Fuel Protest (Read MOD NOTE on first post)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭JohnDoe2025

https://ec.europa.eu/eurostat/statistics-explained/index.php?title=Road_freight_transport_by_journey_characteristics#Road_freight_transport_performance_by_type_of_operation_(in_tonne-kilometres)

Not just agriculture, Germany's road haulage is more than 20 times the size of Ireland's.

Interestingly, looking at the charts, Ireland's growth in road haulage is the sixth highest on average over the last half decade. Other countries are managing to reduce the amount of road haulage, presumably to address climate change issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,337 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Germany sector is much different. It's not just farming either.

A huge amount of their freight is by train.

Close to 50%, in Ireland it is below 1%.

It really is an apple and anvils comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,636 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

North Tipperary . " the people of North Tipperary keep voting for him " ..

Important distinction as South Tipp has the lovely Mattie !

Just clarifying that despite amalgamation of the two constituencies a while back and it's reversal in 2024 , most people vote for local politicians . The two above named along with the Healy Raes show the value for those particular politicians of parish pump politics . And the value in the main is for those politicians , who are backing both sides , a foot in every camp ,and they appear to be independently wealthy , no matter what recessions or crises throw at their beleaguered constituents .

And they promise to help everybody !

They will always get reelected .

One important issue for MHR was ensuring that the population cap for the new short term rental legislation would not affect all the AirBnB in Killarney and surrounding areas . While Peter Burke denied that this legislation was framed with his and Foley's objections in mind , MHR has taken credit for it very publicly on Social Media .

"Short-term let restrictions will only apply to towns with populations over 20,000 after Government rowback" .

https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/housing-planning/2026/02/10/rowback-on-short-term-let-restrictions-for-small-towns-not-a-result-of-pressure-from-kerry-ministers-says-burke/

Job done there Michael ! ☺️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭GNWoodd

Yes Publish every payment .

I wouldn’t generally care how much the people across the road get in social welfare , but if they have been drawing it down for three generations while others have been breaking their asses at work , maybe it’s time we asked ?
    Most public sector salary scales are available from multiple sources . Once you know what position they hold ( Google )and the approximate length of time that they have held the job , you can go close enough to working out the salary .
    As examples, the above are small beer .

The overall spend is half a billion a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,942 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

I never heard about that AirBnB get out clause. Bad form that the government agreed to that to satisfy Healy-Rae and Foley. Jaysus.

Did Healy-Rae as minister achieve anything from a national perspective?

Martin showed terrible judgement bringing him into the government. He'll take the Monk Hutch in next...

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭creedp

Don’t publicise that practice or H&S will mandate the installation of tachographs on all such vehicles!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,675 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Simple, update the deal and shag him over. What's to stop them taking that loop hole back out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,942 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Norma Foley is also a Kerry minister. A poor one. Disappeared during Covid when minister for Education.

Healy-Rae has a declared interest in 28 properties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭JohnDoe2025

And how do you propose we get around the GDPR aspects?

Look at tit another way, your 151 Octavio would be even more efficient and powerful if it didn’t have all the mandated modern emissions systems built in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭GNWoodd

Why don’t the GDPR aspects apply to the ex post publication of all beneficiaries of Ag subsidies ?
    Simply make it a condition that all State payments are made on the assumption that the name address and amount of each payment is published and remains available for two years from initial publication . Similar to what already happens with even the tiniest of Ag payments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Even if you're a climate change denier, you can't argue that the modern emissions systems aren't a positive for public health and the environment in general. If we didn't have them the decline in pollinating insects (pretty important for agriculture in fairness) would be even more severe…

I'm just curious as to whether farming vehicles have kept up with the rest of the automotive industry in regards to fuel efficiency and if perhaps a tax regime similar to the motor tax where older, inefficient vehicles are taxed to the high heavens and newer, more efficient vehicles avail of more favourable rates in order to get the older, inefficient vehicles taken out of use.

Did I argue that point?

There’s feck all tax on agri vehicles as it stands and revised taxation has only always being prospective

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,791 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Not sure if you remember the flooding around Kerry there a few years ago? The Healy-Raes organised sandbags for the families in low lying areas. A fella I used to work with said he was left waiting by the official council phone number, the boys sorted him in the space of 20 minutes

That's how they get voted in, they get their name associated with things like disaster relief in their constituency and then do f**k all for the rest of the country.

It would be even more powerful again with an electric motor and a battery and would pass all of those pesky emissions mandates that are keeping cancer particles out of your lungs

Moving the goalposts.
    Not disagreeing with you. Terrible how these discussion become so adversarial

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭yagan

I wonder what the protesters will do when fuel rationing arrives.

I suppose that they have to be known to be voted in, especially as independents. People see their good record and reward them with their vote. It's better than the current situation of voting on what a politician promises to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭148multi

Some lads that are fairly big operators will remove the loom once warranty period is up, and fit a loom for the same machine that operates outside the eu bypassing all the sensors and add-ons.

Of course what going out the pipe will not be as clean but a lot less downtime fixing new tech added to engines in late years.

Comparing cars to large tractors or harvesters is like apples and oranges.

Yes smaller farmer tractors have gone like cars with 3 or 4 pot engines putting out good hp with great efficiency, but higher hp you need that older type 6 pot engine for the torque, especially at lower revs, some bigger machinery are burning 15-20 gallons of diesel per hour

They literally caused fuel rationing last week so my guess is they will try to take the credit for it?

