The Kerry Babies Case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Orban6

You seem to very bothered about the amount the Hayes were paid!

If I was fitted up for a murder I hadn't committed, I'd be happy to take every penny I could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭headnorth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,159 ✭✭✭Caquas

This is the level of discussion on Boards. You probably don't even realise how absurdly circular your argument is.

In all the counter-arguments I have faced here (along with shoals of red herrings and numerous dismissive, abusive remarks) not a single poster has mentioned the most significant legal issue arising out of the Tribunal - what rules of evidence and what burden of proof should apply to a Tribunal, especially if its findings damage the good name of any citizen?

Legal commentators have called it "a low-water mark" of Irish Tribunals because evidence was admitted which would probably have been excluded in a criminal trial (most notably the "confessions" which were central to the controversy) and the burden of proof was ambiguous.

The Judge said he made findings of fact only if he was satisfied as a matter of "substantial probability." (i.e. more than the "balance of probabilities" applied in civil cases) but that he was satisfied "beyond a reasonable doubt" on almost every finding of fact. However, it has been argued by legal experts that, even with the same evidence, no jury would have been satisfied beyond a reasonable doubt on key issues.

The only credible criticism of the Tribunal's conduct concerned the highly intrusive and public questioning of Joanne Hayes by Counsel for the Gardai. But, as the Judge explained in this Report, the Oireachtas had mandated a public inquiry under the Tribunal of Inquiries Act which allowed in camera evidence only in very limited exceptional circumstances. And if he had barred the questioning entirely, the Gardaí would argue they had been denied a fair opportunity to defend themselves.

These issues have plagued our Tribunals of Inquiry ever since and numerous amendments to the legislation have not solved the problems. The couple of million to the Hayes family are a trifle compared to the funds which flooded into lawyers' pockets as various parties to subsequent Tribunals resorted to the Courts to vindicate their right to a good name. In essence, do the Irish people demand the truth, however unpalatable, or is the State bound to protect and vindicate the good name of citizens unless they are convicted in criminal proceedings?

The abysmal level of debate here is probably reflective of a general problem of civic debate - empty vessels making the most noise - which is currently manifesting itself on our streets and at our ports. Most posters here may be horrified by this comparison but many of the most active posters are ill-informed, highly opinionated and liable to turn abusive or dismissive when they can't win an argument.

The same pattern of obtuse responses quickly turning into abusive and demeaning posts was evident regarding my proposal for Presidential nominations. Ultimately, I pointed out that my proposal was nothing more or less than what had been done for the previous three decades, a fact that evidently had not occurred to any other poster during the previous 100+ posts. Our media don't do much better - witness the Baby John solicitor - and are the main resource of most of the misguided zealots here. Should I despair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭jesuisjuste

I get where you’re coming from. In general though I would say putting a member of the public on what is effectively a trial, without the criminal implications is somewhat like a kangaroo court imo. A judge is not a jury, and has far more legal understanding and precedence to draw from vs a jury. There is a reason we use jury trials in criminal cases, and in addition why the measure of guilt is so high, beyond reasonable doubt.

A jury typically represents a broad swath of the public with vastly different life experiences, and biases. Also many juries will have a number of people who would vote guilty, but if a number vote not guilty, then the person will get off. None of this nuance is present in a tribunal.

It’s different when it is a politician, or members of the gardai etc. or any other state representative. These people already represent the state and should be compelled to testify as part of their employment terms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

no one has ever made a credible claim of physical abuse by the Gardai

May be true.

Shouting and screaming in someone's ear, thumping the table repeatedly and violently, throwing chairs around the room, and repeatedly threatening that their parents would be jailed unless there was a confession may not qualify as 'physical abuse'.

How would you describe that kind of terrifying treatment? Maybe you will just say it was 'rigorous questioning'…

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭chooseusername

Ok, maybe I should have worded it

" Well the thread is " The Kerry Babies Case" . It is probably as notorious as it is because of (the Garda and Tribunal abuse of)Joanne Hayes (and her family)

How's that for you?

That is the nub of the Constitutional issue - can a Tribunal put someone "on trial" without all the safeguards and restrictions of a criminal trial. If not, how do we get at the truth of complex cases of great public interest?

