Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭aero2k

Slightly OT but to coin a phrase, Mother Teresa was no Mother Teresa - there was a fair big of controversy surrounding her sources of funding, her attitude to suffering and the care her organisation provided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

1000010362.jpg

Signed into law now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

She’s signed it now for the very reasons you outline. Read earlier that the COS meeting was intense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/dublin-hospital-hired-interpreters-for-foreign-language-patients-nearly-11000-times-in-17-months-1889790.html?utm_campaign=article&utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=web

This is in Tallaght alone

Add in the other hospitals around the country not to mention the courts services - the costs don’t stop at just the medical cards and free legal aid

The total spend on all this must be mental

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

Wonder if English speaking patients are given an interpreter to translate what foregin Dr's are telling them. 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,604 ✭✭✭Floppybits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭Packrat

I think she saw which way the wind was blowing and decided that it might be better if one of her buddies took the supreme Court challenge rather than her.

Its not as if people weren't told that this would be the result of voting for this yoke as president.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

I see Connolly’s spokesperson has said that, ‘The concerns that led to the President calling a meeting of the Council of State remain.‘ To my mind that is an egregious intervention in the political process. She may refer a bill to the Supreme Court to test that it is in accordance with the Constitution, but she cannot comment on it or, as in this case, stamp it with her seal of disapproval.

I have a visceral loathing of Michael Higgins and the cowardly politicians who refused to stand up to him. They are reaping what they sowed now.

https://www.irishtimes.com/crime-law/2026/04/23/ireland-at-risk-of-lone-wolf-attacks-and-islamist-terrorism-security-law-review-warns/

Oh great

Many Islamic nations feature amongst the top source countries for our tens of thousands of Asylum seekers - I suppose we’re lucky at least that we’re so thorough in vetting applicants before they’re allowed just free access to the country…Not!!

Utterly naive and lax migration policies have exposed us to a greater degree of threat from this crap

We are sleepwalking into it. And the terrifying thing is that if a terrorist attack were to happen, it’s likely nothing would change. The Manchester Arena bombing killed twenty-two people and was carried out by two British-born Muslims. You would think that that might have shaken Britain out of its complacency. Not a bit of it. Instead, Don’t Look Back in Anger became the unofficial anthem, and it actually became less acceptable to criticise multiculturalism. A decade later Islamic sectarianism is redefining British politics, including with the imminent adoption of an ‘Islamophobia’ definition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭creedp

No, no, no there are no downsides to unfettered Céad Míle Fáilte immigration! Only narrative allowed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,902 ✭✭✭enricoh

I watched a bit of the London tube suicide bombings on Netflix recently. ( Don't bother as it was unclear who the biggest victims of it were, the people blown up or Muslims living in the uk)

Before I packed it in the head of mi5 at the time was interviewed. She said she got the phone call of the bombings and wasn't surprised. They were flat out monitoring countless suspects and she always knew some would slip through the net.

I hope too jaysus mi5 or the yanks have a few lads undercover here as a few years ago Helen mcentee couldn't even confirm if we had one guard that could speak Arabic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭actuallylike

Funny, I thought 'lone wolf ' was a myth that ignored the structures behind the violence?

Screenshot 2026-04-23 at 11.20.03.png Screenshot 2026-04-23 at 11.19.24.png Screenshot 2026-04-23 at 11.19.15.png Screenshot 2026-04-23 at 11.19.01.png

This isn’t a significant story. There are a hundred thousand Ukrainians here, so it’s inevitable that some will commit crime. But I note that Verona Murray rebuked the TD who raised the case, saying, ‘I do not believe it is necessary to name the nationality in our forum. I just do not think it is in any way helpful.’

Such quibbling is now inevitable and is tiresome in the extreme. No matter how you voice your criticism of immigration, you will get a tut-tutting response. ‘Eh, Depeddy, that’s…that’s not on, now. Please…please Depeddy. Have some decorum.’ The supreme arrogance they must have to feel entitled to repeatedly critique the form in which an argument, ignoring the substance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Everlong1

Eh, surely the success of Farage's Reform mob and the hordes marching behind Tommy Robinson are proof that plenty of British citizens are far from complacent about this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,162 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

God is there anything on here that people won't moan about?

