Boards Golf Society Rd-3 Concra Wood, 18th of April, 1st tee 11am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭weapon of grass destruction

Thanks @charlieIRL Im going to see what's its like Monday. Driving home from Tigers wasn't too bad. Its swelled quite a bit later on, it's really tough to walk on it now, can't touch the ground with it, my ankle is huge.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,077 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

First time to play Concra and it’s one I’ll definitely go back to when the weather picks up. Great choice of course Captain. A stunning beautiful setting.

Pity is was so wet but we still had a bit of crack during the round and enjoyed it. Had the please of being in the company of @Snackbox20 and @spuddy4711 for the day, two absolute gentlemen. We all had good shots, bad shots and there’s golfers in there somewhere!!!

Thankfully I was getting the ball off the tee well yesterday, something I’ve struggled with for a while. Was a shame to loose balls with the ground being so soft, also a lot of time was spent looking for balls on each hole meaning a long day on the course, I tracked it at 14.25kms as well which is 3k longer than my home course of Tullamore. Left a good few shots out there but was still happy with how I played. Am not used to hitting driver and 3 wood into a par 4 so to have 30 points with a few scratches and one pointers at the end of the day, happy with that.
    Looking forward to returning to Gowran Park, a course I’ve played a few times so thankful will know where I’m going!!!

IMG_5327.jpeg IMG_5325.jpeg IMG_5318.jpeg IMG_5317.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭Snackbox20

It was a long way from Tipperary for me. First outing back on the Boards tour and it was round 3 and the roads led all the way northwards to Concra Woods, Castleblayney, Co. Monaghan. I echo @charlieIRL said that it would definitely be a course that I would love to play again when the course dries out. It was a course where the scenery could not be unmatched, a lot of the holes and greens reminded of holes at Celtic Manor, Ballyneety, Carlow Deer park, Dungarvan, Dromoland, and Esker Hills, others could say others, but it was majestic. The clubhouse was top notch and really good food afterwards. On the course, I loved the holes around the lake, the Par 5 15 made me feel like Bryson Dechambeau about to clear the lake at Bay Hill, but with me having more meat than Good Friday, I made it over, and came off with a Par.

I had the pleasure of being grouped with @charlieIRL and @spuddy4711 . It was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable rounds of golf. We buried a number of golf balls, had many funny conversations, and played some great shots amongst us all. Thanks a million lads for a fantastic round of golf.

I was holding up a back injury throughout yesterday and thankfully got around the round in tact. I left a lot of points out there, but so so happy with the 27 points scored. Some jug points on the board.

Congratulations to @Alanm on your win with 34 points. Stellar work as always by @Seve OB updating the results.

Thank you also to captain @tigerwood1 and the committee for running yesterday's event, well well worth the long drive.

Great to see you all yesterday lads and looking forward to Gowran.

All the best,

Snackboc

IMG_20260418_175453.jpg IMG_20260418_140950.jpg

10th hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Dexters Bow Tie

It's a spectacular course, but a heads up for a few looking to come back when it dries out. I've played there in June and there was placing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Sorbet

Great day out on Saturday. Thanks again to captain @tigerwood1 for organising. I know the conditions were very wet but great organisation as always and what a beautiful course it was - has whet the appetite to come back at some point in the future when it’s dry. Great company playing with @bakerbhoy and @BohToffee for the first time and @a post punk for the second. Lovely group who kept the spirits up. @tigerwood1 had told us all how wet it was and so we all resolved to just enjoy the course as best we could and that wasn’t hard with the group we had. On the first hole I think we all had to search for balls - sometimes right in the middle of the fairway! I had a nice recovery 5 wood that to me looked like it was fairway in front of the green but was never found - we resolved to keep a better eye on where the balls landed going forward as they tended to drop and bury. Given the conditions it was a struggle for all at times but I was really impressed with how @bakerbhoy kept at it and managed to turn in a very respectable 29 points which I’m sure will have had him in and around top 5. His play around the greens and his putting are to die for. @BohToffee and I were in a battle on the front 9 - for most golf. He pulled away to have a decent back from what I could tell - serious driving power on some holes. @a post punk played a real mix, some lovely holes and some scratches - he and I really struggled with contact on some of the lies. My own golf was a real struggle. I don’t have the skill level to find the low point at the best of times and with the soft ground anything even slightly fat was in real trouble as the club got swallowed up. I putted well so can take that as a positive and chipping around the greens was ok. On the 3rd I had a slip down near the water and landed on the flat of my back and so must have looked a sight with mud from head to toe on my (thankfully) wet gear! Managed to putt from the fringe to save a 5 after being in the water though. Nearly got in the 2’s on the 6th - low iron onto the front of the green and just by the hole with the birdie putt. Real highlight of the day though was appreciating the course design and views. That stretch from the par 3 12th to the 15th by the water was beautiful and as I say hope to come back again to enjoy it on a dry day. I think only @weapon of grass destruction injury saved me from most golf in the end - a measly 20 points for me 🙈 but still really enjoyed the course, the craic with the lads and the lovely food after. Well done to @Alanm and all the winners - great effort sticking to the task in those conditions- did I hear gross in the seventies, some scoring. Look forward to seeing you all next time.

