Fr Ted creator/writer Graham Linehan Arrested over posts on Transgender issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭lumphammer2

The main issue I have is the amount of non-medical 'celebrities' and politicians coming out with their 'wisdom' on the issue ….. Linehan should really just stick to Father Ted and the like ….. and anything Donald Trump etc say should be taken with a grain of salt ….. he is not a doctor although he'd tell you otherwise !!!!! ……

I am well aware that this is not a simplistic issue ….. the ins and outs of it are best left to a medical professional ….. but am well aware of the hatred misinformed bigots out there have of trans people and other minority groups ….. I am not Linehan so cannot determine what he exactly means …… but bigots will use anyone's views that back up their own cause to justify their hatred ……

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭aero2k

Of course your post is correct. Just a small point to pick up on: I think the term intersex has fallen out of use and been replaced by DSD. People with disorders of sexual development may not have fully formed sex organs for example, but that doesn't prevent them being clearly male or female as the case may be. Some people like to use the term intersex to try to argue that sex exists on a spectrum rather than being binary. Emma Hilton is excellent on this stuff.

I'm going to quote this again: I really think we should have some sort of award for the best effort in denying the reality of someone's achievements. We could get Eamon Dunphy to present it.

For those not old enough to remember, in the lead-up to the '84 Euro championships, Dunphy was saying that France weren't a great team and their star midfielder, Michel Platini, was over rated. Before their match with Belgium, Dunphy predicted Belgium would win. Platini scored in the first half, but Dunphy explained that it was against the run of play and that the French would be found out in the second half. Platini duly scored two more goals in the second half, France won 5-0, and they went on to win the tournament with Platini the leading scorer. His tally of 9 goals is a record that still stands.

Thinking back over the last few days of this thread, I've been struck by the lack of humanity. It reminded me of the United Healthcare thread - on that occasion nobody actually said "he did this to himself" but it was clear that many believed that Brian Thompson was not only an acceptable, but a desireable casualty in the war on capitalism. I never cease to be amazed at the limited supply of kindness from the #bekind crowd towards those who are not in their gang.

I only became aware of Linehan's stance on trans issues relatively recently. Maybe someone who has followed the story from the beginning can tell me if he behaved badly from the start, or if the bad behaviour only came after people he considered friends had disowned him for his opinions. There's also the issue of medication to consider - he looks to me to be suffering from side effects of psychotropic drugs. It must be an awful situation to be in, when you know what you are saying is a matter of scientific fact but you are vilified for saying it.

For the Glinner haters on here, have any of ye been in a similar situation, and how have ye handled it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,050 ✭✭✭plodder

Look up Hugh Linehan's latest piece in the IT (rushing out I can't link it). It doesn't directly refer to kindness but it's an interesting example of how not all problems can be solved just by being kind. Sometimes, harsh questions have to be asked. It's a very interesting article, at this juncture.

And couldn't agree with you more about the Brian Thompson case. The attitude towards him and the incident really shocked me as well.

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

I'd just like to point out, that while uncommon, intersex conditions have a similar incidence rate on the whole to conditions like Down's Syndrome. Obviously there are a number of DSDs so some are of course extremely rare, while others are much more common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

This was the point that had Linehan and Jk Rowlong having a go at Graham Norton as he expressed his view similar to yours:

"If people want to shine a light on those issues - and I hope people do - then talk to trans people, talk to the parents of trans kids, talk to doctors, talk to psychiatrists, talk to someone who can illuminate this in some way."

There seems to be a lack of middle ground in the debate anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,445 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

It's not a debate for people like Linehan, it's a crusade. They hate trans people and they're cowards, like all bullies. Therefore, they've chosen a weak, soft target that cannot defend themselves.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭McFly85

I think for Glinner it’s an addiction - the man has always been extremely online, since the very early days of Twitter - and now his opinions have been extremely distorted into what gets him attention/likes.

I hadn’t seen his page for ages until a few months back. He posted/retweets and incredible amount of stuff at all hours of the day - 285k posts, which even if you averaged out over 20 years would be 40 a day(and he hasn’t had an account that long).

And it’s noticeable that he’s broadened his opinions from trans people to anything that people who are hyper critical on trans issues generally agree with. The self proclaimed defender of women was more than happy to post when Renee Good was murdered that she got what she deserved, is generally pro Trump and pro Israel, and was only too happy to accept a junket there this year.

So at best he’s a terminally online addict who’d opinions are being shaped by what he reads and what gets reactions on Social Media, at worst he’s a bad actor who’s paid to spread this rhetoric online. In either case, he’s not to be listened to as any genuine point he might have had has been drowned out by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,011 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

Correct. Linehan joining the Israel grift as well should be further proof that he gives not one single f*ck about the safety of women and girls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

Transgender people had the support of numerous portions of the press, had support from legislators, politicians etc , they can easily defend themselves as a group if they wanted, they aren't a soft target.People who kicked out of jobs because they dared questioned the narrative pushed by groups defending transgender people.

The protecting women thing is a very obvious lie. It's the same when racists say we should look after our own people first and then cheer when the far right attacks Irish communities.

I can't say I'm remotely surprised to see Linehan supporting a holocaust and the murder of real, flesh and blood women.