For many years most people believed that the Kerry Babies Tribunal was rough justice for the Hayes family but had correctly answered the key question which had so disturbed the Irish people - how could the Hayes family confess to a murder to which they had no connection? Then the public mood changed and people preferred to believe the Hayes family were victims of police brutality and a taboo against unmarried mothers (though neither is true and Joanne Hayes was living proof that the taboo had lost its power).

I doubt we will ever get justice for Baby John or any sense of closure in this national wound. His parents will say nothing and the media won't even ask questions of their solicitor. However frustrating and humiliating a complete failure to prosecute would be for the DPP, I can't see any way around the DPP's policy not to bring a charge unless there is a prima facie case.

The last thing we will get is a "Kerry Babies Tribunal Part II" although that is probably the only way some measure of the truth could emerge now. A Tribunal has power to compel witnesses and, even if the parents claimed their right to silence, they would be obliged to answer non-incriminating questions e.g. What is your name? Where did you reside in 1984?

Do we want the truth or are we afraid to disturb the new national mythos?

It is three and half years since 10 people were killed in an explosion in Creeslough. No one has been charged, we don't even know officially if it was a gas explosion.

That's simply your fantasy. Even the extraordinary State apologies in 2020 to the Hayes family don't mention any such abuse.

The Tribunal concluded that

There was no shouting or banging of tables (15/668 to 678 and 31/P76 to P87). There were stern warnings and admonitions to the various interviewees to tell the truth (33/161 to 177 and 229 and 230). Such warnings and admonitions to tell the truth were interpreted by the Hayes family and Bridie Fuller as warnings or admonitions to confess to responsibility for the death and disposal of the Cahirciveen Baby.

This conclusion was based on the evidence of many witnesses (referenced above in the extract) but I was especially impressed by a simple fact - no one in the Hayes family made any public complaint of abuse by the Gardai in the weeks after their arrest. Only their solicitor later claimed that they had complained to him about abuse at that time. The Tribunal was scathing about his evidence, noting that "not one scrap of paper with a contemporary record exists to corroborate that any such complaints were made to him". Imagine telling your solicitor that you had falsely confessed to murder because of police abuse but he doesn't make even the slightest note of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

Why the entire Hayes family admitted to involvement with baby John when they had nothing to do with him is a real mystery, hard to understand.

As for baby John, read an article that said his mother lived at the family home at the time he was born. It didn’t say where he was born, presume that’s unknown, or could it have been in a m&b home? Maybe the parents believed he was being adopted - not unusual then for non-marital babies to be taken or relinquished at a few days old. If that was the case, the parents wouldn’t think a dead infant found on a nearby beach was their child. Even the problems faced by the Hayes family might not have raised concerns if they thought their child was safely away with an adoptive family. So they kept their secret until the dna confirmed they were the parents.

Nothing in that scenario explains why the baby was killed so horrifically and disposed at sea in a fertiliser bag. It’s very disturbing.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 46,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

You keep referencing the tribunal which has been vastly discredited - it is like you have an agenda here!

You blame the Hayes family for signing confessions but fail to outline how they wrote about details of baby John which they could not have known e.g. the fertiliser bag.
    You also reference the aunt's claims despite her being described as "confused" by the hospital doctors. Her evidence (and her brother John's) were described as unreliable.
    The tribunal report concluded that Joanne Hayes put both hands around her baby's neck and choked it to death. She then, Judge Lynch said, hit the baby with a bath brush, to "make sure it was dead".
    The medical evidence by Prof Harbison was that the baby's larynx was not damaged, therefore it was not strangled or choked. Harbison also stated that the bath brush would have cracked the baby's skull which had not happened.

So a Garda investigation that looks to have pinned the blame for baby John's murder on Hayes (sure wasn't she charged with it) and her family through statements. Members of the Murder Squad continued (until relatively recently) to blame Hayes for John's murder. The Tribunal looks to have made up conclusions without supporting evidence. So if two aspects of the legal system believed that the Joanne Hayes and her family could have been involved, why on earth would they have made formal complaints about abuse by the gardai? Would you?

