The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭cherrytaz

Shehu having a poor game so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭benjy1000

Their absolute muck

The defending is incredibly bad, shocking how we are standing off them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭South of the Bann

Shehu been arguably our best player today

Agree. He's been fantastic since my comment! His brother also doing great since coming on. Why can we not just attack directly like these are doing consistently!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Naughty_Skelator

Well overall that was atrocious…

That might be the worse opening 20 minutes from a Cavan team in the championship that I’ve ever seen… The team selection was idiotic … A very young and inexperienced Monaghan team whom barely got out of third gear must not have believed their luck…. Gearoid coming on after 18 minutes at least gave us a foothold in the match. He was clearly half fit, but he at least competed in the air, We would have been as well starting the Under 20’s duo as what we put out there, to start ,we got completely destroyed. Gearoid and Evan Crowe as a duo in the last quarter despite both clearly not being fit, competed well.

The backline were even more inept than the midfield, Stephen O Hanlon hasn’t a hand put on him all day, Andrew Woods was pretty much ignored by Cavan for the first two thirds of the match,Nobody came near him.

The forward line had no system of play, it was get the ball to Oisin Brady , Lynch and McVeety and see what happens, we kicked some really good scores from play but also had some awful misses. The less said about Paddy’s kicking from the ground the better, You could clearly see that Ryan Connolly whom would have started in goals only for a broken jaw I believe, has taken over that duty.

For all the ineptitude , when we actually ran at them in the second half, we tore them to shreds, missing 3 goal scoring chances. and scoring 2 ,those misses alongside the breaches, were costly.We had no right to be in contention for the match, but we were when we got to within 4 points.

As for individual performances, Emanuel Shehu after a tough opening 10 minutes, was by far ,our best player on the pitch for me.

Ryan Tobin did well for his debut, thought he looked very capable,

Niall Carolan was outstanding in the second half, his piercing runs caused chaos in the Monaghan defence.

Favour Shehu did more in the 15 minutes he was on , than some players did in 50, shouldn’t have done what he did at the end , but his athleticism and speed caused Monaghan problems.

Oisin Brady put in a serious shift, kicked two good scores also.

Paddy kicked some very good scores but also had some bad misses.

Hard to know where we go to from here lads…If Westmeath make the Leinster final , are we Tailteann bound?
    I dread what a good team will do to us….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭cavan4sam

That was the worst championship first half I've ever seen from us and I'm watching 50 odd years .

And if I'm being honest I went to the garden for the second half

Unfortunately nothing will change when the bull is in charge . I feel sorry for those lads putting in so much time and effort when the whole thing looks like it's a circus

Unfortunately we'll still be in the all Ireland series if Westmeath make the final as it's down who will miss out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭benjy1000

They are tailteann cup anyway it could be down as it's promoted teams and Kildare are in it as they won TC last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭mylestheslasher

To be clear, Wexford miss out firstly as Kildare (relegated) are Tailteann Cup Champs and are certain of a place. Next team to miss out would be Down. Then Cavan. Mind you, we would be better off in the Tailteann as we will be destroyed against a top team. Today was an abysmal display, nothing has changed since the league. No kick out strategy, zonal defense all over the place and our big players look devoid of confidence. Paddy Lynch was very poor, body language looks like a lad that wants to be at home. McCabe is wrecking Cavan. Today Cavan were bet out the gate and Westmeath beat Meath - does anyone in Cavan Co Board understand what is the common denoninator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 breffnitightlips

We wouldn’t win tailteann. An absolute **** embarrassing performance, of all teams to lie down and look half arsed against, never left a derby game with my head in my chest til today,

We wouldn't win the Denn gold watch tournament never mind the tailteann cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

Has anyone ever felt a championship game go so slowly? It was death by a thousand cuts. At one stage, in the second half, I looked at my watch and couldn’t believe only six minutes were gone. We were that bad it felt like an eternity.

The atmosphere in Clones was non existent bar when Cavan made a partial game of it towards the end but, like the Cork & Meath League games, that was more about the opposition than Cavan.

I was talking to a man from another county during the week and they couldn’t believe how our GDM addresses development squad players in games. He had witnessed it first hand when we played his own county. Spoke to a parent today who confirmed it was correct. This man has far too much say. It’s beyond a joke. And to compound it all, as another poster said above, Westmeath are only on the up since he left.

I honestly don’t know where we go from here. What way does all the All Ireland work now? WAC mentioned the groupings are gone. Is it hopefully knock out so we have only one embarrassment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Gallant_JJ

We will get two embarrassments in All Ireland series, one in the front door and one in the back door.

Pitiful today. Can't pinpoint an area of the field where an effective game plan was evident. I thought the one thing McCabe would bring would be intensity, we showed none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Thunderbirds

I don't want to name names of players but some players in that squad would be average enough club players. The first twenty minutes were a disgrace. So bad you could give a P45 at half time. Biggest winning margin in this championship fixture in over 50 years so a lovely record there.

