Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Marrooned

the saddest part Nick is that it usually comes to that situation which nobody wants.management never want to admit to failure,when everybody else can see it. I would say absolutely nobody wanted the management team going again but we all went with the flow.I keep going back to the county board higherarchy these people have an awful lot to answer for and they must take a good look at themselves and ask are we really doing a great job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 ashtalk94

THe problem has been that huw Lawlor has been disguising deegan's shortfalls the last 3 years, and now he is gone, deegan's lack of defensive ability is there for all to see. Believe me, I don't want to come on criticise any Kilkenny player consistently but it is getting ridiculous now. For God's sake, our full back got our only goal! And that bourke got 3 or 4 points off of Deegan today. Butler is more concerned with off the ball shenanigans. I do agree that the current management has to go, but nothing will change if whoever replaces them doesn't bring a bit of ruthlessness to the setup. If y if you don't want to work hard, you are not going to be getting a jersey. End of story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭The_Tank

Started ok, opened offaly up a few times with runners down the middle and missed some goal chances - cian kennys the worst one (though he was by far our best forward). The moves seamed structured and practiced and I washopeful we would get another one or two based on how things were going. Careys goal was a good move but mishit and fortunate. TJ was inches from a worldie after a great pickup.

Game was extremely stop start with Murphy spotting frees all over the place. Offaly scored , we missed ours. The point of Munster and Leinster being referred different was never so apparent.

Kilkenny had the wind first half and rotated their forwards. Which meant TJ was in the half forward line most of the time. Insane as it’s clearly an counter attacking worry. TJ was of course yellow carded by mr fussy.

A lot of lads looked to be all fingers and thumbs though and a lot of basic mistakes. I’m not on the Deegan pile in but he was again poor. Moore also off it. I’ll give Deegan credit for the fight he put in in the second half but it’s bombscare stuff when he’s on the ball.

We were up at half time and looked the stronger despite all that.

Second half again pure stop start. Worry was about half our team was on yellow cards and we would lose a player.

Offaly got some great pojnts and credit to their efficiency. We again looked devoid of ideas when the pressure came on. We literally had one up top against a sweeper. So zero outball options.

The team are obsessed with unnecessary working the ball into the middle instead of delivering quick enough into grren grass for the full forward (when we have one!) without the unnecessary extra passes. This leads to all sorts of breakdowns between the backs and forwards- no one knows whether to stick or twist.

All the hard running at goals stopped and we had zero goal threat. We’re kilkenny, the country that lives on goals, thrived on goals, buries teams with goals. And we’re playing this tippy tappy **** out the field with zero goal threat. We only beat wexford last week because we scored goals. Why is that not apparent to the coaches.

The missed frees, suffered punitive reffing and general malaise continued. Donnelly missed an absolute sitter. TJ was hooked, having been moved to full forward where no one proceeded to hit the ball near him. Offaly took their scores well and looked well capable of winning. We dragged ourselves back into the game a number of times and looked to have taken it. Cian Kenny won a soft free and that looked it but I did turn to the lad beside me and said the tefs not done with us yet. Sure enough ball goes in , mikey and full forward wrestle, ball goes wide, umpire signals wide. Then in runs the ref and overrules.. Ok so that can happen but he literally rode us all the second half. He left the field to a chorus of boos from a frustrated kilkenny crowd. Frustrated at him and frustrated at the rubbish we’re playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Longlad69

That’s the problem in this county now, to much inside information is common knowledge…Back in Cody’s day you wouldn’t know who was even in there training!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

I always say look at the PL clubs that do well succeed from top down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭neverbet

A lot of hot air on here led by yourself as usual. Not a good performance by KK but we were up against an up and coming Offaly team with one asset we don't possess anywhere in our team . Pure pace. A rare off day from frees for the the Great TJ was symptomatic of the day overall We will do well to make it out of the group and you can throw on a Kildare or Dublin jersey for the next two matches if you wish but the majority will see it out. Plenty players saw action today and for me all the backs did well enough but overall when the game was in the balance Blanch, Doyle ,Deegan and particularly Cian Kenny were warriors. We now know two wins to make a Leinster final and one loss leaves us out pre June. When the going gets touch etc etc.Finally I hate commenting negatively on a ref but Murphy was shocking for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Girlcat

