Michael | Official Trailer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,869 ✭✭✭apache

Will probably go and see this tomorrow. I'm a fan so hoping it's good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

I’ve no intention of seeing this rubbish but - please can someone explain to me why Wacko Jacko gets a “free pass” despite decades of notorious child abuse???

Should I expect “Jimmy Saville - the glory years” in my local cinema next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭sporina

saw this last night - i was born in 79 (for context).. OMG i danced in my seat for 2 hrs…. was buzzzzzing after - highly recommend it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

read the full thread and your question is answered ten times over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,563 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

He was advised to pay off first case, something he didn't want, it was done by advisers, Chandlers dad gladly took the money and ran.

MJ gladly went to trial with second case, although he didn't know what he was letting himself in for, that took a toll, found not guilty on all charges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭MOR316

But you're using your energy for nothing and it isnt getting you anywhere. People will always love his music. He was that good and he wasnt just part of pop culture. He was pop culture. None of us can dismiss that. Music is subjective to taste but for a period he was amazing and the heights and influence he reached and had will never be seen again in our lives.

I'm not blind to his personal life. I hamg on to the hope he didnt commit those crimes. Im Irish and we all know the story there. If it actually is proven he did, I'll think he's a piece of **** but I'll always be a fan of his work from when he was a kid up until 1991 (Some tracks are amazing after that period but the majority is meh to me)

What I often struggled with is so many artists are awful. As a Dub, we celebrate Oscar Wilde. Statues and tours. Bowie and Zeppelin were mentioned in this thread. One raping a minor with a fish ffs. Yet, thete is next to nothing about that from the general public. Someone left a link to a reddit account where people are speculatiing about who MJ molestated and that he only performed and done music to feed that. That's outrageous and I draw the line at people describing that. He may have been that but literally **** on art and speculating to appeal to your own narrative, especially in such disgusting crimes like this, is wrong and I would hope people in this thread don't participate in that.

I personally think he gets it the most because he was that famous (Grew up during it and looking back, it is unhealthy) and because there is a part of us where we know he was that amazing and we all thought he was that wholesome and giving etc, that we are afraid to look at ourselves and admit we werw lied to.

Again, I really hope he didnt commit those crimes.

And again, no one in this thread who saw the movie has given it a 1/10 like the critics. Its fine. Not something I'll watch again. But a 1/10 suggests the worst movie ever. It really isnt

Will always be of the opinion that the Thriller album was the start of it. The very thing that made him who he is to us, enabled him and destroyed him

I would avoid getting involved with that poster. Doesn't matter whether you think he did or didnt commit those crimes, he is a massive troll. The Covid threads and various others show it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭marilynrr

Have you never heard of the Epstein files? 😂

The FBI did have a strong case, but it still didn't result in any major charges, instead the U.S attorney just cut him a plea deal and he only had to plead guilty to soliciting prostitution and soliciting a minor for prostitution, he didn't even get done for actually committing the sexual acts.

The FBI can have a strong case, and still nothing may come of it. Obviously years later for Epstein they made a new case, and that may well have happened to MJ if he was still alive too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

I think you're just taking the scores a bit personally tbh. 1/10 just means a bad movie. If you sink 200 million into a movie and still somehow don't have a decent script then that's likely gonna hit you even worse.(Back to Black for example reviewed even worse, let's not even mention Melania)

I also would be pretty annoyed if a Bowie biopic were to come out that avoided the uncomfortable and pretty questionable parts of his past. A biopic of a musician isn't simply supposed to be a retake of music video with minor bits of plot on the side.

Also to emphasize, I very much so recognise that he was a massive cultural icon. He very much so was a complex figure as well and instead they appear to have outputted a movie that's assigning saint like status and avoiding the awkward bits(the excuse about the timeline very much so seems like avoidance, the original cut seemed to just emphasise victimhood more than anything by the sounds of it). I can't see a sequel honestly discussing it.

It was mentioned earlier in the thread that this is the inherent issue with biopics. Depending on who is behind them, they end up as a propaganda exercise that invariably ends up bland with zero insight into the figure. I'd similarly say A Complete Unknown tends to have similar issues to some degree, you ended up with pretty much no insight into Dylan and he literally signed off on the script.

I wouldn't say I'm taking it personally. Far from it. I have issues with the movie and gave my honest opinion on it here. I just don't think its 1/10. That score suggests to me that a movie is the worst thing to ever appear on screen. This movie is certainly not as bad as its made out. Its also a biopic. They're all fluff pieces. The Apprentice is the best "biopic" I've ever seen though. Naturally because it was independent from the subject matter

As a reference, The Devil Wears Prada 2. I saw a few reviews absolutely fawning over it. Saw it last night and its good. Not as good as the first one but good all the same. It doesnt warrant such praise from certain critics.

The thing about Jackson is, he was such a cultural phenomenon that people, fans or not, will show up to watch the movie, as you can see from the numbers its doing. Be it out of curiosity, fandom, nostalgia, whatever the reason. Allegations or no allegations, crime or no crime, Michael Jackson's music and art is embedded in society and culture and always will. Even long after we've gone. Its just something people will have to accept and move on. There will always be a cloud over his legacy though because of his horrendous behaviour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,563 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

1/2 a Billion worldwide in 7 days. And still not out in some regions.

