2025-26 UEFA Champions League - See Mod Note Post 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

UEFA seem to be consistent though these days. And sort of a handball these days is given as a penalty. It's been talked about every game week the last year or so - "that's a penalty in Europe". So it's consistent.

And from what I've seen. UEFA are also being consistent in overruling penalty decisions where players are clearly playing for the penalty and are trying to manufacture 'contact' in order to win a penalty.

It's a contact game, contact does not equals foul. Eze was not fouled last night. He was barely touched and he launched himself down to the right in order to win the penalty. The 'contact' didn't make him fall over or trip him up. He exaggerated a dive. He could have continued to fight for the ball, but chose not to do so. It's very evident because you can see that he leaves his left leg trailing behind him so that it will 'contact' someone else. All those still images are worthless claiming his right foot was stood on. It doesn't show the second before or after the touch. Eze went down holding his left shin - the one he left trailing behind him instead of taking a step so that he would bang into someone, even though it's claimed that his right foot was stood on.

UEFA overruled it. Just like they did 2 weeks ago when MacAllister stood in front of a player so the player had nowhere else to run into and knocked him over. It's manufactured contact and not a penalty, just like last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,504 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

it was jarring how much worse Atleti were once Alvarez went off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,090 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

VAR only 'recommends' a review. The ref is the person who actually initiates a review and the final decision is always taken by the referee, either based on information from the VAR or after the referee has undertaken an ‘on-field review’ (OFR).

I'll be honest, people get too hung up on the 'clear and obvious' thing, not to mention this almost 'mythic' status of contact. It's far more important to get the decision correct, and frankly, I think all decisions involving red cards and pens should be subject to OFR regardless of whether or not a recommendation comes in. If the ref awards a pen on-field, he should immediately proceed to the touchline so as to minimize delay. It breaks it down to the ascribed individual still making the call, as it should be, and would allow, with the highest probability, the right call to be arrived at as opposed to hiding behind whether there should be a review or what counts as 'clear and obvious'. If people need an error to hang their hat on with regard to last night's pen call - then the error is the actual initial award by the ref.

The VAR protocol actually worked. The ref made a understandable split second call, but with the benefit of the system, a potential match-altering incident was prevented and it is the ref who ultimately overrided his first decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭ronjo

Yes. Required OFRs would clarify that principle. The VAR team did see a clear and obvious error. They recommended the ref wrongly perceived a foul. All pen decisions are subject to VAR scrutiny.

so why even say people are getting hung up on it when its the entire crux of the matter?

Because, even a casual observer should be able to weigh in favour of arriving at the right decision, as opposed to hiding behind a subjective evaluation of whether a split second call in a game mired by seeking to gain advantage or even outright cheating should prevent the former.

Listening to TNT arguing in favour of the latter and trying to frame the correct use of VAR in bad light was insufferable.

The official who made the call corrected his error. That is a good thing IMO.

couldnt disagree with you more but hey, thats football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Infoseeker1975

Did you read the post I replied to?

It does not matter which teams are in the final; one of them are entertaining and the other will not be. If you are a fan of one of the teams then you do not care as long as your team is in the final.

I am not a fan of any team left in it so I would much prefer a best of 3 series between PSG & Bayern for purely entertainment value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,409 ✭✭✭✭8-10

VAR is great. Sure what did we used to talk about after a Champions League Semi final? Referee mistakes?

Glad that's not a thing anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,788 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

It has never for 1 day been blue no matter what they win
    I say that as someone who wants Arsenal to win so City don't gain from their cheating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Arteta Derrangement Syndrome on full show here.

I assume jealous Liverpool & Man United fans.

Don't worry lads, you'll get back to the top table sometime...

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,697 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Imagine getting hung up on something that is fundamental to the very concept of VAR in the first place, is literally in the first principle of the VAR protocol, and is then also applied in the 3rd principle of the VAR protocol.

It is literally a cornerstone of the entire VAR process to begin with ffs.

And is entirely subjective. Gas thing is, it doesnt matter whether you think it wasn't clear and obvious, or Martin Kweon thinks it wasn't or I think it was..........it's the VAR assistant's opinion that matters and they think it qualified. End of discussion.

This is what I mean by getting hung up on the phrasing. It doesn't matter what the commentator thinks with whatever pro-team/English co-commentator speaking nonsense is sitting beside him, or whatever what one fan thinks. It's the assistant's judgment that determines what is clear and obvious and he tells the ref that recommendation. The ref then decides first if an OFR is happening, then if his call was in error. It's actually quite simple in that regard.

It's a fairly common coming together in the area, one player tangentially to the other, one getting the ball ahead of the other...…something officials have seen and practiced a thousand times. The ref used his judgement, the VAR felt he had made a clear error as the ref decided a foul had occured, but was incorrect. There was no foul.

It's the right decision and it's OK to be upset by the call, but to talk in useless 'whatifs', how do you think the decision would have been greeted by those mentioned above if the exact scenario had played out down the other end ? Would VAR still have been wrong ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

I think we are nearly getting to the stage where pundits and fans aren’t happy if assimilated cheating isn’t rewarded. The pundits were literally criticising an Athleti player for staying on his feet few mins before this penalty decision. All the hullabaloo about Haaland not going Down.

The discussion isn’t “should we be encouraging players to stay on their feet when the contact doesn’t really affect them” it’s “players should dive regardless of contact impact because it’s clever fooling the ref for your team to get a peno”.

Fans aren’t angry “because it was a penalty” they are angry because it’s given as a penalty in other games when it really shouldn’t be. The sport is such a mess, can’t even make the simple decision to try not to reward/excuse diving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,697 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

If it had been down the other end it would have been a penalty, I have no doubt about that whatsoever.

The problem with VAR and its fans is that they are so close to getting it, but still so far.

For example, they will type in bold the word "subjective" and still not follow the implication of that to its logical conclusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,788 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

I would probably hold off until ye have actually won something

I mean it really only matters that you are top after the 38th game is played

That wasn't the whatif I asked.….I asked if VAR had asked the ref to review his call as an error, and resulted in the same outcome, would the process have been applauded by the pundits, fans etc ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭I see sheep

It's nice to be contending at the top and not just be also-rans.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

I don’t know where that presumption comes from , I don’t think VAR officials are even in the stadium , why would they be affected by a home crowd ?

I assume (although I shouldnt really) he means the ref could have been affected…. He was the final decision maker and in fairness he was the one being screamed at by Simeone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,521 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

IMG_0874.gif

Pretty conclusive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭Suvarnabhumi

Didn't see the match, but I know Arsenal had a penalty overturned. Was this the incident?

Hancko admitted on Slovak TV that he connected with studs but claimed it wasnt enough for pen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭Suvarnabhumi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Infoseeker1975

I genuinely want Arsenal to win the CL and/or league given it is so long since they won the league and never won the CL.

This type of post is annoying; top table means winning as far as I am concerned.

As for Arteta being deranged, that is probably a bit much, he is more unhinged in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,390 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

It shows adequately why Arsenal aren't liked by neutrals tbf. Some of their fans are insufferable.

Ah would you get away outta here………. every single fanbase as boardsies making childing comments.