That is true

But what is also true is back in Codys time a player would not have had to go outside the set up to get One to One training

Whatever anyone’s opinion is of Cody players had huge respect for him and gave their all

Which clearly is not happening now

Is it just a case that players don’t like Lyng and whoever else is with him maybe it’s just that simple or maybe not

A happy player makes a good player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭me89

The difference in puck outs between the two teams very noticeable , not a Murphy problem but a management problem. Offaly keeper pucking into space and the forwards run from the middle towards the pocket of space on the sideline where when Murphy goes long its to a static forward on the opposite 45, no movement or runs to create space just high floated balls.

The 7 missed frees on our side just kept them in it and anytime we got level upstepped Murphy with his whistle to give another soft free.

You need 30 points a game to be competitive nowadays and we dont have the free scoring forwards to get that. Mossy does well but it feels like hes living of scraps. Why is TJ back in his own half back line in the first half? Edge of the square and stay there. Eoin Cody looks completely out of form. Moore scored and was then taken off before the next puckout. Phelan was decent and Kenny was our best player

Doyle got on a lot of ball, runs into trouble sometimes but is getting better each week

Its clear the players are not playing for the manager and its not the happiest camp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭lob it in

I said it before O Donovan and Michael Rice are clueless ,what qualifies then to be involved in a senior county set up other than their the managers mates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 gaafanatic

Twice in the early stages TJ ended up at wing forward for Offaly puckouts on Ter Guinan, one of the fastest young players in hurling.

Offaly completely vacated that side of the field up top and hit the puckout into him to run on to, naive of Kilkenny to let TJ be left their for puckouts and to not have a midfielder/wing back to see what was going on.

Dan Bourke carried so much ball and twisted the Kilkenny half back line inside out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Takeyourpoints

Thanks for that tank. Sounds a lot of the same complaints we've had all year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Sir Chaz

You're obviously a big Mikey Comerford fan but fact is we calved as a team fitness wise in 2 All Ireland semis in a row, and also in many other big games. Something had to change, it was obvious to all concerned.

Doesn't shock me one bit he's doing a nixer for one of those players that he was close to. And that itself raises far more questions than answers.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Village87

Ya I agree with that , between fitness coaching and management we have been absolutely dying a death with 10 minutes to go In matches the last 5/6 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭jamesbond2022

Another game with more questions than answers

Fair play to Offaly I think they were the best team for long parts of the game and would have deserved the win

If we won it would have been a fluke

Johnny Murphy got a rousing reception from both sets of fans at the end so that will tell you how well they thought he performed

As mentioned on here loads of times giving opposition the puckout is putting our backs under serious pressure filtering to many players back the field is to negative we have no one up the field when it does go up in the last 5-10 mins it was one forward vs 3 Offaly backs and we were chasing the game

Can’t put my finger on it but especially up front we’re not hurling as unit

He took off Tj rightly so but then took Liam Moore and phelan off who looked very dangerous and left eoin Cody on which was madness

Doyle molloy Bolger and Kenny were very good I thought and deegan when he was moved upfront in the second half

Its very clear now that Derek and whoever his backroom are can’t a proper tune out of these players whether it’s on the players side on management something is not working

We’ve had wall Doherty Corcoran Eddie all in coaching with very little improvement

Lyng should have went last year it’s just not good enough from players or management anymore something needs to change but I’m not sure what at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,007 ✭✭✭kk.man

Mikey had Roscommon flying today. He's the talk of the county up there.

Both Kilkenny and Wexford senior outfits are not in good health, this weekend has proven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭conor05

The hurling IQ of some of those Yong Offaly hurlers is very good or they are seriously well coached.

