Munster Team Talk Thread - Beirne After Reading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,576 ✭✭✭✭phog

The IRFU is responsible for the vetting off their employees and volunteers involved in rugby in Ireland. While a spokesman for the IRFU might not want to say they hired him they cannot say they didn't pass his vetting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭darkened_scrum

You have zero actual knowledge of any IRFU vetting procedures, if they vet/who they vet etc etc and are just making this up, correct?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,630 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

I don't care what a spokesman said, I don't believe that the IRFU doesn't have the power to stop Munster from making any signing or to rescind a contract (see Chris Farrell). There is no way that I believe that the couldn't have stopped this signing if they so wished.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,951 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

They couldn't have stopped it if they didn't know about it. While I'm sure they could rescind it now they can't absolve Munster of their contractual requirements i.e. they'll still have to pay him.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 45,410 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

https://www.the42.ie/roger-randle-munster-7014303-Apr2026/

Munster are the ones directly in control of the appointment of their assistant coaches, whereas provincial head coach roles are IRFU appointments.

“This appointment was made by Munster Rugby and did not require IRFU approval,” said the IRFU in a brief statement.

QED

Jager back in a 6-2 bench

Munster Rugby: Shane Daly; Calvin Nash, Tom Farrell, Alex Nankivell, Andrew Smith; Jack Crowley, Craig Casey; Jeremy Loughman, Diarmuid Barron, Michael Ala’alatoa; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne (C); Tom Ahern, John Hodnett, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Lee Barron, Michael Milne, Oli Jager, Edwin Edogbo, Brian Gleeson, Ben O’Donovan, Dan Kelly, Alex Kendellen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

In the press conference, McMillan says that he is well aware of the supporters or people's opinion's of the Randle appointment. He says that Randle is someone loved by family and people who have worked alongside him. He was asked about whether he anticipated the reaction of supporters or others, and he said that he couldn't jump into the minds of others, so no. He says that Munster fans who disagree with the appointment should put their trust in him. He trusts Randle unequivocally. He's been in touch with Randle since yesterday, and he is aware of the challenges, but he is still excited by the opportunity to work with Munster.

very strong bench

happy to see Smith back in the lineup, but I always have a tinge of fear when I see Daly's name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭budhabob

Just listened to the press briefing there - tbf McMillan was quite up front on most of the question, a bit fluffy on what the due diligence contained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭theVersatile

This is so far from ideal - but I don't believe the IRFU in the slightest when they say they have zero say in this deal.

Every other Munster appointment in recent memory has been presented as "Munster and the IRFU are pleased to announce" - see links below. It seems like nonsense to suddenly act like they have no purview at all when it comes to assistants.

https://www.munsterrugby.ie/2022/05/04/mike-prendergast-to-join-munster-rugby-as-attack-coach/

https://www.munsterrugby.ie/2025/06/20/alex-codling-named-as-new-munster-forwards-coach/

https://www.munsterrugby.ie/2022/06/01/denis-leamy-confirmed-as-munster-rugby-defence-coach/

https://www.munsterrugby.ie/2024/12/17/mossy-lawler-signs-two-year-contract-extension/

Something just doesn't seem right.

If I had to guess, I'd say the IRFU had issues re: Randle's past and McMillan/Costello kicked up a fuss about not having free reign - and that as a solution the IRFU signed off on condition that they'd be absolved of any involvement.

Obviously this is firmly in tin foil hat territory but the alternative just doesn't really make sense. Some will say I'm reading too much into the wording of the statements but the whole thing is undeniably a calamitous sh*tshow of the highest order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,870 ✭✭✭sprucemoose

i was prepared to give mcmillan time to build something positive despite how poor the season has gone despite the early results, but i dont want him coaching munster anymore at this stage. he seems to be the one pushing most for this appointment and even if he had somehow managed to get the team to winning everything in sight, i dont want someone like that involved with the club i support

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭ShineyShiney

Jackson, Olding, Farrell, Coulson, Reese. The IRFU have a consistent position in relation to contracting anyone with any potential questions in this area.