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

Can a tribunal put someone on trial without the safeguards?

That is where I feel the answer, for a regular Joe soap should be no, or at the very least should be 100% voluntary. When it comes to representatives of the state though, politicians, gardai, and perhaps people who receive state funding, when talking about the dispersion of that funding (e.g. charitable bodies etc.). In those cases then I think they should be compelled, however even still should have some protection from self-incrimination (i.e. ability to stay silent or immunity).

Since J Hayes did not have those protections, in compensatory discussions, she therefore deserves a higher payout, not lower, as she effectively went though an extra-Judicial kangaroo court (admit I’m being a bit facetious here).

Similarly, the individual gardai were not found culpable either, and therefore their compensation was for everyone to get off Scot free/hands clean.

Now that is not to say the gardai did anything wrong, there are many people who believe they did, and they issuing of a general apology would indicate that also, but at the end of the day they wouldn’t have gotten the clean slate without the tribunal either.

I think your concerns should be pointed at the system itself, rather than the individuals involved.

Possibly. By the mid-1980s "informal adoptions" were rare but I will believe you if you tell me that a cousin of your sister-in-law went out with a fella once who said he was adopted in that way 40 years ago. If you have a name and dates, I will put you in touch with a decent journalist.

But even in that scenario, when a baby was brutally murdered and dumped in the sea on their doorstep, would the parents not have had at least a quiet word with whoever adopted their baby?

Great minds are working overtime to envisage exculpatory scenarios for Baby John's parents. When the DPP eventually announces "no charges will be preferred", our dismay we will met by a flood of these scenarios in the media but, like your suggestion, they will all be pure fantasy because it's obvious already that the media (like so many posters here) don't want to know the real story of Baby John.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Orban6

"This is the level of discussion on Boards. You probably don't even realise how absurdly circular your argument is."

I didn't make an argument, I made a statement of how I would feel.

You have read a thousand things into a simple statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

Why would the Gardai document that they were coercing the family into false confessions by logging that they shouted and banged tables? They are obviously not going to take notes of misconduct.

“Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”

What a ragbag of personal insinuations, gaslighting, deflections, fabrications and downright absurdities!

Personal insinuations

it is like you have an agenda here!

I have no axe to grind, no personal connection to this case and you have no grounds to insinuate otherwise. Ask the man in mirror about hidden agendas.

Gaslighting

You also reference the aunt's claims despite her being described as "confused" by the hospital doctors. Her evidence (and her brother John's) were described as unreliable.

Among the most deplorable aspects of the media's coverage was their attack on Bridie Fuller, Joanne's aunt and a retired nurse, who helped her give birth. In the past it was common for women's voices to be silenced or dismissed and, most horribly, families often shunted older women into our mental institutions on spurious grounds with the connivance of hospital doctors. But fortunately for Bridie Fuller, her family's campaign to declare her unfit to give evidence backfired at the Tribunal, as recorded in its Report

At least four Doctors were considered for the task of certifying Miss Bridie
    Fuller as unfit to give evidence. These were Dr. Hayes, Dr. Daly, Dr. Chute
    and Dr. O'Regan. None of these Doctors gave any such Certificate, or 99
    evidence. 99 Dr. Chute was called to see Bridie Fuller at the farmhouse at the request, in person, of Joanne Hayes and Kathleen Hayes. Much to the disappointment 198 of the Hayes family, Dr. Chute certified that Bridie Fuller was fit to give evidence instead of the contrary

That didn't stop the media gaslighting her although they never interviewed her and they have now written Bridie Fuller out of the picture completely because she was an awkward woman. You have no compunction in echoing that campaign.

Deflections

You blame the Hayes family for signing confessions but fail to outline how they wrote about details of baby John which they could not have known e.g. the fertiliser bag.

I don't blame them for signing the false confessions, I blame them for lying to the Gardai and then lying about the Gardai. The Report explains the mention of the fertiliser bag in Ned Hayes' statement

In the course of making this written Statement at about 8.30 p.m., the fertilizer bags which had been found in the vicinity of the Cahirciveen Baby, were produced to Ned Hayes who purported to identify the brown bag and the 0-7-30 bag but did not purport to identify in any way, the clear plastic bag.

