The Late Late Show ?? .... Going From Bad to Worse ?? ...

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

Saw that “tribute” on YouTube just now. I literally couldn’t finish it. Just disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 bpotogo

The show finishing up for the summer on May 1st this year must be the earliest ever start to it's summer holiday ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭lumphammer2

I agree …. first off I thought Kielty was never the right man for the job ….. he was a move towards the lightweight and inane …. not a move away from it ….. he doubled down on the worst aspects that spiralled during Tubridy's and Kenny's era ….. e.g. Westlife and Boyzone members on the couch talking about the same old same old for what seemed forever!! ….. and added in more of same …..

There are plenty topics that could be discussed …. but instead every Z list podcaster is given a platform …. plus every Z list comedian Kielty knows ….. anyone would have been a better host imo ….. Brendan O'Connor's Saturday Night Show was a more watchable chatshow …… and he could have been an option ….. Claire Byrne would also be fine ….. a more serious direction is needed …..

It is clear there was a time when music and celebrities were more interesting and more talented ….. nowadays it is all just watered down music and celebrity types that never existed in the golden era ….. like podcasters and winners of reality shows ….. the Joanne McNally types would not have existed in Gay Byrne's time ……

Repeated guest is another main problem ….. speaking of which Dermot Bannon is on again this week ….. like how many times do some of these have to be on ??? …. If it was not him it would be Padraig Harrington or Keith Barry ….

It is true 'specials' used to mean something back in the old days ….. now it is for any old thing ….. when Tubridy introduced the Valentine's special that was when things began to go from bad to woeful ….. it remained the worst show from his era …..

A new more serious host with more discussion and a lot less celebrities and sports personalities is much needed …..

Resting it would be a very good idea ….. the silliness and lightweight nature of the current version is what is wrong ….. but instead of moving away from that RTE move to make it more like that ….. replacing one host with a new one who is more into the stupid lightweight stuff than the last ….. Kielty has been a disaster …. much worse than Tubridy ever was …..

More discussion ….. and it does not have to be politics! ….. could be part of it ….. and if political there is plenty room for things not done elsewhere …… for example get some Iranians in to talk about the issues going on in their home country ……

As previously said there are plenty obvious guests ….. mentioned Catherine Connolly, Katelyn Cummins ….. that have never been on and would have something interesting to say …..

I would also like to see as said some of the far right and conspiracy theorists come on and be grilled ….. at present they are only heard via their own media where they go unconfronted ….. plus let's have the psychics, mediums, people who claim to have met god or the devil, etc. back and do same !! …..

The show seems to have become one 100% orientated around celebs, reality personalities, podcasters and so-called 'comedians' ……. it has become like one of those godawful US chatshows hosted by comedians like Seth Meyers ….. it is a copy of them ….. comedians do not make good hosts …..

The show should be rested and its nature redefined ….. a more serious approach is needed …. note needs to be taken of the amount of animosity towards the silliness and lightweight nature of it ….. a more serious host is needed ……

Gay Byrne's era is much discussed and efforts like reverting back to the original theme music and using Gay's voice to introduce Kielty as well as using that Brendan O'Carroll look a like dancer from the Gay Byrne era …. all are just tokens ….. the show itself has slipped bigtime since Gay's era and even one of Gay's poorer efforts would be better than one of Kielty's 'best' shows ……

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,135 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

Well according to one self-proclaimed “source” on boards and clearly planted articles in the rags things would be better if The Toyman were to take the reins again. Intriguingly, Tubs himself hasn’t ruled it out, despite the affects it was having on him towards the end of his time at the helm. So if you think it’s bad now…..

Yes, the salary is enormous, I understand that, but that doesn't affect my soul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭hawley

Apparently Dermot Bannon is being mentioned as a potential successor to Patrick Kielty. Not sure if he has the required experience for hosting the show. I remember seeing him on Blind Date and he was quite good at improvising. Would you consider it Peter?

Communication was the greatest fatality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,135 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

Would I consider it? I’d consider many things for that level of remuneration and such short hours.

Though I’ve had contact from people claiming to be close to and representing NKM, he’s not my agent so I can’t imagine RTÉ will come knocking.

Bannon hosting TLLS however is just hilarious. Proof the rags will print anything sent into them.

Those column inches won’t fill themselves so I suppose we’ll have a summer of speculation on which NKM star will get the role.

Maybe they could rotate it amongst the stars of NKM, Doireann Garrihy hosts it one week, then Kathryn Thomas, then Bannon, then Donncha O’Callaghan, then Baz, then Carl Mullan, then Mark Moriarty (he had the Taoiseach on his podcast recently; yes, he has a podcast and yes the Taoiseach went on it), then Doireann’s husband, tten Anna Geary, then Arthur G. and so on. Each week they could interview each other and plug whatever they’re plugging at that time. And then the competition could be a year’s supply of (insert NKM-influencer promoted product here ______) .

