Stephen's Green Centre redevelopment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,882 ✭✭✭Allinall

They could renovate the inside to make it more functional. Absolutely.

But the outside is nice and should be left as is, except for the Stg King St side. Needs more windows.

And tbh anyone who objects to someone objecting to the redevelopment just because they are from Athlone and fcuk right off.

It’s a shopping centre for the whole country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,118 ✭✭✭Trampas

The layout is awful inside and really set up to avoid going upstairs. There was some architect giving out about the renovations but didn’t like if someone had the opposite opinion as there’s was for architectural reasons. It was we know best because we’re architects and plebs wouldn’t know. The outside look I couldn’t give a fk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,404 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

It has character something all the other soulless shopping centres in the city centre and suburbs now lack.

It is old though and does badly need a redesign.

I do not like the new design proposed for there. Its dull.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,858 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

I want the old Dandelion Market back. That was the coolest place to hang out when we were teens.

Built in 1988. Most of those twats at the protest weren’t even born then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,149 ✭✭✭✭L1011

If you think the new design is better... jaysus

Looks like a provincial TU student accom block

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,942 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I don't love the new design but the building needs replacing so screw it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,196 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I don't mind redevelopment, but I am absolutely at a loss and very disappointed at the lack of imagination in the new design. So bland and interchangeable with practically every office block I've ever seen.

There should have been a design competition that could be voted on. The site is in a very iconic part of Dublin, not shoved away down the docks. Although the new design would fit right in down there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,887 ✭✭✭✭elperello

This is what happens when you allow developers to take over city streetscapes.

We are reduced to debating the merits of one unsuitable project over another.

The original street had character and the individual shops fulfilled their function on a human scale which suited a city centre.

Of course there's no going back so we're stuck with Hobson's Choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,833 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

The original street ?

The one who's character was identical to 100s of other streets in the British empire and was developed by developers ?

You are as bad as the people who think the shopping centre is unique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,951 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

It was a dreadfully run down area from the early 70s onwards, as the Slazenger family accumulated properties bit by bit and eventually gained ownership of the whole site and sold it on.

That's the only reason the Dandelion Market existed, the whole area was slated for demolition!

The current building is a horrific pastiche of a beached Mississippi riverboat, "character" my arse.

The South King St side of the building is completely awful. Half the streeet is rendered useless, no shopfronts and just a mass of ugly brickwork.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,286 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

I’ve always resented not being able to go downstairs the way I came in, usually for a late breakfast. I feel like I have to view shops in the centre to escape out of it. With that said I still turn up for that breakfast most times I visit Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,174 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I always liked the uniqueness and sort of eccentricness of the place.

Im ok with a refurb but like SpanishEyes says, the lack of imagination is really horrendous. And it is akin to student accommodation as L1011 says, that sort we see up and down the country. 😵

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,728 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

ah tis time to move on, must be some nightmare doing maintenance work in the place, regeneration is generally always required for progression

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,316 ✭✭✭jackboy

Replacing It with a bland eyesore is not progression. Anything short of exceptional should not be considered as a replacement.

I'm really surprised the developers don't see the benefit of building something more iconic for this site. Surely they want something that stands out.

The street that was there before the shopping centre.

A street with character and function containing pubs, cafes, bookshops, antique shops, barbers etc.

In many cases offices and smaller businesses occupied the upper floors.

I'm not entirely convinced that the political administration is relevant to the way the street developed over time.

However Dublin has been under our stewardship since 1922 so we made the calls since then.

While most of it's bricks and mortar fabric was built in the days of the Empire for the most part the buildings were designed by Irish architects and constructed by local tradesmen. To

All swept away together with the Green Cinema and the Dandelion Market to give us a building in which businesses literally turn their backs on the street behind a facade without context.

Now this is about to suffer the same fate and we don't appear to have learnt much from the mistakes of 40 years ago.

