Donald Trump the Megathread part II - Mod Warning updated in OP 12/2/26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,139 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

More thin skinned antics on display.

Nothing to do with EU countries not adhering to his wish for them to get involved to help his failing war in Iran.

The ultimate snowflake. As always, he will TACO this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,990 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

https://www.rte.ie/news/middle-east/2026/0501/1571205-middle-east/

New proposal from Iran for Trump. Hopefully the details leak I'd love to know what's being offered.

Reading the article made me realise the bombing from both sides has been stopped almost a month now. I wouldn't have been so optimistic when they first stopped.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭midlander12

An additional factor now is that he's now yesterday's news. No one's remotely shocked by his rants anymore, in fact they largely ignore them as the ravings of a clearly demented old fool. Even his MAGA base are no longer clinging to his every word, and some of them are starting to turn on them in favour of more true-believer types like Carlson and Greene. Sooner rather than later even the markets will start to ignore his utterances and reflect only facts on the ground.

That's not a good place to be when your whole raison d'etre is hogging the news cycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,883 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭midlander12

Fair play to Blumenthal for calling them out. The only thing I would have added is that they're not fit to be rat-catchers let alone federal judges. Every public servant at whatever level is required to abide by and implement the law of the land, of which elections and electoral law are surely the cornerstone.

The Dems absolutely have to win back the Senate in November, and it has to be with 52 seats because that treacherous douche Fetterman can't be relied on at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,779 ✭✭✭dePeatrick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭scottser

I'm reminded of the Isaac Asimov short story 'Unto The Fourth Generation'. In a future of scarce housing, an old guy takes in all of his kids, plus their kids. Every time they annoy him he changes his will, so the family live in constant fear of upsetting him. Trump is like that with his tarrifs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

I can't see how the EU can sign that trade deal in which they would be levied with illegal tariffs. Guess they don't want Trump breaking the law!

If/when his 150 days are over with the blanket 10% tariffs, I can't see many counties signing or enforcing trade deals when Trump can't legally set their blanket tariff rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

If he goes through with it and US federal bureaucracy scurries to obey his tariff edicts once again + congress and the courts are impotent, the trade agreement (which was humiliating for the EU anyway IMO) should go on hold, and all the counter tariffs on US goods that were threatened but never imposed should kick in immediately.

I am sure cowardice and doing nothing to anger America's biggest geriatric baby will be the council from our own govt., and perhaps some others (but fewer than last time I expect post various hostile acts by the US), but to be blunt I think it's probably better in the long run to just have this trade showdown with Trump. Lance the boil maybe. The US economy won't come out of it unscathed either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭ilkhanid

I'd prefer a Black Hole. I'd enjoy thinking of Trump subject to 'spaghettification'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth 8-bit

CNN host cracking up and tells YouTube to "cawm down" and other guest says he's has the attention span of a gnat

Donald is completely making it up now as he goes along

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cvgz7l5v03po

Post edited by z80CPU on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭RickBlaine

As a general rule, I treat any screenshot from Truth Social that doesn't include the date and time as being fake. I'm not saying that one that does have the date and time is always genuine, but having it makes it a lot easier to verify.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,287 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Yanks to pull 5000 troops out of Germany

Screenshot_20260501_230737_Samsung Internet.jpg Screenshot_20260501_230743_Samsung Internet.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭mountain

President Petulant,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,791 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Good riddance?

The whiny patheticness from trump is ramping up recently, constantly moaning of any criticism and reacting immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭goldsparkle

I am surprised there isn't protests in American demanding for Trump to step down and calling for snap elections and get Trump removed. Trump is in no position to be picky against Iran after what he and Israel started and did to Iran.

Can you believe the legacy he is leaving as a president? If you remember the last recession we had there was so much blame left right and centre from bankers to policitians to people who lived on credit. I reckon we will sew a recession and all by one man due to him and his government in American facilitating his mate in Israel.

Speaking of which, 15 years to the day that they got him.

Nice reminder of what a President should sound like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,731 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

https://youtube.com/shorts/LDF4JumCPFY?is=qtbt_kWqX_zipgkv

I might have to change my name. Puppet Regime doing it again very strongly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,990 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

US troops will be reduced from 36k to 31k or thereabouts with Germany. I wonder if this will escalate and more Will leave. Europe will have to redirect more resources to defence if it escalates.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,883 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

And going to take 6-12 months - so ludicrous as to be laughable

Will Europe ever call this baby out and be done with him - seriously if Europe said you can go feck off we're not dealing with you anymore he would just back down and beg with us to start trade again. He's basically said they are out of NATO so what else does the USA do for us???

Claim sovereignty on any and all US based manufacturing in Europe (e.g. drug manufacturing) such it can no longer be exported back to the USA without 100% tariffs

Will the world just wake up and tell this jack ass to go f*ck off we don't need you! He seriously thinks America controls the world and we would be lost without them.
    UAE leaving OPEC is the first sign they're done with them, I'm sure others will follow like Saudia Arabia - this all plays in to the Russian/Chinese BRICS agenda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭swiwi_

T is for Trump is for tedious. Everyone is bored of his carry-on. Good on Merz for saying America has been humiliated in Iran. It’s nice to see at least one major leader speaking the truth.

