Release Date for 1926 Census !UPDATE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,683 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Interestingly, the spelling of my maternal grandmothers family changes from 1911 to 1926, but the original spelling in 1911 is still the one in use amongst the family still carrying it to this day!

I only found them by finding the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

Results for a surname in Dublin has so many Marys, tried to sort by Age to narrow it down but that doesn’t seem to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Alfaguy

It's very interesting now to jump back and forth from the 1901/1911/1926 census's and see how things evolved and see what strange arrangements they had in their lives. For instance my granddad 32 at the time on my Dads side got married in 1900 to a 17 year old servant girl in the same household where he was a "farm servant". So by 1926 when he was 57 and she 43 nine children are reported to have been born but only 5 are at the household - the oldest being 15 and the youngest (my Dad) at 2 years old.

Also interesting is that they differentiate between people who speak Irish as their main language vs people who use english as their main language. My 86 year old great great grandmother in 1926 is categorised as having Irish as her first language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 572 ✭✭✭munsterfan2

Wasnt there, managed to find it by searching sisters names and 2 of the siblings and farm hands are on this page but not linked to family page

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,820 ✭✭✭deisemum

I found my paternal granny who was 17 at the time, my paternal grandad was living in the America at the time. I cannot find my maternal grandparents yet, they had an unusual surname but I believe were living in Dublin at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭black & white

Can’t find my grandmother although can find her parents and siblings. There was a rumour that she went to try to be a nun for a few years but left. Anyone know if nunneries are there, can’t see anything so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Jellybaby_1

Oh wow!! I just found a child I never heard of. Yikes! The research continues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,151 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Had a "huh" moment seeing the record for a house I now own, saying what I thought was "38" acres for the farm. The entire land holding is a bit under 5 acres. And I know the boundaries are the same from 1906 as it has an actual folio for that long - was sold by the Congested Districts Board and registered decades before that became a requirement.

Its "3S", 3 Statute Acres. Irish Acres were still sometimes used but the form asked for statute acres and they decided to say it in the answer.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,988 Mod ✭✭✭✭pinkypinky

Convents are there. I just did a test search for "Sister" as a first name with hundreds of results.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭Dublin Calling

My great grandmother who is clearly listed as the Head of the household in the pdf is not listed as a person in the household! An extra unknown man appears at the end of the list of children. The old pages had a button to email corrections, they don't seem to have added it to the 2026 version.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,497 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

They must have used AI at some stage and it had difficulty with not only entries as Gaeilge, but even more so, entries in the old script.

The local priest of my great grandparents, An t-Athair Tomás de Hindeberg (Henebry) became Ms C Stacy Tomar Hundekene

and his housekeeper Máire Ní Donng(h)aile became Mare Hjd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭Dublin Calling

Related to boarding schools/institutions. If you look up Central Criminal Lunatic Asylum in Milltown (before P&T redefine Dublin and made the half of Milltown south of the River Dodder into Dundrum) the staff names are listed, but the patients names are redacted to the first letter. The PDFs are also not provided. But if you click on 'Download Institution Record' the CVS file will provide the rest of patient details, apart from their full names.

Anybody know what DED I should be looking under to bring up Ring St, Inchicore in Dublin? Searching Dublin seems to be a bit of a nightmare if you don't know what DED the location being searched for is in.

Never mind - its in Inchicore A DED.

No - no matter how I try to find Ring Street it comes up No records found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭Exiled Rebel

My great great grandfather was once upon a time a monk. Family lore recalls him jumping the gates of the monastery at Mount Melleray and never looking back. Thank god or I wouldn't be here to type this!

He's head of the house on the 1901 and 1911 census but appears to have died by the time the 1926 census was conducted.

The real mystery concerns my great grandfather. He's on the 1901 census but not the 1911 or 1926 versions. He emigrated to America with another famous family story that he swam across the Hudson before returning home and subsequently married a local woman. Again thank god he decided to return home from America!!! He was married by 1926 but he is not recorded living in the townland even though that's where he was residing (the home place recorded in the previous 2 census) at the time of his death in or around 1960.

So now I'm trying to track him down in 1926 (I have a suspect - waiting for family members to confirm). My grandfather was born in August 1926 so wouldn't be recorded on the census but he had a sister or two who were older than him. Incredibly one of his younger sisters is still alive today.