If you wish I could post the entire Tribunal Report here as a public service. You won't find it anywhere else now but it hasn't been "vastly discredited" - in fact its key findings still stand officially (that the Hayes family had nothing to do with the murder of Baby John and that the Garda investigation was seriously defective in many ways, as detailed in the Report).

Of course the Hayes family were very unhappy with the Tribunal's findings regarding Joanne's baby boy and the reasons for their false confessions. The media, which had demanded the public inquiry in the first place, then mounted a campaign against the Report in support of the family. That petered out until the Judge was dead and buried. Then, in an extraordinary and unprecedented decision, the High Court issued a declaration in 2020 to the effect that those findings in the Report which concern the family were "erroneous and incorrect". The Court heard no evidence and no allegation of Garda abuse was made to the Court so we are left with no official explanation for how three members of that family confessed to a terrible crime to which they had no connection.

Fabrications

The medical evidence by Prof Harbison was that the baby's larynx was not damaged, therefore it was not strangled or choked. Harbison also stated that the bath brush would have cracked the baby's skull which had not happened.

Absolutely not true. Where did you get this lie? Dr. Harbison's evidence that their baby's body was so badly decomposed that he couldn't tell if it had been born alive. That suited the family and the media who pretend it meant the Tribunal shouldn't have found the baby was born alive. So which fiction are you going with?

Absurdities

So a Garda investigation that looks to have pinned the blame for baby John's murder on Hayes (sure wasn't she charged with it) and her family through statements. Members of the Murder Squad continued (until relatively recently) to blame Hayes for John's murder. The Tribunal looks to have made up conclusions without supporting evidence. So if two aspects of the legal system believed that the Joanne Hayes and her family could have been involved, why on earth would they have made formal complaints about abuse by the gardai? Would you?

Why should I even begin to untangle this confusion? After almost 2,000 posts on this thread, let this particular sentence stand as emblematic of the level of debate on Boards.

two aspects of the legal system believed that the Joanne Hayes and her family could have been involved

You start by accusing me of "having an agenda", you end up asking me this absurd question.

why on earth would they have made formal complaints about abuse by the gardai? Would you?

Surely even you have heard of the Sallins Train Robbery? And the Heavy Gang? Do you think the accused in all those cases stayed silent about their beatings by the Gardaí? Or do you think the Hayes family didn't know how to stand up for themselves?

No wonder Irish people have lost touch with their own history!

Post edited by Caquas on

Feelings over logic, that's how things work today (or don't)

Of course not! And that absence was given no weight by the Judge who was very sharp in noting any omissions in Garda notes e.g. when Joanne Hayes gave them directions to where her baby's body was hidden.

The Judge was a very experienced barrister, often on the defence side, before becoming a High Court Judge. He excoriated the Gardai for many failings but he found that claims of shouting and banging of tables were not credible based on the totality of the evidence. One minor example - when Joanne claims she was being shouted at, her little daughter was playing happily with the Garda's shoelaces.

There's plenty more if you read the report (oh sorry, you can't!)

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 46,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

There's plenty more if you read the report (oh sorry, you can't!)

So publish the report as you've previohsly suggested and let people read it for themselves

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

Do you want me to upload it to this site? It's 312.4 MB on my hard drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭csirl

My understanding is that the State has withdrawn the Tribunal Report. It is no longer on public record. Therefore anything contained within it should be disregarded.

Eureka! You can download the Report from here.

https://opac.oireachtas.ie/knowvation/app/consolidatedSearch/#search/v=grid,c=1,q=title%3D%5B%22Kerry%20Babies%22%5D%2CqueryType%3D%5B64%5D,sm=s,sb=0%3Atitle%3AASC,l=library3_lib%2Clibrary7_lib,a=t

The Oireachtas Library has diligently attached the bizarre High Court Declaration to the start of the Report.

The bottom line, as I have said repeatedly, is that the High Court heard no evidence but issued the Declaration exonerating the Hayes family because, well…, they asked and the State didn't object (except for the DPP, so the family dropped that bit) and handed over €2.5Million.

