2026 Irish Gigs (Confirmed & Rumoured Events)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭Homesick Alien

I don't understand this argument. It's 3 times the size of of ATN and sells out instantly. In what way could it lose out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mucker46

I agree. Will lose/has lost a certain demographic but there are always those coming after for which EP will be far more attractive than ATN. Unless we have a big recession or something akin to that I think EP will always attract enough to fill capacity, to be honest i reckon greater than 50% of those going don't really care about whose playing and a few "names" will do them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,744 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Just saw the Loyle Carner gig in National stadium. Dunno is it that common for artists to play gigs around EP. Wonder will it sell well with many at EP that weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭jams100

ATN lineup is very weak this year, I would say (lineup wise) its somewhere in between EP and the old Indiefestival that Cork had.

I think objectively despite its flaws, EP's luneups are still much better and rounded than ATN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Afraidofwhatun

Screenshot_20260418_010458.jpg

Anyone heard anything about this?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 16,416 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Tbh Oxegen had superior line ups bar the last one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭DarMul17

Screenshot_20251110_085701_Instagram.jpg

When you actually compare lineups, you can see why people get annoyed with Electric Picnic.

Mad Cool Festival is roughly €280 for four days. EP is similar money for three. That alone raises questions before you even look at the posters.

Mad Cool announced the lineup early, split the days properly, reduced capacity, and put together a bill with a bit for everyone. It looks like something designed to win people over.

Meanwhile EP too often feels like: buy now, trust us later. Blind faith as a business model. The initial announcement this year was decent, then the rest of it felt like whatever happened to be available once the stronger options were gone elsewhere.

EP has the brand, the demand, the capacity and the money coming in up front, yet still manages to produce lineups that rarely feel essential. At some point people are entitled to ask what exactly they’re paying premium prices for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭Zardoz

At some point people are entitled to ask what exactly they’re paying premium prices for.

I think you could ask that about most things in Ireland, Rip Off Ireland.

Its endemic from the top down here, Government wasting colossal amounts of taxpayers money, just pissing it away.

High prices, poor levels of service.

That Electric Picnic lineup is appallingly bad, where has the money gone is right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,038 ✭✭✭Fanirish

mad cool is a city festival with 4 stages targeted to a day ticket audience. From all perspectives it’s a completely different experience and beast to EP.
    electric picnic is a 30 or 40 stage town set up in some fields in the midlands.
    from a line up perspective a city non camping festival can afford the likes of foo fighters etc as it’s a top heavy festival that has low costs in comparison to a camping festival.

Look up the EP financials, it’s not the supposed cash cow that you seem to think it is. In last few years it makes a €1.5m to 2m profit a year on €30m plus revenue and after losing millions in its initial decade of existence.

from a look at late august line ups, they got a solid lineup tbh.

5 headliners - €2m -€2.5m out of the budget easily

Next 15 names - another €2m - €2.5m

next 16 names - another €1m at least

So that roughly €5-6m out a €7-8m booking budget for EP 2026.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Thrashssacre

People can jump through as many hoops to explain it they like, it's bad value for money with the lineup that's been announced.

You could pick out 20 or more festivals all around Europe than are cheeper and have superior lineups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,119 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭piggysiren

Exactly. All the caveats like 'city festival' or 'sponsorship' are meaningless when you actually look into it and see that EP have loads of sponsors, many identical to other European festivals, and if you are in early with a booking for accomodation on the dates prior to announcement or just after the announcement of the lineup, many of these festivals still work out cheaper overall than EP, or slightly more but justifiable in the far superior lineups.

EP is a grand festival, I go most years as it is close by and I enjoy it for what it is, bonus if you get a good year like 2019, 2022 or last year in ways even, but even then overall it isn't a patch on Primavera, Mad Cool, Nos Alive, Rock en Seine, Rock Werchter, Pinkpop, Pukkelpop, Roskilde, InMusic, the list goes on and on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭Zardoz

Creative accounting, Livenation are masters of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Mihal_Joey

It would be interesting to see if Electric picnic tickets would sell out as quick, if the line-up was out before the dates tickets go on sale…also some are saying a 6th headliner for EP will be added, any truth to that ??

In fairness to our resident intern, no surprise he’s back defending the house.

But the “city festival vs field festival” lecture misses the point entirely. I’ve been to Mad Cool Festival twice. It’s 10–15km outside Madrid, even locals joke it’s not really in Madrid, and the site is basically a huge open lot with artificial grass rolled out. Let’s not pretend it’s some effortless metropolitan wonderland.

