Mayo GAA Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭eastmayo

Think there is another appeal tonight for Cregg's red card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,547 ✭✭✭naughto

I see the Rossies thread is back in action again good for them I hope we have some help in closing it again after Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

I wonder why the St Brigids lads are not toggin out tomorrow - Stack, Fallon and O'Carroll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

From TV looks like there are feck all in the stand and the McHale Rd side is full.

What a surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,513 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

All the empty seats in the stand in McHale Park 🥹

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭Panrich

Mayo very open and soft at the back. Hennellys kickouts have been an issue too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,635 ✭✭✭✭km79

We have a serious issue at full back . But we all knew that ………

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,513 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

I didn't know about the stand ticket price increase for children. Obviously has backfired dramatically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭Barlett

We are being absolutely demolished

We don't look up to the required mark physically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Vish81

Very lethargic and casual too,

Serious questions need to be asked over the total collapse in the 1st five minutes of the 2nd half.

3 ahead to 3 behind inside 5 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Westernview

Beaten all over the field. The writing was on the wall when we had to bring back Hennelly and Cillian. It amazes me how we need to have a half hour training session before thrown in while Roscommon did about 15 minutes.

Huge task ahead for the new CEO to implement a proper coaching system and bring through players of the required standard. We are looking at a 10 year plan.

Post edited by Westernview on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Jesus, that was brutal. Wiped out on breaks, hard to know where we go after a hammering like that

Beaten out the gate. What did we concede from our own kickouts? Not all Hennellys fault because we won no breaking ball all day.

The Mayo team of the last decade were always physically ready for any other team. We now look miles off those levels and the Rossies showed us up today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,248 ✭✭✭PressRun

And once again absolutely cleaned at midfield. This is a dance we will continue to do until we start producing proper out and out midfielders which we haven't done in years. Nothing coming through at underage either because we're getting cleaned out there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,628 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Seems a long time ago that people were raving about Bob Touhy... Against a terrible Monaghan team iirc. He's nowhere near the physicality needed yet (and may never be). Wouldn't pin it down on one lad alone, there's absolutely nothing there in midfield.

It was ourselves doing the early run home today. The Rossies took great pleasure in that. I wasn't too optimistic going into it and when I seen the Rossies absolutely flaking each other in their warm up, the real nerves kicked in. For years we were able to compete at the top mainly due to our S&C'ing. That completely fell off the charts when McStay came in and we were bullied today.

Back to the drawing board would be underselling what's needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

can’t say I’ve seen a mayo team as flat as we were today
    What was more worrying was we just gave up . Ive never seen a mayo team throw in the towel as easy, some of the points in the second have just weren’t contested .
    well done Roscommon. Should be an interesting decider for Connaught .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭Jonnyc135

why was Ryan’s not starting mid field. Shite performance by Mayo, qualifiers will be tough with Donegal Tyrone Meath etc in it

Everyone could see that coming surely . We have no keeper , full back , centre back or midfield . I don’t know what Andy was looking at in the league. It was fairly obvious there were massive issues in those areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,156 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

So the first round of the 'All-Ireland series' is at the end of May? An open draw, we could get any of the provincial finalists bar Roscommon? And I presume we're away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Westernview

The concern some of us had about Andy taking over when some of his former team mates were still playing has been borne out. When you have an aging leadership group it stifles the development of new leaders emerging. When they go new players step up. I couldn't believe my ears when Andy said in an interview that Aidan had 3 more years left in him.

Would David Bradys powerful nephew Dylan Thronton not be worth a place on the bench today? He was certainly impressive in last years club championship.

I had hoped for an outside manager this time who would start with a clean slate and not have favourites. Andy will have enough goodwill for another while but unless there are hard decisions made his tenure will not be a success.

We won't be playing any of them until the 2nd round at the earliest - it's the provincial finalists we'll be playing (away)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,547 ✭✭✭naughto

He gave up at least 1-02 today if not more,to give away the goal the way it panned out with it just panning off the post an wide to kicking it straight to the same man again a few seconds later an he buried it.

we where 4 point to no score be for that fuc1k up an where flying huge turn on the game after that goal.

He has to be changed but I don't see it happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭Mayo and Louth

No concessions for OAPs or children for the stand apparently. €35 in. Never underestimate the ability of GAA bureaucracy to do a PR disaster. Imagine the backlash if it had been a wet and windy day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

And do you think we have a full forward!!. This is not obvious to Moran or some users on here. Moran will sleep walk into games and get opened because he is not able to make the hard calls that need to be made.
    The vibe is all wrong, back clapping before a ball is thrown in, bringing on players who are done. He should have also taken off Kobe at 60 minute considering the game coming up and we were gone.

The game was lost at midfield - we got absolutely detroyed by Roscommon on breaks for the entire 2nd half. They caught a couple of clean balls but mostly it was the dirty ball that they won it on. That's not just on the midfielders or the keeper, that's everyone from 5-12 who are responsbile. It's a much bigger problem for Andy to solve than just a couple of personnel tweaks between now and 23/24 or 30/31st May

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

Absolutely correct. Roscommon were far more determined to jump on to the loose ball than the Mayo lads.

Fair play to Roscommon. I wasn't expecting that. Some demolition job in the second half. An outside bet to get to the final? They have Cregg to come back, and some of the Brigids lads.