Sorry I wasn’t referring to the HR issue but the segway from new ICE technologies to EVs.

Oh right, it was more tongue in cheek than goalpost moving to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I wonder is there even a law against such mods? I suspect that many of these lads are going to regret raising their heads over the parapet for these silly blockades. Even if Gardai don't prosecute them for their crimes, Revnue audits are going to be inevitable and if such mods to their vehicles aren't currently illegal, they're likely to be made so and some equivalent to an NCT introduced fairly lively as word gets out about them.

While of course cars and tractors aren't directly comparable they are both automobiles and possibly more like comparing oranges with lemons ;)

Hopefully if some positive can come out of all this nonsense, it might be a move towards more efficient equipment or towards alternative fuel sources to reduce the impact of geo-politics on our farming industry. Bio-diesel would seem a logical area of investigation to me though I freely admit I'm no expert.

I'm hearing some of the anarchists have been sent €40 fines for parking on the motorway

Seems a very small fine for the disruption they caused

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Yeah Right

No, their aims are unlikely to align. However, the farmers, truckers, hauliers etc. will be fighting their corner and championing their right to cause disruption, including up to and including blockading the fuel depots/blocking the motorways as a means of protest, right?…………………….Right!!!?!?

Bingo. I asked the exact same question earlier in the week and have been met with nothing but radio silence.

What pisses me off big time is the vitriol that has been piled on those that protested and their all being tarred with the same brush .Everyone driving a tractor unit , a tractor or a bus is now; Right wing, a thicko ,thick as pig sh.t etc etc etc. Name your most egregious insult.

First time, eh?

Happens to the best of bus, bud. At one point in time about 10 years ago I was a cyclist, student, civil servant from Dublin who was also an Audi driver and a landlord. Used to get it in the neck every which way I turned. Don't worry, we all do it. Even yourself. Here's you making disparaging, generalised remarks about our indigenous, ethnic sulky racers. Bit of a dig at the traders on Moore St, while we're at it.

Tell me again about being tarred with the same brush……

Anyway, these kind of events are defined by their leaders. If you want people to row in behind you, you better make sure your ducks are all in a row, including vetting whoever is leading your protest. Would you march on the Dáil if Larry Murphy was the Grand Marshall? Or would you be afraid of being associated with a kidnapper/rapist/attempted murderer? What if he wasn't convicted and was just cracking jokes about raping someone? What about an animal abuser and tax dodger, would you join his cause? Because you kinda already did, TBH.

If you don't want these chucklefcuks to be the face of your protest then DO NOT LET THEM BE THE FACE OF YOUR PROTEST. It's really that simple. There are more of you than them. Tell them to GTFO and put someone else in charge or suffer the consequences of your own inaction. If I was protesting anything and the leaders started belting out all manner of guff, I'd fight tooth and nail to make sure everyone was certain that his views weren't representative of mine/the majority.

How does the German saying go?…."if there's a Nazi at the table and ten others are sitting at the table talking to him, what you've got is eleven Nazis"

I prefer the Irish one, pardon the spelling……..An té a luíonn le madraí, eiroidh sé le dearnaid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭aidanodr

Seeing posts like this, this afternoon on likes of Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=26571378889181564&set=g.488184356129025

"Apple green Togher 209.9 at 240pm 8.10am this morning was 207.9, yesterday was 217.9.make it make sense"

it is something i have mentioned here a few times in last few days. It seems when ever the gov takes amounts off the price of fuel it doesnt take it too long to go back to what it was before the reduction. Talking about the prices on Drivetime also.

Be interesting to see how long this Gov reduction lasts. Came in midnight last night ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,675 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Look I'm not finance expert but like there's a whole supply problem thing going on..I'm not sure if anyone's heard of it.

Someone seems to have stopped the supply of 20 percent of the worlds oil capacity which I'm hearing has knock on effects to the procurement of all the other worldly sources and people scramble to buy product elsewhere.

I'm nearly sure this worsens the longer theres an enforced bottle neck.

How can we find out who's causing this bottleneck? Anyone know ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,895 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I don't think

Everyone driving a tractor unit , a tractor or a bus is now; Right wing, a thicko ,thick as pig sh.t etc etc etc. Name your most egregious insult.

But I think it's fair enough to be strongly critical of those who blocked roads and critical national infrastructure.

If they want me to be nice to them don't tell me what roads I can use and make me queue for fuel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭aidanodr

I posted about this earlier today:

Ireland imports 100% of its oil, primarily sourcing crude and refined products from the UK, Norway, and increasingly from North/West Africa and the US.

So it looks like we dont have much direct exposure to whats going on in the strait of hormuz or Iran war. Our oil doesnt come from there.

However what you say here is interesting, had not thought of that:

"Someone seems to have stopped the supply of 20 percent of the worlds oil capacity which I'm hearing has knock on effects to the procurement of all the other worldly sources and people scramble to buy product elsewhere."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,160 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

It relates to corporate interests rather than simply individuals so different rules apply. Companies rightfully don't have the same rights as individuals. This is just a bizarre thing to be so obsessed with. You're noticeably silent on how leading figures in the protests have been failing to pay their own taxes...

The fuel protests are having a larger political impact than I thought. Interesting by elections coming up too.