Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,982 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

daniel o mahony has been absolutely destroyed since the 1st minute

the whole full back line actually. Totally outclassed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,021 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Over already

EVENFLOW

this is really really poor, 1 point in the second half, absolutely awful display

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

God football is a hard watch...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 37,285 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Outstanding finish - rocket of as goal, somehow only a goal between them.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 37,285 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Sherlock has been awful in the second half - just when you need him to knock a few kicks over the bar, he fluffs the chances.

his movement/positioning is dreadful, like a fella who doesn’t want the ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭mossie

Back to a 2 point deficit now.

so wasteful in possession, really poor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,021 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

We be waiting another 31 years to win a Munster at this rate never mind winning in Kerry.

Dreadful stuff. Embarrassing.

EVENFLOW

That was absolutely embarrassing second half. Utterly braindead stuff. Undid all the good work of the first half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,440 ✭✭✭lukin

I really hate to say it but it's about time we should just admit we are not very good at football in Cork and give up on it. We should treat it the same way as Kilkenny treat football and Kerry treat hurling. Stop wasting resources on it and concentrate on hurling instead. We are half-decent at that at least. I hate saying it and I am sure some people will slaughter me for it, but it's just my opinion.

This backwards shite in the attack is mind numbing and persistent. The one time we drove forward we got a goal. Genuinely so difficult to get behind the team

No idea of the tactics employed in the second half. Work the ball into a shooting area and then just continue to move the ball around. Pathetic really. You cannot score if you do not shoot. Having your best shooter have an awful day and not having the directness of Hurley avaliable either was not exactly ideal. A pity, as after the goal, they were in a great position but didn't have the ability or belief that they could do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭GalwayMark

Your county is the biggest in Ireland well able to accomodate both sports the whole structure of Cork Football in most areas needs more fellas playing football and teams playing in the Corn Ui Mhuiri the days of players sprouting like Mushrooms won't ever happen again.

Galway are doing great in both codes despite having a smaller population (both playing and general) and don't come out with rubbish like this because things aren't going our way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,025 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

The footballers have a more recent All Ireland than the hurlers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭almostover

Please don't tell me you're a Cork person with a statement like that. We won a football all Ireland in 2010. It was 2005 when we last won the hurling. There are more football clubs in Cork than hurling. It's all that's played in West Cork, West Muskerry and Duhallow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,913 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

Cork should be winning Doubles really.

Cork were one of the best football teams in Ireland in the 2000s.

Population of over 600,000 now. Most clubs.

Yes I am from Cork. This argument that "We won a football All-Ireland more recently than a hurling All-Ireland so that means we are as good at football as hurling (or even better")" is nonsensical. We have 30 All Irelands in hurling and seven in football.

The footballers are light years away from winning an All-Ireland, the hurlers are a lot closer to winning one. They may not win it but they are a lot closer to it than the footballers.

That doesn't mean we should give up football. We've more than enough footballers and hurlers to be competitive at both.

The modern game has killed the dual player unfortunately. The best footballer in the county championship last year is the full forward for the hurlers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭Rega

There are good footballers in Cork. They are not well coached at senior level. For too long we've been too slow to adapt to a changing game.

We're still playing the lateral side to side handpassing game which was grand when teams had 15 behind the ball and space was at a premium.

There's been no innovation to embrace the modern game of fast breaks and accurate kick passes into the inside line.

Until we do, we're at nothing.

Cleary has to go anyway. Even a win over Meath should not change this

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

Yeah, because getting promoted to Division 1 clearly means you should be sacked the first time you lose a game you were expected to lose. By that logic, every manager in the country would be out of a job by Monday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

You don’t hate to say it, you’ve posted this rubbish previously after a loss.

After what 3 or 4 attempts. Lost the final. Lost to louth playing same **** stuff as today.

Year after year of failure by the footballers.

No wonder Cork football is where its at with that clap on back attitude.

EVENFLOW

I wonder would this team have gotten back to division 1 sooner with a different management setup? We looked very poorly coached and under motivated in Killarney today.

The kickout is a shambles with both goal keepers, that points to issues with the coaching. It's hard to see what we're even trying to do. Several times today we kicked to stationary players in areas where Kerry had greater numbers.

Our attack is hopeless. We've been playing that same sh*te recycling the ball slowly around the arc throughout Cleary's tenure. Zero penetration. Stephen Sherlock isn't related to an inter country player, he hasn't the athleticism. Can't get past defenders. Good shooter but at this level he can't get himself in space.

The only 2 players today who I'd give some credit to are O'Driscoll and O'Callaghan. They at least played like they wanted to win the game and ran hard at the Kerry defenders.

If it's rubbish then why haven't we beaten Kerry in Killarney for 31 years and not won an All-Ireland in sixteen years?

And your solution is to give up football completely?