Donald Trump the Megathread part II - Mod Warning updated in OP 12/2/26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Are oil shares gonna skyrocket when market opens tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭Flex

This is actually a major escalation. As stated earlier, of the millions of barrels of oil a day that transited Hormuz previously, the majority was to China, India, and other 'freindly Asian countries'. China and India bound ships were being allowed still get oil through, around 6m to 7m barrels a day. This blockade will supposedly now blockade China's primary source of oil, which they will (completely reasonably) not tolerate. This is at least the third time in a year MAGA-USA and Trump are bringing us towards WW3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,062 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

It could take many months of this to impact on the Iranian economy. Trump clearly hasn't got a clue what he is doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,014 ✭✭✭amacca

What a gobshite.…the body language alone from those clips of him with epstein as a younger man was enough to identify him as a narcissistic, self important moron of the highest order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,417 ✭✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

China needs a giant straw to get the oil out of the middle east. And Donnie is playing the dog in the manger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,305 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Let's see how this works out for him

"I have also instructed our Navy to seek and interdict every vessel in International Waters that has paid a toll to Iran. No one who pays an illegal toll will have safe passage on the high seas."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭zell12

"He did what? Oh"

Comedy hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,551 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

No, I'd say the impact to Iran's economy was felt more or less immediately. The difference is that their previous status quo would be much closer to where they are now, in other words the impact is relatively small given previous US measures against them.

Nothing boosts a failing regime like a foreign attack. Thatcher's Britain is a great example. She was never popular but the Falklands war gave her a fillip and she won two more terms.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

Donnie is the boss of the world you see.....on top of the many many ridiculous things posted/said that's just another one

Interdicting vessels in foreign waters that have paid for oil to keep their economies going

If they even try such a thing....but of course it's all bullshit from the king of effluent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Untitled Image

Nobody is allowed to hold the world to ransom (except US).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭Tazz T

there'll be a gap up of around $10. Whoever made that massive trade 120 seconds before the close on Friday will make 'billions and billions'.

They also had knowledge that the market would close 30 minutes ahead of normal close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,885 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

A byproduct of all this is Trump's manipulation of the market allowing him and his buddies to make a killing.

Trump's blatant manipulation of the market is enough to have him impeached, on top of everything else he's done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 655 ✭✭✭pad406

So, the US navy is really going to board/detain/prevent leaving a Chinese flagged oil tanker?

I so wish I understood the rules of 4/5/(insert any random large number here)D chess.

Trump is blockading the Strait that was opened before the stupid war he started. He's a complete moron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Glenomra

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,994 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

I'm not convinced that blockading Chinese ships will go well. Are they really going to board or shoot up a Chinese flagged vessel if it decides to make a try at it?

The argument goes just as well for the other side, though. The shooting has currently stopped. If the US sends ships through without Iranian permission, is Iran really going to poke the bear by restarting the fighting? Two US destroyers just did a quick in and out, doubtless the first step in the same strategy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,999 ✭✭✭✭Water John

I presume we now will have Chinese navy vessels escorting their own oil ships through the strait, which is International waters. Best of luck with Trump stopping these.

I think if the US does block the strait then their ships will be fired upon

How successfully I don't know...but I'd also imagine if their actions really put the squeeze on China they will supply Iran the kind of weaponry that would be a serious threat to US ships...if they haven't already

If a US ship is sunk who knows what happens next...

It wouldn't surprise me if Trump is angling fir further/greater conflict to keep himself at the helm tbh....that's the calibre of disastrous moron the world has to put up with at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,305 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Ferm001

May see the Yemenis close the bab al Mandab strait in retaliation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,862 ✭✭✭✭Jelle1880

So he's blockading the blockade ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,453 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Poke the bear? The US has attacked Iran. What more do you think they are worried about?

Yet again its the US CiC showing that he hasn't a clue. He was going to destroy an entire civilisation unless the strait was opened, but now he is getting the US to close it. And threatening any other country for trying to get any oil.

This war is a complete humiliation of the US. Unfortunately its the rest of the world that is paying the price for YS voters putting glib catchphrases and funny nicknames ahead of their actual democratic responsibility

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,351 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭RickBlaine

Jesus Christ…just when I thought this whole clusterf*ck couldn't get any stupider, he goes and does something like this.

Iran needs to announce they are going to blockade the blockade that is now blockading their original blockade…..just for the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 655 ✭✭✭pad406

Dumb & Dumber ^100, and he's only one man 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Sorry, no double dares allowed, I already crossed my fingers behind my back! If it wasn't so serious it would be comical!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,128 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

his idea is simple.. he will then say they have removed the blockade.. but not what blockade, the blockade that was blocking the blockade

To him it’s a win.

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 46,345 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Well duh! If you multiply a negative by a negative, you get a positive!

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .