Donald Trump the Megathread part II - Mod Warning updated in OP 12/2/26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Stanley 1

Trump wants to railroad the ballroom through any planning objections and get it done quickly.

He is constantly now saying the military want this, that and the other will lead him to stick the Federal Govt with the $400m construction bill and meanwhile he will grift the $400m private donors have been lined up for, somehow trouser it for himself and the mafia family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,082 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Also the reality is, the president will continue to do events at venues across the globe. It's more their procedures are possibly not stringent enough. This could also be because all facets of the US government have effectively been gutted since he entered office, I wouldn't rule out the secret service being affected by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,294 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

It's just pure narcissism. If you look at that famous photo of him and the family in their gauche apartment, you can see what he thinks is classy. He's just going for that.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,812 ✭✭✭✭Penn

In his first term, he used to refer to Mar-A-Lago as "The Winter White House" due to all the time he spent "working" there (working on his golf game and holding events for himself and his donors).

Basically, Trump wants a huge ballroom to turn the White House into "The Summer Mar-A-Lago". He wants to hold much larger events there, in his own honour. Donors and others would pay a lot more to attend such events than Mar-A-Lago or another ballroom or hotel in D.C, and he could host more than the existing function room in the WH.

It's mostly his ego and narcissism that's driving his want for the ballroom, but also it'd be a money-maker for himself once up and running, even if he only got a year out of it.

With any luck, it'll be delayed by SCOTUS enough that it won't be completed until the term of the next President and they'll put their own name on it or give it some other title which ensures it's never thought of as the ballroom Trump had built.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,302 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

He has to pay out almost $100M to E Jean Carroll for rape:

A New York federal jury found Donald Trump liable for sexual abuse and defamation against writer E. Jean Carroll in May 2023, awarding her $5 million in damages. While the jury did not find him liable for rape under New York's narrow legal definition at the time, the presiding judge later clarified that the act of sexual abuse—which the jury found occurred—met the common definition of rape. In 2024, a second jury ordered Trump to pay an additional $83.3 million in a defamation lawsuit related to his comments about her allegations.

Here trump calls a female reporter a horrible person as he doesn't like the question…

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/0sdNobSpZJI

full interview here:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭threeball

I think you're missing the bigger picture. This eroding of the wealth and confidence of the middle class was going on long before Trump, he just turbo charged it. It no longer works in the shadows, its displayed proudly front and centre.

It might slink back into the shadows if the next admin decides its not such a great idea but the same faces will still run the shows and the money will continue to siphon upwards at an unsustainable rate.

The cult will die but the puppet masters will remain. Until thats dealt with head on we'll continue down the same road.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

NO , he wasn't.

Read back in the thread where this was explained to you repeatedly , over and over and over again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,703 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

Soooo ... is Operation Epstein Fury over now? We can all get back to freely paddling our canoes in and out of the Straits of Hormuz like it was Jan 2026?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,337 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

If that isn't AI.

So much for the radical leftist loon angle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,913 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Well, in fairness, I have a US Polo Association cap. But I've never played the game in my life.

😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,623 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭arctictree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭Firstsub

It is a long time away but the selection of a republican candidate for the 2028 election is going to be fun. At the moment, Vance has a clear lead, polling at ~ 40% with Rubio at 20%. Some polls show Eric Trump at 20% also.

I think Vance and Trump jnr. have high dislikability but could attract MAGA voters. I don't think Trump jnr is a serious candidate. Ultimately, the winner will be whoever Trump gives approval to.

If Vance becomes president, it will be the nail in the coffin of US - EU relations and possibly the end of NATO. He is extremely arrogant and is not clever enough to realize he is stupid, a bit like Prince Andrew in that respect. People have respect for the position, they have mistaken this as respect for the person

I think the IDF logo part is the salient descriptor rather than whether it was a jumper or a hoodie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,631 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

https://eu.usatoday.com/story/news/politics/2024/01/29/donald-trump-rape-e-jean-carroll/72295009007/

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/live/world-us-canada-65502076

https://www.motherjones.com/politics/2024/01/a-federal-judge-has-gone-to-great-lengths-to-make-clear-trump-really-did-rape-e-jean-carroll/

Elizabeth Williams/AP

Get your news from a source that’s not owned and controlled by oligarchs. Sign up for the free Mother Jones Daily.

District Judge Lewis Kaplan has said it multiple times: Donald Trump raped E. Jean Carroll in 1996. Kaplan wrote it in May 2023, when he presided over one of the trials against Trump. And he reminded jurors of the rape this week, during the latest proceedings in the multi-layered, winding rape and defamation cases brought against Trump by Carroll.  

Last spring, author and journalist Carroll sued Trump, testifying that he had raped her decades ago and had defamed her since by denying the accusations. Carroll won that suit. The jury found Trump liable for sexual assault and said he must pay $5 million—but they came short of saying he had raped her due to the legal scope of New York State’s penal code.  

In New York, someone can only be convicted of rape if they can prove vaginal penetration by a penis. In Carroll’s testimony, which mirrored what she had described privately for decades and publicly for the first time in 2019, she said Trump used both his fingers and his penis in the assault. But during the trial, the jury had only concluded that Trump had “deliberately and forcibly penetrated Ms. Carroll’s vagina with his fingers, causing immediate pain and long lasting emotional and psychological harm,” Kaplan’s decision from last year reads.   