No allegation of abuse is made against the investigating Gardai and no explanation is given as to how three members of the family falsely confessed to a heinous murder. So we were back to square one and told to move on.

But then three years later, disaster!, the DNA identified the parents of Baby John. Now the DPP is back in the hot seat.

Oh, what a tangled web we weave!

I don't blame them for signing the false confessions, I blame them for lying to the Gardai and then lying about the Gardai. The Report explains the mention of the fertiliser bag in Ned Hayes' statement

ok so you're content that Ned gave false details to the gardai about dumping a baby in a fertiliser bag off Slea head. But of course this didn't happen so why would he have willingly given a statement implicating himself in the death of what was meant to be baby John when in fact he had nothing to do with baby John? And how would he have disposed of John's body in a fertiliser bag when he had nothing to do with John?

There were also claims made in some of the statements that this body had been stabbed by Joanne but of course we know that baby Shane wasn't stabbed and John was never part of the Hayes incident so this all was bullsh1t.

You also don't appear to think it strange that all of the statements describe Joanne giving birth in the house. To one baby! This baby, we know, was buried on the farm. So at what point did everyone gather to witness the birth of John?
    The statements do not line up with reality so they cannot be presumed to have been given willingly unless you think that the Hayes family all decided to have a weird bit of craic.

So the gardai who were meant to be finding out what happened to John became fixated on Hayes and her giving birth but didn't put the pieces together about how while she had one baby (as per the statements they coerced from the family), there were two bodies. It was only after they discovered the second body that they then worked on the twins theory and how one was born in the house and the other out in the fields. The tribunal which was meant to look into the actions of the gardai and the Hayes family and to discover what actually happened. It obviously failed in this duty.

The simple fact of the matter is that the Hayes family were failed by the investigating gardai who assumed that they had their killer. They coerced them into making statements through intimidation, fear, violence, etc. The exact same approach used against the likes of Martin Conmey, Dick Donnelly, and Martin Kerrigan (and this garda approach is what directly led to members of Lynskey's family murdering Martin Kerrigan). It is also the same approach used against (as you mention) the Sallins Men. Their approach was likely to have been deemed necessary with the bulk of murderers back then, which were the likes of IRA terrorists. Most "ordinary" folk, even innocent, in a stressful situation would eventually break, regardless of guilt. This is the most likely scenario why the gardai were able to get the Hayes's to admit to a murder that we all know they had absolutely nothing to do with.
    Now, let's assume that Judge Lynch took the gardai and the statements at face value, it still does not exonerate him for enabling a situation for weeks that Hayes could have been John's mother, given the blood group differences.
    An important term of reference for Lynch was why AGS did not investigate other possible explanations of John's murder. The gardai fixated on Hayes. They obviously stopped looking elsewhere. The tribunal then fixated on Hayes - sure didn't Mr
    Justice Lynch even refer to Joanne as the "wrongdoer".

I'm curious - do you disagree with Dr. Vicky Conway's analysis of the case: (DOC) Irish Feminist Judgment Project: Kerry Babies case

Honestly, you are a Mod on Boards but you persist with personalised and baseless imputations and nonsensical claims.

you're content that Ned gave false details to the gardai about dumping a baby in a fertiliser bag off Slea head

Nothing I said implies that I am satisfied with anything in those false confessions.

You also don't appear to think it strange that all of the statements describe Joanne giving birth in the house. To one baby! This baby, we know, was buried on the farm. So at what point did everyone gather to witness the birth of John?

Nothing strange about it!

The Tribunal found that she gave birth in the family home and her family members were there that night, as they were every night, and, yes, she gave birth to one baby only (not twins as the Gardai claimed).

The strange part was that the baby's body was placed in a plastic bag and hidden alongside a stream about 200 metres from the family home. If that baby (not called Shane or any other name by anyone in 1985) had been buried in a marked grave, this whole scandal would have been averted because the Gardaí would have found it and realised they had been barking up the wrong tree.

The simple fact of the matter is that the Hayes family were failed by the investigating gardai who assumed that they had their killer. They coerced them into making statements through intimidation, fear, violence, etc.

The Hayes family were largely the authors of their own misfortune due to their persistent lies. Just as you are persistent with your baseless allegations against the Gardaí. When Gerry O'Carroll was alive, your lies here would have cost Boards dearly but lies are the tribute which our media now pays to the dead. Even the Hayes family didn't persist with their lies about "intimidation, fear, violence, etc." when the State kow-towed to them in the High Court.

Now, let's assume that Judge Lynch took the gardai and the statements at face value, it still does not exonerate him for enabling a situation for weeks that Hayes could have been John's mother, given the blood group differences.

Of course he didn't take the Gardaí statements at face value! He lambasted them from a height for incompetence!

"enabling a situation" - you're blathering now - was Mr. Justice Lynch supposed to pre-empt his entire inquiry by exonerating the Hayes family before hearing witnesses?

He was tasked by the Oireachtas in December 1984, he conducted a Tribunal which interviewed 109 witnesses who were asked over 61,000 questions in the course of many months and in October 1985, he submitted his 300 page report setting out in detail his findings on the three matters which the Oireachtas had defined in his terms of reference.

What thanks did he get? Abuse from the media and nonsense like this. His unblemished reputation was forever besmirched by ignorance and lies which, shamefully, his successors in the High Court have endorsed.

I'm curious - do you disagree with Dr. Vicky Conway's analysis of the case: (DOC) Irish Feminist Judgment Project: Kerry Babies case

I deplore any academic research which takes a biased and selective view of the evidence. But you will have noticed that this analysis, while obviously striving to exonerate the Hayes family and to reject the findings of the Tribunal, had to conclude as follows:

while I find that there exists a case for a new inquiry to be held and that there is a public interest in establishing the truth, I am unconvinced as to urgency and not sufficiently satisfied that a preferable outcome could be reached as to warrant putting the Hayes family, and in particular Joanne, through such an ordeal again. 

The key clause:

not sufficiently satisfied that a preferable outcome could be reached

Translation - a new Tribunal would probably reach the same conclusions as far as the Hayes family is concerned (implied - we will need a bogus process with no evidence to get that big cheque).

Not a single lawyer spoke up about the bizarre and unprecedented manoeuvres to re-write the Kerry Babies Report. All done in a day, cheques signed, nothing to see here. This is the only academic paper I found which references the High Court Declarations.

https://journals.sagepub.com/doi/10.1177/17488958221126674

Here is how it describes this bizarre process of erasing the Tribunal's findings:

Essentially, this has placed an anachronism in the lens through which current and future historians view the events of 1984/1985, with the (noncontemporaneous) declarations indelibly framing the (contemporaneous) tribunal proceedings.

That's quality lawyering right there, me boyos!

Now remember those legal academics who rushed to assure us that "durable relationships" would be much better than "woman" or "family" in our Constitution? That was another "feminist judgement"

Post edited by Caquas on

The thing that kind of stands out for me is that in the case of J Hayes baby, the pathologist found no indication of foul play. You could say the body was decomposed, but it still doesn’t lead to evidence. Whereas baby John was categorically murdered.

Also given the proposed number of people involved. How could that many people be involved in a decision, and then vow to silence. A total conspiracy..

Pointing out flaws and issues is one thing, but I haven’t really heard a credible story for what else could have actually happened, Everything is just speculation, no evidence of anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭csirl

Again, this thread is reverting back to the Hayes snd making negative comments about them.

The Tribunal Report has been set aside. The State had said the Hayes did noithing wrong. This means the Hayes family did not lie to Gardai.

Its An Garda Siochana that needs to explain the false statements. Its 100% on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭chooseusername

"The Tribunal Report has been set aside." 

….and for good reason.

The direction this thread has taken in the last week is proof that in the wrong hands it can be used to try divert the blame away from handling of the case by the Gardaí back onto Joanne Hayes and her family.

A question, can this be downloaded by just anybody?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,364 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

No thank you, I read the first two sentences of the page @Caquas posted. That's enough for me.

Strange if it can be dowloaded by just any weirdo and re-posted sans caveats, as their truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,364 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

It's an official government document. I haven't read it myself but it is a public record of the report that was published.