Instead of getting one sponsor for the series, they could use a champions league style model and have each of the stars brand sponsors take title sponsorship for that show. Lots of potential here.

I am available for consultancy on these deals if required.

Yes, the salary is enormous, I understand that, but that doesn't affect my soul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,974 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

I think the old saying of the only thing worse than being talked about in a negative way, is not being talked about at all.

I think that sums up TLLS since Tubridy took over up to this point.

We know TLLS took a dive in the 90s even with Gaybo at the helm and he admitted as much after he retired.

TLLS under Tubridy was dreadful - he didn’t have the skills to drive quality interviews, that TLLS demanded- and yes he got a lot of negative comments- but in my view rightfully so.

Had he swapped with Brendan O’Connor’s Saturday night show, and for Brendan to take the helm, we might have had two better shows overall. But we also know, that there just aren’t enough “guests” to fill two weekly talk shows in Ireland- so it’s not entirely the presenters fault.

But then if you look at Tommy Tiernan- it’s not the guests- it’s what you do with them that counts. He could get a great interview out of the local postman- it doesn’t have to be all glitz and glamour

As for Kielty, it’s essentially now a light entertainment show - “harmless”- and that’s probably the worst insult you can give TLLS.

I’ve nothing at all against Kielty- but the format of these type of shows is long dead.

We have endless current affairs shows which discuss the big topics of the day that impacted Ireland culturally and socially -that used to be the domain of TLLS-so that element has really been missing now for quite some time - and the golden era of Hollywood “greats” doing the talk show circuit is also long dead.

You’re left with book and film promotional appearances that are likely underwritten with clauses around what questions can and can’t be asked. Even in Wogan’s day in the late 80s that format was tired.

I hate to say it but it’s time to say goodbye to it- the problem is you’ll get a few hundred thousand viewers every week at that time slot regardless of what slop is served up- and RTÉ know that - so it will likely continue until even those figures collapse

“I for one would be interested in seeing some of these far right personalities confronted and roasted on the show ….“

Hmmm… I dunno. Firstly it would take an excellent facilitator to do that - Kielty is predominantly an entertainer. Tubridy couldn’t have done it- Kenny could have made a good stab at it.

To keep it relevant and in the style of TLLS, you’d probably be discussing the wider topic of what it is to be Irish or the state of integration in Ireland or something- that’s where you’d get a good agro going if you invited some far right loons. But would they come is the other thing? I’d doubt it.

But I think the relevancy of any “show” has dwindled since social media took over - the conversations are happening everywhere- there’s nothing ground breaking for TLLS to do anymore - it would just be yet another forum to go back over stuff being said elsewhere

One other observation - the fact this thread hasn’t even reached beyond 2 pages and even then, with a number of posts per poster- kindof shows how little interest there is in TLLS at this stage.
    It’s moved from a National institution to simply a brand to make money for RTÉ - it’s completely meaningless and irrelevant for 2026.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭George White

Last time they had an LLS country star 'discovery', it was some lass who hosted a country show on satellite.

Pretty much sums it up ….. I have nothing personally against any of the hosts of this show either …… but it has been pretty dire for years ….. both Gay and Pat Kenny admitted afterwards that much of their shows were poor ….. Gay meaning his later ones ….. Kenny referring in particular to having Westlife/those type of guests on constant …..

Brendan O'Connor and Tommy Tiernan did something different ….. and it worked ….. IIRC neither was interested in doing the Late Late Show when Tubridy left ….. maybe there is something in it when they as well as Claire Byrne and many more all ruled themselves out ??? …. no one lining up to replace Tubs?? ….

Kielty was the only contender in the end ….. a rank outsider really ….. they say the Eurovision kills music careers …… was it true that the Late Late Show was the equivalent in stalling TV hosts' careers ??? ….. were people beginning to look at it as a dead end that blocked more lucrative offers from elsewhere ….. or creating one's own shows ??? ….

Tiernan's show has a cult following ….. and he knows it ….. why would Tommy even consider the Late Late Show when he knows his own show is both superior and more popular ??? ….. Brendan O'Connor might see it similarly ….. he has done his stint as a chat show host and did a show also superior and more popular than the Tubridy era Late Late Show ….. he prob says why should he present a show that is beneath his own one ??? …..

