The Late Late Show ?? .... Going From Bad to Worse ?? ...

• 17-04-2026 06:35AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭

The Late Late Show seems to live at present in a land of its own …… going from bad to worse ….. becoming increasingly irrelevant to people …… it is true that this show should have been 'retired' long ago …. but instead has plodded on and on ….. way past its sellby date …..

Tonight we get some sort of mini Eurovision style competition of pop singer/bands ….. the prize ?? …. to be the opening act for a Canadian pop singer called Shania Twain who was prominent in the 1990s but who is doing a tour here ….. last week we had more lightweight stuff …. and the week before the same …. and all the weeks before that the same …..

Intelligent discussion on this show has been replaced by Z-list podcasters and 10th rate 'comedians' one never heard of …… when that is not happening it is interviewing other TV show hosts incl Pat Kenny the former Late Late Show host ….. Now the current host Kielty is the worst yet ….. and has turned the show into an almost total lightweight celebration of all things inane and disposable …..

Kielty's predecessors like Ryan Tubridy or Kenny at least had some discussions on that were of interest ….. but Kielty seems to just emphasise the worst of the Kenny and Tubridy era but make the whole show into it ….. a new host is needed or better still just drop this show altogether …… it has run its course ….. and has become just a poor copy of the poor quality US trash shows like Seth Meyers hosted by comedians …… comedians do not make good chat show hosts and that has been proven by Meyers in the US …. his anti Trump jokes are the only good bit! ….. let alone Kielty here …..

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

When likely took over the production staff should have been revamped as well. Tge show was spiralling under Tubridy and they’d started to rely on specials. However Tge once great Late Late Special which was rare and reserved fur celebrations of lifelong careers with contributions from other genuine legends got dumbed down into country, valentines, GAA etc speciajs happening every year. There adding more and more.

There aren’t the celebrities to go arrive now as well. Time was any celeb flogging a book or movie had to schlep to Dublin for an appearance but now they come as far as London and summon anyone interested. Garbo did have a strong personal relationship with some celebs and could get them on just for a chat at times. That’s all gone now.

The show is fecked but it’s using specials and country music competitions to try and keep its head above water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,862 ✭✭✭touts

There is a lad on the radio at the moment who is competing in the new country music star special tonight.

He just talked about how he toured America in 2016 and played the Grand Old Opry. I don't know what the team producing the Late Late do all week but research doesn't seem to be part of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Migdal_Or

Stopped watching it ages ago. It's had its day.

They do, trust me. They were probably short of suitable candidates, and this lad was the best fit they could find.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

I know country music is having a resurgence but Country and Irish really is the bottom of the barrel. With the Late Late I sometimes think if enough of the country were far right nationalist racist fascists the Late Late would be running a Goose stepping competition to find Ireland’s best Goose stepper. It’s really gone that bad. I think there’d be no harm in a show like the original mixing entertainment and curiosity segments with political slots talking to alternative voices, again with audience participation and panel free to air their views but that might be too “dangerous” now. What we have now is very safe to the extreme. Gay Byrne was the G Ryan of his day often presenting uncomfortable segments for establishment Ireland. There is still room for that but feck out the stupid specials and playing to the bottom of the barrel competitions first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,633 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

So there's no guests on tonight's show just this mini Country music talent show?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth 8-bit

Plus ca change so

Under Gay Byrnes tutelage, one in six shows were musical hooleys

If ye didn't like them, well just fecc off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭lumphammer2

I feel that it is all just pop music now …… Shania Twain is defo a pop singer and nothing else ….. those modern Irish singers market themselves in different ways ….. but aren't they all from the boyband/girlband gene pool originally ??? …. the wannabe Westlifes and Boyzones that didn't make it ?? Actual country music that was that died years ago …. Heaven forbid a 'who wants to show they can be the best fascist' neo-Nazi Late Late Special !!! …..

I agree that the old format of a mix of different things would be much better ….. now it is all lightweight stuff ….. I for one would be interested in seeing some of these far right personalities confronted and roasted on the show ….. Pat Kenny when he was guest on it suggested the Burkes ….. I'd add in some of these Christopher Duffy/James Geoghegan types and the likes of Derek Blighe ….. failing that get in John Waters !!! ….. I think it is important to get these people into a space where they are not in control of the narrative unlike their online channels ……

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭lumphammer2

Apparently not …… this show is totally out of sync with what is going on in the world ….. not one item to discuss intelligent responses to the extremism of last week ….. or about the underlying causes of it ….. i.e. the dreaded Iran war …… now couldn't people incl Iranians have come onto a special about that ??? ….. didn't Tubridy do specials on the Ukraine situation and the Covid ??? ….

Plus there are obvious guests ranging from President Catherine Connolly to Rose of Tralee Katelyn Cummins that have not been on ….. these would be much more interesting than the z list podcasters they have on the whole time ….. and that Joanne McNally person who cannot be serious for 1 second …..

