Fuel Protest (Read MOD NOTE on first post)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,606 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

SF's motions of no confidence are like bank holidays, except more regular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,616 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

They might be in business but they shouldn't be, they aren't good business people if they can't take a few weeks high diesel prices. If you are in business for years and have no rainy day money in an account, you are sh1t at business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,976 ✭✭✭amacca

Bill is hardly the "guy" to look up to either....did a load of his businesses not go into receivership

I agree, blaming the government for everything even when it defies rational thought processes isn't a great look but I'm not so sure Bill Cullen is the figurehead I'd pick either

Pick yourself up by your bootstraps is a good philosophy but it has its limitations too......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,426 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Realistic and honest my friend.

Your boys packed up tractors when they saw the writing on the wall.

‘Fraid the Government took none of their guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,830 ✭✭✭✭893bet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

If only Dublin had a metro. How many years waiting now? No protest would stop that unless the drivers decided to down tools.

When I think about the years and years it takes to get things done in this country I don't blame people getting annoyed about it. Children's hospital, Galway by pass, metro, Luas extension, DART electrification, Dublin bus routes often cancelled at no notice, derelict buildings allowed to fester for years, lack of housing, and lots of other things. We have the money and I can't understand why it takes so long to achieve fruition in many projects. Maybe we need the Japanese, Chinese or Spanish to get over here and show us how it's done.

Anyway, on a very selfish level I'm hoping the M50 and routes into town are ok. Have to bring someone to an important medical appointment, and god love him he was in bits worrying about getting there on time. Those are the things that many forget about, but we are expected just to plan ahead and cope. Not everyone is in a position to do that at short notice, nor should they have to either.

Apologies for the essay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,924 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

He'll be 4 by the time this finishes doing the rounds on right wing social media and WhatsApp groups.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

So much for the "we're here for the long haul" and "we'll do whatever it takes and stay for as long as it takes to get what we want" 😂 they've all been mostly booted out now 😂.

"The robin in the garden,

That was me,

I'm still here, Loving you..

Until we meet again. "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭808bassqueen

Has the media been told to reduce reporting? After whitegate was cleared yesterday reporting went very quiet and alls we have today is a few retrospective articles about the other blockages being cleared. No reports about the ongoing protests and marches around the towns and cities today.

Very lazy journalists on a Sunday it seems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

This Government have done a good job on this occasion. They took their time and responded maturely to the situation.

These unelected, self-appointed leaders targeted critical national infrastructure, the type of action you'd see during a war or an insurrection. Just because they weren't setting things on fire or fighting with people doesn't mean it wasn't extremely cynical and cruel. I could not support those actions. Had they encircled the Dail when it was in session or blockaded the American embassy, I would have had more time for them.

And the fact that the Government didn't cave to them or even invite them to the talks shows the lack of legitimacy of the permanently enraged agitators that were at the forefront of this and I applaud the Government for that. Glad to see they didn't capitulate to the Trump-like tactics.

Should/can the Government do more to curb the rising cost of living? Yes, definitely. And I'll challenge them on that come election time. Should they face no confidence when they have, ultimately, successfully de-escalated the situation? No, they did well.

And SF refused to condemn the protesters who blockaded critical infrastructure. I'll also remember that when they come canvassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,449 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

If I was leader? Sent in the water cannon and crack some skulls, thankfully my social anxiety rules me out of ever ruling the country.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,363 ✭✭✭I see sheep

There was numerous posters inciting the physical harm and murder of the protesters.

A lot of nut jobs on here.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭GNWoodd

It might be oblivious to most , with the exception of a few deluded on here, that if you have a cohort of people who don’t ask the Government for housing or jobs or ( in the main ) money for nothing , that said Government is doing all right out of that relationship.
    So when said cohort ask for assistance , any reasonable politician would be right to at least listen to them would it not, and not make derisory offers like 3c per litre off marked diesel .

