Football Championship 2026 (Mod Note in OP)

• 11-04-2026 08:13AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭

Provincial championships starting this weekend. Tyrone had a tough league. Will be interesting to see if they can deliver a big performance against Armagh.

Limerick will be looking to cause Cork problems. There hasn't been major upsets in the provincial championships in recent years to see lower league counties take an All Ireland spot.

Mod Note

As always, no Dublin/Kerry etc Dominance chat allowed.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,771 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Munster Final in 2023, 2024 and 2025 was Kerry v Clare, giving Clare a place in Sam. Unlikely to be a place for them this year, as they play Kerry in the Semi Final. Louth's famous Leinster title in 2025 was only made possible by beating Kildare in the Semi Final. Their League placing would have put them in the Tailteann otherwise.

Everything you need to know according to RTE.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2026/0410/1567242-football-championship-all-you-need-to-know/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭blowitupref

WIn as expected for Mayo in this seasons championship opener. London 1-15 Mayo 0-31

A bit surprised Mayo didn't win more than 13 points. Less margin than Sligo 14 in 2023, Galway 27 points in 2024 and Roscommon 19 points last year. I suppose you can say less because of no goals which is somewhat surprising also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,048 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

stats from gaelic stats man on facebook of the mayo v london game ,

mayo v london.jpg mayo stats 4.jpg mayo stats 1.jpg mayo stats 2.jpg mayo stats 3.jpg mayo stats 3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Notmything

Maybe not a shock, but wasn't expecting the final winning margin for Laois. 3-12 to 0-12 v Offaly.

Probably should have been bigger, easy see why Offaly were relegated, and the ref turned down a strong Laois penalty claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,048 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

dont think it was a major shock , laois have been improving offaly are missing a few key players and i think they are slightly over inflated in terms of expectations after their under 20s success a few years ago , the same could be said for kildare

I was impressed with laois against us in ennis this year and that was with 14 men for 45 minutes of the game ,i cant say i was overlay impressed with offaly in the last few games i have seen them play albeit against clare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Leitrim looking good in Markievicz Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭gigantic09

Just about got over the line,exciting finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,938 ✭✭✭enricoh

Thought armagh were meant to be just behind donegal and kerry. They're a country mile behind them by the looks of it, just as well Tyrone can't score at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,513 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Gaelic Football is still shite. Handpassing epidemic continues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,912 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Congratulations Leitrim!

Congrats Eamonn O'Hara on finally delivering a big championship win to Leitrim 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Looking like a very straightforward Armagh win in a poor game. Tyrone very poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,152 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

This is turgid stuff, Donegal and Kerry won't be losing sleep watching these 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,912 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Poor game in Armagh. Laxical stuff from Armagh, Tyrone still in it

Much better from Tyrone this half. Really sorted the poor shooting decisions.

Just as I say it, 2 bad wides, the first a poor decision to shoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,863 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Tyrone level against Armagh after a goal with 2 minutes left.

It's gone to extra-time. And Armagh will be a man down as the late red card carries in to extra-time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,390 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Jayus I am enjoying an Ulster match and shouting for Tyrone, the world has gone mad!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Crazy for McElhome to go for goal there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,022 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Armagh are the worst AI champs this century

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,114 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Carlow and Longford who both contested the Div 4 final both go out of Leinster after big beatings

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,965 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Was at the Sligo Leitrim match, Sligo were 7 to 3 up after 20 mins and looking comfortable, then Leitrim scored a goal on the counter and Sligo went to sh1te after it, Leitrim got a 2 pointer and a second goal (which was a bit fortunate) to go in 6 points up at half time.

Sligo did actually wake up in the second half, but they were 10 points down at that stage, Pat Spillane and Cian Lally were ones driving them on, got a few 2 pointers to make a game of it, they had a point give as one that I'm certain was a two, but they had two chances late on and didn't take them so can't complain overall.

In the second half when Sligo were on the comeback, Leitrim players were playacting and going down rolling around trying to halt Sligo's momentum a lot of times when they got frees, the keeper went down three times for a minute when they had kick outs in the second half, but miraculously was able to continue, as I said Leitrim deserved it but instead of wishing them well as I'd usually do, I hope Galway batter them, can't stand that sh1te.

