Mandalorian and Grogu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭Acosta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,958 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

The Mandalorian is a curious Star Wars sub. On the one hand, it's a great idea that can go numerous places. On the other Disney ballsed it up. S01 was good, apart from that duff episode that was basically yet another re-run of the 'Seven Samurai'. S02 has waaaaay too many cameos and not enough substance and S03 shit the bed completely (seriously, Jack Black and Lizzo WTAF?).

This looks like it's merely an extended episode and while it may be good (I'm not really seeing that in the trailer though), I just cannot see myself forking out cinema money for it. €15 a ticket in the pictures or will I just wait and watch it on the tele like I watched the rest of the show?

Post edited by Tony EH on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,848 ✭✭✭✭Penn

The show was good when it was about The Mandalorian (and Grogu). Once it started becoming a vehicle for spin-offs and focusing on story threads from Filoni's animated shows it just became a mess.

At the very least this film should help return to and probably conclude The Mandalorian's story and keep the focus on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,958 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

With all the Filoni baloney Star Wars has become a pretty mediocre experience these days. The vast majority of stuff he's attached to is very middling, and that's being kind. I also hate the way he tries to shoehorn his creation (Ahsoka) into everything. I couldn't even get through three episodes of her show.

But, as someone else said, at least we have 'Andor' 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,848 ✭✭✭✭Penn

I was really hoping for an Andor Season 2 4K release soon so I could get both seasons of it and watch them again, but a Season 2 release doesn't seem to be on the cards any time soon (saw a post on Reddit of a Twitter reply from someone at Disney saying that it could be next year at the earliest, no current plans yet).

Might just get Season 1 on 4K now and watch S2 on Disney+ again.

But yeah, a huge part of what made that show great was how it could stand alone, and not needlessly tie itself up in knots trying to incorporate or reference 40 years of extended lore or minor characters. I know Mon Mothma's speech and the attack on Gorman were used in the animated show to some extent, but it never felt like you had to watch the animated show to understand anything. Whereas that's the road Filoni seems intent on taking so much of the other content down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭doubledown

Just out of a press screening. It was...fine. In fact it's pretty much what I expected - an extended episode of the show on the big screen. Nothing more. Nothing less. If you're a fan of the show, you'll probably like it. If you're a bit burnt out on all things Star Wars then this won't change your mind. It's also VERY much a movie for kids. But it feels like it's about four years too late. And I'm still baffled as to why they chose this to be the first big screen SW film in almost 7 years. Score was good. Some nice visuals. But the middle act is a real slog. If you're going to see it then do it on the biggest screen possible. But honestly, it's not worth the trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,171 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Interesting that you say it's very much for kids. I've been recently introducing my 5 year old to Star Wars. He loved the OT, but got very veeeery bored of the PT…. didn't make it through half an hour of Episode 2 (was doing Machette order). There's not much else live action out there that would be suitable… either made for an adult audience or built for nostalgia effect which will go over his head. Will watch out for more reviews of this and see if this is a back-to-basics Star Wars that can be enjoyed by all.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,671 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Are you saying he wasn't interested in the taxation of trade routes?

Kids these days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,171 ✭✭✭Bacchus

The drop off in interest was pretty astounding. Really highlighted how terrible the PT is.

OT… Clear good guys. Clear bad guys. Clear, clean visuals and supporting characters (R2 and C3PO). Clear mission to stop death star and Vader.

PT… he'd no idea who he was supposed to be rooting for or why anyone was acting the way they were acting. Funnily enough he enjoyed the brief cameo of Jar Jar Binks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,156 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

I'm afraid not even this poindexter will be engaged by such subject matter

15b465f7-2669-4fbe-b946-5ae8d66ab5bf_text.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,710 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Saw this morning, it was grand. It felt like 4ish episodes of the TV show bolted together, it is always nice to see Sigourney Weaver to be fair. Some of the CGI was ropey, genuinely a bit Ray Harryhausen at points.

Especially in the arena battle, maybe it was meant as a nod? The CGI when the hutts had a domestic I was genuinely lost on who was who. Though I will say Jeremy Allen White did a nice job with his voicing of Rotta.

Good one for the family I suppose, and going by my audience will sell a few popcorn buckets...

6.5/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,404 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Saw this today. I think Sigourney Weever was phoning this in.

Its a strange Star Wars film. Not the usual Star Wars intro.

Some of the CGI too did not look great.

The stories ok but ye the middle is a slog.

It is over 2 hours long and it did not need to be.

They could cut 20 minutes out of it and it would be much better.

The best music I found was at the end

So ye I agree with above a 6.5 for me too.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

can’t believe anyone is going to see this in the cinema - should have just been released direct on Disney+

Will without a doubt bomb at the box office

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,727 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Pulled in 12 million dollars in its preview thursday screenings alone, so looking on course for a decent 80 to 100m long weekend run.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 31,616 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

That’s a good opening for most films, but a pretty weak one for a Star Wars film. Might even end up with a lower opening than Solo, which was deemed a huge failure. Though here it will at least be offset by a lower budget. I’d expect its performance to be a bit of a shrug if the shoulders ultimately - neither a catastrophe nor much of a hit.

I’m not really sure what kind of huge box office performance was expected for a spin-off of a TV show already several years past its prime, mind you. It’s such an odd project to relaunch cinematic Star Wars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

it's a movie for older kids.. it isn't for fans of the original trilogy.

yeah, super low for a Star Wars movie, but on a comparatively modest 166m production budget (and only 140m with tax rebates), it’s doing grand from a point of view of making is money back and not ‘flopping’. Nigh on half what Solo cost. Feels like they’ve not sunk too massive a sum into marketing either. I’d say if it hits 260m all in it’ll be grand.

It’s a bit of a weird yoke anyway… sort of Star Wars adjacent rather than one for the main fan base.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,404 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Its doing ok here anyway. When I was booking yesterday I noticed that some screenings had already sold out.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,778 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

I suppose anything under 800 million for a Star Wars film would be considered a flop.

Honestly this held zero interest for me. I don't think I even finished the series. It jut became sillier and sillier and I could not sit through another hour oh him slowly walking or standing and saying "This is the way".

I think Jack Black was, for me, when it jumped the shark.

But this looked like a made-for-TV movie. Man, I'm old enough to have seen those two cheap-ass ones they made in the 80s and released in the cinema here (But on TV in the states). Even the name sounds like a TV movie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,778 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

And, to be fair, this is a valid point. I've no interest in this movie but it's not going to "ruin my childhood" as so many Sci-Fi fans bemoan in their basements.

I think this is so underwhelming that there isn't even THAT cry (That I've heard anyway). It seems to be the very definition of "Meh" but maybe kids'll like it and if so and it gets them into the cinema, then great.

I think it's a bit unfair to move the bar just because its a particular franchise… like, it's a spin off movie, of a spin-off kid-centric tv show that only Disney+ subscribers have access to, so I'm not sure comparing it to broader audience core Star Wars movies is fair. I'm sure that's also part of why they were conscious to keep the budget at a more manageable 140m dollar outlay (including tax rebates), and didn't go mad on the marketing front (most estimates put it around a 250 million dollar total).

A flop is always just when a movie doesn't make its money back in theatres (production + marketing). And this has already earned 163 million globally since Thursday (and will earn another nice chunk today since it's a US national holiday), so in relative terms it's doing grand. Similar earnings to Solo, but on half the budget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,336 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I gave up on the Star Wars franchise a long time ago, when I realised that I wasn't the target market, and I'm ok with that.

I can understand Disney appealing to youngsters and teens, rather than middle aged men who remember the original trilogy. They have to capture a new audience for the future.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,671 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Same, with the exception of Andor.

Other than that, we're in the realm of matte painting effects. 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 elibron

Though I'm not a big fan of this genre, I really liked Mandalorian.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,885 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Gonna be really honest, this comment makes me really sad.

The reason some of the "CGI" looked Harryhausen was because it actually was stop motion. I thought the film was pretty mediocre overall, but it's one shining point for me was it was delivering on Star War's initial promise of channeling the history of cinema - the original films referencing war movies and sci fi serials.

Phil Tippet - who did much of the stop motion in the original trilogy - and interestingly for those who've seen the movie, Robocop 2 - was brought back for them. A good bit of Grogu himself is also completely practical (and some of the smaller droids are actually used in Disney's Galactic Edge- entirely practical remote controlled little robots).

To me the one thing this movie should be celebrated for is it did try to do a lot of things to honour the history of the medium and give the world a more grounded feel than floaty CGI often does.

Actually, to be fair, the music was pretty good, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,710 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Ah well sorry about that...but at least that explains it :)

I like practical effects, the t-rex in Jurassic park still looks superb. It just felt a bit jarring in that section. I am not a fan of poor weightless CGI either to be clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭pah

Phil should never have worked in Hollywood again after that supervision fiasco in 93

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭Xofpod

Went to see this last night and it was - grand. Unfortunately the reviews are pretty spot-on - it is essentially 2/3 episodes stuck together, and not top-notch episodes at that…

It starts well and I had very high hopes after the first sequence (no spoilers - the AT-ATs feature clearly in the trailers) but (for me) the scale and the scope shrink down after that , and it doesn't really go anyplace that it couldn't have done in the show. So, that's probably my main criticism - it all feels a bit unnecessary.

And also, without channelling my inner Harrison Ford too much, for all their money, why can't Lucasfilm/Disney hire someone to punch up their dialogue? This was so clunky, much worse than the series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,156 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

why can't Lucasfilm/Disney hire someone to punch up their dialogue? This was so clunky, much worse than the series

"Good luck - you're gonna need it" is the biggest red flag for me in the trailers….