Fuel protest about prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,459 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

What's that to do with my post you just quoted? Did you reply to the wrong one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,825 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Dara Calleary on RTE R1 saying the Government aren't dictating to the representative organisations who they can bring and if they bring protesters they'll talk to them too.

More waffle about the 250 million package they've put in place (the biggest in Europe don't you know!) but deflecting again when asked where the army and enforcement is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 58,593 ✭✭✭✭Necro

It's the same false equivalency logic. I'm afraid I can't elaborate any further it's top secret.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,768 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Total confusion by the Government if Calleary's interview is anything to go by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,810 ✭✭✭Allinall

More lies in that post than in a Sinn Fein press release.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

The trolls are having an absolute field day on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,544 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Probably because the people you talked to are figments of your imagination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,756 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Must not be the same real world we live in so.

If you stay in an echo chamber you only get the 1 view. Real world is different views but the goodwill that was there at the start has shifted massively

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,459 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Are you sure you didn't quote the wrong post because what you said might actually make sense with another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭Merrion

Surely you can see that calling in the army to disperse protests is bad optics on this island?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Thorny Queen

What lies??? Be more precise.

Anyway I made my point and I stand by it.

Go protesters go.

Time to get up and start the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,278 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Thanks to the common travel area you're free to move if you want to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭bren2001

Accountants don't spend money. They document it and assist in setting up the processes for appropriate governance. They ensure rules of the organisation are followed. The decision to spend the money is typically (but not always) by other people.

Look up Ireland who has helped their citizens with the cost of fuel by cutting excise duty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,294 ✭✭✭Deeec

In fairness I don't think people will get paid to sit in traffic because they cant make it into work.

People who miss important hospital appointments may now have to wait weeks/months to get another appointment.

Do you get the problems caused by this to the general public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Resplendent Moose

I think you might find that that kind of loyalty evaporates quite fast. Blind loyalty to a "strong man" leader doesn't actually exist outside of fascism or personality cults.

Get the ringleaders, their ability to organise collapses, and when the vast majority don't have anyone stirring **** or trying to inflame divisiveness they'll lose their appetite quick enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,937 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Movement from the Gardai, taking them to jail and impounding their vehicles.

I support legitimate protest, even if it causes roads to be blocked. I strongly support the weekly gaza protests that march through cities on a Saturday in solidarity with Gaza.

When I was protesting against the Iraq war and anti globalisation we went out knowing that we would be arrested if we broke into Shannon Airport or shut down roads for any length of time.

We wanted to be arrested and charged so we could hold the government to account in court because of their specific actions in enabling the wars and specific decisions they had made.

These protests are clearly agent provocateurs, not of the Irish state, but foreign interference through the deliberate use of social media to destabilise our democracy.

It happened with brexit, its happening all around europe now and we have to recognize what it is before it spirals out of conttol.

Ban billionaires

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭dmakc

One can have an opinion on immigration (e.g. IPA centres funding and handling) and an independent opinion on other matters. It would seem that you're in the 20% minority that think the asylum situation is fine, doesn't give you the right to dismiss the opinion of the 80% when logic would dictate it's irresponsible on behalf of the government.

You seem to be obsessed with tarnishing any majority with an extreme minority of Facebook agitators. That's your loss in comprehension. Personally, I think the agitators are idiots, but I can also think giving €250m in government contracts to an average Joe in Carrickmacross is wreckless spending. Fast forward to giving 3cpl back to green diesel users after it went up 80cpl. That is an insult to industries with fuel usage at a scale where 77cpl can hammer businesses and drive them out.. but.. but.. immigration. Feel free to plough on with it but what you're saying is emotional drivel.

Someone else here claiming this protest has <1% support from the comfort of his tinfoil command centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,706 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

I don't know what stretch of logic to even consider to end up comparing there two scenarios.

This situation is actually more like the opposite, hey guys, we're feeling a bit sick but you can guarantee we're going to spread it like **** so everyone else gets sick too.

I don't know why O Callaghan even brought up the army it's been an absolute embarrassment for the government on that front. The thing about empty threats is that when you don't follow through because the equipment is lacking or whatever reason, it leaves nowhere else to go.

And again the rolling protests are a nuisance but manageable. They really should start looking at a proper multi faceted crackdown on the people blockading the likes of Foynes and Whitegate though. Revenue, Gardai, social welfare inspectors. Them lads won't be long running for the hills if the government actually backed up their sound bites

So like I said to RoyalCelt go and protest that and stop hijacking this one.

Pointed out **** load of times but still people can't take their heads out of their arses, Ireland has been one of the few countries to do something to help with the reduction in excise. If you're finding time to read bullshit you can find time to read the facts too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭The HorsesMouth

I think there is a lot of support for these protesters and I'd imagine at this stage for a lot of people it goes beyond cost of fuel. It's pent up frustration about cost of living, housing, high taxes, take your pick with this government. I do support the sentiment but I think blocking the oil refineries is a step top far.

The government need to be very careful about bringing in heavy handed tactics which will only garner support for the protesters I think. While they don't want to open up a can of worms and start dialogue with rogue agents, we are in a massive crisis here...maybe just bend the rules for this once and go and talk to the protesters directly instead of putting out threats of the army through the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,739 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

I was listening to that as well. It'd be hilarious if this situation wasn't having such a detrimental impact on society.

Geoghegan: We will stop the protests and blockades when our demands are met

Anton Savage: What are your demands

Geoghegan: They are confidential

🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,937 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Ban billionaires

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,756 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Look up other countries who have helped their citizens with the cost of fuel. Not Ireland of course

Except excise was cut, wholesale prices increased again based on the middle east situation…. so what do you want the government to do, it's ultimetly a supply issue, what are they supposed to keep cutting tax based on what the wholesale market does week to week or day to day. Get a grip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭I see sheep

The Government has no control?

Jesus they are useless.

Thanks to dopes like you voting for them.

Maybe engage your brain next time in the voting booth before just doing what Mammy and Daddy did.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

**** are blocking the M50 again both directions between Blanchardstown and Finglas.

Might push some commuters to get out of the vans and cars and start smashing things up a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭dmakc

Why don't you write to them instead of waffling to those who aren't them? Fond of a few likes yourself.

The likes of Blighe would hijack a stop oil protest if it got him media traction. It's their nature. I'm smart enough to know Blighe doesn't give a damn about oil. Stop oil has as much chance of stopping Blighe posting online as they do of stopping oil.

Now it's up to you to continue your waffle of misinformation by association (I note you've nothing to say on the green diesel cpl matter yourself) or stick to the matter of the blockages being OTT, which would be fair.