Armagh are a weird team. Hard to know what to make of them. I think it was Whelan on analysis that said they always find a way to bring a game down to the wire. I understood what he meant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,771 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Keeping a note of the scores including 2 pointers. Overall total 31-36-215. 282 scores in 9 games, average 31 per game.

London 1-15 (1-3-9) Mayo 0-31 (0-8-15). Sligo 1-20 (1-3-14) Leitrim 3-15 (3-1-13). New York 1-10 (1-0-10) Roscommon 5-22 (5-1-20).

Armagh 1-17 (1-1-15) Tyrone 1-16 (1-2-12) after extra time. At 70 minutes 0-1-11 v 1-0-10.

Cork 4-16 (4-0-16) Limerick 1-16 (1-2-12). Waterford 1-7 (1-0-7) Tipperary 0-15 (0-1-13).

Offaly 0-12 (0-1-10) Laois 3-12 (3-0-12). Carlow 1-7 (1-1-5) Wicklow 2-15 (2-3-9). Longford 1-16 (1-6-4) Westmeath 5-25 (5-3-19)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,234 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I think they are basically a blend of similar style players, probably the dictionary definition of a 'better than the sum of their parts'.

Like I could barely name the team that won the All-Ireland two years ago (could reel off the 02 team no problem in comparison). McCambridge had a big year that year, Conaty had his breakthrough and Rian O'Neill had his moments. But most of the rest of that team are largely forgettable (not that they would give two f**ks)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

You've basically nailed it. Armagh are indeed the classic 'better than the sum of the parts'. It was the case in 2024 and it is as relevant today as it was back then. It is testament to McGeeney as a coach that he can bring that level of preparation to a squad that has very few stars. As an Armagh supporter, my fear though is that the lack of star quality will come back to bite us sooner rather than later. The loss of Soupy and Rian increases the load on players like Oisin Conaty and Oisin O'Neill, and we find ourselves increasingly spreading thinner resources between the starting 15 and the bench.

Are we the worst team to win an All Ireland this century? Did we beat a better team in the semi-final in Kerry and the final in Galway on the way to claiming Sam? I'll let others answer those. What I do know is that the party was one of the greatest ever, and I'd venture there were many from across Ireland would love to have experienced it. 😘

I saw Armagh in CP v Dublin in the league. Wind was used as the excuse of the difference how Armagh played in the first half v the second. But that can’t just be it.

I can only describe them as muck the first half v Dublin. I remember thinking how have Armagh got so bad?

And the second half there were Armagh lads running off angles, there was off the ball movement. Two point shots. Fellas tearing around the place.

The last day v Tyrone I was watching thinking Armagh were going to win handy. Seemed in control likely to push on. Yet Armagh somehow managed to let Tyrone back into it. Arguably Armagh were lucky to win it in the end.

So your theory probably is a valid one, some of the Armagh lads seem to go through spells of complete disinterest, in a match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,022 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Kerry threw that semi final away and Galway were hopeless in the final.

Would I take a AI like that. By **** I would but I thought ye got awful rub of Green. But hey nobody will look at that in years to come. All that matters who won it.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

No worries. A lot of the rub of the green, then?

The interesting thing about it for me is that I rarely hear people talk about how unlucky Armagh have been over the years when we missed out, and believe me there is a rich vein of what Armagh folk would consider hard luck stories, that go back to the noughties and beyond. When it comes to matters of luck, it only ever seems to apply when Armagh win, but agonising defeats are usually labelled along the lines of Armagh aren't good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,834 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I wouldn't say ye are any better or worse than the Tyrone team that won.

Both teams took their chance in years that there wasn't a standout dominant team. Tend to get a few of those once a team like that Dublin side were finally beaten.

The game on Sunday could easily have gone to penalties. Probably some games will as the championship progresses. I expect that Armagh and all counties have been practising taking and saving them since shootouts were introduced. It is not a matter of luck, but a skill of the game which improves with practice and preparation.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2024/0712/1459607-mcnulty-armagh-penalty-curse-mostly-down-to-bad-luck/

I think McGeeney must be the longest serving manager in the country? Remarkable enough without ever getting an Ulster title. And of course Armagh have no Ulster since 2008, going back long before his time.