No quitten we're whelan onto chitchat 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,361 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

A friend's son wanted to do plumbing, such an ordeal to get a plumber to take him on. They eventually wangled a lad to take him on and he's delighted he did as he's a great worker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

I think some Louth fans got too big for their boots. The stick they gave meath fans over the past 2 weeks online was strong enough.... Mulroy was nullified by the dublin defence ... they are a bit more of an ordinary team when hes not scoring. I thought scully was immense for Dublin

Hoping for a good performance from kildare today. I think we might just sneak it with lads returning from injury at the right time and westmeath losing loughlin. Will be a tight game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

By mechanical do you mean plumbing, fabricating and fitting or actual mechanics?

Im in the mechanical side myself (fitter, fabricators and plumbers) were the best paid trades at the moment (union sites) however there's is an awful lot of frauds in the game too and there seems to be more of them on union sites than non union. Our employer never asked for trade certs when we started so you have spoofers with no trade getting the same rate as us and not being able to do the job. Makes a mockery of the whole point of going out and doing a trade when you have that going on. I've seen it the whole way through my apprenticeship too I was a second year on €12/hr and expected to show a spoofer how to read a tape (he was RCT and getting near €40/hr at the time). We even have labourers on site with us looking for ways to buy papers so they can get the rate at the moment.

Aa for the mechanics they are the worst paying trade out there even though they have the broadest skillet out of all the trades which is wrong and they should be on way more but then how much are people going to be willing to pay for servicing and repair of their cars.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,860 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

are you supprised? Does anybody know a plaster who’s body isn’t broken by the time they are 40?

If any of my kids want to do a trade when they are older then good for them but I’ll actively steer them away from plastering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,290 ✭✭✭endainoz

Plastering is definitely one that's the least popular, to be fair I wouldn't blame anyone for not going near it. A dirty trade and very tough going. Any plasterer I know has serious back problems, it's probably the toughest trade out there. On the other side of the spectrum, the country is full of electrician apprentices, much cleaner trade and certainly much easier on the body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭lmk123

block laying is the worst, at least with plastering there’s inside work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭GNWoodd

In the Mid West, there are a few teams of painters that came from Brazil some years ago. They do good work at reasonable rates . Saw a big job they worked on last year - worked out half the cost of the next nearest quote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,860 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭148multi

New house starts up in first quarter

Source: The Irish Times https://share.google/7fnHRJmchVsrKjH49

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭lmk123

go away, I didn’t realise that, Jesus you learn something new everyday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,062 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

if it’s heating rads then yea I’d say a good external rated condensing boiler is an option. Might be easy plumbed into existing system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,062 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Chap in local stores was saying he followed up on some prices he’d done for roofing etc and quite a few one of houses not going ahead at moment because of shear cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭DBK1

I’d say it’s six of one and half a dozen of the other. Yea with plastering you can work indoors in bad weather but with blocklaying you’re not working up over your head a lot of the time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,290 ✭✭✭endainoz

Yeah it's the over head work that takes the toll on the body so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

the wider cavities are a killer on block layers now too. 100mm cavity used to be standard but now it’s 200 or 250.
    Both plastering and block laying are tough tough jobs and you couldn’t begrudge either for whatever money they make. Saw two houses locally being blocked recently, different blocklayers doing both but both were totally on their own, no labourer or anything. That would be hardship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,881 ✭✭✭straight

Ya, They deserve all the money they can get for that back breaking work. Where does all the money go when building a house though. I think its builders suppliers are the ones making a killing myself. You don't ever see them going broke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

ya it’s not labour tbf. And it’s not until you go second fixing and finishing it where you burn though money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭148multi

There's one developer in athlone offering blocklayers €400 a day to work direct.

