Tottenham Hotspur Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 25/26

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,906 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

We're championship level, at best, right now. Absolutely woeful. A must win game and we've had one shot on target. Players walking around as if we've a two goal lead, passes missing their target from 5 yards. Woeful stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,509 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

keep the heads keep the heads.

West ham back in the lead 🤬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,025 ✭✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

Pfft. Well we did our bit. Hopefully thats the monkey off our back and we hope westham slip up.

Post edited by 2nd Row Donkey on

Good to get the win, gets that off our back, but a very unconvincing performance. Need far more to have any chance against Villa or Chelsea.

Still out of our hands. Fair play to West Ham and Forest, they're doing what needs to be done.

Yeah finally a win in 2026.
    Still in the shite so we go to next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,972 ✭✭✭abff

Big sigh of relief. Pity about West Ham’s late winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭joeguevara

kinksy saved our season there. We will take the 3 points. Pity about West Ham late winner but that must do our confidence the world of good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,972 ✭✭✭abff

Hopefully the players who had to come off today will not become part of our ever growing list of injured players.

Richarlison was poor when he came on. Not that Solanke did much before the injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Only hopeful that the win today gives us a boost but we really needed West ham to drop those two points. That Brighton match really was a blow as I don't see us bettering West Hams's results going by the way the two of us are playing .At least we are still in the race just about .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,001 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

We won but played awful, it was really dour stuff, but the hope is real. If we can take a point from the Villa game I'd be happy. West Ham are looking really strong though, hard to see where we are getting the two points back from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,769 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

All it takes is for Spurs to win a match and West Ham to draw one, that's the difference Spurs have the better GD which is worth a point. Not impossible to see that happening and considering how poor Spurs have been for the last 4 months or so, ye are lucky to be in that situation at all. West Ham do look to have more fight and spirit in their team, Spurs look like a team hoping for things to go their way, rather than actually trying to do it for themselves.

Just listening to the LWOS podcast and they bring up a good point.
    That tackle by Andre- imagine if that was Romero doing that tackle on a wolves player- that’d be a straight red for sure.
    Then add that to the clear peno Everton should’ve got yesterday, then add that to the Brian brobby incident where the FA have said he should’ve been sent off then throw in the fact we haven’t been awarded a penalty this season.
    Crazy bad luck when you also add in the injuries.

These are things that go against you and are par for the course in a relegation battle. A close mate of mine is an Everton fan and I followed them closely the last 4 or 5 years and seen the same thing week-in week-out go against them when they where in the bottom 5.

It probably happens all the time, but, feels more crucial due to relegation hanging over your heads. Everton should have had a penalty, but, will probably have forgotten about it by next week, but, if they were in relegation battle, they'd be raging about it now. Decisions go against all teams, but, if you're safe from relegation or not in a title race, they tend to be forgotten about, Liverpool for example had stonewall penalties denied against both Arsenal and City in the same season they had a good goal denied for offside against Spurs and a few dodgy reds in the same game, those decisions went a long way to costing them a title.

Xavi with a torn ACL. Out till 2027 in all likely hood. That's 4 ACL's this season alone...crazy stuff.

Absolutely insane.
    Cant all be coincidence.

Any update on Solanke?

And the medical team let him back onto the pitch to 'run it off' at one stage.

At this stage I just expect us to get a serious injury about every 2 weeks or so. I dont even raise an eyebrow to it anymore. Its not going to change anytime soon.

On the relegation front...

... now that things have settled down from the high of actually winning a league game in this calendar year I cant help but feel even worse about our prospects then I did previously.

Getting a win was hughly important but unless westham drop points its all too little too late. Those 2 points thrown away against Brighton will haunt us forever.

Forest might stumble slightly against Chelsea if they get a (no) manager bounce but then they have home games against Newcastle (dreadful on the road and nothing to play for) and Bournemouth at home on the last day which will be a dead rubber so they are home and hosed at this stage.

Westham could easily pick up points at Brentford and Chelsea and playing an already safe Leeds on the last day in the London stadium is about as good as fixture as they could wish for. If they get 5 or 6 points from the the next available 9, we are done for.

Spurs need to save themselves, not look for favours from anyone else as you're likely to be disappointed. Unfortunately they don't look capable or want to fight to survive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Yeah between the Brighton equaliser and West Ham late winner I think our fate is sealed ,almost impossible to us winning three out of four games which might be required, West Ham are playing well enough to get the few points needed .

As a coping mechanism, I'm doing my best to just be curious about how things will look in the Championship next year. You'd imagine a fair few of the bigger names will leave, so we should see a fair bit of movement out. And i'd assume we'll look to build around certain youngsters (assuming the stay) like Grey, Bergvall and Moore. Get Vuskovic in, have him become the backbone of the defence.

Of course i hope none of the above is required, but i just don't see how we stay up at this stage.

Grey and Moore yeah but Bergvall? Cant see him sticking around.

To be sold:

Vicario

Romero

Micky VDV

Perro

Kudus

Tel

Xavi (when fit again)

Solanke

Bergvall

Leaving - loans/contract expired

Paulinho

Muani

Bissouma

50/50

Sarr

Dragusin

Udogie

Kulu

Grey

Spence

Staying

Kinsky

Danso

Maddison

Richarlison

Odebert

Gil

Moore

Loaned until we get promoted (if)

Souza

Vuskovic

Bergvall maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Lad GAGA

I think we'll be building the team around Vuscovic, he seems like a real leader as well as being a brilliant defender. Genuinely wouldn't be too upset to see most of the current first team head out the door. Don't see us staying up, can't see where the goals are going to come from. With one or two exceptions our 'recruitments' over the last few years have been abysmal and Lange, and respective managers, have to share the blame for that. You reap what you sow and we will deserve to go down for so many shocking decisions/atrocious performances over the last couple of years.

Vuskovic will have a queue of clubs lining up for him this summer. I cant see him wanting to step down into the championship. Best case scenario he gets a season at a bigger club in German, Italy or Spain and then joins us in 27/28

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Lad GAGA

He's our player so it's our decision whether he goes back out on loan again or not. He's clearly ready for first team football, regardless of what league we're in next year, so we'd be mad to lend him out again. He is the type of player we build a team around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Villa losing tonight is a good thing for Spurs. Villa's priority is next Thursday night not Sunday v Spurs. West Ham are away to a Brentford side Saturday who are two points of Europa league spot followed by Arsenal. One or zero points from these two games for West Ham is in my opinion probable. This battle is far from decided. We are not doomed yet.