IMG_7741.jpeg IMG_7737.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

Great day out again.

The softness of the course was really quite bad though, especially given it’s near May. It’s been a very harsh period of time for golf in Ireland. Anything hit in the air on the day ultimately plugged into the ground. I had three cases of plugged balls on fairways not being found, and pretty much every other drive was plugged, but I was luckily able to find most of them.

The greens were poor, the fairways were soft, and just off the fairways was very soft. The steep gradients around the course and the soft conditions made it tricky underfoot. Poor Weapons afterwards looked in bad condition with his ankle, I know how he feels from a prior on course issue myself two years ago. On the day here I slipped myself on the way around and just about managed to keep it rubber-side-down [« motorbike term], I’ve heard there were quite a few with similar. But it sounds like WOMD has a particularly bad one. Hopefully we see him back again soon.

It’s a tiring round, and over the last 2–3 holes I was really feeling it, and everyone in the group looked exhausted too.

Despite all the above, the layout is amazing, the course setup is stunning and visually it’s grade A. Someone broke physics somehow to always manage to keep the lake beside the course at all times. I’ll come running back to try it again once the ground dries up.

Many thanks to the captain for this treat.

And it was the captain I was playing with, who normally has a steady enough game (when he plays with me), but the conditions and possibly the tiredness of the slog may have taken a toll. Pushing a trolley up the hills, where I was electric likely made a difference too. Tiger loves golf. You can see it in his every movement. The recoil after hitting each putt, he puts his whole emotion into every shot, and is also great company on a course. We all had a good craic. Bluenote hits the ball a mile, and also very high with a nice gentle fade. That’s a winning combo most often, I imagine. But given the conditions, like myself, he was plugging balls everywhere, which made it hard to find even perfectly struck shots. Some inconsistency kill his chances. Long-time member Javier, also in the group for the first time this year, added some good consistency and played well in the conditions, always seeming to be in the hole no matter what, and turned in a good round all said and done with 32pts.

My own game was very strong. After walking to the putting green and chipping area, I got worried with the condition underfoot, so before the round I lowered the loft of my driver to try reduce the possibility of plugging. I actively tried to keep the ball down off the tee, I'm not sure if any of this really helped because everything plugged, but being aware that this was going to happen from the off maybe helped, mentally?

My irons are good at the moment, fairway woods solid, putting was poor. Driver mostly good. New putter in the bag for this, and still waiting for the honeymoon period to start. A lost ball middle of fairway on 10 after perfect drive, and two lost balls and on the 18th ended my chances of an overall prize on the day. But somehow I took the back nine prize, which is pretty amazing, given I think I only really played 7 of the 9.

image.png

Good food and good craic as always at the clubhouse afterwards, but definitely very tired driving home. Also a looong tiring round, every footstep was difficult. Congrats to alanm on what sounds like a really great round in the conditions.

image.png

image.png image.png image.png image.png image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 342 ✭✭Alanm

Concra is a stunning course visually, it must be up there amongst the top parkland courses in Ireland from that point of view and I can definitely see why captain @tigerwood1 was so keen on having it this year. I can't think of many (any?) parkland courses that I'd have ahead of it from that point of view. I'd love to take a craic at it again on the dry (and preferably calm) day. Unfortunately, considering how it was mid-April, I guess their qualifying season is pretty short.

I had the pleasure of playing with @Batesy, @frankiekk and for the second time in a row, @Roger Mellie Man on the Telly. Although it was a long day searching for balls, we had plenty of craic on the way around! I felt sorry for @Batesy at times, a buggy when "cart path only" can be a right pain! The lads all hit some great shots, each can take positives from the round, too many lost balls didn't help their scoring! Big step up in your short game in a month @Roger Mellie Man on the Telly , especially given the conditions. Keep up the practice and your hcap will definitely drop!

