France Ferry & Campsite info (use Search function) mod warning post 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,979 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

yes, but aside from getting the pick of the cabins, at least you get on the ferry.

We had the strange happening last christmas with Brittanny that they had a large ferry scheduled (one of the new chinese ones) that had obviously loads of cabins left, where I could book for one person and a car and get any cabin i wanted, but more passengers than that would somehow exceed what the ferry "could carry".
    It seems they run some services on a minimum staffing or to a certain number of passengers that allows them to swap in a smaller ferry, hard to know…. either way if I booked earlier I would have got on the ferry with the family rather than a day earlier with Irish ferries as the alternative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭McSween

anyone know if there is still a microwave on wb yeats which can be used to reheat food. I dont think i can stomach the canteen food for both journeys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 iforgotmyusername

Yes there is.

We ate in the brasserie last year and it was very tasty, expensive but very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 iforgotmyusername

Anyone else thinking they might not be going anywhere this summer with possible fuel shortages???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,043 ✭✭✭✭josip

Nope, still going :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,464 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

People will be up there a week or two in advance with campervans!

The roads often close the evening before, depending on how much through traffic usually goes on the road.

Which stage?

I'd advise bringing bikes and cycling half way up the route on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,835 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Sail into Bilbao and head up to Luz Saint Saveur in the Pyrenees. It's at the foot of the Col du Tourmalet and not too far either from Luz Ardiden and Hautacam. I brought the bike with me a few years back and we stayed at Eurocamp Airotel Pyrenees. The place is wedged at TDF time and I don't know how far ahead you would need to book. But if you've any interest at all in road cycling, which you obviously have, I would definitely check it out. In the centre of Luz they have something akin to the Hollywood walk of fame, and all the greats who conquered the Col are remembered in this little town.

Just getting itchy thinking about it now and I might just dust off the Bianchi again and get it set up for 2027 perhaps 🚴🚴‍♀️🚴‍♂️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭webpal

We will be around Barcelona for the grand depart so was thinking of heading up the mountains for stage 3, I won’t have a bike just a rental car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭Jerry Atrick

Did you go up the Tourmalet morning of the stage or did you stay in Luz? How did you get up the Tourmalet? Bike up early seems the only option but we have a 6 and 8yo with us, might be too much of an ask!

I couldn't get a spot in Luz to stay at the time of the climb. A week later however and everything had moved on and there was plenty of accommodation. We stayed in the above place for 12 nights and there was a great buzz around the place with all the fans from the different countries being about.

The Tour will be descending into Luz before heading out towards Gavarnie (which is a spectacular ending in a National Park) but be aware that it is a cul de sac.

Now, you could drive through on the morning and park up on the Col de Tentes and spin all the way down with the kids to Gavernie, let them watch the tour fly by then an adult cycle back up somehow the Col de Tentes to collect the car.

Another option is to turn off at Gavarnie-Gedre towards the Cirque du Tromouse and then spin back to Gavernie-Gedre, which would be more manageable on the return bike journey for an adult. There are two short ramps just after Gedre if memory serves me correct that would let the kids see the action.

Or just try and get a viewing point in Luz as they come past at 60km an hour?

Gavarnie is stunning. I recall that lovely walk from the small village at the entrance and down towards the lake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭Jerry Atrick

We're staying in that site during the Tour but would love to get up the Tourmalet for the stage. Wonder is it feasible with 3 kids, might just watch up the road from Luz on a small climb

No. It's a long aul drag even for a regular cycling adult. It actually gets easier near the top.

Ebikes could be an option but I'd say anything around there will be booked out well in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,580 ✭✭✭✭the_amazing_raisin

Bit of a random question folks, how long would ye plan to drive per day heading across France?

E.g. if the satnav reckoned on a 16 hour drive would you go for 2 or 3 days driving?

How would you find kids handle the journey, are they fed up by day 2 or is it easy enough to keep them entertained?

"The internet never fails to misremember" - Sebastian Ruiz, aka Frost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Citizenpain

For mine , it would be more important that we are not in the car a few days in a row and have several days between the journeys . 1 day on the road with a good break every 2-3 hours seems to be acceptable 😃

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭Baybay

Our journey through France is in or around 11 hours. We’ve shared driving & done it in one go, we’ve shared driving & had one or two night stops en route. The big issue for us was the time of day getting off the ferry. It’s just a bit late & then there’s lunch & the day heats up & while everyone wants to get there, everyone also wants to get out of the car!

The children got to play games, watch movies etc on their devices which they enjoyed, one read which made me ill even to look at, we’d sing & there were also naps, at all ages! We’d play games for pocket money for their holiday, like spot the reg where they’d have to find the local department numbers of our destination or Irish regs from our own county or after a while just Irish regs. Sometimes older children can be more difficult!

Ideally, I think maybe a four hour drive in the cool of the morning before lunch in a place where there’s a playground or a park or just somewhere nice to relax a bit in the shade so a good break can be enjoyed by all. Then maybe a three or four hour drive to an overnight stop that has a pool. Two days driving would be enough for me, don’t think I’d want to face into a third, unless it was short enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

We're going to Port de Plaisance this year, any suggestions/tips on days out/things to do? Kids will be just turned 5 & 3 by then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭oinkely

we did a big trip from bilbao across the south of france to Savona in Italy and then up to Lake Annecy, on to paris and home from Cherbourg last year over 5 weeks. We had the caravan so slightly different but we found one long day driving was better than two shorter days as the set up and pack up took half a day anyway.