Edit: I found him :)

Post edited by Exiled Rebel on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭55Gem

New Kilmainham according to the map.

https://nationalarchives.ie/collections/search-the-1926-census/search-results/#ded__icontains=New+Kilmainham&limit=30&townland=Ring+Street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Here's the link: https://nationalarchives.ie/collections/search-the-1926-census/

As a 50 year old, it's mad looking at it and seeing that your grandparents were born in the 19th century (I already knew that, but seeing that they were aged 35 and 40 years old 100 years ago is fascinating).

People I went to school with are grandparents, but mine were dead before I was born. No, I'm not looking for a "sorry for your loss". I never knew them.

What made me a little bit sad was the high death rate of children at the time.

I've only looked at my mother's side (my father's father's name is fairly common), and I've already seen two aunts and an uncle who died at a young age. They were born 10 to 17 years before my mother.

Anyway, enjoy your search.

Also, my father's side are from Dublin, so those records are a bit rare.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,869 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

@Terry

I've moved your post to this thread as the 1926 Census is a live discussion and there's no need to have multiple threads on the same topic.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

1% Irish speakers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Rmulvany

I've found a couple of records which have transcription mistakes, for the 1901/1911 records you could suggest corrections, has anyone found similar for the '26 census?

E.g., 8month old transcribed as 80year old (thought I located an extra grandparent)!, and the surname Gallaghley entered as Gallagher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Yes, me too …

Several transcription errors which include two wrong birth dates, a missing letter from a Surname and a small address error. I guess with such a big job, transcription errors are bound to happen.

Of course, there were bound to be some errors. The majority of records I've seen are perfect (and already so much new information to add to the fam tree!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Kalimah

I found my 27 year old grandmother - she was a boarder in a house on Oxmantown Road. I wondered why she was there until I found that the woman of the house was born in the same place in Wexford so they might have been related somewhere along the line.
    Another interesting thing was a lady living in my great grand uncle’s house in Leinster Road. She was described as a cousin but her name meant nothing to me. I couldn’t find her in 1901 or 1911 but I did find her in baptism records in 1858 and I saw the connection there in one of her sponsor’s names. Mystery solved. Possibly a second cousin looking at her age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,291 ✭✭✭jos28

Having great craic altogether, it's great to see what my clan were all up to since 1911. I can't find my maternal Grandmother anywhere. Herself and her husband were both from North Dublin. I found him in the Curragh as a soldier but no sign of her anywhere. They were married in 1924, I searched her married and maiden names but no luck. Any tips ?

I found a few mistakes as well. When I previously reported mistakes in the 1911 census, I don't think they were corrected for several years.

I found it interesting the number of single unmarried adults living at home, up to their early 30s. I was always under the impression people married much younger. But that may have been in the 50, 60, 70s when housing became more available.

It was mentioned above that people often went to America and came back again. One Grandfather did that, coming back after 2 or 3 years. He would tell us that no matter were you were in the world, you would meet someone you knew from Ireland. He had bumped into an old neighbor in San Francisco. At first I could not find him, so thought he was out of the country, as was in his early 20s. Found him living with and working for his mother, when I searched for her name.

"Data issues are particularly apparent in Donegal." Oh great 😂 Something to look forward to when I get to the Donegal branch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭tuisginideach

de Hindeberg bocht!

What should I do if I spot an error in the 1926 Census?

If you notice something in the 1926 Census that looks incorrect, you don’t need to contact us directly. The National Archives is carrying out a structured programme of updates, and any refinements or corrections will be reviewed and added as part of this ongoing process. This approach helps us ensure that improvements are applied consistently across the entire dataset, while allowing our team to focus on completing the remaining transcription and quality‑assurance work for all users.

Post edited by tuisginideach on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭tuisginideach

On the bottom of a page I'm interested in is what looks like a stuck-on piece of paper (probably size of modern post-it) with (what looks like) the handwritten words in red 'Change Gang Punch' - can anyone advise what that's about?

Thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭crossman47

Possibly an instruction that belongs to the processing of the Census?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,414 ✭✭✭oceanclub

I found in the Census that my great-grandmother Mary Walsh nee Byrne says she was born in Glenealy, Co. Wicklow. Is there a way of seeing the Catholic baptism records for that particular town? Or does it just come under the "Wicklow" parish