II know two blocklayers who were asked to work night shifts in galway, they got €1500 a shift of 6 hours before they'd do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Thesmallfarmer

The majority of hard working Block layers and plasterers rarely get to enjoy their pension ,alot of them dont make 66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭I says

that’s cause they’re swilling porter everyday it rains 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭Packrat

I was a carpenter. I did every bit of it from shuttering to roofing to second fix and eventually a shopfitting/doors specialist. I still had 50 lads on the sites and a small workshop as well in 2010. Got badly badly burnt after that and left the trade completely. When I was young I worked for a plasterer/small builder and did a little bit of everything except upright blocks. I built several houses over the years in between my own business. I plastered a few of them and they turned out ok.

Plastering is very different today to then, my mate is a big plastering subby and he says about 90% of what they do now is sprayed on or just taping and jointing, very little hardship skimming big ceilings or throwing on sand and cement undercoat.

Blocks are worse with reaching across the wide cavities, but there's far far less blocks going on anyway, they've been edited out of nearly all housing schemes and commercial buildings. Just the occasional one-off house or extension now. No loss.

Construction has changed more since I left it than in the fifty years before that.

ICF is being used a lot.

I wouldn't mind my young lad going into a trade but not one of the traditional ones. My own body was feeling the effects of it and I was off tools at 35, after 17 years of a 'dry trade'.

Id hate to be lifting fire doors or down on my knees fighting with skirting or floors now, not to mind at blocks or skimming at 65.

Post edited by Packrat on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭Dupont

I started at 16 years old labouring for a blocklayer. Done my bricklaying apprenticeship with him then. There was a few wet days where we would head to the pub and I wasn’t drinking because I wasn’t the age and had to drive them home. I had no licence either back then🤪. The were the simple days back then. Now my backs in agony with any low walls or skimming ceilings. It all catches up on us and I’m only young (enough) yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,748 ✭✭✭Grueller

Tis one of the things I don't understand. Whenever a young lad asks for advice on what to do alongside farming, they all getvtold to pick a trade. It's too physically demanding in both jobs then, trade all day and farming in the evening or weekends. There are a multitude of jobs lads can do working from home, self employed nowadays. Go do one of those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,361 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Those Of you with a trade do ye drive by a place and say i plastered there, or whatever. Oh used to be a fecker for taking his eye off the road and saying he'd done work somewhere we'd be passing

Exactly this. For most of my construction career I wasnt really farming much. I could never understand lads coming home from one physical job to do another.

I can say after experience of both that farming is healthier on the body. More movement and less time on your knees. More jerk lifting and dragging in farming though, and the tractor is hard on the back unless its one of the newer ones.

Probably why people suggest this combination is that farmers are great in construction, work ethic, strength, versatility, but also that there used always be construction work in the local area where you could run home to calve a cow.

Also, doing a trade didnt involve being away in college for years, and possibly getting a taste for city or other country life.

I show the wife and kids houses i did, (they're not interested) and have only last week shown the Americans a huge university building I did (under the pretense of showing them the university and its story) Mary I BTW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Kildare filled the togs... very dissapointing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,875 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

My father was a stone mason, worked with him on holiday from schools & collage, would be driving along now telling the kids my dad or (me & my dad) built that… they probably not interested but I do get great satisfaction out for seeing some built 20 years and how it has aged.

My dad built my brother's house & he was 70 at the time, he was able to average 500 blocks a day... once the labourer (urs truly) had them stacked right & the mortar was right. From being around sites since I was about 12 plastering is definitely the toughest & hardest trade on the body..

Electrical is probably the hardest on the mind.. I see in our new house there is probably more wires than there was in the first space rocket...

He must have been some man, - most lads would be doing nicely to throw away 1500 a week unless they were at deadwall.

2 seconds in the hands is the secret to blocks. That and put it down once, two tips to straighten it and leave it to fcuk alone. I could never manage that, I'd be messing with it too long and feck up the bed under it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,007 ✭✭✭kk.man

I always said if I could turn back time I'd definitely be an electrician, alot of them are lazy and do minimum hours where a grafter would make hay in that trade. A few would be found of the bottle also.