No quitten we're whelan onto chitchat 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,881 ✭✭✭straight

I bought 13 a couple of years ago. Glad I did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Agree totally build to your means, when we built the house, laboured at the blocks and pouring the floor and slabbed the inside walls at night etc, the wife painted the house etc, the was done with friends and returned the favour to them. Now a days people don’t work and only want to know when the keys are going to be handed over. The new thing is a project manager to over see he building of a house. A local fella doing that and when he worked on the buildings lads were afraid to let him drive the wheelbarrow. Irish people have become too lazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,748 ✭✭✭Grueller

I was 23 when I built my house. I remember getting a call one Saturday night from 2 friends stuck in town with no taxi to see would I collect them at 4am. Myself and the then girlfriend, now wife, were finishing off tiling the bathroom floor. Thing is, we had the mortgage cleared before kids left primary school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭Packrat

The central problem with ALL farm organisations in this country is that what suits me doesn't suit you, him or her. With the overall number of farms dropping and scale increasing, this will continue to get worse. Smaller numbers who are impacted by one measure or another will lead to smaller weaker protests.

7,500 out of 120,000 farmers affected by nitrates by the article above, yet it was a headline issue because the ICMSA are probably the most formidable organisation left. Their membership is all at the same game and want more or less the same things.

Beef farmers are diverse, with suckler lads summer grazers, 7 month men and contract rearers all kinda included in that group.

Sheep farmers vary from the lad with 30 heavy lowland ewes around the house to people with 600 mountain ewes. Their goals are different, their acreage different, their payments different.

Tillage are a smaller quieter group, with again different interests.

Horticulture and extreme smallholders aren't really represented.

Organic farmers another group.

To add complexity, some of us fit into 2 or 3 brackets. I'd be in mountain sheep and sucklers, but also rare breed and Organic, as well as being the worst type of all - part time.

A lot of the big dairy and Beef farmers dont see us as 'farmers' at all, more like rats scurrying away with "their" payments because of convergence.

There is absolutely no hope that one organisation can represent us all. The IFA purported to at one time, but never really gave a toss about small holders in Leitrim or mountain farms in Kerry which is why most frim these type of operations left.

I used to think that the solution was a 'family farm' movement, but the biggest feedlot or 300 cow dairy farm is usually owned by a "family" even if the sons and daughters couldn't find it to visit.

I don't know….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Similar as well built a timber frame house, trick we were told don’t get your relations to work for you. We got help from farming friends and always had the kettle or a few cans there for the helpers. Also paid the mortgage before finishing national school. Then saved everything for the two lads we have in college now and slowed down the farming due to higher costs and less margin. But it’s a problem the younger generation don’t help one another with work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,748 ✭✭✭Grueller

They also don't have friends in the trades. I have 14 here from 18 to 28 between children, nieces and nephews. I can count on one hand the friends they have that are in the trades or even blue collar jobs. The know how is dying. They don't even get part time jobs in this line of work any more. From the age of 15 to 23 I worked near on half the year with a carpenter and as you know, if you understand plumb, square and level you can do a multitude on a building site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,363 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

The Most important pint of the year. Off to spain. Need the break

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,064 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,404 ✭✭✭roosterman71

We recently moved into our "McMansion". 2300sqft. Too big - for sure but it's what we wanted, saved for, and built. We designed it ourselves - inside and out. We used our own equipment or borrowed what we could. Her father organised the trades men who were all 100% and paid out the gate each Friday. Only exception was the electricians who after more than 30 months since starting still haven't finished. **** them - they ain't getting back. We have 60% of it mortgaged, and the rest paid for through savings over the past 12 years. 12 years in which we paid rent, got married, had 2 kids (one which was born when the roof wasn't on), changed both cars and had a few holidays. Neither of us would be classed as "high paid" but do earn over the average. And that didn't happen by fluke either. We worked damn hard in school/college and in employment to ensure we couldn't not be paid well. Our only borrowing is the mortgage. We don't smoke, rarely have pints, odd takeaway and don't snort powder up the nose either. Don't have fancy phones, multitude of subscriptions or any crazy waste. And we live comfortably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

no pints or takeaway?…….ah now sure thats not living attall……….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭Dupont

rang earlier to book concrete for tomorrow and there’s an €80 surcharge on top for diesel costs. Regardless if it’s a full load or 1 metre. This is on top of €140 of a part load charge then whatever price the concrete is after that. Have yous put any plans for tanks or yards etc on hold or will ye fire away because I’d say it will only get dearer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,007 ✭✭✭kk.man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,404 ✭✭✭roosterman71

I didn't say none, rarely for pints but takeaway a bit more often. Might even have one tonight

OK.
    Not directed at poster in the least but the post.

Something very wrong here.

Is this not the same man in this post where he’s missing as a U.K. veteran ?? Missing from Sutton Coldfield ??

IMG_8949.png

This is a perfect example where agitators on protest groups and far right groups post absolute horrid lies to gain sympathy and turn fools against their government

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

The person supposed to have taken their own life following their part in the protests in Dublin was supposedly from co Meath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,294 ✭✭✭endainoz

Horrific, but goes to show how far these types will go to put out a fake story like that. Also shows how important it is to fact check.

The fact they are spreading lies makes me fairly certain it’s all made up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭older by the day

Well that's good news thankfully.

There's something seriously wrong, because they were talking about the death this morning on Niall prendiville on red fm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭almostover

I wouldn't begrudge anyone a large house. My point was some people just want to have it all, the big SUVs out front, the freestanding bath, the bespoke kitchen, the entertainment wall, landscaped gardens etc. Along with 2-3 foreign holidays per year, designer clothes, personal trainer etc.

There is a couple who are good friends with my wife and myself who built a large house too because they always wanted it. But only some of the rooms are finished and they're doing the house away bit by bit. And they rarely go out foreign, don't drive fancy expensive cars and don't eat out often etc. They have cut their cloth to suit their measure.

There's a choice to be made and some don't like being told that you have to choose and you can't have it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,881 ✭✭✭straight

Is that eejit still rage baiting. Thought he was gone years ago. 🤣🤣

It Just shows how low these guys will go with their disinformation. It's tough when we have to rely on the IFJ for the truth.

He is the best,

The only show in ireland martin will not go on or any FF TD.

He is very good,built a house lately through go fund me, organised the building as well. It was for a family whose house burned down.

The other option is 103fm with Patricia massaging all the Tds egos every morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

When he moved station down here his old station put up billboards saying something like. Don’t go playing with your knob and a picture of a car radio. This was a few years after he had the lad out while on a plane and ended up in court.

You wouldn't want to do much wrong around here 😀

He had too many panodol i think.

To be honest he's probably the best in cork. Everyone has different tastes.

I like sarcasm and dark humour, and he questions, like a terrier tearing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Jb1989

That's from 2019, not taking away from it being a lie, but is this week's suicide true or not, and his he from meath or Sutton Coldfield, where ever that's is. Can't make head nor tale of the replies here.

https://podcasts.apple.com/ie/podcast/the-neil-prendeville-show-corks-redfm/id859901240

Listen for ten minutes and it's discussed that is all I know,

It's the person Diana is replying too, that knows why the put a pic up of a UK veteran but mentioning a suicide. Man in picture is found safe an well from a Google

Tried listen to you link but a load of adds came up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,944 ✭✭✭emaherx

Oh, my bad on the article but guess it still holds true.

Yes still holds true.

Just this suicide is getting mixed up with a lot of other posts, no head or tail to it.