We just have to wait for your boy Trump to throw another tantrum, he will withdraw more troops I’m sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,452 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Why are US troops even still in Germany or anywhere else in Europe bar small token training units?

Russia is no threat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭StarryPlough01

Starry: Thanks for this great clip. Federal judges have been going backwards denying black people their voting rights. That’s down to Bush and Trump stacking conservative federal judges. Very interesting to watch. It’s triggered a whole load of southern states redistricting to marginalise the strength of black voters.

Trump’s judicial nominees are saying Biden was certified, and that’s down to Trump’s VP Mike Pence, who did it honestly, which upset Trump. The nominees are giving the answer that won’t vex Trump - they are afraid of him. In this instance, the Senate accepted judicial nominee Sheria Akins Clark, who is a black woman. She failed the Senate’s litmus test having pledged fealty to Trump. But was confirmed by the Senate.

The process is: the Senate questions all judicial nominees - called the ‘litmus test’ for the first time - “Do you believe in a woman’s right to choose.” It’s not a formal process, it’s just how things have evolved over time. There will be some pivotal / hot button issue. In the past it was about abortion, racial school integration... Now it’s about judicial independence. They are testing whether they are independent judges.

Trump has a feudal fealty test - it’s not about the Constitution, it’s not about justice, it’s about personal fealty to him.

“3 Senate Dems Vote To Advance Election Denier To LIFETIME court seat”
    Jennifer Bendery, Senior Politics Reporter for HuffPost in Washington / Sat, May 2, 2026
    https://www.aol.com/news/3-senate-dems-vote-advance-201529934.html

Josh Orton President of Demand Justice (a progressive judicial advocacy group)
    “This nominee [Sheria Clark], along with the 37 Trump judges already confirmed, disqualified herself by submitting to a political litmus test from Trump to prove loyalty,” Orton said in a statement. “Yet in a midterm election year, just as Democrats are finding their voice standing up to Donald Trump, Senators Durbin, Whitehouse, and Coons yet again voted to enable Trump’s continued attacks on the rule of law.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,248 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

The Americans are a threat, they be all told to go.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,587 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Complaint filed by private citizen against Chief Justice John Roberts.

The Ethics in Government Act requires Supreme Court justices to disclose their yearly finances, including spousal income above $1,000. However, the law only requires disclosure of the source of spousal income, not the amount received. 

Republican lawsuits are holding up the certification of the new House maps in Virginia. The state Supreme Court refused to lift the block. The Washington Examiner says time is running out to certify.

The court is politically mixed because Republicans long controlled the state legislature even under Democrat governors.

Meanwhile it looks like Florida may redistrict yet again. Governor DeSantis suggesting a 2010 Florida State Constitutional amendment on minority districts may be unconstitutional.

The SCOTUS ruling weakening the VRAs requirements to create for minority districts will probably encourage more of thus sort of thing, like how the 2012 Shelby County ruling opened the door to more gerrymandering based on the removal of DOJ pre clearance for changes to electoral law in places with a history of disenfranchisement.

Bill Maher on Real Time has said that the new maps could mean zero Black representation in the South, where the largest Black population lives.

Post edited by Ozymandius2011 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,924 ✭✭✭amacca

It was nauseating to watch him allow Trump walk all over him long before that..

Still, it's something......Next up Mark Ruttes revolting displays of jelly spined deference to be a thing of the past and he might start not boot licking at the drop of a hat? If he didn't call him Daddy that would even help.

If we are marking cards in that respect Sanchez hasn't been stooping to sycophantic bootlicking...(not that he doesn't have other issues)

I understand it might be wise to be somewhat deferential/diplomatic even with a grade A moron like Trump given the power he wields and the potential consequences the orange man babys decisions could have for your country, organisation, world ....but hopefully the worm is beginning to turn now that Trump has hopefully made it apparent to anyone that would allow him power he is woefully unfit to wield it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,940 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Example 4841 of Trump being a disgusting, lying racist.

Trump: "Somalia, it's a beautiful place. It's got no anything. It's got one thing that's really strong -- crime. All they do is run around shooting each other. It's filthy dirty, disgusting dirty. It's a horrible place. They come here, and Ilhan Omar, she heads it. She married her brother. I would imagine they're looking at her. Isn't she despicable? We ought to get those people the hell out of our country."

Accusing others of incest when it's quite clear he wants to .... his own daughter

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭tarvis

Russia and the US - are allies with Russia having favoured ally status while the rest just get “ye are useless to me” guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭BettyS

my understanding is that it has always been in America’s interests to have military bases in Europe. If they lose Shannon and Europe, it may not work out the way Don plans