Yes! That’s why I suggested going back to a mix. You need to confront right wing people head on. The Burke’s are nuts I think but I honestly would like an interview with one or two of them to see what mashes them tick. I think bore were in a weird situation akin to 60s Ireland where the establishment are hoping if you ignore and use the mechanisms of the state against certain groups they’ll just disappear and go away. However that attitude just drives people to their curated social media streams. Nothing unmasks a nutter than forcing them to sit in the same platform as mainstream groups. Ironically the original premise of the latte late is more necessary now than at any tune since the early 80s but it’s not likely to ever take up the mantle now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭waywill1966

You’d think they would have some sort of tribute to Moya Brennan on tonight but not, it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,376 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I watch it if they had proper loons on every week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,336 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I think she was only buried today, so unlikely to be able to get a load of her friends and fellow musicians to attend a LLS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,258 ✭✭✭brian_t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 FruitSaladGuy

When's the last good entertainment show RTE made? Yeah, me neither.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 bpotogo

The funny thing is, the one thing that would make TLLS talked about the following Monday morning around the watercooler again like it were 1992, is to have big studio debates every week about the issues of the day, housing, transgenderisim, immigration, etc etc. Allow both exreams have their say. The other funny thing is that before the internet was mainstream, the likes of Justin Barrett used to be on TLLS, Indeed that's where i first saw him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,887 ✭✭✭✭elperello

People are still watching it.

In the tradition of show business the show must go on.

We can't let the talk show die in a country famous for old chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,811 ✭✭✭StevenToast

I think the Welshman is away at a concert tonight aswell....

So no kittens, not cark or nos da messages.....

That is 90% of all messages on a normal LLS night- Gone!

Post edited by StevenToast on

"SUBSCRIBE TO BOARDS YOU TIGHT CÙNT".....Plato 400 B.C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 bpotogo

As for PK, well you can't really blame him for not exactly setting the country on fire, imagine not even living in this country and having to interview Doireann Garrihy about her new 2fm show or whatever

Look at the state of those idiots. This farce should be cancelled and there should by a Moyà Brennan special or there should be an entire show dedicated to her soon. She’s a genuine legend of Irish music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭bobbyss

When I saw him do the intro immediately after the news -he was 'singing' - the heart sank and I thought 'has it come to this? There is never anything of substance on the programme anymore. Not worth while tuning in to see the fare he is offering. As regards more serious issues, wasn't Piers organ on some time ago and Patrick took hi to task about something he said about Trump and Piers asked him to name one policy of Trump and Patrick just couldn't . It was so embarrassing. But it just showed he is out of his depth in anything other than Norn Iron celebrities, comediennes a bit of GAA and so on.

There was once a time when Gay Byrne would have riveting guests and subjects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,404 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

The Late Show really has gone to crap. Barely any posts in here or the other thread. 5 acts on and only the last two were in anyway decent. I think Ryan Phonix the last act will win. I think its fixed too.

The judges are a joke..

Una Healey just picked the worst act and I have no idea who the other judges are. Two for the first act which was the worst act. What a joke. The third fellow pivked the 4th act which was not bad. Certainly brtter thsn the first act and the 4th Judge also picks Jesse. So two judges who at least know something about music Una Healey and the other man though should be ashamed of themselves. They havent a clue.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭Shifty Shellshock

just tuned in tonight first time in ages. Absolute state of it all. How cheap and thoughtless has this show gone? As the cronies they have on it. Una Healy, for God sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Alfaguy

I remember Gay Byrne himself commenting about 30 years ago when a very young Kielty was on the show that he saw him as his future successor to host his show. So I thought well if Gay thought that back then he might be good at it. But he isn't. He seems to be just going through the motions and looks a bit disinterested like it's all a bit beneath him. A very bland presenter. So no matter how good the guests the show won't do with Kielty presenting.

But as people said the show should have been axed when Gay Byrne left as any future presenters of it were just in a no win situation no matter what by being constantly compared to Byrne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭1992ChainGang

Watched it tonight for the first time in ages, Patrick definitely looks like he wont be doing this gig after whatevers left of this series, but to be fair he's given nothing to work with.

I remember when he first took over as host they tried do things like have cameras outside peoples houses watching the show and they'd win a prize etc and at leasrt they tried bring a new element to it but obviously that's fallen off. I can see them "resting" the show for a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,811 ✭✭✭StevenToast

They need to bin it in its current form.

Have a late late show with episodes periodically, obviously keep the toy show with the odd tribute show etc...

Maybe 10 - 12 max in the year with a special guest presenter each episode......no need for a permanent host...

Its an absolute joke at the moment.

"SUBSCRIBE TO BOARDS YOU TIGHT CÙNT".....Plato 400 B.C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Woeful is the word that comes to mind when discussing the RTÉ Late Late Show.

Out of date, stale, past it, predictable, embarrassing and cringe are other words that come to mind. Jaysus begorrah, surprised Backhurst hasn't pulled the plug on the thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth 8-bit

Bakehurst has taken the soup a long time ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭tradfan1

They should never have mentioned there would be a tribute to her because it was not a tribute. I stayed watching just for that but it was pathetic - better off not saying anything and having an actual tribute show to her before the end of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

It's just a very lightweight tacky show now like something that should be on virgin media 3.

🙈🙉🙊

Shame on them. They’d have been better off doing nothibg but leaving it a week or two and giving her a tribute show like she richly deserves. Instead it seems like 2 hours of shíte cover versions. A big Karaoke competition. I only saw 30 seconds but caught some young wan doing a crap boringly predictable version of Pink Pony Club. It’s one thing not having the stars coming on and having to pad with the canteen and cheapening your show in the process but specials like this just are the nail in the coffin really.

Post edited by squonk on