://www.munsterrugby.ie/2025/01/23/organisational-update-with-ceo-ian-flanagan/ - Jan 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,196 ✭✭✭KaneToad

A marginal call!?

Ah here, the Lions 14 was *significantly* offside. And his actions led directly to the disallowed try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭Stanley 1

Maybe Flanagan/Costello will start a "Go Fund" page to pay off Randle if he actually put pen to paper……..

The logic seemed to be we needed to replace Zebo's X-factor….

It really would've been so much better if we had been allowed to sign a TH instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭Stanley 1

Pretty sure he will have a water tight contract and Munster will not go to Court but rather negotiate an exit package

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,806 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Maybe "marginal" not the right word, it was nearly not given, quite late in the process before it was flagged. Hadn't the conversion been taken already? And it was the TMO that alerted the referee to it. That's what I was trying to get at, not that it was the wrong call.