We can do better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭growleaves

The current Stephen's Green centre is a pastiche of Victorian glasshouses and ironwork. It's standing opposite to a Victorian-era built park which creates visual continuity. (Yes it has interior design problems, which doesn't mean the exterior has to be replaced with an ugly monstrosity.)

A basic feel for urban geography is needed here. The proposed redevelopment is not only ugly but will turn the whole area into a incongruent mish-mash of styles.

Here is how the area will look if the new building is put in:

Georgian, Edwardian…misshapen modern office block with weird white ventricle windows…Victorian.

I wasn't saying anything about the politics of who built Grafton St. Just that it was the "globalised" style at the time and people fetishise these generic designs just because the have been there a bit longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭growleaves

I think it's inevitable for people to romanticise generic Victorian and Edwardian architecture when they are constantly being confronted with ugly, off-putting and out-of-place modernist, post-modernist and brutalist buildings.

The former becomes a psychic relief after deliberate visual assaults.

I agree on brutalist and i dispair when architects try tell us all we are just too stupid to understand how amazing it is when its getting torn down but your average building going up these days is no better or worse than the Georgian stuff.

Of course in this case that generic modern stuff isn't good enough for the sight in question. They should be told to come back with something more imaginative.

While I don't accept that preferring a more human scale of retail architecture is fetishist we appear to both want something better for the site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,728 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

what does 'exceptional' mean, in this context?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,555 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

Think the current building is a poor use of space. Nice idea but it just ended up being a lot of shops that are too small to be viable. Never liked the outside of it either. It's an ugly building.

New design looks like nothing tbh. Not seen any interior shots.

You'd think the main feature is it's location and thus should be able to look over the green etc. In

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I like the outside of it like most people but the inside layout is terrible and confusing. Poor use of space and doesn’t flow in any way. The maintenance and cleaning must be a nightmare too with all those panes of glass.
    Maybe gut the inside and try keep some semblance of the current facade?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,858 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

What was the name of the record shop opposite The Gaiety?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Big Gerry

It's mad how 90% of people are against the new design of the centre yet it's going ahead anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

The location of the shopping centre is a fairly high-profile area of the city,

I quite like the current centre, inside and out.

The exterior design of the new one, and in particular the plan for the main entrance, is abysmal. I don't even think it has the potential to "grow on people".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,555 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

The current centre has been half empty most of its existence. The top floor never filled out.

Inside and out it's like something Trump designed. It's a poor pastiche of Victorian and French design. When the style of the area is Georgian. Yes I know the Gaiety is next door.

Probably the parking has been the most successful part of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Arseboxing

"When it was built it was widely regarded as ugly"

By who? I was alive and living in Dublin in 1988 and that's not my recollection at all. It might have been the view of some high falutin' wangkers who fancied themselves as architecture critics, but I know when I saw it first I liked and I still like it. I like it a lot. I like it because it's a gorgeous building full of character and light that looms good both inside and outside, one of the very few attractive buildings built in Dublin in my lifetime.

And that seems to be the general view. If it wasn't the general view, there wouldn't be such anger at this horrific plan to knock it down and replace it with an eyesore with less imagination than Arsenal's attacking game.

Unlike you, I think we should have a bit more ambition for Dublin and especially such a key spot in the city's streetscape than pure "money making". How a city looks matters a lot. Modern architecture has not been kind to Dublin in that regard. Off the top of my head I can think of about three buildings built in the city in my 45 year lifetime that were a clear thumbs up. The new courthouse beside the Phoenix Park, the new Ashling Hotel just down the road from it, and the Stephen's Green shopping centre. Perhaps there are more. I just can't think of any.

I think if you're using Finn McRedmond as an opinion to back you up you're struggling quite badly. Ms. McRedmond talks about an "ugly and unloved" building. Not only is the building the opposite of ugly and unloved, but Ms. McRedmond is herself an unloved and some would say ugly columnist who only has her job as a piss poor rage baiter due to her strong family pull within the gilded circles of Irish business and media.

Fair play to the Athlone objector.