English is the dominant global language. Most ordinary Irish people, by and large, do not tend to be in places that are ever so remote that they would have genuinely experienced hospital environments where nobody in the building is at least able to convey the basics of a situation to them in English. You are ultimately speaking to doctors, who naturally tend to be well educated and in many cases will have trained, studied or otherwise worked in English speaking environments at some point.

In the vast, vast majority of cases as an English speaker your translation needs will be met by at least someone in the hospital staff. There will obviously be exceptions but ultimately it is also in the hospital's interests for all kinds of legal and professional reasons that they are able to understand you too and you'd be unfortunate to be absolutely and indefinitely stuck without any access to an English speaking person.

IMG_6767.jpeg

There is a video on Twitter that is supposedly going viral in Germany. It’s of a Syrian refugee in Berlin aggressively - and, I mean, aggressively - rapping her ethnic grievances to camera. At the end, as you can see above, a crowd of people march in step behind her, ending on the line, ‘You would be nothing without us.’ It’s worth seeking out.

Two things stand out to me. One is the old lie that Western countries somehow owe their prosperity to immigrants. It is everywhere, and it is coming to Ireland. Second is that despite Angela Merkel’s opening of Germany’s borders to a million Syrian refugees being one of the most humanitarian acts in history, this refugee demonstrates that many of them are not only not grateful, but actually resentful. What is Europe doing to itself? This feels like civilisational collapse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭Emblematic

I think the post to which you are responding may have been tongue-in-cheek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭bored65

I suspect Reform crowd is gonna thin out now that Farages boss in Whitehouse wants to handover Falklands to the Argentinians

I admit that I do have a certain level of suspicion that you know so much about the meaning and intent of a song which you have urged us to seek out rather than it being something you actually have to hand to share it with us. After a quick Googling around, I found the song which is called out "Without Us" by Dounana. You can listen to it here and the lyrics go along the lines of:

"Eradicate our roots, Demolish our homes, Criminalise our existence, Falsify our origins, Separate our loved ones, And Slaughter our children, Take our blood for granted, And demonise our revolutionaries, Steal our knowledge, Keep our people oblivious, And torture our spirits, And denounce us our rights, Colonise our countries, And appoint our rulers, Appropriate our goods, And burn down our trees. But who would you be without us?"

From reading the lyrics, watching the video and googling a bit about the song, it appears to be a song written to vocalise anger about the interference of the West in poor countries, the destruction which it brings and the attitudes by some in the West towards those countries and the people who end up fleeing them. I do not think that one can expect that Western generosity in taking in refugees must somehow be taken as a prohibition on refugees feeling angry at the fact that Western interference bears a good degree of responsibility in treating certain countries as the playthings of their economic and political interests and then to be derided by many people in those Western countries who label them as scroungers, rapists, murderers and general undesirables. She refers to "appointing our rulers" and "appropriating our goods" — I mean, are you disputing that Western countries interfere in the political affairs of poorer countries and also often exploit those countries' resources? What is you want from her here? That she says thank you to those who disparage her people at every turn and who portray them as the doom of the West because they are morally deficient?

There doesn't seem to be anything in the song that is saying she thinks all westerners are bad, or that she feels no gratitude for those want to treat refugees kindly and fairly, or that she hates Germany. Or do you actually need her to include a campfire song in traditional lederhosen attire singing "I love you Germany I am forever grateful to Germany forever" to quell your fear?

What suspicion could you possibly have? It’s a video; I can’t share it here. What’s more, my description of the song is entirely consistent with yours.

I’m actually aghast at your sanctimonious complacency. Whatever the merits of the grievances (and Germany is hardly responsible for any), it is madness of the highest order to be importing people who hold those grievances - sowing discord at best and committing terrorism at worst.

The mind boggles. Have you no instinct of self-preservation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,337 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Two things stand out to me

The only thing that stands out is you were well able to post a screen shot complete with subtitles, but not the video itself. 😂

Anyway if the likes of that is offending you. I'd give Dylan and Springsteen a wide birth.

