Fuel Protest (Read MOD NOTE on first post)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭midlander12

How did the today's 'national strike' go, I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,945 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Yeah sure. Nobody is accountable. That's the FFG motto. Not even the minister of state for the OPW. He sure fooled you when he ran away from that one whereas Paschal admitted to being embarrassed by the bike shed spend. I don't vote SF and they are not in government.

We should get a report on it maybe...

FFG voters....I am alright Jack lovers of mediocrity.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,637 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Have we had the usual "lessons learned" rubbish yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,945 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

No. Not this time. O'Donovan was minister for the OPW for 4 years but when asked about the bike shed spend just stated "I wasn’t responsible for it". An odious man. Zero accountability, sure we have loads of MNC money.

A bit like Simon Harris holds absolutely no responsibility for the Children's Hospital which is on it's 18th delay. He signed the contract and turned the sod 10 years ago. Yes, 2016.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,110 ✭✭✭✭threeball

Most of these Ag contractors are just young lads who never grew up. Million or more in machinery, all on finance, burning colossal amounts of fuel, working on razor thin margins,16 and 17 year olds driving 30 tonne machines up to 16hrs a day, breaking stuff left right and centre, waiting on farmers who might pay them when the grants come in, others might not and half it because they love having big toys.

In any other industry the business case would be laughed out of the room but they're all over the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,106 ✭✭✭aero2k

I'm not in favour of blockades, or unelected minorities dictating who's allowed to move freely around the country. As it happened I'm one of the people who were unaffected, with no long journeys to make and 500km of diesel in the tank, but I'd have been hopping mad if I'd missed an appointment or run out of fuel due to those gobshites. I was surprised to see the level of support per the polls.

Jaysus, I'm not sure I could persuade me to vote for myself, let alone anyone else 😀.

I get the point you're making about his ability to make the system work for him, but that shortsightedness among voters is one of the reasons we end up with the governments we do.

Voting for someone on the basis of "he might be a corrupt bastard, but he's our corrupt bastard" isn't exactly the height of integrity.

I wasn't affected either, though I cancelled a couple of trips to Dublin I'd planned to make. However I'm genuinely shocked that even a significant minority of people, let alone a majority, would support the impeding their fellow citizens' freedom of movement in this way. At a minimum, it shows a worrying misunderstanding of whole concept of individual rights and freedoms. Clearly the perceived 'right' of a relatively small section of the economy to a State bail-out is considered superior by some to fundamental universal freedoms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭pureza

But he wasn’t responsible for it

Instructions and reviews of oireachtas maintenance spend is the responsibility of a cross party commission whose fault it was for that bike shed because they did not do their job

You don’t like that because you want to moan moan moan about the government

If that’s your thing at least be accurate on what you’re moaning about

Otherwise you devalue your message

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,000 ✭✭✭celt262

The one in Cavan was broke up by the guards around lunch time, told them to move or plant was going to be lifted. Whats left have resorted to walking the roads around town to inconvenience local traffic. Some dissident Republican group have latched onto them also.

I wouldn't be surprised if some of that crowd were complaining about their freedom being curtailed during the pandemic, but they had no qualms about curtailing the freedoms of others. It smacked of "I'm pissed off, so I'm going to make myself feel better by making lots of other people pissed off".

I'm actually OK with a small bit of civil disobedience if it's directed at someone who has harmed the perpetrators in some way, but this was indiscriminate, chaotic, and they didn't even know what their demands were.

Some very softly, softly, reporting too - I heard one radio news item describing how the Whitegate blockaders had let some trucks through "as a gesture of good faith". FFS, good faith would have meant going home, or preferably staying there in the first place.

I heard a bit of that. I thought Cuddihy was very indulgent towards him and then brusquely cut off the pensioner who came on to argue against him.

There's a common thread with all these guys when their online history is investigated and ironically, their main hero is the fundamental cause of their woes. It's also ironic that this stuff seems to be catching on here when the worm finally seems to turning against it around Europe and even the States. The likes of SF would need to be using a very long spoon with that lot if they're intend breaking bread with that lot.

That clown Peadar Toibin put up a post Sunday morning claiming to have negotiated with the Whitegate blockaders to 'allow' (his words) in 10 trucks and 'maybe even more' on Monday. Sadly for him the Gardai were moving them on literally as he was posting. Zero self-awareness or concept of civil society, just the fetishisation of one sector's demands.

Yes a lot of them would have been Covid and vaccine-sceptics.

The RTE 'frontline' reporters in particular reminded me of the 'embedded' journalists you had during the two Gulf Wars - carefully repeating what the blockaders were telling them. They wouldn't have tolerated on site otherwise, of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,702 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Chris Duffy who called for it put up a video of all his machinery and lads out working this morning.

Charlatans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,176 ✭✭✭acequion

Completely agree. I'm all in favour of protests, democracy, healthy voter scepticism and questioning those in authority, but not when it comes to massively inconveniencing your fellow joe soap just trying to live his life.

