Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Jack had a knee op in January after club championship, had no minutes in the league, he's been off the pace both days so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Actually wouldn't rule us out against Dublin, if we play like we did yesterday I obviously would but we have shown over the years the capability of producing a performance out of nowhere. Big rivalry developed with Dublin the last few years so hopefully that ignites a spark in us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,234 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Not that surprising, Jacko has played over 100 times for Wexford and I could probably count on one hand the amount of times he has actually been a difference maker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭jamesbond2022

A step in the right direction last night still plenty of issues but the changes made a difference we had much more energy and fight it was also great to see such a big crowd and the team get clapped onto the field rather than the usual silence

Bar Mullen missing I think that’s probably our strongest 15

We still need to move the ball quicker through the hands and our stick passing needs to be sharper

Cody was bottled up again as others said tries to do it on his own if he was less selfish with the ball and passed it off more he d get it back from others and be able to play himself into the game

Wexford are Wexford although missing a few there still a one man band and so reliant on chin it was no harm to give them a trimming to get rid of this idea that they always rise it against Kilkenny

Wouldn’t be looking passed Offaly another good win and we can build more confidence and go from there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Charlie69

I’m not sure if “everyone “ is saying Murphy needs to stay in goal but I understand the point you’re making. I don’t think being behind one of the best goalies of all time is any reason to lose confidence though. Tallis looks like the future and there’s no doubt he’ll have his day. But right now with the team short on confidence I think Scruffs experience is something we can’t afford to leave out.

It’s not just his massive experience but how he uses it to help others as well as himself. He knows how to play fullback and centre back for his club and he uses that experience organising things in defence. For a fullback and centre back that are still learning their trade that guidance is massive. You could hear him above the crowd yesterday talking to the backs… several shouts of “if you need me”…constantly giving lads an out ball and taking pressure off them. Someone said earlier the backs hurled with more freedom and there’s no doubt scruff was a factor in that.

He has been working with Mikey Carey too on when to go and when to hold his position, when to attack the ball and when to just use his body and physicality to let the ball through to scruff when he gets the shout from his goalie .There was a bit of evidence of that communication coming off last night and there’s no doubt it’s a huge help to Mikey.

Someone earlier criticised Carey for not coming out and engaging the Wexford player that was bearing down on goal through the middle of our defence and maybe that poster is right but maybe Carey keeping his frame between an in between minds Wexford player and the goals was the reason he tapped it over the bar. Sometimes the worst thing you can do is make the players mind up for him by over committing. I think it also depends on who’s on the ball and if it was an assassin like John McGrath or Gillane you’d have to bury yourself in them because they won’t hesitate.
    Murphy also showed his game intelligence on a few occasions when he sent Mikey Butler and Blanchfield down the line ahead of him… drew the Wexford player and released the perfect pass into space that should have led to a few scores.

I’ve been a big critic of his puckouts and his long delivery with no real thinking behind it and maybe Tallis has the advantage there although personally I haven’t seen huge evidence of that yet… or at least not enough to say it’s a decisive advantage. Tallis is young and his time will come but at the moment I think scruff just brings more to the team and what better man for young Tallis watch and learn from.

Post edited by Charlie69 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

Looking back it was very important win and will give confidence to a lot of players and thats as far as I would predict with that win. Wexford unfortunately are poor at present and I was hoping for a far better game out of them but thats not KK fault.

Great to see the starting forwards all scoring bar cody but he worked his socks off and another day he will boss the scoreboard. If we can get Shine and Mullen fit we will have serious competition for places in the forward line

Doyle and Molloy did fine in midfield and the more game time they get together the better.

The backs where we have been worried all year with Lawlor missing. Carey had an excellent day and Chin is a seasoned performer. Delighted to see Blanchfield showing some form as we really need him back to his best. Bolger will have learned a lot hopefully and was weak for their goal but we need to persist with him and Doyle.

I think with the forwards we have we can do serious damage to any team but we need to play to their strengths and thats getting good quality ball in. Im still not convinced about us playing out from the back and better teams will expose us as I feel it's still not comfortable for us.

Management have done well this week and deserve credit too. Made the right changes but going forward they need to adapt too both tactically and team selection. The opposition will get more difficult.

