Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭conor05

A fully fit Mullen would be a massive addition for the rest of the campaign

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Marrooned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Things not going as well for Tommy Walsh unfortunately, the knee is not healing well for him.

Patrick Horgans opinions/analysis on Eoin Murphy on last night’s Saturday game was very interesting. He gave his analysis from a forwards perspective… both on how difficult it is to beat him and on how vocal he is with his defenders.

the biggest problem with Murphy in the goal was. Up to Deegan, back to Murphy back up to Deegan, this caused us all sorts of problems and coughed up scores against us sometimes been responsible for 1-02 or 1-03 this wasn’t ever good enough and this is where the frustration grew. As a shot stopper he was second to none.

There’s no doubt he has been frustrating in relation to puck outs and distribution in general….but there’s also no doubt he brings more to the team than Tallis at the moment imo and has a huge settling effect on a relatively rookie full back line and to the defense/ team in general.

ye Cha I’d agree with that. Anyway ready for the off heading to Tullamore in an hour. I heard Screeney is gone is this bogus?

I didn’t hear that Marrooned but I actually hope he’s playing. I think it won’t be easy today but fancy us to eventually get on top in the second half and win the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Firstsub

Screeney has a hamstring injury and is out today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Yeh I'd have been one to call for Tallis to be promoted but sometimes you don't appreciate what you have. Even with a less than perfect puckout Murphy is still probably a net positive in the goal for us, even though Tallis has been pretty much faultless. Great to have a back up like Tallis to step in, and his day will definitely come sooner rather than later.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Hopefully we'll see a good Kilkenny following in Tullamore, especially with the match not on TV. Must win game for us and hopefully a good performance as well.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Agree with all of that Chaz… Darren Brennan was another one who was unlucky that he had Scruff around at the same time as him. I can’t remember seeing Darren Brennan ever making a mistake in the goals. Still not 30 years of age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭nippy corner foward

Scruff was a incredible shot stopper, a few years ago when kk were really struggling he was pointing long range frees. The save against Peter Duggan a few years ago was unbelievable but theres no doubt last years semi final he said himself that he should of done better and he also said he doesn't like the modern game where puckouts have to be pinged. Scruff used to hang his puckouts in the air and it gave opposition that extra second or two. Theres absolutely no doubt he is very vocal and helps the defense,aidan deserved a run during the league and made some great saves, ive no doubt kk are lucky to have aidan coming behind scruff but in a couple of league matches it was very noticeable aidan wasn't that vocal. This comes with experience. The offally match is all about getting the win,no injuries and move on. We seen yesterday galway werent tuned in and got a fright against kildare. Its a pity offally have a few injuries and with matches against kildare and wexford coming they will want everyone to try stay up. Offally definitely wont fear kk and I know its a long time ago but offally should of probably bet kk that day in the park. Mullen is hoping to be back for the dublin game which could be a leinster semi final up in parnell park. Liam rushe rolled back the years but wexford are very poor. They didnt start hurling till time was nearly up. Opposition just tie down chin and the scores are very hard come by. Unfortunately for them some of their key players best days are behind them. I feel sorry for keith rossitor but this was always going to be a period of transition. Their minors got a woeful skutching after the heroics the previous week.Granted senior players not playing for different reasons but it if kk had lawlor,tommy walsh,mullen,billy ryan and harry shine available it would put them in a much stronger position. Huw is home at the moment for his brother's wedding. No surprises with the kk team after the last day but with a big u20 match coming up i thought macdermot and garret would be left concentrate on that. Patrick lacey will hopefully keep his form up at u20. Its a pity marty murphy isnt making the match day squads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

He maybe a better option especially with our spine being all new to their positions. Now some players like it and some dont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

Personally i think we should play the game that best suited our players and the short game doesnt suit our players ATM. Its fine when not under pressure but once the pressure comes on it goes out the door or we make serious errors. When you look at Limerick and then look at us you can see how comfortable they are and we are not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭nippy corner foward

Kilkenny will be desperately dissapointed at half time. 12 wides and two very good goal chances missed. Kk will have the wind in the second half

TJ needs to be hovering around the square two goals missed and three frees wide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭me89

Leaving them in it at halftime 3 missed goal chances and TJ poor on the frees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

We're rubbish lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭mullinr2

If anyone thought we could take on any of the Munster teams and even be in contention for the All Ireland, this should shut them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭kentu

Well enough people were on here saying last few weeks We Should win Handy when we were warned after Offaly drawing with Dublin, so complacency from supporters will get us nowhere before blame is put on players and Management. Granted i obviously know we should not be drawing but Offaly are on the up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Village87

A Dublin loss will more than likely eliminate us from Leinster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Fair dues to offaly. Kilkenny not good but offaly becoming more consistent and mature

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

How could you watch that game for 70 minutes and think Tom Phelan should come off before Deegan. This management are clueless. If anyone comes in here saying oh we missed 3 goals, oh we hit x amount of wides I'll lose it. An awful performance and regardless of whether it was a 65 or not we didn't deserve to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭me89

Have to completely disagree on Deegan, thought he was or best player but same after every game people go for the easy target

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭kksaints

Extremely low scoring from TJ and Eoin Cody. Bad performances or just marked out of the match?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,584 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Lads don't worry we missed three goals and we had a load of wides...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Give it to tj

Obviously tension between lyng and certain players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 gaafanatic

Deegan best player? Cian Kenny was a million miles ahead of any other Kilkenny player.
    must’ve been 7 or 8 missed frees

oh holy Mary mother of god.