That the jurors did not find that Carroll had proven rape, Kaplan explained, “does not mean that she failed to prove that Mr. Trump ‘raped’ her as many people commonly understand the word ‘rape.’” “Indeed,” he continued, “as the evidence at trial recounted below makes clear, the jury found that Mr. Trump in fact did exactly that.” 

Federally, rape is defined as “penetration, no matter how slight, of the vagina or anus with any body part or object, or oral penetration by a sex organ of another person, without the consent of the victim.” This broader explanation, while still dependent on penetration, would include assaults using fingers.  

Even though Carroll’s case has taken place in the national spotlight, it exists within the confines of civil law. The reason Donald Trump was not found to have raped E. Jean Carroll has less to do with the events detailed in her story, and more to do with the fine print of the state’s legal code. The minutiae of New York’s law allows the former president, his supporters, and sexual violence cynics alike to tout the case as proof that Trump is not a rapist (notwithstanding the tens of other accusations of sexual misconduct against him). Following Carroll’s initial testimony, Republican senators did just that. “The whole case is a joke,” Sen. Marco Rubio (R-Fla.) said. “It makes me want to vote for him twice,” Sen. Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.) told HuffPost

Had this case happened outside of New York, however, the verdict could have been different.  

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,631 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Embezzlement and self aggrandising. He's desperate to make money from the kickbacks. There was a piece I read talking about repairs to a pair of fountains. Quoted for ~$3 million for the Biden Admin. Trump awarded a no-bid contract for ~$11 million to some cowboys recently.

Bertie would've made hay as Taoiseach with Trump in office. A born FF man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭Jelle1880

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,075 ✭✭✭✭briany

If Trump is still living, he will still want to be POTUS. One hundred percent. If you think one of the world's most malignant narcissists will walk away from the most powerful political office in the world (well, arguably), you're dreaming. How did it go the last time he was asked to do that?

Firstly, he will try to concoct some contrived plan to stay in office outright, be that through some fringe reading of the American Constitution or just by declaring an 'emergency'. And if you think that is beyond the pale, just remember how much anti-democratic language Trump has already effectively normalised, plus the fact the he controls the US DOJ and the US military, plus loyalists installed in many other powerful positions.

If he cannot get that, he will move to plan B, which will be essentially making it known that he will control whoever is on the Republican ticket. In fact, he will threaten to remove his endorsement if there is resistance to this idea. And since the Republican party is effectively the cult of MAGA, any Republican ticket without his endorsement or even facing his opposition is dead in the water. The party is so wrapped up and in bed with Trump that they cannot extricate themselves. And if this ticket is elected, he will have them create a special advisor position just for him called something horribly dystopian like 'Real President', 'President Emeritus', 'Leader' or simply 'Daddy'. He will have his desk in the Oval Office, most likely. Whether he lets the 'President' stay in that office with him, I don't know.

But I would be surprised if this ticket included Vance. Trump recognises him as a climber and a schemer, and I think pundits have already mentioned reports of Trump chewing him out behind the scenes for some perceived faux pas or slights against him, particularly over the Iran stuff where he sees Vance as trying to distance himself from the decision to attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,982 ✭✭✭yagan

He's a convicted sex offender.

If a sibling told me that they voted for a known sex offender I'd say that would be a permanent parting of ways.

For me the US has sunk between its potential for renewal when a democratic voting majority knowingly vote for sex offenders.

The abstainers are equally damned for allowing it happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

IMG_9510.jpeg

there are very strong and very powerful rumors online that Donald was wearing a very large adult diaper during his 60 minutes interview. He can no longer control his emotions or his bowels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,294 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,026 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

It's in a more secure location. Don't worry Trump won't get to use it much if at all by the time it's built. Hopefully a democract wins the next election and gets the first full term with it.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,945 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

This can't be true!

I am assured that he actually looks like this!*

1000040613.png

*Actual eBay listing

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,082 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

And they already have secure locations in the white house. The East Room is already used for such purposes. Realistically though, the president will continue to attend events outside of the White House. So the ball room continues to be a vanity project and is likely to be rarely used.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

They wouldn't need the whole first term to tear it down..

Even if you accept the idea that the WH needs a larger/more secure Function room , it doesn't need that abomination that would utterly dominate the area and be 3 or 4 times larger than the actual Whitehouse.

The 1st act of any post Trump administration should be the eradicate every trace of the guy from the place.Figuratively and literally.

Peel off all the tacky "gold" muck he has plastered all over the building and if he does manage to complete any of his "monuments" around Washington , they should all be knocked down and either completely removed (like the moronic "arch" he wants) or replaced with something normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Addmagnet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,675 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

There could be more to it than that. Some suspect it's also going to be a massive military underground complex and a presidential data centre. This is based on the permits and contacts with utilities and that the ballroom is mostly a cover story. The theory is that data within the whitehouse is subject to some form of presidential privilege.

It then of course also appeals to trump's vanity

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

He wasn't though. He was found liable for sexual assault. She would be opening herself up to a world of pain if she said that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,026 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Nah I can't see any democrat being that petty. The wealthy democrat donars will enjoy having such a fantastic facility on the grounds.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!