Fuel Protest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,230 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Why are you taking the energy to try to discredit people on a thread at this hour ? You are embarrassing yourself man .

Have a goodnight .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,605 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I supported it Tuesday maybe wednesday. I was stuck in one Tuesday and passed up the hard shoulder in my van beeping and thumbing in support and was beeped back. Fair play I thought.

Even ignoring the blocking of fuel depots, I can not support them when they are aligned with **** oxygen thieves like pepper, Dwyer, Duffy, blighe etc. There is an immigration problem in this country sure but I absolutely abhor racism.

This needs to be ended now and by force if necessary because it's taken another turn and you will have violent riots over the weekend by the usual mob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭rayman10

No the scum thinking they are smart.

It's time to hit them hard down in Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,370 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

There’s nothing a liberal fool won’t do or excuse to feel some sort of superiority complex in their own sad little world

Several others have responded to your post and berated you for posting this. And I can't say that I disagree with them, but I'm not going to be as blunt as some of them were.

But I am going to ask you to think about something.

On the RTE News website front page this evening, there were about 8 stories posted. 7 of them were about the fuel protests. The 8th, was about the remains of an additional 36 infants being found at the mother and baby home in Tuam. That brings the total number of bodies found there, to 69.

The people who were responsible for these poor infants being discarded in this way (and their mothers who had to find some way to exist knowing what they and their child had been through) were the last staunch bastion of the conservative ideals that many, like you, who detest anything that can be remotely identified as being liberal in form or function, miss so much.

If you cared for a microsecond about Irish children attacked and sexually assaulted, you yourself would be running away from the illiberal conservatism which was overcome by recent generations of progressive individuals who said enough was enough. There are individual schools in Ireland with a more sinister history of the abuse of Irish children than all immigrants who have come in to the country this century, not to mind the entirety of the legacy of ultra-conservative groups in the not so recent history of Ireland.

Every single thing you think you remember and liked and miss about Ireland, existed because some liberal person somewhere stood up to the prevailing status quo at some point and said that change was needed, or that the change that was happening organically was not a bad thing.

People with your mindset are scared about something, I'm sure of that, and I'm being serious when I say that you would be much better off recognizing that and examining the true source of the fear that is causing you to be scared and to then work on that. Not the contrived fear that targets on those that are different. The romantic version of Ireland that you think existed (if it ever did) is dead and gone, tis with those dead babies in the grave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

When the scumbags joined the protests it turned many people off. Bleeding rats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭Infini

Problem is the scale of it and how quickly it happened took everyone off guard most likely. It was advertised as a protest NOT a blockade after all. It also helps to at least publically try and reason all while investigating the background of them. That they turned out to be smooth brained idiots and fascist tools is not a surprise. Give em enough rope and they hang themselves and threats to emergency fuel meets the criteria for what I can expect to be some serious charges down the line.

They aren't the brightest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭bloopy

Through incompetance and arrogance, this is turning into something potentially much bigger.

All can argue about the rights and the wrongs of what has happened, but there is a surprisngly large amount of people tacitly supporting the protesters.

Not necessarily because they explicitly support the movement, but because it is giving the government a kicking.

The arrogance of how this has been approached is not going down well.

The government, and members of Fianna Fáil in particular, have.made a bad situation so much worse.

Thwy have made a bo****ks of the whole thing.

Argue all you want.

But this escalation is laid squarely on Michael Martin and some of his party colleagues.

Fine Gael, at least, had the smarts to keep a little quieter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,606 ✭✭✭joseywhales

The "people of ireland" line is **** hilarious.

They realize that "the government" represents the people of ireland right? And that they are going up against the interest of "the people of ireland"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

so you just cave in to their demands after day one to prevent the situation from escalating….🤔

Today's the big day surely. The Garda operation stands down Monday.

Although if there's higher overtime tomorrow they might wait until then.

• This content has been removed.

Demands?

These lads think they are operating the Strait of Hormuz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Mobius2021

Apparently they are planning to blockade all major routes into and out of Limerick city today. Calling these peoples protestors are this stage is almost disingenuous, they seem more like insurrectionists or even economic terrorists.

I'm beginning to think the government don't have a plan and don't have the grit to make a stand.

As for these insurrectionists I don't think they have a long term plan either, depends on who is being interviewed the goalposts change in terms of their demands. If they collapse the government I don't think they would have a clue on how to proceed.

If it gets much worse that government should ask for external assistance from our EU partners in term of manpower and equipment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,949 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Exactly. They've no idea what they want really and if the government caved on fuel they'll decide they want something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭gifted

Wonder what would happen if the fishing industry start protesting. If they blocked the ports there would be very little the gardai or army could do I would imagine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,432 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Be mad to concede anything. They'll definitely be back again if they do.

I guess that would fall to the navy. Admittedly not a very well equipped navy but they have enough to dislodge a fishing industry blockade. One problem would be debris if some larger boats were sunk or scuttled near the mouth of ports, which would then need to cleared.

But let's not give people ideas, things are bad enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,972 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Am in Germany and was €2.15 for Petrol and €2.22 for Diesel in a forecourt I passed last night. What is it there? I'll keep a look for others to see if that's the average

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,272 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

Great bunch of lads

1000081540.jpg

Last time I was about to get Diesel it was 219.9.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,272 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

Great bunch of lads

1000081540.jpg

He won't be near the front lines either when the guards start beating the scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,851 ✭✭✭plodder

According to Fionnan Sheahan the government is in panic, and have recognised the call to send in the army was an "empty threat" from Justice minister Jim O’Callaghan, which "emboldened" the protesters. Garda leave is cancelled, but what are they going to do? Can they even get fuel for their vehicles? No question it's economic terrorism.

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

PR disaster for some of the leading protesters. Exposed as total scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,324 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Post edited by Cluedo Monopoly on

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?