Fuel Protest (Read MOD NOTE on first post)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭circadian

MOD NOTE: I had a busy weekend and didn't get much time to go through the reports. Seems a few posters had a busy weekend too. Bans, warnings and threadbans have been handed out.

Try to keep it civil, sweeping generalisations about groups of people, whether protestors, people opposed to it, foreigners or anyone else are not acceptable.

Hurling personal abuse around because you simply disagree with someone is not acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,025 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I went to one of them over the motorway yesterday. The number of beeps in terms of support were roughly 1 in every 30 vehicles that passed. There was maybe 1 in every 30 vehicles that stuck their fingers up at all the protesters.

The remaining ones looked a mixture of bewilderment and fear at the crowds gathered and being herded off the motorway onto R roads.

I think the support for this shite is vastly over blown. I've seen it on the ground face to face myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,906 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Well no. Once the Minister of Justice tries to equate all protestors because that absolute scum bag tweeted once then you are going get what happened, doubling if not more of the protest.

But we are not really surprised by him are we? He has spent the past few years dog whistling to the type of cretin who supports 15 names Lennon, because he a Populist Dope.

But like most Populist Dopes they believe they can always read the mood, he failed and that's why the likes of Harris had to step in and side line the clown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,694 ✭✭✭Celticfire

Time for live rounds, I have no problem at all in seeing this type of protestor get capped. We have too many wasters in this country who think they have right to a comment when they contribute **** all. Couldnt care less at this point if they show body bags being dragged away on the six one,we know who is involved and they deserve everything they get from here on

This is the type of spouting from an anti-protester in this very thread. I would argue that mass murder is comparable to rape. Funny I haven't seen anyone call out this behaviour or call them a lunatic.

I don't think beeps are a scientific metric I'd be pushing.

😂

What I have seen and heard on the news, including real life would back the polls that have been published.

Obviously you don't agree for whatever reason, but unless you have something other than what you offered, I'd remain convinced on what I stated.

Open to have my mind changed though. But that would have be based on something credible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,910 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

They're not all the same, no need to treat them the same: those that protested within the law e.g. driving tractors slowly through the streets of Dublin don't need any response: they committed no crimes. Those that parked their trucks on our motorways and outside vital state infrastructure, however, should be charged with the crimes they have committed.

Let's face it, outside of the few that refused Garda instructions and that threatened them with violence, these are traffic offences, it'll largely be a matter of fines and penalty points. That the offenders might be considered by some to be a better class of criminal than the rioters on O' Connell street shouldn't prevent them from being charged with the crimes they've committed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 58,606 ✭✭✭✭Necro

Not acceptable, clearly. My apologies for not reading every single post in the thread. Neither are correct but, this is the important point - one is an anonymous poster on an internet forum and the other has been appointed as one of the spokespeople for these protests.

There is a certain dramatic irony in said spokesperson railing against the government whilst supporting one of the buffoons who is the root cause of the recent fuel price increases, wouldn't you agree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,476 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Maybe because "some looper on the internet" and "One of the lead voices of nationwide protests" are the factors which are not comparable in this instance.

But hey, if it satisfies you, I'm happy to call out their behaviour and call them a lunatic.

"Hey, person who posted that stuff that CelticFire quoted, your behaviour is bad and you're a lunatic."

Those that parked their trucks on our motorways and outside vital state infrastructure, however, should be charged with the crimes they have committed.

That is open to interpretation to be honest.

In legal terms blocking a refinery, etc. Would be more akin to civil trespass, which is not a criminal matter.

Kicking in the window of footlocker and robbing it blind or setting a bus on fire is.

Refusing to move on when directed specifically by the Gardaí would nudge it into criminality, but even then where we have seen it with Enoch Burke. Maybe not. Remember the DPP refused to prosecute, but to be fair that was just the safety and well being of 100s of children and not flammable liquid.

Nope, not open to interpretation: Stopping or parking on a motorway is an offence under Section 35(5). consisting of a contravention of the Road Traffic (Traffic and Parking) Regulations 1997.

https://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2017/si/244/made/en/print

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,025 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Oh sorry you saw online polls.

Like why didn't you say !

They were polls sure, and they're online like !

And interviews with people for clicks ? No.... Really! This is mad stuff....

I guess being on the ground at one of these for two hours and witnessing it all counts for nothing then right ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Someone should make up a list of the protestor businesses so we can boycott them.

It was a Newstalk and Indo Poll.

But again I'm not solely using polls to come to my conclusion, as stated.

And to be honest I wouldn't be brave enough come on here with scientific basis of horn beeps to try prove anything.

😂

And interviews with people for clicks ? No.... Really! This is mad stuff....

I watched it on TV. No clicking involved, unless you include pressing the on button and selecting the channel on the remote?

In legal terms blocking a refinery, etc

But the penalty for illegally parking, etc is a fixed fine, not prison.

Also the protests this morning appear to rolling, which you don't seem to have a problem with.

• Slow rolling protests reported in Cork, on M1 and M3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭spark_tank

People should absolutely give negative Google/Facebook reviews to those businesses attempting to blockade ordinary people getting to work/school/hospital.

I'm not a lawyer but I'm sure the Gardaí / DPP could advise on the correct legislation to charge that activity under…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,892 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Wow Pat Leahy on CNN talking about the protest, we're really up there with Hungary in the international headlines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

The support came mostly from those on social media who love to be involved in the "bring down the government" "all guards are scum" brigade

Most sane people kept their mouths shut and waited for it to blow over

The DPP advised that Enoch Burke was not committing a crime.

I suppose as a thought experiment you can ponder it.

But it's not going to happen, so no point really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,935 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

This would be under:

Road Traffic Act, 1961, Section 52

Protestors would need a rolling set of drivers to avoid losing their licences through penalty points.

Reminds me of the video of the Speed van parked up clocking the rolling protest driving 5 K/Ph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭aidanodr

I would assume all of these trucks, vans, tractors are running on Diesel of one kind or other?

One thing that has perplexed me over last few days seeing these vehicles driving around all day long in Cork City, on the south link and so on. Its this - WHERE are they getting the Diesel to fuel there vehicles for that last week or more??? And i thought these protests were about FUEL affordability which is existential to there businesses - however no problem driving around all day long burning what they allegedly cant afford??

Just like much in life these days HYPOCRISY reigns supreme here also?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,936 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

The diesel use for travel, when not working, on machines designed for high torque applications is significantly reduced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,634 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

What are you on about? A poster said that parts of the country were going to soon be banning bacon and dogs and implementing sharia law. And that it had already happened in parts of England. I said that was racist BS. Do you agree with it?

As an immigrant, I have no hatred for the Irish. That would be racist. And stupid seeing as I chose to move here and make my life here. I do have hatred for racist gobshites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,370 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 58,606 ✭✭✭✭Necro

Probably in reference to Trump claiming people of a certain ethnicity were eating local dogs a year or two back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,370 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,449 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Don't think Muslims keep dogs. See them as dirty apparently.

They were eating the dogs.

And the Cats.

But no one cares about the Cats.

Where are Michael Healy-Rae, Michael Lowry and Noel Grealish on all this? All from rural constituencies. Lowry pushed hard to get extra speaking rights but now he is silent. The biggest landlord in the Dail, Michael Healy-Rae is usually mouthy too.