Well the suspicion is that you took the time to post a screenshot when one would think that it would have been easy to at least reference the name of the song / video you appeared to know a lot about in terms of its meaning, intent and implications. Just leaves me with a slight question as to whether you had actually ever seen the video before or if you were just echoing what others had said about it.

I'm struggling to understand what the critical or important issue is here for you to be honest. She seems to be touching on points like Western-backed regime change and the exploitation of resources in the developing world — things which have and continue to contribute to the social / political / economic problems in poorer countries which in turn lead to people seeking to leave. If you don't want to "import" refugees then — well — should you not be supporting the message of her song which seems to suggest that more powerful / wealthy countries could try not doing things which help to create refugee or migrant populations from poor countries?

Like I'm not saying I would agree with this woman on everything, but you seem to be very eager to extremify her words and stretch them beyond what they actually say or suggest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Hungry Burger

The beginning of the end of the Roman Empire is when they opened the gates to the Barbarians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,521 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

About a month ago or so the EU/Ursula von der Leyen signed an "Agreement on Mobility," with India dubbed "the mother of all deals". It will facilitate “the movement of students, researchers, seasonal and highly skilled workers,". Launching the “first EU Legal Gateway Office in India" all to support Indian 'talent' moving to Europe. “Europe will always choose the world, and the world is ready to choose Europe" Von der Leyen said. I take that as 'Europe will always choose everyone else over Europeans.'

Now the EU/Ursula von der Leyen has signed a partnership agreement with Bangladesh to create the same legal pathways for migrants and workers. Hundreds are now expected to move to Europe under the scheme. The 'deal' focuses on labour mobility, skills development and managing migration……..

The EU concept was sold to us as a way for Europeans to travel easier and work in every European country. Actually, it has been about importing millions of non-European settlers without any effective resistance ,and thereby finishing off Europe. The EU is the most anti-European organisation on earth.

"….they will make a fire with your beautiful oak door."

The Mobility Agreement with India is a legal framework, not a law. It does not override the competency of individual EU member states to determine their own rules re visas / permits etc when it comes to the entry of Indian (i.e. non EU) migrants. It does not require any EU country to change its quotas or numbers in respect of Indian migrants.

The Agreement also involves India agreeing to facilitate the return of illegal Indian migrants, which is positive, and otherwise it sets out to formalise a more detailed and fleshed out framework for skilled migration into Europe.

Better frameworks for legal migration mean better and cleaner processes for monitoring and handling migration, and helps us to tackle illegal and irregular migration. I'm not saying this Agreement is the best thing since sliced bread, but things like this are steps in the right direction in controlling migration and leveraging its benefits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

It’s not moaning, communication in healthcare is a safety issue. Even when English is common, patients can still struggle to fully understand what's been said. You can't just pull a member of staff in to explain.

Video from yesterday circulating online at the moment of a big fracas with a migrant brandishing a knife in a centra on Cathal Brugha st, thankfully gardai seen to be intervening at the end of the video

Of course not a single word of the incident in the media. Not the right kind of criminals to be reporting on.

ArthurDayne of this parish has asked me to post on his behalf. He thinks it very suspicious that you didn’t bother to share the video in question having spent three, maybe four, minutes writing your post. He wonders how you could know the knife-wielder’s motives from merely watching the video, which might anyway be generated by AI. In addition, he has asked if anyone has seen his meds.

My two cents are that these incidents are really racking up now, but if you are not on social media you would be oblivious to them. Vital information for judging immigration policy is being suppressed by the establishment media. The journalists would deny it, of course, but that is undeniably what is. The consequence is that you can’t mention these cases in polite society - offline people will immediately dismiss you as a crank because only cranks get their news from social media. But what choice is there when the media refuses to report it?!

What on earth are you talking about? You posted about a music video a couple of days ago and rather than defend or explain in any concrete terms the huge leaps in conclusions you drew from it, you are now here putting words in my mouth on a completely different topic.

One is a music video and song you have interpreted, one is an eyewitness video of a man wielding a knife etc. I don't see what the equivalence is here but perhaps you can explain that to me — or simply respond "on my behalf" whenever the next topic pops up.