Same Government paying out half a billion a week to those with the hand out looking for housing, jobs etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,947 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Your boys? Explain how. I thought you had me down as far left when your nemesis and my #1 Catherine Connolly became president of Ireland. I think you're lashing out today because some folks threatened your happy FFG status quo. You'll be moaning again and knocking farmers when food prices go up and up.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭goldsparkle

Buts what's the point in doing that? The world is in turmoil right now and we need stability. What's the point in trying to topple the government and bring on elections. We will likely end up back in the same place yet again with FF and FG because if everyone in the country voted tomorrow for SF, they still wouldn't be able to form a government because they don't have enough party numbers. Why are they not increasing their party numbers? There's no point dragging down the government and sending us to elections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,354 ✭✭✭✭Heroditas

Mary Lou and her shower went very quiet once they realised Pepper and the rest of that shower were up to their necks in it. If anything, SF have been temporarily sidelined in this whole incident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,924 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

You actually think there's a chance that group of Muslim women could be on O Connell street with 'Ireland is for the Irish' crowd and NOT get abused?

Are you having us on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭goldsparkle

I am glad the gardai were able to clear the majority of the blockages. It was an awful situation for the past week with major disruptions.

There's some live streams online on tiktok on marches around the country. It was supposed to be about fuel costs but many were chanting about MM and wanting him out. Shouting about MM is not about fuel costs and do they realise that MM had nothing to do with the bull cram from American and Israel against Iran and the rising costs. He's not responsible for this and in fact he called for peace.

Also, what's the purpose of walking from one place to another place around towns and cities. It doesn't make sense. Like what another poster said a blockage outside the American embassy and Doonbeg, I would support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,947 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

The government handled it abysmally. They let it get out of control. Martin will be happy that Big Jim is damaged by this. His army comment earlier in the week put much more people into the protests. The government were very slow to act and looked shambolic. You will notice that most FFG TDs went into hiding for the week.

Let's see the "package" announced later.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,901 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

Sadly I think a lot of genuine business people joined this protest because they felt their backs were against the wall. I’m not sure though how the leaders were chosen because some of them would have been better left on the sidelines. Adding that it turned into an opportunity for the far right to stir up more trouble. In the end the government ignored the protest and the genuine protestors went unheard.

The government are partly to blame for the rise of the protest. Deciding what needs to be done by way of reliefs seems to be going on weeks and I’m sure everybody headed off for their long weekend over Easter without a thought. Even now they’re fairly slow coming to any agreement and it took a national blockade to get them into the office over the weekend. Trump managed to launch an absolute shĩt show in a few days. At this rate I’d say most of them need a couple of days notice to figure out what they’ll have for breakfast.

What far right ?
    You have a few clowns draped in the tricolour stirring it up nothing more .
    When a coherent far right ideology emerges here, then we are all in trouble .
    And every moderate voice that is ignored brings that day closer

Look at some of the deluded that post here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,551 ✭✭✭✭fits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Not a hope. If I've learned anything from watching Irish politics in my lifetime it's that politicians will do pretty much anything to avoid an early election….especially when this Dail isn't even 18 months into a 5 year term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,924 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Oh sweet summer child, how wrong you are.

There's a nefarious element behind those 'few clowns' - why do you think they're out there in the first place? Their own innate motivation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,455 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

Laws around Industrial Action are very strict. You may not wake up one day and decide to go on strike.

A union must hold a ballot of its members, and then if passed give notice to their employers if taking Industrial Action.

Breaking these rules is a quick way to land yourself in front of the courts.

If the Government had listened to the moderate voices and allowed them respect there would have been no platform for any of the small number of these people to be involved . But they didn’t so let them reap what they have sown .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,363 ✭✭✭I see sheep

It's nice to know most people aren't as crazy as Boards posters or the extreme elements of the protests.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,705 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Moderate voices?

Day one your voices were the tax dodging animal abuser, the drink driver and the teen rape apologist.

Stop gaslighting people into thinking that the scumbags came later, it was scumbags from the very start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Downlinz

Niall O'Connor from the Journal is still reporting from the protests on twitter but he mentioned a few other journalists had received threats to them and their families while covering the protests so that might have something to do with it.