What Mad Cool actually has is pressure unlike EP. It competes with NOS Alive, Bilbao BBK Live and Primavera Sound for acts, routing and customers. If they underdeliver, people simply go elsewhere. Funny how competition tends to improve standards.

They’re barely ten years old and still tweak layouts, listen to consumers, adjust capacity, announce properly and produce lineups that look like they’re trying to win people over. Radical concept.

Meanwhile Electric Picnic operates in a softer market: huge demand, tickets sold early, limited domestic competition, and consumers trained to buy first then defend later. Comfort can be very profitable.

So yes, fair play on the spreadsheet maths and the budget fan fiction, but the simpler truth is this: Irish consumers are routinely asked to pay premium prices for a product that often feels less ambitious than what our European neighbours get in far tougher markets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,135 ✭✭✭dasdog

Foo Fighters - Reasonably decent
    Moby - Exciting in 1990 and then the Play album
    The War On Drugs - They are okay - I saw them at Forbidden Fruit and thought Warpaint under a tent were much better
    Wolf Alice - Okay
    Florence - Okay
    Jennie/Lorde/Teddy Swims - No opinion
    21 Pilots/KOL - No, just no
    Pixies - Yes, but playing circuits
    Halsey - No idea
    Nick Cave - Very strong yes here
    Pulp - I would attend
    The Black Crowes - First gig I ever attended solo when I was 17 in the National Stadium - decent
    David Byrne - Worth the entrance fee alone

City festivals and camping festivals are simply completely different entities with radically different costs which means the budgets available for city festivals allow them to book types of artists that camping ones cannot when they are roughly same capacity and ticket price. It’s not that difficult to understand.

they are different offerings, same as primavera is a different experience to ATN.

Mad cool and Nos alive aren’t in competion with each other, they are sharing the same acts as they do. Mad cool doesn’t compete with primavera either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,173 ✭✭✭Stillill42

You can knock the EP line up all you like, and God knows I enjoy that game myself but Fanirish is certainly correct in saying Mad Cool vs EP is not comparing apples with apples. It's possible to love the experience of a Primavera or a Mad Cool and still miss the Joy of the adventure at Stradbally, the woods, the Salty Dog, Trailer Park, Trenchtown, Jerry, all the stuff up at Terminus, the installations, the Greencrafts, etc etc etc. There's a levy to pay for that, one that I was always very willing to pay. If that meant losing out a couple of Foo Fighters, I could live with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭crl84

While I don't disagree with the EP criticism, Mad Cool's lineup has no depth, and the stage/setup is vastly different to EP.

A lot easier and cheaper to put a few stages in a park or urban area with decent infrastructure and open the gates for 12hrs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Duffy98

Am I losing the plot here or is this some elite-level gaslighting?

I’m going again this year, and in fairness, last year actually earned it. The headliners alone justified the ticket, you’re talking €80–€100 acts if they played the 3Arena individually, the depth across the smaller stages meant you were never stuck for something worth seeing. It felt curated. It felt like a festival.

This year? It genuinely reads like:

“Give me the safest possible algorithm-friendly lineup, tick a few trending boxes, great for the gram, offend absolutely nobody, excite even fewer, and still charge AAA festival prices.”

It’s not even that the acts are bad, it’s that it’s painfully middle of the road I'm being generous. No risk, no edge, no identity. A “social media lineup” designed to look good on a poster rather than actually hit in a field across a weekend.

It’s completely fair to compare it to European festivals. This is supposed to be the biggest festival in the country, the standard should reflect that were all camping there it's not like we need massive public transport were all stationary for the weekend. I shouldn’t be buying a ticket and then squinting at the lineup trying to convince myself there’s enough there to justify it. The lineup should be dragging me from stage to stage, I shouldn't be trying to find an act or have to sit through one for the sake of it,

Let’s call it what it is financially as well. Roughly 80k tickets at ~€300, that’s in the ballpark of €24–25 million before you even touch camping upgrades, VIP packages, food, drink (they take huge cuts), or sponsorships. And this is the return on that? We've every right to question it,

It just feels like: “Grand, tickets are sold, money’s secured, how do we deliver something just above the threshold of taking the piss while keeping margins as fat as possible?”

There’s a difference between a diverse lineup and a directionless one. This leans heavily toward the latter, look at the comments on the lineup....

