What’s your most controversial opinion? **Read OP** **Mod Warning in Post #8023**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭JM2300

This thread is about opinions. I would say somewhere between 60% to 90% of wives don't find their husband sexually attractive. The evidence is that only a minority of men are attracrive to women, that's reflected in an okcupid study where women rated 80% of men as below average.

Quite the contrary, I love women. I suspect you're projecting. It's nobodies fault that women don't find most men attractive. It's not women's choice, it's just nature at work.

Humanity could have gone extinct if women found average men attractive. So be thankful that average men are unnattractive, otherwise humanity could have died out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,513 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

Definitely not projecting, pretty sure my soon to be future wife finds me attractive.

I’m not the one on the internet projecting their opinions onto “most women”.
    An opinion poll on an older dating site is not reflective of society.

I'm giving an opinion, one which I think is controversial. It must be controversial because you've decided to become defensive and attack me personally. Don't respond to me unless you are willing to engage in constructive discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,583 ✭✭✭SineadSpears

Most people are pretty average looking - so average women are in fact dating equally average men. The difference is women have way more ways to level up their appearance with makeup, hair extensions, skincare, etc. That means they can come across as more attractive than men.

You see it with celebrities too. People who look amazing on camera often look pretty normal in everyday life or in younger photos. A lot of that “perfect” look comes from styling and prep, not just natural features.

Men usually just show up as they are, because things like makeup or extensions aren’t really as accepted for them (although they have caught on to the false tan image, and imo, they look ridiculous).

So it can look like there’s a mismatch, like really attractive women with average guys, when in reality they’re probably closer in looks than it seems.

So yeah, it’s less about some weird imbalance and more about one side having more socially accepted ways to enhance how they look

....…

2026: 'This is where something better begins' (←well that plan ain't working out too well)

I'm talking about attraction, not looks. The desire and arousal you feel towards someone. What I'm saying is most men are not desirable in that way to the majority of women. As a result due to arithmetic most women need to settle for a man they don't desire if they want to get married and start a family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

That might make sense if you consider attraction only in terms of looks. But in reality, attraction is waaay broader than looks. Attraction is about all kinds of things like humour, outlook, values, morals, and behaviours. I'd say most people can't really describe why they're attracted to someone, they just think they're cool. And if you think they're cool and they think you're oure cool, then you're attracted to each other.

Viewing attraction purely through looks is popular on social media at the moment. Yer man Clavicular is all over social media talking about 'looks maxing' which is just about maximising you're physical attractiveness. But the lad has no chat and of course he's single.

These lads categorise things like height and facial symmetry, but they don't get the social interactions that actually make people attractive. These guys seem to have no understanding of the social context that is the main part in making someone attractive or maintaining a relationship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,951 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Sometimes I think boards.ie should be renamed incel.ie 😎

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,422 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

What on earth are you on about? This is like when my Dad says that the goal of veganism and vegetarianism is to exterminate all animals.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,951 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Humanity could have gone extinct if women found average men attractive.

wtf?!?!

He's not far wrong, the ultimate aim of PETA is to eliminate all carnivores

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭orourkeda1

I want to punch the beatles.

https://www.orourkeda.blog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 428 ✭✭Mother Shaboobu

Yes, nationalisation isn't always such a terrifying thing. Ditto gas, telecoms and health insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,583 ✭✭✭SineadSpears

I’m not sure what kinds of relationships you’re basing that on, but any marriages or long-term relationships that I know, I don’t really see that pattern. Most couples I know seem genuinely interested ('attracted') in each other. Even if they joke or complain sometimes about their other half - that kind of bickering feels pretty normal and harmless.

Saying that most women are settling for partners they’re not attracted to just doesn’t quite line up with what I’ve seen.

I also don’t really know how you’d be able to tell that a woman feels like she’s settled for someone she isn’t interested in unless she actually said the words herself. Those kinds of feelings seem pretty hard to assume from the outside. Unless it's obvious that she can't stand being in his company. But that would be rare, it's certainly not most women.

Do you have many women friends?

....…

2026: 'This is where something better begins' (←well that plan ain't working out too well)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 428 ✭✭Mother Shaboobu

60 to 90? Highly unlikely to be such numbers when women have a choice as to whom we marry. And it is something where opinion doesn't come into it, because opinion can't contradict fact. Opinions are subjective points of view. Speculation, sure, but you'd need more than an OK Cupid survey to come to such a conclusion. You'd need to know for certain whether women who are already married have never been attracted to their husbands. I mean, can attraction decline in marriages (on the part of both husbands and wives)? For sure, but you're suggesting that most women date, enter into longterm relationships with, move in with, and then marry, men to whom they've never been attracted one bit. And that seems highly dubious.

What fact is my opinion contradicting?

Women can't pick and choose whoever they want to marry. The man they find sexually attractive usually will only have sex with them and not want to marry them. It's nobodies fault. It just comes down to arithmetic, only a small proportion of men are sexually attractive to women, so most women will have to settle for men they aren't attracted to if they want to get married.

A woman can be interested in a man and love him in a non sexual way. They can be best friends and get on great. That doesn't mean she finds him sexually attractive where she desires him and is aroused by him. This is nobodies fault, it jist comes down to arithmetic, when less than 10% of men are attractive to women there just aren't enough to go around.

You're basing this on the idea that moat women find 20% of men physically attractive based on their photos on a dating app. That's basing it on physically attraction alone. You're ignoring all the normal ways that people find each other attractive in real life based on their behaviour, humour, values etc.

In other words, you're completely missing the point of attraction. Fair play if that's your experience. But it doesn't reflect most people's experience in real life.

There used to be a fair bit of cringey pua guff on this site and they were obsessed with the Pareto distribution for some reason. It's an observation, not a theory or a law.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

I had to Google Pareto distribution. In attraction it might make sense for looks alone on a dating app. But you can't know someone's looks alone in real life. You have to get to know the whole person and that's all the rest of attraction.

You have probably experienced the opposite effect where someone is good looking but their personality and behaviour makes them unattractive.

Apologies. I thought it was well known.

Jordan Peterson mentions it in his book. He uses the example of 4 classical musicians accounting for 80% of all classical music played on radio (I doubt there was a source). Mind you, he also spent pages going through the four stages of lobster on lobster combat. The point? Women like confident men.

I've experienced both. Yeah, there are definitely physically attracting people who are just a bit horrible. What's quite interesting is when someone I find unattractive becomes attractive when I've gotten to know her a bit better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

This honestly just reads like some form of projection tbh. Okcupid surveys also aren't exactly a great gauge either. A guy could be ridiculously attractive in his online photos and in person, due to personality etc that can drastically diminish. Meanwhile a less physically attractive guy might be incredibly attractive in person due to traits that will outlive youth.

I'm not basing my opinion on okcupid, ai held the opinion long before I was aware of that study. Most men are not able to find women to have sex with on a regular basis unless they offer something in return, ie commitment. A small proportion can regularly find women to have sex with because they're attractive to women.

That's my opinion. What percentage of men do you think can fairly easily find women to have sex with, just sex?

Yes, of course. Someone becoming more attractive when you get to know them is everything about attraction kicking in -all the things that you don't get from a profile picture on a dating app. That's the entire basis of a relationship rather than just initial attraction of a profile picture.

It's easy to identify a good looking person. It much harder to articulate why you find someone actually attractive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,513 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

You clearly have never been on Tinder, hook ups are pretty easy to come by for both sexes.

But it's wrong. Very obviously wrong. The human race would have perished at the outset if this was true.