Munster Team Talk Thread - Beirne After Reading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭Pepp1989

This iteration of Munster are pathetic. Jj would not play professional rugby anywhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,744 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Sooner this season is over the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 204 ✭✭topdecko

Munster are very bad tonight. When did basic handling become too much to expect? Why would you not replace the hooker and then lose a few lineouts before bringing him on. Its comically bad from players and management at moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,383 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

Edogbo arm in a sling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭oppiuy

Attendance in thomond will be low next week. With no home game if they make playoffs if just feels pointless. I was going but definitely going to the Clare tipp game now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

I know I've had plenty of run-ins with some of ye here over time but I do come in peace!

It feels like there is something really rotten in Munster at the moment. With Ulster and Connacht, they're hardly world-beating sides but you can feel there is some form of conveyor belt of good, solid, hard-working players in positive culture settings under their respective coaching setups.

Munster it just feels like the opposite. They clearly have good players, and some really good young talent coming through (I genuinely believe Gleeson is the real deal and there isn't a more talented backrower around his age in Ireland at the moment). However there is something there that just stinks. It was suggested McMillan should go for everyone's sakes, but who do you get in? How will that change everything bad going on behind the scenes?

I know players will say they can't pay attention to that but it's no coincidence that performances have been below-par over the last few weeks when the entire club has come under the microscope, even without the Randle nonsense.

I'm not saying any of this out of glee or malice, for the record. Despite everything, even I can acknowledge that Irish Rugby needs a performing Munster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭oppiuy

Munster needs a performing munster first

Squad is mediocre to its core. But rather than do something about it and invest in youth, we play JJ at 10 for what? To help us win games? He played exactly as youd expect him to play. Get minutes into the next player up. See if Wood can kick on.

Abrahams selected when daly pulled out. Surely next one in should be Ben o connor. Get minutes into him.

We need to move on. I was bitterly disappointed with the renewal of JOD. Tries his best but we are stocked in the backrow with youth. Move on. Stop wasting opportunities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭50HX

@For Petes Sake

For me the biggest thing is that we are poorly run, that trickles from the top down

The best example of this is Mike Prendergast, goes for the top gig, doesnt get it yet is still in sitiu for another season...that can't be right.

He clearly saw himself as head coach material & then when he doesn't get it is happy to stay as attack coach......what player is going to buy into that BS.

Connacht & Ulster are so far ahead of us.

I was at the recent Ulster game which due to their injuries was pretty much a B team on show.

We made awful hard work of it for 25mins.

You could clearly see how well coached they were, handling was excellent.

We've had pockets of lovely play this season & our handling in attack at times has been really good..its the lack of consistency among other things thats killing us.

The wheels came off in the 2nd half v the Stormers at home & we've never really recovered.

I'd like McMillan to stay as long as he gets to appoint who he wants (I dont fault him for the Randle sh1tshow).

If we get top 8 at the v minimum Wood has to be handed the 10 spot along with Gleeson at 8, more game time to Sean Edogbo...

The season is fooked anyway...dont waste the minutes on has beens & lads heading out the door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Anyone care to Explain to me what the point of JJ was over Butler or Tom Wood.

This is the second season after Billy Burns that we have chosen a proven failure at 10 over potential and development.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭typhoony

When JJ signed for Munster from Connacht my initial thought was fair play to his agent for getting a deal done for a player that's stealing a wage for a living. He shouldnt be a backup 10 to a backup 10 at any province

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Strand1970

When JJ made a kick in the first half for touch I had to laugh from a connacht point of view it was an awful kick bot probably the best he everybdid in galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭CONSI

if Munster do t play the likes of O’Connor, Gleason, O’Connell, wood , Sean edogbo next week then what’s the point, the players we have played are not good enough. Latest the next generation and see where we go. We need to learn from ulsters resurgence looking at youth. Tickets for next Saturday are widely available but too expensive, tickets that were €35 for Ulster game are €45 for this weekends game, €64 for tickets in stand at 5m line, too much when there is competition from hurling with Clare v tipp on. At this rate Munster should be giving away free tickets in the pubs to get a crowd in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,383 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

Interesting read in SBP about Munster

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,942 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

JJ is better than Butler, who is not going to be there next season for a reason.

Tom Wood has 34 minutes of professional rugby.