The thing with that part of the spectrum is that you're all in or you get turfed out very quickly. He was definitely smart enough to know all this going in.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

No, it's correct, they had loads of politicians on their side, loads of the media would support them. There is bucket loads of evidence to back this up.

People lost jobs, or weren't considered for them for daring to challenge the transgender cult that had developed.

More nonsense. There is no evidence and you know it. It's just the usual rightist victimhood narrative that's been debunked countless times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,850 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Because he feels like he was abandoned by "the left", he shifted to "the right". His beliefs on a number of topics shifted because it's more about ego and seeking the praise and adoration he used to get. He was never going to get it back from "the left" so he's had to seek it elsewhere.

As if being generally aligned on most issues means people won't criticise you for fomenting hatred against one group. He seems to have felt like he was owed support from everyone for being in agreement with them on other matters or just generally having worked with them before or being friends with them. When he stopped getting that because of how insane he went against trans people, he's changed his positions on other topics to garner support from those types of people.

You have politicians sticking up for transgender people all the time Sarah McBride in the USA for example, there are loads of special interest groups around the world that represent transgender rights, we have TENI in Ireland for example, Mermaids and Stonewall in the UK. There were load of politicians who didn't want bills passed in state legislatures in America to stop males competing in girls sports. There is the Advocates for Trans Equality group in the USA (who think boys being allowed to cmpete in girls sports is trans equality and any opposition to this is transphobic), see link below.

Advocates for Trans Equality Unveils 118th Congressional Champions List | A4TE

You had James Dreyfus losing work because he supported JK Rowling.

You have Dr Beth Upton is Scotland being supported by the NHS up there.

Transgender people have had plenty of the media and political support over the years

Transgender people have had loads of support over the years and have used it to silence people at times, pretending they are some harmless defenseless group is just nonsense.

I've produced loads of evidence now, so your claim their isn't evidence is just pure nonsense.

You've produced literally zero evidence of any kind as always. Literally nothing and you said there was "buckets of evidence". This is exactly the opposite.

Groupthink is a bit of a thing, though. Stanley Johnson, father of Boris, was the subject of allegations of inappropriately touching women. I was harshly critical in a post on this site and someone responded that he was a Remainer, as if that should give him a pass.

Linehan presumably felt he was of such importance that he could carry the left with him. Not only do most people not have a clue who he is, they're not going to be mindlessly led by a man with such loathsome views.

I did provide evidence that transgender people had support from the media, from various interest groups, from politicans, you decided to igore it because it contradicts your point.

As you often say yourself

We're done here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,922 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I've no idea if he's been diagnosed with anything but I agree with you, it doesn't really take a doctor to see that something is not right in his mind.

Whatever is up with him, he definitely has a severe case of chronically online syndrome. I've heard him speaking in some interviews over the last few years and I did feel sympathetic towards him and came out of the interviews thinking he made some good taking points - however once he's back online he becomes that chronically online ranting lunatic again.

Bit of a Jekyll and Hyde situation. If he'd stayed off Twitter he would have been grand, I reckon it's just a complete compulsion / addiction for him now.

Its odd that he accepts he is online too much but never changes his behaviour although he recognizes it has damaged his life. Its the textbook definition of addiction. There are many political activists that can have happy lives and still fight for their cause. He has a whiff of enoch burke about him, he is a bit of a liability for his own cause as he comes off as unhinged in some of his online posts.

He once described X as part of his central nervous system. That says a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,850 ✭✭✭✭Penn

He was a very early adopter of Twitter so managed to get a huge following on it with one of the biggest accounts. If I remember right, even the first time another user kind of complained to him about the portrayal of a trans woman on The IT Crowd, Linehan had a very polite and respectful back and forth. But I think once he started getting a bit more pushback and challenges on it, he really started to let it get to him and he completely started to flip (or more likely, the mask started to slip).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Some good points about how harmful unsocial media can be however this thread is about Linehan's arrest by real cops for things he posted online.

The police in Britain allowed themselves to become servants of trans activism and enforcers of political correctness.

Hopefully they've learnt a lesson from the court and prosecution service failures that ensued.

The thread is about a number of things, JK Rowling was brought up too a number of times which you didnt seem to complain about.

Linehan has admitted he has a problem with social media but still continues to post morning evening and night. Its a pertinent point when it comes to how his behaviour has become unhealthy.

I definitely would agree regarding lessons should be learnt from the court case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Annd9

The police in Britain have been servants to public opinion for a lot longer then the trans rights debate , see the Guildford 4 and Birmingham 6 . Last weeks stabbing attack is another prime example , the met released a statement failing to mention the 3rd victim because it didn't suit the narrative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,309 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

"JK Rowling was brought up too a number of times which you didnt seem to complain about."

Not only did I not complain I actually mentioned her myself and later mentioned the fact I had. She's also been subject to targeting by the trans mob so is relevant.

The narrative on here has drifted towards character assassination when it's really about the principal of adults being able to make jokes online without the cops getting themselves involved. Maybe these jokes upset some people but that's no reason for the police to get involved.

I dont think its character assassination to mention the fact Graham Linehan is online too much and seems to have a problem. Linehan himself has mentioned this. Given this is the only thread about Linehan its relevant to be discussed here.