Kinda crazy

Comparing Epstein to Michael Jackson is ridiculous.

Epstein had 1,200+ documented accusers and ended up in jail.

You need to use common sense - 10 year investigations by 2 separate agencies and zero charges for a supposed prolific abuser - makes no sense.

Plus he had a trial whereby those accusers were ripped apart and exposed as the grifters they were and he was quickly and easily acquitted.

There’s a documentary called “Leaving Neverland” I would strongly encourage the Jacko fans to watch - sickening abuse allegations - allegations I said yes but still I know who I believe in the overall analysis.

have seen it - 2 proven lying grifters and their claims have been discussed at length in this thread if you want to read through it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

The problem I have with that documentary - and I say this as someone who has no idea what happened - is that unlike most documentaries, where the filmmaker goes off to explore a story and doesn't know where the story will go, this one felt like an activist product to build up momentum for a court case. A lot of Netflix documentaries are similar (Making a Murderer).

I have no idea if the alleged victims are telling the truth. Let it go to court and let's see how it goes. Thus I do not see the point of watching 4.5 hours of two people detailing alleged sexual abuse with a 'director' who basically just let the camera run the whole time.

I would argue that Finding Neverland and this movie are two sides of the same coin. If you always thought Jackson was guilty and didn't require a guilty verdict, go for it. If you believed Jackson was basically a saint and don't want to debate the allegations, you have this movie instead.

You're the one who compared them 😂

I really don't think you're in a position to be telling anyone else to use common sense.

I don't care if he was acquitted, he was still very obviously a pedophile and they're going to struggle to make a second movie with any kind of honesty, but then that's fine because obviously they can't be honest, at least it will bring the estate more money so that they can pay all these settlements.

the allegations that he was extremely personally close to a string of young boys from the early 80s on, and slept in bedrooms with unrelated children all through his adult life say it all for me …

How do you explain away the 2 10 year investigations by 2 different agencies - not enough evidence to even bring charges against him?

What 2 10 year investigations were these?

In the investigations (that didn't last 10 years) they did find evidence, but at the time his victims were saying they were not molested, What are they going to do? Put him on trial for sexually abusing boys even though the boys and families were going to deny it? It's very easily explainable why they didn't bring charges at the time.

has been mentioned multiple times in this thread so read it. What you’ve said is incorrect.

Not going through the thread again but all I recall is yourself and another poster just repeating the same thing about these 10 year long investigations that didn't actually happen.

You're spreading misinformation because there was news stories saying he was investigated for over a decade, those headlines were misleading, there was separate investigations from 1993-1994 and then in 2004-2005 or so, the FBI combined the 2 investigations in the files, doesn't mean that there was a continuous investigation spanning that time, just that their files started in 1993 (well 1992 actually because of death threats the Jacksons received) and ended in 2005. Nothing was being investigated in the years in between.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,859 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Very impressive, and when you consider that it hasn't opened yet in certain regions, that will add to its success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭sporina

saw this Fri eve - lovvved it - massive music fan.. was never a Michael J fan - he was a bit b4 my time.. but man, what a musical genius - know v little about the allegations.. we can separate the art from the person; look at Picasso - treated women terribly - but we still go in droves to see his Art because of its brilliance.. anyway… I was high as a kite after this movie - danced in my seat for 2 hrs almost.. if music is in your bones I highly recommend it

if you’re not willing to read the thread I’m not going to waste my time engaging with you. The statements are easily backed up with a little research online.

Just on this “MJ was a genius” rubbish -

On top of his horrendous child abuse that went on for decades, he robbed all his dance moves from lesser known performers (Bob Fosse), his music went massively downhill after Quincy Jones got the hell out of there - his 90s and 2000s work is craptacular and his voice is simply bizarre - all those gulps and yelps … wtf like?!

fair play to Janet Jackson for vetoing using her character in the movie.

She probably has the inside story and has a bit of cop on to have nothing to do with the legacy of Michael Jackson

Could your post be any more bitter? Michael Jackson is widely regarded as a musical genius. I'll take the word of the likes of Berry Gordy, founder of Motown, over some nobody on the Internet.

"after Quincy Jones got the hell out of there"

That's a lie. Michael wanted greater creative control and independence. That's why he didn't go for Quincy on Dangerous.

"his 90s and 2000s work is craptacular"

Sure. Black or White, Heal the World, Remember the Time, Stranger in Moscow, They Don't Care About Us, Earth Song, Blood on the Dancefloor, You Rock My World, Whatever Happens and countless other songs say otherwise.

You have absolutely no knowledge of why she isn't in the movie. It's pure speculation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,422 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

So it's a trainwreck then. Can't say I'm surprised.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

i dislike Janet Jackson (at least LaToya spoke out…) but I will give her a small bit of credit for keeping away from this dumpster fire of an effort to “whitewash” a very, very dodgy legacy.