By inches I missed massive disruption to my own plans. An early morning flight from Dublin on 6th April,only filled up my car with fuel at 10PM on 5th for a nightime drive up from Tralee. Just imagine if that was one night later!! I'd have been beyond livid 😱 But didn't escape unscathed as arrived back on 10th while the thing was still unfolding and had to take the "scenic" route from Dublin to Tralee with so many roads blocked. Once again lady luck was in my favour as it was very late at night, traffic was light so got back to Tralee without too much hassle. But in daytime those detours and all the futher road blocks would be an absolute nighmare. Huge sympathy to all those who got caught badly, such as missing flights and more importantly, hospital appointments.

Yet that there was huge support for all that really beggars belief!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭goldsparkle

Some videos showed up on my tiktok of protests in Galway and around the country too. This is from yesterday and today. I don't see the reason or point in walking from one point to another. All I saw were people in a parade of some sort walking from the square down shop Street and walked around the docks and up shop street and around one of the bridges. I know they are protesting but that's the point in doing that? Shouting about MM in a protest that is supposed to be about fuel. I just don't see what the aim is. I just see it as pointless. Especially because this is a global crisis. Is walking, shouting and singing around Galway going to shop the war? Is walking around other towns going to stop the war in the middle east and stop the global crisis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭Genghis

At first a lot of people were perhaps not personally inconvenienced, i.e. if you didn't need a motorway or were not in a town with a blockade, or if you were not in say the center of Dublin City.

And 50% of those are likely non FFG voters. So kicking a government you don't rate at no personal cost is easy to support; this would look like huge support on social media, liveline, etc.

However when the inconvenience started to spread across the forecourts throughout the country, opinion waned quickly, and most people accepted that the government had to act to end it.

It's much like Covid, populations were very accepting at first but after a time that support went as individuals passed a toleration point. To such an extent it would be impossible to lock down to the same level again.

Which leaves me wondering how acceptable any repeat action of the last few days would be supported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,110 ✭✭✭✭threeball

As was pointed out by another poster, if this wasn't on Easter break they would have got slaughtered. Kids not getting to school, parents missing work. It would have been carnage.

Pi$$ed me off looking at some of these fcukers, dancing and drinking like they were at a ceili when they were supposedly looking for government concessions. Looked like some went for the event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,677 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I watched one live. It was an event. Carnival atmosphere. Large sense of mischievousness and getting one over on their local guard. Various lads on first name basis with the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,021 ✭✭✭almostover

As long as they're walking around town and cities and not blocking up main roads and stopping critical fuel supplies coming into the country I'll be happy enough. Shouting away into the abyss is fine by me.

That's true, I must admit. It would still be a bit of a pain in the hole for anyone who would like to move around a town.

I saw a video from today's protest in Galway and three people laid down on the road to stop traffic down by the docks. I don't know what that is supposed to achieve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,487 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Like those Japanese soldiers on the remote Pacific island still fighting years after the war finished

https://www.infrastructure.gov.au/infrastructure-transport-vehicles/vehicles/national-fuel-security-plan

This is Australias national fuel plan with fuel saving tips if anyone is interested in reading and taking some tips to conserve fuel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭goingmadted

I follow a couple of farming youtubers. Did i imagine it or did Adrian from Ifarmwefarm have a post up on his FB championing this dude. Its not there now so i was either dreaming or he has removed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

I may be naive, but because Simon Harris has his own vulnerablity with regards to Crohns, I genuinely believe he has legitimate empathy regarding people and issues with medical services. It was why, despite his genuine idiocy regarding why covid 19 was called covid 19, he was sincere regarding a lockdown being needed at that time; as an immunocompromised individual himself, he really felt the risks in a way others his age likely didn't.

“Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”

Does Simon Harris have Crohns? I never knew. That's a very though condition to have and he does good to be working in such a public facing role. There would be a lot of stress as part of his position and I remember some badness directed at him and his family too not long ago. I never knew he had Crohns. My respect for him has given up so much now. Many of us if we were faced with Chrohs wouldn't be able to do what he's doing and the stress it brings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Tell that to Harvey's parents

That story will never allow me to support him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭InAtFullBack

Now that the dust has settled somewhat, I hope everyone on here thanks the protestors for getting further fuel price reductions, or at least put a dent in any further increases which are likely owing to the international markets situation on the price of oil. Because if they hadn't done what they done, FF FG would be still sitting on their hands saying 'we're keeping it under review'.

The lessons for FF FG is to start focussing on what is happening here on this island. McEntee swanning around Kiev recently fluttering out €40 million like confetti was one of the straws that broke the camel's backs. It's high time FF FG toned down their 'international responsibilities' which is doing very little to boost the morale of the voting public.

Nah, now that the dust has settled those of us in society who are law abiding will be reading stories like these and being thankful that the Gardaí dealt with the insurrection at the weekend and that the perpetrators will get their justice. Hopefully those who made threats against individual Gardaí will be pursued with the full force of the law also.