Agree re butler. But i honestly see zero merit in playing jj over Wood. Lets see if Wood improves with minutes. He might or might not. But id far prefer to see him get the investment. Its not like jj is contributing anything worthwhile. He isnt winning games for Munster.

I struggle to say where else jj would be playing professional rugby

I know nothing about Wood so yeah, maybe it was worth a shot. But he is still insanely green and they were two very important games - I know there were extenuating circumstances but JJ did play 10 in a very good win vs Ulster only 2 weeks ago. I don't think there are many coaches who would make that call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,286 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

a carrier that promised so much early days but he never lived up to the hype …no consistency to his game and bounced around to few different clubs …extremely lucky we took him back ,really shows the ambition of the province …agree in that we should be exposing Tom wood more and butler has been giving virtually no look in under McMillan for whatever reason .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,286 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Against a very much under strength Ulster team tho

Against which was essentially a B team

His kicking was brutal that day as well.

3 from 7 conversion attempts & offered v little in attack, just shovelling it on

I'm not arguing JJ is good! But we had a lot of people here bemoaning Butler not getting more opportunities over the last couple years and I think it is clear now that was the right call cause he is pretty bad.

We know nothing about Wood realistically. I'm open to the idea that playing him might actually be better, but it would be an insanely bold call from a coach to do so under the circumstances. Like one of the most ballsy selection moves in Irish rugby for years kind of level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭ElisaAtWar

Like, for example, Billy Bohan, Sam Illo, Sean Naughton, Harry West at Connacht? It has broken my heart over the years watching our international team and provinces hiding behind the diatribe you propound.

Tom Wood is 20 and has 34 minutes of pro rugby.

Sam Illo is 25 and started his 3rd ever game of pro rugby this season. Sean Naughton had precisely 21 minutes of pro rugby in his year 20 season (in his only appearance for Connacht). Harry West started his first game of pro 15s rugby this season as a 22 year old.

Billy Bohan is indeed an exception, but he is a massive exception. If they wanted Wood to play these games they would have needed to feel that he was ready to play more games earlier in the season. Throwing him in now would be mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭ElisaAtWar

Tom Wood I watched recently. His place kicking is excellent, his distribution is excellent. But he is not good enough. And JJ is better because you know he will be shite and therefore you know what you are getting.

This mentality has always puzzled me.The shite that you know is better than the kids that you refuse to acknowledge.

I think any honest supporter would wish to acknowledge their future generations over the muck that is today. Or at least that is what I wish to believe.

When Andy Farrell leaves Ireland it will not be a day too soon.

I too watched a bunch of players play for the U20s recently. Shockingly, it doesn't have that much relevance to how they would play in senior rugby at the pointy end of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭Packrat

If McMillan isn't cracking heads tomorrow, literally telling lads to fcuk off home until they're interested in showing up and playing rugby, then he needs to go himself as well.

He should bring in about 10 academy players this week and play whatever of them are fit next weekend. Tell the worst offenders from yesterday that they aren't needed or wanted around this week or maybe again.

Let the young lads play and lose or win.

It really doesn't matter what happens now, - champions cup rugby next year isn't worth anything if we don't have a squad that can play at all without 3 or 4 of the best away or injured.

Every time we hit a new low I think its the lowest, - until the next one.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,717 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Considering there's already financial problems in the clubs it's very important they make the Champions Cup next year. If they don't then the number of redundancies will probably increase.

So this game on the weekend is very much a must win game. McMillan should only rotate players based on how they'll perform on the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭Packrat

The point of the club is the team, not the mandarins.

More than enough staff in there according to my sources.

I won't cry if a few if them have to find another job.

I only care how the team play, and last night was fcuking embarrassing.

I watched it in a Dublin Rugby pub, (up here with work for a few days) and when they weren't cheering, they were laughing.

If there's no consequences for paid professionals performing like most of ours did last night, then why bother at all.

No. There need to be new asreholes made for quite a few of them.

Theres only one language some people understand, and sadly it appears we have reached that point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

I dont readily agree that JJ is better than Butler, there has been times this season that butler has done well, he is clearly a player who needs time and confidence and shouldn’t be another 10 that’s thrown on the scrap heap so quickly like many before him.

But let’s say JJ is better, then you can portion some of the blame for that on last season where instead of letting butler develop and get game time we signed the completely abject billy burns and gave him loads of time.

3 different coaching set ups clearly dont trust Butler

Surely in a professional environment they all can't be wrong & if they are then it really is time to close the gate.

Time to move on from him.