Did you get a chance to get your ankle checked @weapon of grass destruction ? Looked nasty enough in the bar after, hopefully not too serious and you recover quickly!

My own game is in pretty good shape at the moment, I've had a run of decent results in my club lately. A few practice sessions and a couple of 9 hole evenings in the last month or so has really made a difference. I won't go through my round shot by shot, but some of the highlights included, hitting my forth shot to the 1st into the green side bunker and getting up and down for a point (after my first attempt at the green went on the wind oob left). Pars on all Par 3's and I don't think I hit any of them in regulation! Drove it into the 'hidden' lake over the trees on 13, miss-hit my 2nd and got up and down from 50 yds for par! 16 was the real highlight, playing into the wind and uphill, good drive, best hybrid of the day and rolled in a 20' putt for my only birdie of the day.
    Had a couple of 3 putts, 3 lost balls, but managed to score on every hole!

Thanks again to my playing partners, captain Tiger, Seve and all the rest of the committee. See you all in Kilkenny next month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭weapon of grass destruction

Cheers @Alanm. I didn't go get it checked yet. I doesn't feel like anything is torn or broken, the damage was from the ankle up feels like i pulled every muscle around it, it just swelled up bad and was really sore that night and the next day, I've been doing what @charlieIRL said to keep it elevated and iced it was a bit red and yellow but never went blue or purple which is a good sign. Im slightly able to move it that the swelling is going down. Once the swelling is gone if its still feel dodgy ill head the hospital. I feel like if there's any damage it's around the achilles, that hurts the most.

20260419_101603.jpg
    Post edited by weapon of grass destruction on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 frankiekk

Good craic out with @Alanm, @Batesy, and @Roger Mellie Man on the Telly! Didn’t feel like 5+ hours on the golf course at all!

The lads were putting me to shame on the front nine — I was having a disaster on the greens, putting off a couple of times and leaving the rest very short. I asked Alan for a bit of advice, and after he told me the secret is “practice, practice, practice,” I obviously took the next logical step and will just buy a new putter.

Coped on a bit on the back nine and put together a semi-decent round. I think I got notions of myself on 17 and 18, tried to smash the driver, and lost both — scratched them. Still, I was happy enough with the round, especially after the first nine.

Thanks to @tigerwood1! Course is class — would love a go in the summer. The last two courses are probably the best I’ve played. Thanks to @Seve OB as well for sorting my card out — I’d been marking it arseways 🫣 Hope all's well @weapon of grass destruction , looked like a bad one. Had to leg it after a quick one, promised herself I'd be back by 6 😬

20260418_171159.jpg

20260418_144320(0).jpg 20260418_143933.jpg 20260418_141228.jpg 20260418_123713.jpg 20260418_122808.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭bobster453

At least you spared us a pic of your toenails, thanks lad😄

Get better soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

A beautiful course, unffortunately she didn't "have her lipstick on" as the Captain said. I played it years ago in a dry summer and it is special. Great company with @frankiekk, @Alanm and @Batesy - thanks for the round lads. I played with Alan last month and it's great to watch someone play with such dexterity and all round game - congrats on the win - the birdie on the 16th was brilliantly executed. Frankie and Batesy hit some great shots and a few bad ones too, both solid golfers as far as I could see. Batesy's drive on the 15th hit the rocks and went up and back into the lake - with a better ricochet he'd probably have won longest drive! Actually he certainly had the longest drive in that buggy!

I'm still struggling a lot, but have marginally improved my short game (after a day session at Carton House) and my driving wasn't too bad. Putting was poor. Back 9 I fell apart, but I'm a high handicap and these things happen - I played Seapoint last Thursday and fared better. I do enjoy the game, but I've never played such a difficult sport! I've booked a lesson for Friday to see if I can get help with strike/low point and hopefully some consistency.

Thanks captain for organising and see you all in Gowran deo volente!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭tigerwood1

Unfortunately, it wasn’t quite the day I had envisaged. The course conditions were far from their best, which made it difficult to fully appreciate what is, in reality, a fantastic layout. To be fair to the pro, Bobby, he did warn me in advance that the course was very wet due to the constant rain and even offered us the option to rebook.

Changing the date wasn’t really an option with the rest of our outings already locked in for the year, so the only alternative would have been to cancel — which would have meant losing the large deposit until possibly next year if we rebooked.