I'm not arguing with any of the lineup stuff. They've fecked it, I'm out, I'm travelling for my festivals since 2023. I'm just saying the comparison with a city festival is the wrong comparison. The other stuff is what made me love EP. It's what makes it still a great experience for heads like me that are still making the trek, despite the decimation of the lineup. I think a value should still be put on that when discussing festivals. If it's purely lineups, knock yourself out.

images.jpeg

I think some of the replies are still missing the actual point. Nobody is saying Electric Picnic and Mad Cool Festival are identical experiences. Obviously one has woods, campsites, side areas and the rest. Congratulations to everyone for solving that mystery.

The point is value and ambition. I’ve been to Best Kept Secret, which is a camping festival, less than half the capacity of EP, and by choice they’ve kept it smaller rather than cramming every last body in. Yet for similar money it can still produce a lineup like that poster. So the “camping festival costs” excuse only stretches so far.

At some stage every criticism of EP gets met with another guided tour of the woods, the Salty Dog and a spoken-word tribute to Trailer Park. Lovely stuff, but none of that means the music booking has to coast. Atmosphere and lineup are allowed to coexist. Europe has somehow managed this breakthrough.

And the “city festivals are easier” line is getting tired. Plenty of European festivals, camping and non-camping, operate in competitive markets, have rivals nearby, and still manage to look sharper, fresher and more responsive than the default option here. Funny how competition does that.

We constantly hear about expansion, bigger capacity, growth and how in demand it all is, yet somehow that increased scale rarely seems to translate into lineups with the same ambition. More bodies through the gate, more revenue generated, but not much visible reinvestment where punters can actually see it: on the poster. Funny how that works.

If people are happy paying premium prices for nostalgia about Trenchtown, a stroll through the woods and the privilege of calling it “an experience” while the music offer slides, that’s entirely their choice. Others are perfectly entitled to notice that the same money elsewhere often buys stronger bookings, sharper curation and a promoter trying to impress rather than cash in because they've got the money in without announcing a lineup.

I'm not going to lie. The level of condescension in your posts is unrivalled on here in my experience. You're not making a new argument. We've being having this discussion for years. It's why I'm at Green Man these days. Your original argument was with Fanirish, he pointed out the issues with your comparison between Mad Cool and EP, I just tried to expand on that. It's possible to discuss stuff without being such a supercilious git.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,631 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

@DarMul17 Same refrain and whinging from you here .

Thread is about Irish gigs . You regularly drag it off the rails with your ire over a particular poster , your pvssiness over whatever acts are lined up for Irish fans here , and along with a couple of other posters just derail what is usually a pleasant thread with condescending comments moaning about a music" intern " / gigs in Ireland and / or acts that play in Dublin and not down the country .

Can you just dial it back, please and stop behaving like a boring prat for a change ?

Almost everyone else just comes on say what they like , recommend it and move on . The last few pages , days of discussion here just makes for unpleasant miserableness . Not all down to you but just about .

There is a separate thread for EP , for festivals elsewhere , and for gig reviews btw . Some of us come here to hear about upcoming gigs and genuine discussion , not to be bored out of our tree with your discussions on who is worth seeing in your esteemed opinion and how you will fly everywhere for different gigs and festivals because there is nothing good enough here for you . So fvck off then and stop pvssing on everyone else's choices and what is available to us here .

I have said it before and think it's true ...it's like you are selling travel tickets to music gigs abroad .

Maybe that's why you have an issue with " the intern " as you call him …he's the competition!

.And everyone else… fair enough about EP , they could done better , it's still a good lineup but not riveting , but nevertheless there is a separate EP thread and this detail of discussion belongs there .

Can the upcoming Irish gigs get a mention on their dedicated thread ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Cavanlad23

1000027900.png

I see some travel club have Kasabian tickets, 2 for 1. It must be absolutely bombing sales wise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭RangerToby

For the metalheads

1776550356829.jpg

Screenshot 2025-09-26 175316.jpg Support Independent Festivals!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Duffy98

Nick Cave as well two for 46 euro, add ?did=reffo to the end of the link/url

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭deisedude

I'm really sick of this "intern" BS. It wasn't funny the first time and its not funny the millionth time. Personally i'd love to see the offender thread banned, its bullying at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Let's face it, many of the gig threads have been ruined by a small number of individuals. Its generally why I post very little on here anymore.

Ive said it before, but alot of the excitement leadingn up to EP was the craic in the thread. Its pretty much died a death now

I like a good debate as well as the next guy but the gig forum (like others on Boards) is ruined by a new generation of "contributer" - always want to be more correct, more knowledgeable, more obnoxious than everyone else. I would put 2 or 3 extremely bad culprits across a few threads, wish they could all be banned .

Post edited by LowOdour on