I listened to Michael Hannons review, what was the "chaos" on the sideline they were referring to? Just McCabe roaring like an eejit again or something else? I also clearly saw Shehu's breach, he was standing on the half way line for a bit and then jogged forward 3 yards before catching himself and running back. He didnt effect play in any way and I thought the new rules made an allowance for that. Seemed a very harsh call from a referee who left his whistle in the dressing room when it came to mauling an opponent in the tackle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Breffniblue71

Mc Cabe was up and down the line roaring at both officials and his own players, I’m surprised they put up with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭baconsarnie

Nothing out of the ordinary (sadly). Usual bellowing and roaring. He nearly went on the pitch at the penalty looking for a black card. One hilariously "McCabe" moment in the first half. Liam Brady put a kick out over the sideline, but there was a push on the Cavan player (i think Gearoid). McCabe missed that the free was called and spent about 20 seconds bollocking Liam Brady even as a free was about to be taken by Cavan under his nose. Embarassing stuff.

I am of the same opinion. And in respect to lads who are putting in huge shifts in training and organising their lives around playing for Cavan, I don't think it is fair to name them. But there are players that are just not good enough.

However, our "tactics" and "system" are really not helping matters. In fact, they are exposing some players.

Agree fully, players are being let down by tactics. There is no kickout strategy at all and the horrible zonal defending is not working. Not sure how zonal could ever work with new rules. The same problems are there that were there during the league and there does not seem to be any effort solving them. The amount of scores Monaghan kicked with zero pressure was unforgivable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭large_palette

The Cavan team have obviously being listening to the same guff since the league because nothing changed tactically. Defence, kickouts and midfield area were shocking for 25 minutes of the first half while the attack was predictable and laboured. You felt that any threat we posed after the initial onslaught came from the the players own pride. Lynch looked like he wanted to be elsewhere, and the likes of Holla, McVeety, O Brady, and Carolan, who would make most teams, had frustration written all over them. They all deserve better. And the less said about the sideline frantics the better. Supporters have been let down yet again in front of local rivals. In Leinster Westmeath looked completely unshackled yesterday. Any other county and the writing would be looming large for the management.

Post edited by large_palette on

Paddy Lynch looks like a lad that has zero joy playing for Cavan right now. Which is a sad indictment really.

The last 15 minutes of chaos was nothing to do with tactics or system but more lads having a crack at Monaghan.

Some of our players (who I genuinely think are of inter county standard) are after having a rake of bad games on the trot. That's because (a) we have a completely malfunctioning "system" and (b) they have a roaring bully on the sidelines (no idea what it's like in training but I have to worry). None of them are playing naturally and are second guessing everything they do.

If you dropped Galligan back in there he would get a far better tune of our squad than we have gotten since the McKenna cup. This isn't bad luck. This is a pattern.

What was it Mark O Rourke said about "Dermot's vision for Cavan GAA?". What is that vision? Is what we've seen so far part of "Dermot's vision"? Would be useful if he bothered his hole talking to media that we might get a sense of what that vision is other than roaring on the sideline.

The next few years are going to be "fun" :)

Think about this. If I go into work and I have a lad working for me who is useless and I decide to let him go I sit him down and tell him its not working out. He leaves, never see him again and off I go and hire someone else. If I am in the Co Board and I think Big Demo is doing a bad job, am I going to have that same conversation and come back in on Monday and he is still sitting in the office beside me as he is a full time paid employee. Those clowns should have thought this through, the idea that it wouldn't work out never crossed their minds and now this man is there as long as he wants to be there. Plus he is so thick skinned that he might stay there until he is 65!

And if you fire him, his successors success is dependent on being competent at his job. You actually couldn't make it up.

They’ll never fire him. Worse still he controls all the management teams below him. There’s a reason some of his team mates nicknamed him “bully”.

For all his shouting, roaring and hollering, how many intercounty teams will be caught for not one but two breaches in a game this year? He’s so busy fighting with the world he misses the basics.

Gallagher’s view:

Cavan

Cavan are shambolic without the ball, are extremely wasteful in attack and have a poor kick out plan.

Monaghan aren’t quite shambolic, but defensively they lack organisation.

The game on Sunday lacked intensity and competitiveness at a high level.

Worryingly, they needed Gearoid McKiernan to come on after 18/19 minutes to get any foothold in the middle of field. He should have started. Gearoid is, and has been, an amazing player for Cavan. They haven’t identified a strong enough midfield and the season almost over.

Their kick out plan isn’t at the level needed to get control of a game.

They need to seriously work on defending as a team. 27 points conceded is huge against a team that has struggled for big scores all year.

It’s hard to see them taking out a team ranked higher than them with the form they are showing.

Plenty of other more respectable pundits to quote to be fair

Stevie wonder would have been able to see the above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭etuzyuk

Sign of how far we have fallen in terms of squad depth. Past his prime McKiernan best midfielder we have by a distance. But prime McKiernan years, there were better options for the middle and he was a more effective as a half forward.

Like who? I don’t really want to get into it but nothing was ever proven against Gallagher I don’t believe. He’s a well respected coach who is 30 years at it and has won silverware as a manager. I’m more than happy to accept his opinion on footballing issues.