Why ANYONE at Munster would even consider this appointment is beyond me.

Do people not have wives and daughters? This isn't acceptable. Before anyone starts with the denying the right to work shite Munster have no obligation to employ anyone they don't wish to.

This will end badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭shinana abu

Accused only...

..you are judge and jury

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭darkened_scrum

Quoting a post from elsewhere:

Indo podcast has it that Costello, Flanagan and McMillan bypassed the committee to hire him, then presented it to the committee as a done deal, all signed up. Strikes me as the kind of move you make if you think they might block it

Absolutely insane way to run an organization. Costello and Flanagan should be out on their ear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

completely different situation.

all texts were evident as evidence.

people here are going off a 30 year old newspaper article.

whoooosh

Which leads us to McMillan flexing his muscles here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭bingobango12

Whether he did the crime or not isn’t fully relevant in this case in my opinion. As you said it’s 30 years ago so realistically nobody is going to get to the truth at this stage.

It’s the absolute mess that Munster have brought themselves into. Anybody with half a brain cell would have known this would bring a sh*tstorm and one Munster definitely don’t need right now. It’s a crazy appointment and going to add to the circus that is happening at that club right now.

To make it worse, if the reports are correct and Munster bypassed the usual process of going through the IRFU, they are completely on their own with this one, and fan sentiment alone will likely mean people at the top will be forced to resign.

A complete mess they have brought onto themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭VayNiice

It never went to trial because the woman was told she would be seen as mentally unstable and not believed - remember it was the 90s. She never withdrew the accusation and the medical examination detailed that there was evidence consistent with rape, along with his DNA.

He wouldn't be the first questionable character to have a successful rugby career in NZ but I'd like to think we hold ourselves to a higher standard than that here. How on earth this hiring went ahead is crazy.

McMillan, Costello and Flanagan bypassed their own PGB. Hence the 3 lads quit. Never mind the IRFU who have washed their hands of it.

If Munster fans want their club to be run properly then they should boycott season tickets and demand management changes on the admin side. Its becoming clearer to me that McMillan was promised stuff upon appointment and is getting it now.

McMillan bigging up Randle as "an outstanding human being" reeks of trying too hard to protect his man.

Wouldn't be too surprised if McMillan finds himself back in NZ this side of xmas and The IRFU send in Simon Easterby and maybe even Paul OConnell on an interim basis at some point.

One reason Billy Holland may has resigned is his wife is a director of the cork rape crisis centre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭MarinersBlues

Professional rugby players, coaches and managers are idolised by kids.

He will be part of a team where kids, boys and girls in formative years, in the throes of learning about relationships, will be celebrating and lauding him when he does well at his job. At that age it is difficult to separate different aspects of a person. Most adults know that being a good rugby player/coach does not automatically mean you are a role model in all aspects of life. Children teens and some adults don't distinguish like that.

Connacht were stopped from signing Reece on this basis, I thought that was fair at the time. Given the player he turned out to be I am delighted that my children and younger relatives aren't exposed to this discussion every time Connacht have a big match.

He can work in any job where he is not a visible role model to impressionable people on a weekly basis. If he is innocent that is unfortunate, but life isn't always fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,011 ✭✭✭almostover

This is the crux of it really. We have no idea if this man is guilty or not of the alleged crime. But it was hardly worth the risk of bringing him into the setup given all the other turmoil currently going on in the club. There are enough issues currently without bringing an issue of morality into the mix. Surely there were other good attack coaches available without this sort of baggage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,009 ✭✭✭Ben Bailey

It's always worth keeping in mind that women & girls also play rugby. You can't be it unless you can see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

I’m good for Easterby tbh.

his handling of the national side in 2025 didn’t do his future head coaching potential any good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Is this information garnered from him directly or have you connected those dots on your own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

I had never heard of this PGB committee before this, what is their remit and how much power do they have? is this the reason we have some many ex players with limited coaching experience in Munster over the years?