Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,970 ✭✭✭decies

losing our heads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭seananigans

Ah feck it anyway

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Montys return

Great effort, they should be immensely proud of themselves.

Think denied a penalty when Walsh was through, Downey caught his arm with the hurley inside the box.

Special mention for Prendergast, had a big game and more than justified his selection. Hard luck to them.

2 good goal chances and we couldn’t take it . 2 black cards . I presume that’s it now no maths are going to save us now . We have decision to make in coming weeks now stick with Queally or revolving door .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭rockable_audio

Poor game. Can't fault the effort but we were very poor. Hopefully we will have a better management team next year

for me he proved himself , a revolving door of managers never suits us and i think he was ball achingly close getting rid of him would be like getting rid of skully ryan, he has found his rhythm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭gunners200

cork were ther for the taking we just ain’t good enough simple. Surely Aussie Gleason should have been on with 15 to go.quelly not good enough never was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Montys return

How were we very poor? We barely missed a shot at goal?

Cork are a better team, especially with the number of players we lost and down be down to 14 for 20 minutes I would say it was a big performance.

This all while our captain hasn't played a minute of hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 itsontheline42

I agree queally has shown glimpses this year it’s not him whose at fault… the ever changing management isn’t the solution and hopefully Lady Luck decides to be on our side some day🙏

puckouts against the wind killed us in second half

it was a mistake to play with the wind in the first half knowing that meant you had the sune in your eyes the second half ,that was stupid

I know that’s the way it works in the GAA but it still sickens me that the structure allows cork access to so many tickets . No sport should facilitate an away team to be able to do it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 kasporov

Cant fault the effort or performance, everything went against us, injuries and ridiculous black cards and penalties. No Prunty, De Burca or Gleeson. I'd be as critical as anyone but as a man they gave everything for the jersey and that's all you can ask. Sometimes its not ment to be. Cork needed every decision going there way to bet us. After the last few years there are green shoots of hope. Also playing at home with only about a quarter of the support makes no sense.

Our first touch was shocking our aimless passing into the forwards while in possession is disgraceful. How have we gone from what we produced under Liam Cahill to this is frightening. I wouldn't use any excuses for players missing. Many of that team today have a couple of club all ireland winners medals, along with All Ireland minor and u21 titles. We have no consistency. Yes Prunty is a loss but so is Joyce and Downey for Cork. The injuries didn't help but the players that came on are capable of doing a job. They were there for the taking and we couldn't beat them. At least with Michael Ryan we were staying in the top division of the league and put in an outstanding performance against Kilkenny in 2013. I would love to see O'Connor given the job but I would also like him to win an u20 All Ireland with the group he has next year

I think Waterford hurling peaked under Cahill both on and off the field, has been dying ever since. County board has to take a lot of that blame giving Davy fitz then quelly the job.

We have the players. Stephen Bennett could play in any system. He is just one of the greatest players hurling has seen in the last 25 years. Its all down to coaching. These players need to be believed in. We have some outstanding players. If Dessie Hutchinson was playing with any other county he would be flying. A running gameplan needs to be coached. I thought we were very flat at times today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,120 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Ah **** it anyway, another year over after 3 brave performances but just couldn't get over the line

Likely a hammering next week, retirements and maybe either Queally getting another year on default as who else is there

That fire in tycor really added to the defeat, lets hope nobody was hurt etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,373 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Waterford beat limerick

Tipp beat Clare and limerick

Cork beat Clare

Cork v Tipp Munster final

Waterford 3rd on 3 points

Limerick and clare out on 2 points

Q.E.D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭The Bernablaa

We should have won that game. We did ourselves no favors, starting a man with a questionable hamstring and Daly is just not dependable.

Stack was disgraceful though, I hope someone comes out and openly criticizes that performance from him as it was verging on corruption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭Ian OB

Yours is rather more straightforward than mine. Love the simple clarity of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Deiseen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,802 ✭✭✭Motivator

if Dessie Hutchinson played for any other county he’d be wearing no. 25.

It's not the player, its how he's played.

Or so we are told after every game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,059 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

too good of a player to drop on his club form , but given cork were missing their entire full back line from the first two games after sean o'donohue went off you would expect him to fire into the game

first black card was a joke too , thank god stack cant do our games

Lads I'd normally be critical of the team and queally but how many teams could play cork without their captain/full back and lose their corner back, centre back, best forward and then get 2 x black cards plus 2 x penalties.

No team could come out on the winning side of that. Lucky really hasn't been on our side.

What's the only hope? We win against limerick, tipp beat clare by a point and then they get hammered by limerick and we get through on scoring difference? Or are we fully cooked.

think that falls on that first hurdle . The reality of it vast majority on here would agree to have any chance we had to beat Clare , the candle has sadly blown out .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

I have some sympathy for Dessie. As we have men "good in the air" in the forwards, we are launching balls down with snow on them into the forward line. That is not Dessies game

Exactly. We went from Cahill to Davy. An absolute Spooner. I could never imagine John Kiely saying to Gillane "I am going to try this plan with you playing midfield" it would only happen with us. Queally had 20 official games as manager and from what I seen in the first half against Tipp, then the second half and then today was such a mixed bag it reflects his time as manager. There's plenty of outside managers that could work well with Donal O'Rourke. We bought back Shanahan after he failed alongside that other spoofer McGrath and for what? Is Dessie the scapegoat for our poor management team? The players are there. We need a good committee to find a manager that will take the job. Why not Pat Ryan? He said he misses being in the game after leaving Cork. We had a fantastic Cork man in Justin McCarthy who bought us some of the best days we've had as supporters. There's good managers out there we just seem to appoint chancers and fools that are desperate for the job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,373 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Michael verney on twitter

126982.png