Last word to the man himself. Not his best night from placed ball but as always worked his socks off and what he has lost in his legs he has gained in his brain. Congratulations TJ on becoming record scorer. You fully deserve it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 hurleronthefence

Good win. Mossys fielding was incredible, 2 great goals and some great points. When Mullen and shine are back and if John Donnelly can find his form, the break this weekend might do him good, we’ll have great options in the forward line. Backs looked better too although weaker opposition, Corcoran much better sitting back rather than reverting back to Richie Reid, far greater physical presence and a big man to avoid when you look down the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 covcat

Agree with your points.While not wanting to get carried away as quality of Wexford has to be taken into consideration hopefully the win last night restores confidence and see where it takes us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 kilkenny123456

The very best of luck to the Minor camogie team today in the park. Hopefully they’ll bring keep it home in kilkenny for the 2nd year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 kilkenny123456

Brilliant win for the minor camogie team. Completely tore galway apart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Butterbeans

Have to agree with this, Cody worked very hard off the ball. But when you're a forward of note, most will only judge off what you score. Of course I'd love to see him scoring more, but I thought he had a decent game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Village87

2 incredible matches in Munster. Stephen Bennett amazing again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭hogans heroes

Outstanding performance from the minor camogie team today.brillant from 1 to 15 and beyond.outstanding work being done at underage.future is bright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Marrooned

Harry shine came on for the Boro today against O’Loughlins in the O Byrne cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Charlie69

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Village87

Great to hear of panel players released to the clubs, good on management. Makes perfect sense carrying 40 lads who must be mad for game time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭nippy corner foward

Himself and eoghan lyng will hope to make the 26 soon. For harry to get back on the field so quick is a great testament to the chap. Definitely has potential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭conor05

The championship is wide open after this weekend.

Cian Lynch & Gillane both missing for the Clare game next weekend, Clare have a huge chance.

Kilkenny, Galway & even Dublin won’t fear any of the Munster teams if they get to the knockout stages.

Like last year there is an All Ireland there for the taking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Firstsub

Offaly is up next. They put up a far better show against Galway than we did

very positive weekend for KK, senior, minor, Celtic challenge, U16, and minor camogie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Any lads not getting game time should be allowed play for their clubs, even if its football. What harm will it do, more chance getting injured training with the county

ye Conor, I think it’s wide open, not to say we’ll win it or anything but if things go right you would never know. Limerick missing Cian Lynch and Gillane Cork could be missing Downey and Joyce simple things **** up your rhythm and everything could go right for us. Swings and roundabouts.

I see we have Wexford in Nowlan park next Saturday, I heard they are not too bad, anyone any information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭neverbet

I was delighted with the Kilkenny response Saturday evening. However the standard of the games in Munster yesterday was well above anything in Leinster over the weekend. For us, I would be looking no further than Tullamore in two weeks time. The KK players know all about the " pat on the back and the kick in the arse" nature of playing the games in the round robin format. The momentum gained from Saturday evening will be greatly increased if we manage an away win against Offaly. A similarly vocal black and amber following would help the cause no end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Firstsub

Offaly are in contention for one of the qualifying places. They drew with Dublin and played better against Galway than KK. They have home matches against WX and KK. They definitely look better than Wexford. They only lost to KK by 4 points in the league. Definitely not to be taken for granted.

I think a very poor Wexford made Kilkenny look good. Still it was good to see players like Mossy, Cian Kenny and Blanch play with confidence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Watched some of their game against a poor laois. Lot of good hurlers on it. Big physical full and centre back. Centreback looks a really commanding player.

Joey tobin and Robbie kehoe from new ross in the full forward line are top class players . Look a more physically stronger team than the little I know about kilkenny.

Kilkenny GAA had the minor match for Nowlan park on Saturday now it’s switched to Wexford park FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭The_Tank

I was watching the warm up in Salthill and Murph was nothing but incredibly and visibly encouraging and supportive - actively clapping and fist pumping when Tallis nailed puck outs. Whichever one of them makes it or doesn't make it I get the feeling it's being handled in the right way from what I saw - which is very positive. It's nothing more that I'd expect from Murph anyways, whenever I brought my young lad over to him to sign a hurl after a match he treated him like a king.