Release Date for 1926 Census !UPDATE!

12345679»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Jellybaby_1

Fascinating. In the languages column is she saying Irish and English? I'd have expected 'Gailge'. Also I didn't know she spoke English. I've never learned enough Irish to converse, just the odd phrase here and there but I've always liked the old Irish script which I what I learned at school. I wonder if computers could cope with it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,988 Mod ✭✭✭✭pinkypinky

Yes, I reckon that's her alright. Born in Dunquin, but now living on the Blaskets.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭Mick Tator

They can cope fine - choice of adapting keyboard strokes or by downloading a program. https://www.gaelchlo.com/bungc.html

My grandfather completed the 1926 census in Irish using Clo Gaelach script and the OCR did a good job, replacing a few ' seimhius with 'h's. Unfortunately he used a strange / unfamiliar Irish spellings of surname and christian names, and it took quite a bit of detective work to find the family. Although Form B used the English version of the surname the search function didn't find it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 56,277 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,614 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 56,277 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

odd, i can open it in a different browser (one in which i am not logged in to the IT site) and it opens in full.

i can read it also - perhaps those who cannot read it have reached their limit of 'free views'/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭VirginiaB

I read it for free on my iPhone without a problem.

Ancestry has transcriptions (no images) already.

https://www.ancestry.co.uk/search/collections/63564/

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,149 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Spent a fruitless 20 minutes there trying to find a birth cert for a newly discovered 1st cousin twice removed… then realised that the 1926 births won't be available until early 2027!

Hasn't been a case of someone we can see in a census not having records online since the certs became available before that edge case of early 1926 births.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭VirginiaB

I can see images on ANCESTRY when I looked last night, 29 April. Still there today.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,869 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

I'm not seeing any images on Ancestry - just transcripts - with links to the images at the National Archives site.

A great addition which I'm pleasantly surprised to see in place so soon.

Genealogy Forum Mod

How do the two compare for searching? Clever of Ancestry to reduce costs by linking to an external database.

My Ancestry sub laosed some time ago, haven't renewed, hoping for an offer. It seems that they are offering discounts on the DNA tests and making the profit on the subs - the tests are useless without a sub.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,497 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Check the last couple of pages on a thread on rootschat called 'Does anyone know of any current Ancestry special offers?' (to learn something to your advantage…)

Post edited by spurious on

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,869 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

It's far from the first time Ancestry have linked to a record set in that way - they already do the same for the 1901/11 census.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭bobbyss

I believe the census was taken on a Sunday in April 1926. Nowadays the census comes in the form of a booklet but back than how was it completed logistically? Was a form delivered to each household? We see data on a large page with what seems like original signatures. Was this the page that people completed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Tango One

My great grandmother died on the 21 of April 1926 which is a few days after the census was taken. Funny my great grandfather filled in the census and has himself down as a widow.He also had to write mother is dead after all the kids details. I guess with all that had happen the form likely wasn't filled in on the correct date. Must of been tough for him 36 with 5 kids to raise.

Yes, form delivered by Gardaí and completed by the head of household, unless they couldn't, in which case it might be either another family member or the Garda.

Genealogy Forum Mod

That's very poignant @Tango One

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,017 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I found in the 1926 census my 2x great grandfather filled in the census and his wife had died in 1924 and when he filled it in he left the second row blank where he had filled in his wife’s details in 1911. It for some reason hit me. It was a lovely tribute even if it wasn’t on purpose. He was 80 at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,017 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Just to follow up from my post earlier this morning. My 2x great grandfather was 81 not 80 and he actually died around September of 1926. In the column about number of years married he put 51 years. Irish was his first language which I was happy to see.

This census has mostly clarified stuff for me and there’s been a couple of names that nobody seems to have ever heard of. I have one real mystery that this census hasn’t helped its seems one of my ancestors has completely vanished by 1926 and I’ve not found a death record for her or any record for that matter after the 1911 census.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,389 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I had a look there yesterday, found the location and age of a grand uncle that my father was pestering me about for ages. Couldn’t find him on the 1911 census due to a number of issues.But found him in the 1926 one. Turns out that he must have lived into his 90’s. I wouldn’t have believed that.

What I also noticed was the grand uncle’s signature. The way he signed his surname looked identical to the way my brother signs his. That threw him. It’s great the way you can see little quirks like that.

On first glance it seems the 1926 census is a lot more ordered, and easier to search than the 1911 one.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.