Harmless very light entertainment is what the Kielty show has become ….. and it was going that way for years ….. Prime Time et al took over the social discussion issues of the day …… and so did shows like those by Claire Byrne and Katie Hannon …… ex Gaybo protege Joe Duffy was able to transfer many aspects of Gay's Late Late to radio on Liveline ….. etc etc …. in other words other programmes began to do what 'started on the Late Late Show' better …… rendering the current LLS as a relic of a bygone era ……

True ….. a few years back a thread like this would be page upon pages long ….. the show is of course meaningless and irrelevant for most today ….. even slagging it off has become less of a 'passtime' now …..

The conclusion is 'we have seen it all before' for many …… Let's take Westlife on the last show of this season just gone ….. what can Westlife say that they have not already said ??? …. remembering/reminiscing on old moments ?? …. Promo of new tour/album/event ?? …. singing some song they have been doing since 1999 ??? ….. or a new one in the same style ??? ….. in other words we saw the same segment ALREADY with Tubridy, Kenny and Gaybo at least 30 times already !! ….

I think the far right loons need to be confronted by the right host ….. yes Pat Kenny would do good here ….. Kielty and Tubbers defo not ….. it could be as you suggest made into a discussion of 'what it means to be Irish' ….. indeed both Kenny and Gay had these type of shows on for issues of their era ……

But would they come on is indeed the issue ….. from what I know they would not …… behind their tough image many of them are very fragile when it come to making an argument …… you notice Trump just surrounds himself with yes men media because real media would hang him out to dry ….. imagine a razor sharp Nidge-manner equivalent quizzing Trump about why he refuses to make an Iran deal ….

Trump: Iran cannot have a nuclear weapon ….

Interviewer: why do you care about this ?? Like, why …. what has this got to do with you ….. who is pulling your string …. answer me that …..

Trump: No one ….

Interviewer: Come on, come on …. no one believes you ….. no one …… you are risking the economy and continuing this stupid war and doing nothing to end it ….. why and for who ….. tell that boyo?

Trump: I am the President …

Interviewer: you are boyo to me …. until you earn respect …. you are a disgrace ….. jeopardising the country with your moronic carry on ….. all for what ?? tell me that, boyo ?? You are boyo to me until you mature and act like a president …. you act at present like a clown ……

…. you do not even know where Iran is ??? Tell me 5 random facts about Iran ….. come on …. we haven't got all night …..

Trump: am, am …..

Interviewee: well, well, we are crystal clear you know damn all about Iran ……

etc etc etc

Trump would most likely walk away …..

Replace Trump for Ireland with just about any equivalent misinformed loon and you get an indication …. remember when John Waters walked out on Eamon Dunphy and used foul language ??? ….. and if we had the Burkes on they'd prob go into mantra mode ….. 'Enoch is in jail for Micheal Martin …… Enoch is in jail for Catherine Connolly ….. Enoch is in jail for [this person/that person] !!! …… still and all it would be a laugh :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,174 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

must be a costly proposition for RTÉ and the taxpayers to have Kielty as presenter.

Weekly travel and accommodation costs with him coming from England, his sundry expenses and ground transportation…several car rides both sides of the water, to from both airports and to and from RTÉ to hotel etc…and they let’s face it, won’t be taxis…it will be executive transport.

In the US, Leno, Letterman, Fallon, Carson, O’Brien we’re ALL comedians and those shows were and always will be just light entertainment… The Late Late show here is different and markets itself as a chat show… encompassing music, comedy, music, politics, current affairs…you really need an all rounder as a presenter/host. Although with Kielty it’s gone more light entertainment…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Snowcast

Haven't watched TLLS for a long time, used to religiously watch the Toy Show, but haven't watched the last two of them.

I'd love the likes of Claire Byrne, etc to host the show. Think she is very good and would take the show in a better direction than what it is in/going in currently.

Patrick Kielty is grand, but just never enjoyed him hosting the show, don't know why, there was just something missing, but that's probably the show as a whole, rather then the host/presenter.

You can bet Kielty is expensive …… he also is not worth it …… he is not very good in this role ….. I think RTE got Kielty to try and copy those American shows …… I watched the Seth Meyers one a few times and it was poor ….. but the essence of what the Late Late Show is supposed to be was lost ……

Agree ….. someone like Claire Byrne should have it ….. Kielty's show is too lightweight but am like you unsure who is to blame …… the host, the show, both ….. but one thing for sure is this lightweight airhead direction needs to end ……

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭eastie17

stop with the fecken ………. My eyes…….