Their movement on and off the ball was phenomenal today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Girlcat

I congratulated him on a great win which it was. Roscommon players definitely didn’t run out of steam. Funny that.
    A Nixer ???🤣🤣🤣🤣

Whether he has or not has feck all to do with us, or with today. He's a fitness/S&C coach not a hurling coach. Bizarre how anybody brought up his name in the first place other than someone who didn't agree with his removal. There's anlwas plenty of axes to grind here when results don't go our way.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭lob it in

Its a sad indictment on Kilkenny hurling when a player who is clearly out of form and has been really poor all year (Eoin Cody) cant be dropped because there's no one good enough to replace him Imagine if this was the Brian Cody era he would sitting up in the stand.

I thought he should have gone today before Moore and Phelan. It's the hope that he will actually do what he's capable of. And it's literally the hope that ends up killing you…

He seems to be in a crisis of confidence at the moment, nothing is working for him.

We scored 3 from 10 places balls, I think Offaly scored 12 from 13? 3 fantastic goal chances butchered as well in 1st half. People have commented already, but Johnny Murphy seemed to be on a mission to ensure Offaly were kept in the game. He was reffing our backs at a completely different standard than Offalys. Even the Offaly people around me were laughing. Every time we'd get level he'd award a bizarre free. It was no surprise at the end when he actually overruled himself to give the 65. Both he and the umpire on that side had waived it wide. Never have I seen it before.

There's no doubt Huw Lawlor is a loss that we haven't dealt with, and you can also say his dominance papered over many cracks in the side. We're just not anywhere near as good as we were, we don't have the players. Having said that we should still have won that game comfortably today, and we didn't.

The positive remains that a win against Kildare and Dublin, and we are in a Leinster final irrespective of whatever else happens. The negative is if we beat Kildare and lose against Dublin, we are very likely out of the top 3.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

When was the last time we won a relevant match on our travels, league and champ and excluding Croke Park. Parnell will be difficult

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭therealdonster

We have 3 points, Wexford2, Offaly 2, Kildare 0. Unless there is a suprise result I think we make top 3 once we beat Kildare?

Dubs will be favourites. It'll be far from simple. I wouldn't back against us all the same.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

that would put us on 5 and Offaly beat Wexford at home and Kildare they have 6. Is Leinster head to head or score difference ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Offaly beat Wexford and Kildare they're on 6

We beat Kildare and lose to Dublin we are on 5

Ah I see, you were only taking the opportunity to congratulate a fellow Kilkenny person on their success. And here was me thinking you were claiming schadenfreude on behalf of Mikey, on a day the management team who let him go have come under increasing pressure. My bad, carry on 😉

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

And if they beat Wexford, Kildare are relegated. So Offaly match means nothing to them.

Or if Wexford beat Offaly they play a qualified Galway in Wexford Park, in a game that will qualify them in top 3. Galway likely play a 2nd team like we did last year.

It's looking more likely than not that the winner of Wexford/Offaly will finish 3rd on 6. If we draw with Dubs there'd be 3 teams on 6.
    If Wexford or Offaly end up on 6 then assuming Galway beat Dubs next week, then loser of us and Dublin is out.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Marrooned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭The_Tank

Bit harsh in my view. He worked right back into the full back line at times covering runners.

He just seams to be all at odds in his game in terms of first touch and picking right options. The fact he tries basically same thing every time provably works against him too

but I also believe were not doing enough to get him back on the saddle also. In a three man full forward line with TJ and Mossey he’d be a menace. There are zero breaks for him to play off because there’s zero opportunity to create them.

Does anyone remember the tactic Codys team had where a long ball was delivered in and tapped down for a runner? (Richie Power was a master at it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭jamesbond2022

Hogan Fennelly larkin comerford etc were all brillant at taping it down to an oncoming runner the problem is now the ball is tapped down to a waiting defender and we have no forward near the ball to run onto it