Kids were 16,14 and 11. Older two passed the time reading and watching movies / episodes of stuff on their phones and younger one had a portable dvd player that was great, along with some reading etc.

We could manage 8 to 9 hours if needed and did a few times as we had a lot of ground to cover. This was split up with departing around 9, drive for around 2.5 hours and then a rest break at an aire de service, another 2 hours to a lunch break at an aire, followed by 3 or four hours with a leg stretch when needed.

Initially we had planned more stops with max 5 hours driving in a day per google maps but adding on 20 to 25% as we were towing the caravan. We ditched this as one night stop with the caravan wasn't really a break and we figured out that a big day driving worked best for us with at least 3 nights in between big stints.

We did all our driving on motorways so in France the aire network made the stops very easy. Found Italy to be rubbish in that regard but thankfully we had shorter drives in Italy. I had to do all the driving as wife doesn't have a trailer licence. The tiredness at the end of a long day is staggering at times. Luckily the fridge in the caravan meant I could keep a supply of ice cold coke on hand for when i really needed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,043 ✭✭✭✭josip

Depends on the age and how many kids and how used you are to long distance driving. Also when you plan journeys using Google maps, get the estimated time for the day/time you will be travelling, not at 11pm at night when most parents are planning their holiday. Watch out for French travelling days.

16 hours is a 2 dayer if you've small kids. The important thing is that when you have them asleep keep going. Ignore your own hunger/bladder (but not tiredness). Audiobooks are great for keeping them calm without having them wired zombies from too long on the screens.

The Bulgarians who work in Switzerland/Germany/Austria would do that as an overnighter. Set out at 6pm, kids bedded in by 10, 160 where they can, pray to the border gods, arrive around 8am. Turks would also make use of the night, but its a 2 dayer for most of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭EletricMan

Port de plaisance is a nice camp, lovely pools, large supermarket next door they sell cooked chickens and everything it's very good. Also a bakery next to the supermarket is lovely.

They sell baked goods in the site shop too but you need to get early get them. We visited the wall city of Concarneau was a nice day out, maybe 30min drive. Parking was hard to find it was very busy so go early maybe.

The kids got pick and mix sweets inside the walled city, they enjoyed it but my wallet not so much 😅.

Benodet is a nice town too, maybe 30 min walk or you can drive in and park.

Les Benodettes is a nice coffee shop, which was about the only one I could find.

https://maps.app.goo.gl/ERCEpNCzDNK4YYFZ6?g_st=ac

Manege Ricordel T. & Monfort F. Is an old kids fairground ride they will enjoy that

https://maps.app.goo.gl/joXDpJnYrrb9gEU49

A Nice Italian if your kids are like mine and love pasta is La Dolce Vita. You need to make a booking as it is very busy. Went four times last year and was lovely.

https://maps.app.goo.gl/uMBEitExUTxnSMwW9?g_st=ac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭spuddy

We do an annual trip, it's 5 hrs according to google, but with a couple of pitstops you're talking 6 - 6 1/2 hrs. Our kids are <10 and that's about as much driving as any of us can handle in a day. It's not hard to drive on the continent but you do need to have your wits about you. If I was doing that trip, I'd it over 3 days, no question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,544 ✭✭✭✭fits

we did a trip from Roscoff to near Bordeaux last year. Google has it as a 7.5 hour drive. It took us 12 at least. And that was on a Sunday. Saturdays in summer are mad. But we preferred to get it over and done with.

https://subscriptions.boards.ie

Subscribe and save boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

Either you were in no rush and taking long breaks or something went drastically wrong for that drive to take over 12 hours. How in the name of god did it take that long?

eh have you ever driven in France? Traffic, road work, rest stops, it all adds up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

I usually goto La sables D’olonnee about 3-3.5 hours North of Bordeaux and trip is usually 5-6 hours from roscoff (says 4.30 hours but I factor in stop and usual some delays). I usually think of it as 6 hours all in (can’t remember it being worse) Generally try not to stop for long as my lads can take the journey and we all like to get into the pool as quick as we can!

Mayhe it’s busier on the Bordeaux end but that does sound a lot.

eh that’s pretty much the same ratio of actual to predicted journey time.

I looked it up. Ferry got into Roscoff at 7 and we got to the destination at 5 pm so it was a bit less. 745 km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

Not really, my Journey is usually 5 hours , plus added hour for charge and stop. Your distance isn’t over double mine.

No need to go around in circles on the point , I believe what you said, I’m just surprised by the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 285 ✭✭cscook

we did Biscarrosse to Roscoff one year, I think it was about eight hours and we had to leave our car outside the campsite and carry everything out in the morning to make an early start. Even then Bordeaux definitely slowed us down and we didn't have enough time for proper breaks. We could barely walk when we stopped at Armor & Argoat aire, we were so stiff. Since then we've always done an overnight on longer trips, and just made it part of the experience. Sometimes two nights and take a visit somewhere.