When I first looked at booking Concra, I had hoped for July or August, but given how popular the course is with societies, April was the only date available. In fairness, we can’t blame the course — the amount of rain over the last six months has been relentless, to the point that even links courses this year have had to close for extreme wet spells.

I had actually forgotten a few of the holes, so stepping onto the 3rd tee and looking down the fairway reminded me exactly why I picked this place. Nearly every hole offers a great view, but the 3rd, 10th, 12th and 13th really stand out.
    I made the mistake around the 11th of saying I wasn’t finding the walk too bad… only to pay for it shortly after. The climb on 11 took it out of me, and by the time we turned into the wind on 16th, the lack of potassium (bananas!) caught up with me and I was running on empty.
    Golf-wise, I managed a few pars, including on the 10th and 12th — a highlight being all four of us hitting the green and walking off with pars. Playing with @RoadRunner his usual strength — the height and length of his ball flight — actually worked against him on the day, costing him a few lost balls. Still, he managed to take the longest drive… al

though with @scotty_golf9 missing, there might be an asterisk beside that one!
    It was my first time playing with @blue note and I was seriously impressed — nearly as long as Roadrunner off the tee. He hit a cracking shot to take nearest the pin on 14. @jarrieta flew out of the blocks with two pars in the first three holes and a solid front nine. Even though he didn’t think he was in contention, I had to convince him he still had a chance given the tuff conditions — so it was great to see him pick up second spot.
    Walking into the clubhouse, I was surprised to see our @weapon of grass destruction sitting there with his foot up on a stool and a badly swollen ankle. That made for a long trip home, especially since I’d convinced him last minute to play!🤕
    On the plus side, the clubhouse, the views, and the food were all top class.

Apologies to everyone for the conditions hopefully the going will be good to firm for Gowran😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭Batesy

Some smashing photos from the course on Saturday!

Looks great but I'd echo what the lads are saying here, Concra Wood is as beautiful a course as you'll get, but the wet conditions underfoot were challenging to say the least. I'd love to play here again on a warm / dry summers day. I reckon then you'd be hard pressed to beat it as course that has a bit of everything. Thanks to captain @tigerwood1 who picked a wonderful setting but not many courses stood a chance with the weather we've endoured these past few months . The club house and food also deserves a mention. Top notch stuff.

Thanks to my playing partners on the day, @Alanm , @frankiekk and @Roger Mellie Man on the Telly . A laid back and easy going sound bunch to go around with but I feel I owe you an apology as my decision to take a buggy on the day felt very anti-social at times as I traversed the perimeter of County Monaghan 😅 The chap in the Pro Shop tried to warn me of what was ahead and I found out quite early that it was the wrong move. I reckon I covered more ground on foot get to and from the paths than the 3 lads together! You live and learn.

Congratulations to @Alanm on the winning round , he played some great golf. It would be hard to pick out the strongest part of his game as he's a solid all rounder. But his short game / putting were tight and a smashing birdie putt on 16 was a highlight.

@Roger Mellie Man on the Telly hit some really solid shots particularly off the tee but like us all struggled a bit with the soggy ground exploding under irons but his spirits remained high throughout .

@frankiekk too hit some great shots and had a lovely back nine going until the pressure came when he realized he had a lovely back nine going 😂. The wheels came off on 17 / 18 but he called it right, as higher handicappers, there are days when we drive well, play decent irons or putt well but the trick is pulling it all together in the same round for a decent score. At least @Alanm has that part figured out .

As for myself, I improved from my debut in New Forest (wouldn't be hard...) My new/2nd hand irons are certainly easier to hit than the previous impostors so can only improve from here on. I did however choose to balance out the game improvement irons with an experimental putter (Spoiler Riv Blade) which doesn't have a traditional flat face. (got some confused looks from my playing partners 😅) I may be a glutton for punishment but I'm going to stick with it as I reckon it really concentrates the putting stroke which is what I need so hopefully works as a training aid if nothing else.....it'll be on Adverts after Gowran...😅

We all fell victim to mysterious vanishing golf balls in the turf on the day but it was still an enjoyable round with great company.

Looking forward to Gowran already where hopefully I can get my 1st iGolf card recorded.
    Catch you all then.

Batesy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 561 ✭✭✭a post punk

Well done to all the winners on Saturday especially @Alanm , we actually chatted between the group and Alan’s name was mentioned with the conditions being so tough so FairPlay.
    I had a nice spin for this 1 and didn’t really mind as @tigerwood1 has been flagging this course for years, we even did a whip round a big group of us 1 captains prize in Killarney as to which course “has to be added to the board’s roster in your opinion “ ( The question posed by @FixdePitchmark ….hes always at this s!!t) and it was mentioned…… so I really was eager to play it. It also was my 90th course to have played in Ireland so far adding another level to the visit. I have been playing really well coming into this so all in all every duck in a line.

