Fuel Protest (Read MOD NOTE on first post)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

Anyone see an RIP.ie notice for the protestor who supposedly died?

They’re all up in arms over it and using it to further their agenda. Haven’t heard anything more about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

Did he die during the protest?

Who is up and arms about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,700 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

A guy in Warwickshire is reported to have died, and this is being used by the likes of Duffy to call for the government to be abolished, they all have blood on their hands etc etc etc.

I'd ask how they could stoop so low, but Duffy is the guy that wanted a teenage girl to be raped, so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

You’re asking me as if I know the answer to my own question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭Get Real

Thought this too.

At the time of the blockades, petrol prices in Europe were more expensive in the following places: Germany, Netherlands, France, Greece, Finland and Denmark.

Where were any of them blockading?

Particularly Greece, with a minimum wage of 900quid a month, which has petrol at 2.10 per litre currently.

I mean...Ireland is bad for a lot of things, but we're at worse, bang average for fuel prices. Below other countries with similar income levels.

You have people quoting "cheap" prices in Spain, Hungary etc. But after salary and purchasing power parity is taken I to account, it's all very much the same.

I haven't seen any other countries in the EU kick off as much yet.

So going forward, when (not if) prices are higher or there's scarcity issues, will there be more self sabotage over something that's a global issue?

To see that even the French. -The famous, yellow vest, strike loving, flight and train cancellations at the drop of a hat- haven't piped up yet, is staying something.

This has now taken on legs of its own, with all sorts jumping on. And when prices rise or fuel becomes scarce, they'll be out again, to save face.

And sure now John Dallon, one of the original organisers has said "I have no control over it"

Farcical. An admission that other groups and people with vested interests have jumped in. And now that it's gone awry, he washes his hands of it.

He and others were in it for the farmers and hauliers. Fair enough. But the way it was done, the "we're all together" bollocks. He's running for the hills now, admitted himself. Having created something now that others have come upon, and will be pushing for at the drop of a hat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭George White

Now MHR caught introducing a pro-sitka spruce greenwashing children's book being dist. to schools… https://bsky.app/profile/robosullivan.bsky.social/post/3mjkz3zp6tk2g Made by Sindall construction company no less.

Has he even been to a sitka farm? They're nothing but dead spaces. No animals or plants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,865 ✭✭✭standardg60

As above a guy in England whose pic was posted by West midlands police looking for a missing person has somehow become a protester who took his own life.

There are some nefarious actors at play here to come up with such vile disinformation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭robwen

I'd be looking for a refund if I was dumb enough to donate to anything set-up by this charlatan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭midlander12

Speaking of thuggery, it's nice to see some on the left prepared to call it out. No doubt a strong statement will soon follow from the leader of the main opposition party. 😁

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/s ... 12291.html

Soc Dems lodge formal complaint as Helen McEntee accuses Independent Ireland TDs of misogyny and ‘barking down’ female colleagues

OTOH, there was a crowd out at a Cork courthouse to cheer some dude charged with going bananas with a tractor and slurry tank. Funny (scary?) little country we live in.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/c ... 65811.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭ISOP

This stunt of pretending that protester died is some going, this Duffy chap is some creep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭nachouser

It's all just facebook nonsense. Fuel prices will drop back to normal. FFG aren't going to be ousted. Fuel rationing is another nonsense fear that is being posted on FB. It won't happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,667 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

What alternatives are there if we want to grow timber, for construction use, here in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,089 ✭✭✭50HX

Scots pine would be a native softwood timber to here...how it compares v sitka for production volume i dont know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,667 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Nothing grows as fast as sitka, and I doubt if there would be much life on the forest floor with any conifer planted on a commercial basis due to the density of plants, I had to plant about an acre of Norway spruce due to a low lying frost pocket, it's planted 8 years now and nothing is surviving among it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭eastie17

yeah pretty ridiculous in Midleton, about 100 people showed up to cheer on the agri muppet who refused to stop at multiple Garda checkpoints in his tractor with full slurry tank heading towards whitegate.

It’s the usual , ah he’s a lovely lad localisation bullshit that poisons this country. I’m sure there was plenty of women and babies that ended up in the laundries or worse with that twisted logic.
    let him go to jail ta **** or at a minimum, or be off the road for a few years with a decent fine. Absolute clown and there is no way any normal citizen of the state can support that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭BP_RS3813

He also put a video up on FB literally stating he stands by his comments. Disgusting Man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,790 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

The point of the carbon tax is to increase the cost of fuel such that people will be incentivised to use more sustainable fuels or modes of transport

In that sense it doesn't matter where the tax money goes after it's collected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,447 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Of course it does. Collecting the tax only to refund it is a waste of time and money.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭InAtFullBack

Selfish bastards? C*nts?

These are the same people who after Storm Owyn, the heavy snow of Jan 2025, The beast from the east, Floods, etc… used their tractors to clear roads of snow, blockages and fallen trees. Brought people through flooded roads to appointments, get shopping, etc…

All while the state did feck all.

My how some folk have very short memories indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,157 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Can still be selfish if you're obstructing people from going to medical appointments, obstructing emergency services and blocking critical infrastructure. If it had continued into this week, you'd have had a seriously pissed off public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

Oh the irony.

As do the Army for many decades now. Under ATCA. And no farmers and hauliers whinged and shrieked that the Army was being called out on them. But when they perform the exact same role, this time to the civil power and not the civil authority, under ATCP, the vast majority of softboy bully blockaders lose their minds; and the Opposition who should know better at a moment of peril for the State, proceed to tar the longtime agreed mechanisms with the same brush...

Most of those TDs and Senators being thus disingenuous, making hay off of a powderkeg situation with guaranteed external interference mixed in, but indeed more than a handful genuinely as thick as a bucket of rocks.

Oh the irony indeed. 😏

Delete

Whatever the Healy Raes eat down in Kerry seems to produce a wealth of planks.

He was the right man for forestry no doubt.

You're not refunding it on a like-for-like basis though. Those who drive EVs for example don't pay the tax but would still get the same value cheque as the driver who puts €150 a week into his pickup truck. Therefore habbits might start changing

As it currently stands about 75% of the carbon tax goes on grants for retrofitting and sustainable transport to individuals who could probably afford the products without grants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,337 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

As it currently stands about 75% of the carbon tax goes on grants for retrofitting and sustainable transport to individuals who could probably afford the products without grants.

So it is just another tax on the have nots?

Hardly what you would call progessive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,048 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cx2e8wevpwyo

On social media First Minister Michelle O'Neill called on Sir Keir Starmer to act.

Got some laugh out of that. SF are the very opposition that the Facebook mobs believe will transform the south of Ireland.

On a side note PSNI have this well under control. No fear of it escalating into a groups of lawless mobs like happened here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,020 ✭✭✭almostover

Seems like some of the low life thugs who targeted individual Gardai with online threats are going to get their justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,447 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

No more than if you continued the current policy. Your posts on this make no sense.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

I never called it progressive. Progressive taxation, that is to say a tax on somebodies ability to pay, is not what the carbon tax is. Some argue that because the other 25% goes towards the free retrofitting of houses for the lower paid etc that it is progressive but as nice and all as that is it's technically not the definition of progressive taxation

In 2025 the carbon tax brought in €1.176bn and we have about 2m cars on our road. That's a cheque of €588 for every road user, regardless of the fuel you fill your car with, to spend however you want. Is that not better than the current deal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,337 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

In 2025 the carbon tax brought in €1.176bn and we have about 2m cars on our road. That's a cheque of €588 for every road user, regardless of the fuel you fill your car with, to spend however you want. Is that not better than the current deal?

When do I get this cheque?