Just looked at Pat Kenny’s wiki page- he’s 78 years old- fair play to him, he must love broadcasting. I know he was “the plank” but jayzuz we’d take his version of TLLS today, knowing what we know now.
    People have mentioned Claire Byrne - sorry I’m not a fan but she’s the right age and experience level to take the show for 10 years or so. But you’re reminded then of the female powerhouse that was Olivia OLeary - such a talent in her day and streaks ahead of most female and male presenters - she had natural “depth” - that’s something that’s just been lacking from this show.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

The problem is that you could line up the absolute best all-round presenter whoever that would be but you’d be parachuting them into a room with the Late Late production team who think Westlifet, Garan Noone and other YouTubers, Influencers and country music and valentinss specials are what people want. Not only do I need to find the appropriate host which wants to need to find the appropriate production team. Most of them are only carrying over a rubbish from the Tubridy era. It’s really the entire nuts and of the show that has gone rotten. They need a bunch of fresh talent behind the scenes as well.

It’s not just the production team but certainly they are very much part of the problem.

The old saying of “well if I wanted to go to there, I wouldn’t be starting out from here” probably highlights the real problem. TLLS was once an institution - you can’t replicate it today- way too many variables and conditions that just don’t exist anymore such as no internet, 2 channel land, less educated audience, high religious membership etc etc

Most successful programmes are designed around the presenter and evolve over time - with TLLS , the modern day presenter is moulded around the show - it’s a recipe for disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,310 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

He has waived his travel expenses as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,887 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Correct.

Here it is from the horse's mouth.

Patrick Kielty reveals €250,000 per season deal with RTÉ for Late Late Show https://www.thejournal.ie/patrick-kielty-reveals-e250000-per-season-deal-with-rte-for-late-late-show-6105620-Jun2023/

He's paying his own travel and accommodation and RTE are meeting the cost of carbon offsetting the travel.

+1 ….. precisely the issue ….. each presenter inherits the rubbish from before ….. one cannot point to when this show exactly went wrong ….. but there are moments which can be argued as a low point where things went downhill and stayed that way …… many will tell you it was when Boyzone first came on doing their silly 'dance' back in 1993 ….. others who are too young to remember that may point to when Tubridy started the 'Valentine's specials' which became the single worst episode year in year out during his time ….. others go back much further and say that there was always this lightweight airhead side plus overexposure to some guest like Potter, O'Connor, O'Carroll and so on ….. whatever the show has become more and more focused on the 'bad' less on the good as the years went on …..

Westlife being constantly on ….. modern so-called 'country music' sung by Westlife wannabes formerly in the boybands that did not make it …… Garron Noone and others suddenly appearing all the time and were not even known of before ….. and Joanne McNally becoming more infantile with each appearance …… none of this is my idea of an entertaining evening on the TV ….. and same goes for many others …… no presenter could make that rubbish good …… and that is the problem ……

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭Loblox

Please... fix your... key... board...

Read this yesterday ….. it addresses all I and others have said about the The Late Late Show ……

Patrick Kielty ‘to push for major Late Late Show shake-up’ amid RTÉ contract talks | Goss.ie

It seems everyone ….. including the current host ….. everyone apart from the powers that be behind the scenes …… KNOW what is wrong with The Late Late Show …..

It looks like not even the host enjoys the constant diet of the likes of Joanne McNally and Garron Noone …… and I am glad to see the host now standing against this emphasis …… personally I do not think any host has had control of this show since Gay Byrne's time and even he was probably not in control of things by the 1990s …… the show became a promo ground for RTE programmes and for whatever 'stars' RTE wanted to push at us at a given time …… and proper discussion and topics were taken off the agenda ……

The article mentions the leaders of the recent fuel protests and the Burke family …… now it would be interesting to see these people confronted …… at present a lot of these people are spouting propaganda via their own platforms or other sympathetic ones …… but it would be great to see controversial extremist entities challenged in an environment they do not control ……

Now is the opportunity to do something about the problems in this show ….. problems that have really been growing since probably the later Gaybo era and the introduction of the boyband culture in the 1990s …… the show over the last 30 odd years has drifted from one unafraid of confronting controversial views and people to one that is just airheadism …… as Ireland became less religious ….. and after the initial revelations about the likes of Bishop Eamon Casey and Fr Brendan Smyth aka John Gerard Smyth …… the show seemed to settle into what we know it as now circa September 1996 onwards …… Gaybo most likely left in 1999 because he saw the direction it was going in ….. he said he lacked enthusiasm and compared later years like being in jail ….. it was also clear he needed the money after he was scammed out of it in the 1980s ……. Gay had wanted to leave the show 5 years before he did and saw by circa 1994 where things were going …… Boyzone Louis and more Boyzone !!! ….. it was easier for him to stay home on Fridays with wife Katelyn …… and leave the show to his successor …… Successor Pat Kenny complained too about the sameness of the guests and once complained about interviewing Westlife too many times ….. with all the hosts more or less probably saying the same thing ….. it is time for RTE to listen ……