To be honest I was really disappointed on the day with the course condition , I have never played a course that was wet absolutely everywhere and still open. I could not connect with my woods atall , so much so that I resorted to hitting irons for approaches towards the end to try save the car crash of a back 9!! Of course the course had a stunning setting but the few falls our group got on different holes and the golf which wasn’t reflective of a normal round took from it for me and I won’t be back unless guaranteed conditions. ( tough ask in Ireland)

The group was great company to be fair and look forward to playing with the lads again in future outings, I don’t think it’s fair to comment on anyone’s golf the day that was in it. Looking forward to the next dry outing and a massive improvement hopefully in my own score or my jug chances are over before it started.
    Talk soon

PP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭blue note

That course was on the bucket list for years for me. After Saturday it's ticked as done, but still on the list to play. Do you know that scene in The Inbetweeners when Will gets into bed with Charlotte and asks after if she'd count it as a notch on the bedpost? She said she won't, he asked if he still could. That's kind of how I felt about playing Concra on Saturday. It's incredibly beautiful and I'm going to count it as having played it. But I definitely want to play it again and if Concra was asked if I played it, she'd probably say she wouldn't count it!

It's a spectacular course, right up there with the best parklands I've played. The elevation changes are incredible. If you catch the run I'd say some of those holes are as short as anything. And with those elevation changes the wind must wreak havoc on the course. Someone remarked that it defied physics that the water was present on just about every hole. But I was glad that it wasn't trying to get you on every shot. I'd say on a good day and when playing half decent it would be as much fun on a golf course as you could have.

I teed it up with our Captain, Javier and Roadrunner. The conditions were tough out there, but Javier and Roadrunner certainly made the best of them. I played with Javier last year in Woodenbridge and he was as consistent as I remembered him being then. Hardly a bad shot over the round and some really good ones thrown in. Roadrunner was very impressive again. Very unlucky with some plugged balls and a surprise lake on the 13th. He pipped me for longest drive on 15 by taking a more aggressive line and hitting it considerably further. Hard to compete with that.

My game was terrible, but with sliding doors and all of that, another day I'd have been okay. I'd perfect drives on the first three holes - iron in hand for my second shot on the first. On a par 5, I'm thinking I shouldn't have worse than a par here. Wrong! Double bogey. Wedge in hand for my approach on the second, I'd be disappointed to bogey. I set my floor too high, another double! 3rd hole I left myself 50m to the middle of the green. I slid the club under the ball and advanced it about 10m. At least I did get the par there. After the good driving didn't work out for me I tried topping one, slicing a few, pulling a few more. Nothing worked on the day. Although I did get the nearest the pin which was a nice consolation.

In truth, I was worried about how I'd get on in my first interclub match the next day in the back of my mind. I can be so up and down I wasn't worried that a terrible round meant I was doomed. Thankfully I was not! After a shaky start I started playing really well. And hit some absolute crackers on the closing holes when the tie was coming down to our match!

Anyway, that's a story for another day. Well done to Alanm for what must have been an incredible round! I played with him in New Forest, so am not shocked that he put in a great score. And thanks to Tiger for a great pick. I'll miss the next one in Gowran, I'm out in New Forest again. But I'll be very disappointed if I don't catch you all again at the next two.

Perfect inbetweeners analogy @bluenote 😂😂👏

What are they?..hermaphrodites?

Must be a generational thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭blue note

No idea why your mind jumped to hermaphrodites bobster. Must be a generational thing.

Inbetweeners..bit of both..neither one nor tother..etc

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,077 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Inbetweeners was a tv series set in the UK. About 4 lads in secondary school!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭paulos53

They were even known to discuss golf from time to time.

Untitled Image Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,562 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

shower of bus W/\nkers

Oh right

Well can we in future keep any analogies limited to the 1990s please

Although Big Bang Theory is acceptable too

Thank you for your attention to this matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,189 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Jaysus @a post punk ...you manged to blame me and I wasn't even in the country..(lol)

watch it.

Just watch it.

I promise you, you will thank us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭tigerwood1

Lads, just a quick one — we haven’t forgotten about the partial refund for Concra as promised. It should be back in your credit before Gowran Park goes live.

sorry folks

Life is busy these days. I’ll sort it soon, promise